Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Highbridge Gold Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  A terrific challenge

1    5/22/2011   6/22/2013
Review By: mjwilson
Played: 78  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge of this course. It was a long, grueling course that required multiple good shots on a lot of holes. Even though the holes were long most required me to throw something other than a distance driver off the tee so I could keep it in the fairway. You really have to be smart about your disc selection. There is one very long, open, downhill hole that allows you to bomb a drive or two as far as you can.

I know some people don't like how far from just about everything this course is located but I love it. There aren't many people there and you can just appreciate the natural beauty of the area.
Cons: Ticks are everywhere just like the rest of northern Wisconsin.
Other Thoughts: I know the course can be a bit swampy if they get a good amount of rain and its hard for one man to keep up with maintaining all those course but the conditions were great when I was there. Just lucky I guess, and because of that this is one of my favorite courses. High bridge is definitely worth the trip for an avid disc golfer looking for a challenge.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bring A 2nd Arm

2-4    10/3/2012   3/4/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 72  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2016
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Geat mix of holes on this course. some with elevation challenges, some with tree challenges, some with water challenges, some with wind challenges and most with distance challenges.
-You can take a cart on this course....who doesnt love that?
-Well maintained.
-great signage
-great surrounding landscape, making the course visually appealing.
-All around a solid course meant for the advanced- pro disc golfer.
Cons: -Impossible for an experienced (not pro) thrower to walk off the course after playing the longs and feel good about themselves. Just too long on most holes.
-wind on the long holes makes them more frustrating than they already can be for someone without a cannon for a throw.
-Did i mention this course is a beast, it just keeps coming at you with distance?
-Some of the roughs can be very rough and buggy.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for a newbie to the game. I have played many years and this course kicks my butt. There are a few holes that give you an ace look, which is a nice change of pace on this course, but like I said only a "few". All said and done i will say this course is absolutely a great course and makes me jealous of those that do have the arm to put up a solid score. I, and i highly doubt im alone on this, am an experienced thrower who played this and walked away feeling like less of a man. From a pro thrower standpoint, this course has got to be a 5. The course and how it satisfies the range of discers out there really only caters to the big throwers or those who prefer long hole after long hole. I recommend those that don't have a bazooka for an arm to throw from the shorts. We had much more fun when we felt like we made progress each throw on this course. Will not rate it a 5 strictly because this course does not offer something for all disc golfers. Beginners will definitely get very frustrated on this course. All said and done, however, it is a great course and deserves the rating it has.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 GOLD $$$

1    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.5 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to start out with this. If you have not been to Highbridge make your plans now. You are missing out if you have not been there. Plan to spend at least 3 days to enjoy what the golf offers.

Gold is exactly what it is designed to be. It's an absolute beast designed for the best players in the World. At the 2007 Pro Worlds the best round on this course was a 55. After you play it imagine shooting a 55 on this par 69 course.

That land has a great mix of rolling hills, open, woods, and everything in between. Although there are a handful of standard par 3 holes you get bombarded with par 4's and 5. #6 is an absolute monster of a par 6. Yes, Par 6!!!

Great long and level cement tee pads.

Awesome Innova Discatcher baskets.

Adequate tee signs with A & B pin locations and par.

I like the use of the elevated ball golf tee area. It makes for a great green on #9.

If you like throwing a power driver this is the course for you. You are going to get many chances to mash!!!

Along with the mashing you are going to get brutalized by some of the longest and nastiest wooded holes. 6 is just downright filthy!

The Island Hole on #16 is a great concept.
Cons: These don't hinder my rating of this course. Although not the best the tee signs could be upgraded to the best of the best.

