North Vancouver, BC 
Eastview Park Share
Uploaded By: JR Stengele Hole #1 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 80ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tone



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Trees Trees Trees

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: DiscWestYoungMan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2013
Pros: Fairly intuitive course. A map at the first hole will set you up nicely for your round.

The course is quiet, so you don't usually have to wait. This includes people enjoying the park as well, dog walkers and such, there just isn't a lot of traffic here, its fantastic.

The local players are very friendly and helpful, a great spot to learn the game.

Even with all the trees and bush here, it's an easy enough course to keep track of your discs.

The "tonals" are in great shape, and make a very satisfying ringing sound. :)

There is an owl that lives in the forest where holes 6,7,8 are. He's awesome.
Cons: The middle of the fairway for the long holes (3 and 4) is the wettest part of the course. There will be plenty of mud here after a good rain.

There is not a lot of length to the course. Those who like to throw the long bombs have limited chances here.
Other Thoughts: This quiet course is a nice challenge for your accuracy. What it lacks in length is makes up for in obstacles. Accurate shots are a must through the trees, and even the open holes are lined with thick brush on either side.

With so many obstacles to shoot around, you have plenty of opportunity to try different style shots.


1    10/30/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: bee_ryce
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little park in North Vancouver with many huge beautiful trees, as you would hope to see in a course in awesome North Van. As pointed out this is a tonal course, which is not as fun as playing on baskets, but nonetheless these are good quality, well marked tones.

There is an accurate course map posted at the start of the course, the first tee can be found just on the opposite side of the wooden fence at the entrance to the park. Most of the teepads are numbered which is always nice to have. With the map it is very easy to find your way around, but a bit tricky without it, so i'd recommend taking a photo of it before you start your round.

This is a short course, good for beginners or experienced players looking to work on their short game. A decent player would not need anything more than a putter and a straight flying midrange to score well here.
Cons: Course design could certainly be more interesting. Virtually every hole is a straight shot in the ~140-240 foot range. There is a nice open area in the middle of the course where holes 3 and 4 are located, which i can see being a bottleneck as far as dog walkers and other park users are concerned.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't travel too far to play this course, if you are visiting the area be sure to check out Robert Burnaby Park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Give Me Baskets Or Give Me Death!

1    9/24/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Give Me Baskets Or Give Me HIV!
Give Me Baskets Or Give Me A Wife Who Looks Like Rosie O'Donnell!
Give Me Baskets Or Give Me Migraines!
Give Me Baskets Or Give Me Leprosy!

Should I go on? I have a million. This could be a forum topic. But maybe it just shows my distaste for any course not featuring baskets. I automatically subtract one point on my rating for trying to get by with tonals, horizontal hula hoops, objects, or anything other than baskets.
This is another of those lovely little British Colombia parks with towering cedar trees and ferns on the ground below. The course starts through a wooded area for two holes, then holes 3 and 4 play across a grassy area before 5-9 play back into another wooded area. The teepads are not always easy to find. It took awhile for me to find # 1 on the sidewalk near the gate. The holes are short, mostly in the 150-200' range. The tonals have a red number and yellow tape on them to help you with the navigation. They do make a most pleasent ringing noise which resonates for what seems like quite a long time, almost like high quality lawn chimes. Or maybe like a large tuning rod.
A large number of diseased trees have been cut down on the fairway of # 7 and 8. They're still lying there and it appears as though they're going to be left there. I'm sure that's opened up the course quite a lot there.

Cons: The holes are short, recreational in nature and not too challenging. I had to skip # 3 as a gentleman was playing with his dog on the grassy area there. My personal disdain for basketless courses has already been well documented.
Other Thoughts: I guess this course could appeal to the neighborhood kid on bicycle crowd. I would think anyone with an automobile would drive to one of the courses with baskets.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eastview is a great little park for newer players and families who are looking for a quick, but challenging object course. The fairways range from wide open to tightly tree-lined and require a variety of shots off of the tee. Because of the short distances, beginners will feel comfortable enough to experiment with new shots without the fear of racking up huge numbers.

