Beaver, PA 
Two Mile Run Extension Share
Uploaded By: tistoude Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 210ft.   4 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Another Pittsburgh Gem

2-4    11/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
- A relatively new course in the Pittsburgh area that is home to so many other top-10, top-20, top-50 courses in Moraine, Deer Lakes, and Knob Hill), this course is nine holes and somewhat out of the way, though at the same time only about a minute from the exit off the turnpike.

- The course is well groomed, as other reviews have mentioned, with benches and even brooms on all or most of the teepads. The brooms come in handy in the fall when leaves are down and slippery. The teepads are rubber and so long as you brush the leaves off, they grip reasonably well.

- 2MRE offers multiple teepads (two) so beginners aren't overwhelmed. They're white and red, but the white tees often feel like they've got a little blue tint to them, so they offer a reasonable challenge. I don't know what the course record is but I have a hard time imagining someone shooting nine down. There are just too many tiny tunnels.

- The course has new Discatcher baskets and ample, good signage on the teepads and pointing you towards the next tee. Everything is in good shape. The course also has a practice basket near the parking area, though it's set on top of an area with some roll-away, so it's probably not going to see as much use as it could. The practice basket would make a great CTP to settle a match that finishes even.

- There's a good variety of holes here, and a good use of elevation, and terrain. Holes include uphill, downhill, and valley throws. They include very narrow tunnels to wide open, windy fields (and the ninth has a combination of wide open fairways with devastatingly thick rough). You'll likely throw a surprising variety of plastic and shots for a nine-hole course. You can still play reasonably well with five or six discs, but that assumes you don't put yourself in any situations you didn't anticipate.

- The first hole is a true, albeit short, par four that requires good placement off the tee, leaving an easy upshot. The second is a tight par three over a valley. The third plays from the trees to an open field, and back into the trees. The tee shot on the fourth, a par five, requires threading a needle AND getting good distance to set up a shot into the woods. Then you have a long but downhill par three, then the seventh, a unique par four that will rewards a GREAT forehand (something I don't yet have) second shot. The seventh plays across a field to a basket protected by thin trees (going up and over may be the best approach, if you have that shot), and the eighth is an ace run par three downhill with nasty bushes long. The ninth is again a true par five, with thick schule left and right (and a trickling creek that's four feet below the fairway to the left as well), through a narrow gap at 150' out, to a reasonably well protected basket.

- None of the approaches - either on par threes or second or third shots on par fours and fives - are boring. They all play to protected baskets of varying degree, with different sorts of terrain. On the sixth you have a steep drop-off left and short. On others the green is flat but well protected by some thick guardian trees. On others, roll-away potential exists. Leaving your upshots in good positions might determine your putting success more than your actual putting abilities, and a good approach game will go a long way towards scoring well.

- The targets are easily visible, and the practice basket near the parking lot is in the open. The tee signs are adequate, visible, and new enough that they're still in great shape. Pars are appropriate, with no easy birdies. There's a map at the beginning, but as mentioned earlier, the flow is relatively simple and aided by "next tee" signs.
Cons: Cons:
- The flypads are sometimes lumpy or angled. Footing becomes a weird issue then, when you'd like to run up on a par five tee shot but don't want to twist an ankle doing so.

- There don't appear to be any alternate pin positions (yet?). This could change things up. Though I think you can easily play 18 or 27 in a day and be fine, alternate pin positions would make the course worth more of a stop if you could look forward to a slightly different layout and more repeat visits. I imagine the locals feel similarly.

- As other reviews mentioned, there are no bathrooms or other amenities on the course (drinking fountains, shelters, etc.). There is a bike path that wanders through the park, but I haven't seen anyone using it except one woman walking her dog once, and an older couple on a stroll.
Other Thoughts: I'll tell you right now - I don't take off points for being nine holes. You can see that it's nine holes in several places on the information pages for the course, and you're welcome to factor that in to how you read these reviews. I can only review the nine holes that are there. Yes, to get 18 in, you have to play them twice. Some people like it, some don't. It's not for me to judge THAT - just to judge what I think of what exists.