Highbridge is a huge piece of property. Depending on when played the grass can be somewhat long. It depends on when John mows.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love Highbridge. There is a course for everyone here. I have Blueberry, Gold, & Granite as 5 disc courses. It's my #1 favorite place to play disc golf. Keep in mind that this is in the middle of nowhere. Be prepared (food, water, etc...) and bring some good hiking shoes. Bring a friend and spot for each other. This is no walk in the park. I have spent over 2 weeks at Highbridge and the golf is fantastic!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Highbridge Gold

1    6/7/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: [The Complex]- There are presently 5 complete 18-hole courses, with 2 more still being constructed. I like the fact that the courses are designed to be at varying levels of difficulty (hardest-> Gold-Granite-Blueberry-Woodland-Chestnut <-easiest) so if you come and play them all you will have a well-rounded experience of both challenging Žskill-testers and more relaxing, fun rounds. Each course has different colored baskets that correspond to the course's name. The courses are set on an amazing piece of land that is huge and contains many natural features that are ideal for disc golf (open, woods, elevation, and ponds). The land is dedicated purely to disc golf and is so isolated that only disc golfers will be here, and chances are you will have these courses all to yourself. Huge props need to be given to the course designer for placing all the courses where they aren't on top of each other, each has its own character, and individual hole design is very creative and well-done. John, the owner, is very nice and loves to have people come and play. He works extremely hard on the courses and on the facility as a whole.

[The Course]- The Gold course is definitely a Gold Level course. The baskets for this one are the standard yellow band Discatchers. It consists of 18 challenging holes, a lot of it set on land that was a ball golf course. The biggest aspect that makes it harder is its length. There are 2 sets of tees (white-shorter, gold-super long), with the exception of only one tee on a few of the shorter holes. The white tees would still make it the hardest course at Highbridge, and the Gold tees are designed for those blessed with the really big arms. It is more wide open than Blueberry and Granite and the rough was not as thick, but there are still many spots where accuracy is necessary. This course is also more affected by wind as it is on the side of the ridge that faces the lake and it is more exposed to the elements due to being more open.

Some things I personally really liked about Gold: 1) there is a superb mix of alternating between open and wooded holes; 2) not being a long thrower I enjoyed that there were several shorter holes mixed in at just the right time providing for a great contrast from hole to hole; 3) there were a few pond water hazards as well as the unique island green of #16 surrounded by a moat; 4) it is not boring wide open long, but legit par 4/5 style where you have to strategically play your way down each fairway; 5) the views of the scenery are the best on the Gold course; and 6) though designed for gold level players it can still be enjoyable by intermediate players.
Cons: [The Course]- The only minor con (for me) was the day I played the wind was insanely gusty making it even harder (probably was the strongest wind I have ever played in) to the point that it took away from the total enjoyment just a bit. A worker said the wind often picks up quite a bit on summer afternoons.

Basically the only thing keeping this course from being a 5.0 for me is the lack of attention to amenities and lack of completion of the complex as a whole.

[The Complex]- Can be summed up in two words- trashy and incomplete. The land is beautiful but is littered with junk and trash and numerous unfinished projects. And then add on top the most important thing of trying to maintain 5 courses while building 2 more, but nature is easily overtaking things. John is fighting a losing battle with an unpaid staff of 2 that can't complete the things that are already here while simultaneously trying to build more stuff. Things appeared to be breaking faster than they could be fixed. The campground was trashy and smelled of raw sewage in several spots. The Honka House has a lot of potential but the pics of the outside don't tell the whole story- inside it is missing basics like drywall, outlet covers, lights, etc. and seems to be used as much for storage of junk as it is for housing guests.
Other Thoughts: [The Course]- The Gold course is designed to test the very best, and it definitely does. I think it is the most complete of all the courses at Highbridge. This is one course where you can rent a golf cart, but it is not really necessary. And John told us later that there is a bear den on one of the holes. (We joked later that it would have been nice to know that before hand and not afterwards!!!)