Toooone: The tones here are the ultra high quality kind and make that satisfying long, low pitch which seems suitable for meditation. Contrast this with some of the aluminum "bang" tone targets and you'll see why these are so nice. Ommmm....
Cons: Challenge: While the wooded lines at Eastview are quite fun, they are just too short to offer much of a challenge. Even when you miss a line or two or shank one completely off into the woods, you'll still likely have a relatively easy up and down for par. Similar guarded fairways with hole lengths between 250 and 350 would make for some great golf - however, there just isn't very much room at Eastview and the course designers have done a great job with the space available.

Replayability: There are a few holes which offer multiple viable choices off the tee which you could experiment with but the course is so prescribed that even just a couple rounds are probably going to be enough to make the course seem stale.
Other Thoughts: Eastview is similar in many respects to some of the other area courses - its short, nicely wooded and mostly suitable for newer players rather than experienced veterans. With the nearby school, this course is perfectly situated to offer children another fun outdoor opportunity. If you are more experienced and looking for something a little more challenging on the north side of Vancouver, skip over to Bowen Island for the wilderness course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eastview Park

1    1/15/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Eastview Park is a short little nine hole course located in a heavily wooded park on the outskirts of Vancouver, B.C. The course plays short, and is most appropriate for novice to intermediate players. Hole one's tee, although a little difficult to locate, is on the cement behind the chain linked fence literally where the park entrance starts. Each tone has yellow tape around the top with a large red number to help with navigation. Each tee has a wooden 2x4 placed in the ground with a number etched into it, and packed sand for players to throw from. Holes #1, 2, and 9 are located on the west side of the park, holes #3 and 4 are down the center of the grassy field in the middle of the park, and holes #5-8 are located on the east side of the park. All tones are easy to spot, although some tee pads can blend in a little too well with the surroundings so you might have to walk first to the tone and backtrack to locate the tee pad.

The course, although short, is clean, beautiful, and relaxing to play a casual round on. Locals are really friendly, and a round can easily be played in just over a half an hour. Holes # 6 and #7 were my two favorites on the course and reminded me a lot of the type of holes I might come across in Washington. They were two of the longer holes on the course (maybe 200 ft.), but had tight fairways with multiple lines to the pin. A bad deflection can be costly, so accuracy is essential for a birdie opportunity.
Cons:
This course although fairly basic, is the perfect place to introduce someone new to the game. Those with more experience will only need a mid and putter the entire round. Some might find the length of the course or the fact that there are no baskets a problem but to be honest, it is perfect for the size of the park. It would be a waste to put nine baskets on a pitch and putt course when they could be better used elsewhere. The course is appropriate for its target audience.

Navigation can be an issue, but make sure you locate the tone first and the rest will work itself out. Also, beware of dog walkers and pedestrians who are passing by, give them time to pass since we too are visitors of the park and should be good ambassadors for the game!
Other Thoughts:
Eastview Park, as other reviewers have stated, is a fun course play or practice on if you are in the immediate area or are a course bagger like myself, but hardly worth the drive if more then an hour away. There really doesn't seem to be room for expansion or redesign considering the amount of space, but with a few improvements like tee signs and some new tee pads, could get a little better. I appreciate that the locals do however keep the park spotless, and hope they add some benches around the course in the near future.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 it's ok

1    7/18/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Discraft FTW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most holes are wooded but not to the point where you are hitting a tree every time. It's a good course to play if you are in walking distance or maybe 5-10 min drive.
Cons: Tee areas can be hard to find. I couldn't even find #1's area.
Other Thoughts: I'm not a big fan of tonals but thats just personal preference I guess

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Really easy but fun

2-4    7/30/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: aardvarkious
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A few interesting layouts, friendly locals, impossible to loose a disk.
Cons: Lots of dog walkers- you'll need to wait a few time. All holes are very short.
Other Thoughts: A kind of fun course to fool around on, but not worth driving to if you are more than 10-15 minutes out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Meh.

1    6/5/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: theHip
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that is brand new (1 year old) and built in a limited space. For the location, I would say this is not a bad course at all. It has 9 holes. Holes aren't too long, but not too short either. Most of the holes are in a wooded area, and some are open.
Cons: All holes are marked but some holes were hard to find. All of the holes feature tonals, and they are numbered, this helped me figure out where the tee-off's were.
Other Thoughts: I travelled out to North Van to play this one, and it does not live up to the other courses Vancouver has to offer.
But if you lived in this area it would be a great "backyard" course for you to check out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center