So, all that being said, I'd truly rate the course about a 3.75. It's very good, but not quite to the level of the other Pittsburgh area courses. It's well worth a stop if it's not too far out of your way, but I think it's tough to justify fitting it in if you're not passing near by.

In the end, I'm rounding up, because it's probably closer to a 4.0 than a 3.5, and I'm comfortable with that.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another 9 hole gem

2-4    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A big variety of shots
-Very well maintained course! Grass is cut short all over, brooms to sweep tee pads at almost every hole
-Discatcher baskets
-Nice rubber tee pads
-Unique shots I've never experience before
-Awesome blend of tight, technical fairways, wide open shots, wooded holes with trees surrounding tees, ace runs, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-No simple hyzer or anhyzer bombs for an easy birdie
-Course map at the beginning
-Very nice, new-looking tee signs
-Next tee signs, one of the easiest courses I've been to for finding successive holes
-Even with a lot of the rough of the woods, I did not have much trouble finding discs that flew from the fairways. Always a plus! Again, part of the great maintenance of this course
-Trail after hole 9 takes you directly back to parking lot
Cons: -Only "natural" rest rooms, which I don't mind at all if no one's around. However, this can be a problem if you're traveling a good distance to get here.
-The stream to the left of the entire fairway of hole 9 is about 4 foot below the fairway, making a muddy mess if your disc falls that way.. It's got to be a nightmare getting your disc out of there, I was pleased that I didn't have to discover what it was like.
-No tee pad on hole 6, and I saw only one tee sign. The sign said distances from two tees, so I'm not sure what happened here.
Other Thoughts: This course is very easy to get to as it is only half a mile from 376. Make the right before the police, park at the end of the gravel lot. Walk to the left of the gate and the trail will quickly take you to hole one.

Played from red tees:

Hole 1-Slight hyzer in a tight fairway. Easy if you hit the line, a rough one if you hit a tree on your drive. I would rate the red tee a par 3, the white tee looks to be a lot harder.

Hole 2-A slight anhyzer line. If you throw even a slight hyzer on the drive you will most likely hit trees.

Hole 3-Straight shot with hole protected by trees. You can air your drive out here.

Hole 4-Beautiful long hole. Very tough. Throw a bomb to drive it close to the trees then a big dogleg right to the hole, which is protected by number of trees.

-Hole 5-Straight shot with a tight fairway

-Hole 6-I've never seen a hole like this. Very tough off the tee. Super tight downhill left then tight uphill right. Looks like one of the easier holes to lose a disc

Hole 7-Great hole with a long, wide-open fairway with the hole surrounded by thin trees.

Hole 8-Very fun (and scary) ace run. Downhill about 200 yards with a super tight fairway. You got to throw it just right to make it all the way down to the hole, but it is beautiful if it makes it down in one shot. Almost had an ace here. As a previous reviewer stated, the bushes and trees behind the hole make it unlikely for the disc to go far past the pin.

Hole 9-Super long hole! Pretty tight too so it's tough to make it down the fairway in only 1 or 2 shots. DO NOT let your disc go to the left. You'll regret it. You can't see it until you're close, but there's a stream to the left that drops down about 4 feet.

This course is well worth traveling to. It is very easy to get to and only takes 30-40 minutes to play a round by yourself, so you're able to play a few in a row in little time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver's Two Mile Run

1    7/6/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 discatcher baskets with multiple pins and dual tees. There are flypads on hole 1, and looks like the rest are going to get them as well. Practice basket by parking lot. Excellent use of elevation and terrain. Great variety of uphill, downhill, turning shots, and hole distances/pars. Good signage and navigation was fairly easy.
Cons: Lacks amenities like restrooms/water. Lacks pin position locator for baskets. Couple holes have some rough off the fairway where you could lose a disc, but it's not too terrible. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: You'd be crazy to run this course even though its only 9 holes. The course is scenic and there are are some really great holes here on par with the other great courses in the area. It feels like a blend of the other courses but some opposite turns. I was rather surprised of the quality considering it's a 9 hole course, but it's definitely worth checking out if in the area!