[The Complex]- If you like lots of holes and very rustic lodging then you will love it here. If you have high expectations of well-manicured courses and hotel-like lodging then prepare to be disappointed. John's mission is noble as he wants people of all ages to enjoy the outdoors and has plans to have 7 courses, as well as numerous other activities, but he does not seem concerned with creating a first-class disc golf facility. He dreams big, but appears to have bitten off more than he can chew. Highbridge needs manpower, but does not have the advantage of disc-golf loving locals or park workers that most other courses have. Other private courses don't either, but are usually only 1 course, not 7, and much easier to maintain!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Gold

1    3/9/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 134  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 7.6 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Highbridge Gold is very likely the longest 18 hole course I've ever played. If you play from the gold tees, the holes average around 550 feet, which is 200 feet more than I'm used to. But several of these shots are not just open field where you have to just bomb it. Some of them, like #6, play either 730 or 920 ft. through a wooded area. It's a very challenging and potentially frustrating course. My group and I were more frustrated than we were happy about our shots but we thoroughly enjoyed every second we were playing here. It really humbled us and taught us that we still have a long way to go...

Hole #8, in my opinion, was the signature hole at a distance of 1325 feet and justifying a par 6. It's a great feeling to crush a disc if you have some built up frustration from the prior holes, and this is the perfect hole to do it.

Gold is a perfect championship course and therefore warrants a perfect 5.0.
Cons: This is definitely not a beginner's course. If you can't throw above 300 feet consistently, this is not the course for you. If you're used to your local park where the holes vary between 150-300 feet, you're in for quite the surprise here.

Also, the Highbridge Hills Sports Complex in general is very far away from any stores or restaurant, so make sure you stock up for your stay with lots of food, water, alcohol, and that sort of thing.
Other Thoughts: The HHSC is an amazing place to go. The scenary is wonderful, the people you'll meet are amazing, and the courses here are nothing short of being the best in the world.

If you get the chance, say hi to John Jokinen, the owner and care taker, and thank him for everything he's done. He's a very nice guy who puts in a ton of time with the courses, the cabins, the honka house, and the entire site in general.

Feel free to message me about any of the courses or HHSC in general and I'll try my best to answer any questions. :)

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 No Fools Gold Here

1    7/20/2010   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 668  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 17.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I drove up to the Highbridge complex of courses fully expecting to be underwhelmed - sure they had bunches of courses, but were they really the cream of the crop? The answer is a confident 'yes' - these courses and the complex itself lives up to expectations!

Although Blueberry Hill is currently rated top dog at Highbridge, the Gold course managed to grab the top spot for me. The Gold course, while not having the variety of holes that Blueberry does, had the most consistency and challenge. Chuck Kennedy's careful design work and attention to detail really stands out on many of the par 4 and 5 holes. On each, I felt that I had several nearly equal options off the tee to mix and match with knowledge of course conditions and personal confidence. Landing zones are apparent but not easy to reach and plenty of opportunities are available for aggressive play or defensive play depending on player strengths and weaknesses. The Gold course will test not only the shots in your bag but knowledge of strategy. Liek Blueberry Hill, all staple shots will be needed for this course (and probably a few unorthadox when in trouble) and it will expose weakness with punishing rough and some well thought out elevation hazards. Blueberry isn't the only course with 'wow' - few tees impress and intimidate as much as the 1325' eigth.
Cons: Gold lacks a bit of the variety and accessibility of Blueberry and appeals to a slimmer range of skill levels. At the same time, part of what makes this course stand out so much is its consistency and unrelenting nature.
Other Thoughts: To anyone who is wondering if this place is worth a trip - definitely! Although I only had a day to play all of the courses, I feel like I could have easily spent a week here without getting bored. Camping, wilderness, golf carts, and tons of natural beauty all make this place one of the best destinations in disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Championship Course for sure

1    7/13/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely everything is great-

- Nice views and surroundings

-Great baskets

-A beautiful challenge

-Well cared for fairways and greens

Very long, but not dumb, not thought out long holes. Very well thought out.

-Carts available for rent.

-A very fun course to play
Cons: -Takes a while to play, but that's to be expected from this caliber of a course.
Other Thoughts: I would definately put this course on par with Blueberry in terms of quality. I enjoyed it very much and I thought 8 was just about the most beautiful hole I've ever played

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 256  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With eight par 3's, seven par 4's, two par 5's and one par 6, this championship caliber course will put your game to the test. While it is a very long course, there are still some deuce possibilities on the par 3's. When you stop counting everything as par 3, you'll realize there are birdie opportunities on every hole. But to get birdies, you have to throw good skilled shots because there is a lot of risk/reward on this course. Placement is very important on many of the par 4+ holes so you have decide how aggressive you want to play and hope you're accurate.