My GPS had me turn on the wrong side of the road. The correct turn into the park is by the police station and you will see the sign for Two Mile Run Extension. It's a little weird after you drive down the road because it doesn't look anything like a parking lot for a park, more like a gravel pit and maintenance shop. Go to the end of it and hole #1 is down the path to the left of the gate.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/13/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: dickyp1113
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well thought out course! Brand new baskets, they looked like they were just put together. Great mix of holes. Every single one was different. You need to either have a variety of shots or a variety of discs to use to be successful. Beautiful wooded area, you really feel secluded. Plenty of changes in elevation. Left turns, right turns, upshots, this course had great variety. Well maintained fairways!
Cons: My biggest thing was the tees. You had two tees but the fine gravel was poor for footing and traction. Then to top it off the tees seemed very short. I dont have a long run up but found myself handcuffed on many of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Just a fun course in the middle of a town that needed something different. I grew up in this town and it has nothing so this was a breath of fresh air. Challenging course for a new player! I felt like i was on a hike in the woods half the time which was just great. Hole 7 is just a breath of fresh air being the only real open hole. If this course had cement pads it would be higher rated and if it was an 18 hole course. It would easily be a 4.5 and im sure it would get a few 5s. The practice basket was a nice addition also!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/20/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: gstelmas
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes
Good scenery (especially on holes 3&4)
Cons: No signage yet (tee areas, arrow guides, at roadside).
Hard to find where the course is.

Other Thoughts: Once you turn into the maintenance facility, go down the maintenance road, past the buildings on your right, and to the parking lot which is close to the access gate.

Looking down the walking trail road, you will spot the practice basket. If you are not using the practice basket, immediately upon going through/around the steel gate, the course starts up the hill to your left.

After completing hole 5, not only are you not going right, instead left up the paved road, once you start walking up the road, it is easy to miss the #6 tee just off the road to your right, but even if you do miss it, you will also see a white spray painted tee box on the road itself, so you can either use that tee or retrace your steps a few yards to find the other tee box.

Hole 7 affords you an open field, and from the tee box to hole perspective, a bench on the hill to your right. After the uphill climb after hole #6, maybe a bench somewhere close to the hole #7 tee box would be good.

After hole # 8, down the hill and to your right to get to the multiple tee boxes of hole #9.

Save your energy for the long hole #9. Since you can't see the basket from the tee, know that as you get closer, the basket is veering off slightly to the left.

After holing out #9, it is up the hill to the right, gets you back close to the practice tee. If you have the energy, you may want to do it all over again.

If the maintenance folks did the clearing (or whomever did), you did a very good job on clearing out the course. Thank you!

Since there is also a paved walking trail, I suppose if you have non-disc golf friend(s) with you they could do the paved trail walk while you did the course, since the course weaves across the walking trail 2-3 times.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Nine Hole Course

1    4/19/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: tfoley
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Really long for a nine hole course.
- Great variety of shots. Dogleg lefts, and rights, straight throws and a few downhill throws from the tee.
- Front and back tees.
- Really great course layout
- New baskets which are numbered
Cons: - Barely any signs
- Kind of difficult to find course
- New pin positions are marked, but not in yet.
Other Thoughts: This course is what a nine hole course should be. Two par fives, four par fours, and three par threes!

It was kind of difficult to find the first hole. We walked around for a while, even though it was really close to the practice basket by the parking lot. They need to put an arrow to hole one. It's left of the practice basket on the hill.

Even though there were no signs by the tees this course was really easy to navigate once we got going. From hole 5 to hole 6 we got mixed up. You need to take a left and go up the road and not a right.

It is understandable that the course does not have signs yet because it is so new. They make such good use of the land though I thought I was playing the front nine of a course such as Moraine State Park or Deer Lakes. I was really impressed with the job they did of clearing the fairways in the woods. Really beautiful scenery around hole 3-4. The only real downside was that I hear there was not enough room to put a back nine. It is worth the 30-40 minute trip from Pittsburgh. I highly recommend this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.