Parts of some holes are open, but the majority of the course is wooded or has large mature trees to deal with. I like how the holes are mixed together forcing you to go from a long par 4 or par 5 to a shorter hole where accuracy really counts.

There is a good balance of hyzer and anhyzer shots here, with some holes requiring both to successfully navigate the long fairway. Elevation changes are plentiful and the overall design is fantastic.

Navigating the course is easy as there are next tee signs everywhere and maps are provided at the hilltop clubhouse. The concrete tee pads are in great shape. There is lots of landscaping that's been done here, especially with built up hills lined with large rocks. This pro par 68 course is well maintained and I just can't say enough good things about this course and the entire complex!
Cons: Some of the tee signs are sun bleached and difficult to read.
Other Thoughts: John has put innumerable hours turning this into the best place ever to disc golf and it shows. This is a top notch complex with a number of incredible courses, and there are more courses on the way. If you ever get a chance to make the trip up here, DO IT! Plan on spending more than one day because these courses are long, have lots of elevation changes and they will wear you down. And that's coming from someone who can play 4 rounds in a day no problem.

This truly is the mecca of disc golf!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    6/11/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: PA Frolfer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It really is tough to find anything better - The Gold course is the most complete course I have ever played. Gold has significant elevation, small ponds, and nice fairways. The course exhibits true par 4's, par 5's, and even a monster par 6. The course has so many signature holes, including 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 16, and 18. It offers an awesome challenge to the good disc golfer, and an impossible challenge for the weaker players. If you don't want a challenge then don't play here - the course will eat you alive. While there is a nice variety of some shorter and longer holes, the course features more of the longer holes. There are also two distinct set of tees, with a few more sets coming to create the Max Gold course, the longest course in the world.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are faded, but just make sure to get a scorecard in the pro shop before the round. This would actually be a major pro in my book - scorecards are available for every course. The Gold course is extremely tough - the fun factor for amateurs would be very low. I had a good time because I love a good challenge. The course is also hard to walk as it does feature some elevation.
Other Thoughts: It's really tough to beat what the Highbridge complex has to offer - the variety offered is top of the line!

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome and tough

1    6/9/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is another phenomenal course on the Highbridge property, a truly special place to play disc golf. Gold is the toughest complete course, and will challenge even the best players and make any player use every shot in their bag. There is lots of great elevation, and it is used extremely well to add challenge and interest, with some awesome downhill bombs and some tough uphill holes. There is a good mix of open and wooded terrain that keeps you on your toes and mixes it up enough that the course never gets repetitive.

This course makes you use just about every disc and every shot you carry, with left and right turning holes in good balance and turns that happen at all different points along fairways to make you think about your shot and do something different on just about every hole.

There are two sets of concrete tees on every hole, the extremely tough gold tees that will humble even seasoned pros, and the white tees that are tough for the rest of us and often totally change up the shot on the hole for some extra variety. I only got to play the golds, but I tried to take a look from every white tee, and it sure looks like they're worth a round too. There are decent signs on the gold tees with distance and layout for both pin positions on all the holes. The discatchers are in good shape and catch well.
Cons: I would like to have a little better signage here. If you want to play the white tees, you'll still have to go to all the gold tees to see the tee signs, and there isn't any distance marked for the white tees on the signs (though the scorecard remedies this). The signs also have no way of showing which pin position is in use, which means some long walks if you want to know before you throw.

There is some long grass rough in play on this course, which is never my favorite, it only wastes time and plastic without really adding strokes for errant shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough course that really isn't for beginners, even from the short tees. More experienced players will find themselves tested with a great mix of length, elevation, and strategically used trees and woods. This is a must play while you're at Highbridge, and certainly is a big part of what makes this place special.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.