Disc Golf Store
Lehighton, PA 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: phish4rob Hole #16 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Fun course! Ish.

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Discs2010
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a full 18 holes.
Tee signs at each hole.
Plenty of parking.
Trash cans everywhere.
Nice views of mountains, and river!
Great place to eat right up the street at Riverwalk.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes.
No next hole signs, not to difficult to understand though.
Back 9 has drawing of pin location but not distance and no par given. Would assume all par 3 but some are possible 4?
Can get crowed on weekends.
Be careful on some holes as some use the same flight path back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area try it out, nothing crazy but not all that easy, first time throwing the course and got -1. Get your birdies on the front 9 as some of the back 9 are tight and a bit technical. Careful of dirty disc losing water on back 9 on bunch of holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 River view

1    7/23/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to my home in Weatherly and a change of pace from Eurana Park. This course is well off the beaten path of the park itself. There were a few people there for our trip but they were courteous enough.
Cons: Trashcans everywhere but trash was everywhere too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overgrown

2-4    7/10/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Ease of finding next hole: 4
Cons: Terrain management: 1 The second time I played this course its fairways were very overgrown.
Ease of finding course: 2
Layout: 2
Variety: 2
Beginner friendly: 2
Fun factor: 2
Other Thoughts: Lost disc recovery: 3
Hole info: 3
Pin and tee box quality: 3

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, technical 9 holer by the river

1    5/1/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 124  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Narrow, technical fairways
New tees (natural), baskets and signs (albeit simple) as well as an abundance of trash containers
Naturally flowing navigation
Low possibility of disc loss even though close to a river/in the 'woods'
Scenic; bordering the Lehigh River with mountain backdrop
Hopeful springboard for local DG interest and a more dynamic 18 hole DG course in the area
Favorite hole: #5 - The second longest hole on the course, it's a 234ft technical hyzer to an elevated basket with a nice view of the neighboring river.
Cons: Extremely short; lacks diversity (not designed for that however)
Mostly flat (hats off to designers for using limited elevation available)
For an area not densely populated, the land allocated seems limited considering what's available nearby
Although I was not there after a rainfall, it's fairly clear this place stays 'swampy' after rain. This should be expected being next to a river with mountain runoff, having sandy soil, etc.
Road/highway nearby and close to industrialization therefore not exactly quiet and peaceful
Other Thoughts: Situated at the base of a mountain, this short, technical 9 hole course scenically placed next to the Lehigh River is a welcome introduction to disc golf for the immediate local area. What I liked was how it forced me to think of alternate lines - mostly due to that stray tree or two protruding onto the tight fairways every so often. Players with little or no disc golf experience may have birdie looks here due to the short length. However the narrow and technical fairways can make ace runs a challenge for players with more experience.
I didn't use many discs at this course - off the tee a couple drivers I use for short woods control but otherwise just an approach and a couple putters. Additionally, I appreciate the potential lesson it may teach to local newcomers - that disc golf is more about control and thinking creatively in tricky situations (which this course could be for a newbie) rather than a huck 'n' chuck free for all.
This course gives me 'Disc Golf' hope for the local region and it's a good step towards filling in the disc golf course gap between the Lehigh Valley and I-80 area courses.
I recommend to those who live in the region or are passing through to give it a play, write a review and share your thoughts.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wildly Technical

1    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you like short technical courses this is a masterpiece. 9 holes crammed into a sliver of land between the mighty Lehigh River and Riverview Road. Wonderful Views of the River and Mountains. Plenty of Parking, Port-O-Potty, Scorecards, signs, and big level natural tees provide plenty of run up for this short but crafty niner. This course has baby undulations throughout..little dipd and rises of 5-10 feet that need to be negotiated in order to be in good postion to birdie or par. None of the holes are long, ranges from 138-239, yet aces are improbablt due to the difficult lines needed to make it to the green from the tee. These lines are not impossible but it's just that seemingly every conceivable line has that one tree that makes you think and reconsider and look for a multitude of options. I bought 12 discs...6 putters and 6 mid-ranges...I emptied my bag of virtually every hole trying to find the correct line. This course will not work out your arm or your legs but your brain may hurt as you are continually forced to be creative in order to score well. Par is 27 for 9 and this 27 will be earned as often you might hit a tree a few feet off the tee or even worse ricochet of a tree somewhere mid fairway and you are scrambling for recovery. Just a ton of fun shots and creativity to be had here. It's not just hyzers and anhyzers...I was throwing sideways, skip shots, upside downs, and things you will never imagine trying at other courses seems ok here. The river lurks nearby and provides scenery as well as additional danger. I really enjoyed hole 5 a gradual hyzer up to a basket perched atop a mound and was delighted at #8 a short sweeping hyzer down a bank to the basket below...just fun and will have you swearing you can ace it if you can just figure out how to glide after you hit that tight window. Hole 7 is forever etched in my mind...I tried 4 different routes and everyone was met by a tree ending my drives. I swear though that theres a lane somewhere on this hole to the basket. Sounds crazy but just trying to figure what to throw and how to throw is all the fun. If you have any mid range skills and if your skilled and creative this course is a good time. Plays quick you can get 2 rounds in fairly quick for 18. Complements the nearby ski hill course at Blue Mountain. If your in the area definetely check it out. Easy to get to as well.
Cons: It's very short and there is no need to pack a driver so it's more old school than typical disc golf. The river could be a disc thief if you should ricochet or pull a drive. Plenty of cut branches, trees, bushes littering the areas just off the fairways make for nasty disc retrieval if your off these miniscule fairways.(in time this should correct itself) Funny I never so many trash cans in my life but there was litter everywhere....thats probably more from the road and the river and not DGers but its worth mentioning. Cramped up to the road and a nearby industial site so despite the spectacular views your hearing cars and noise rather than peace and quiet. I really can't complain too much I'm reaching for cons here...the course is just a very fun and unique way to spend 45 minutes. I wish more niners had this crazy technical feel.
Other Thoughts: The other side of the park looks to be a bit more open with better views of the river and mountains...I'd love to see another 9 over there with ace runs and water hazzards and this would be my favorite short 18 holer ever. Park in the big lot..hole 1 is at the upstream corner next to the river. I hope the designers get rid of the branches and debri...a hint of advice...this is the perfect undulating terrain for disc golf. Unfortunately this is the same terrain preferred by mountain bikers and BMX. Often once a course is cleared you will find the bikes swarm in and ruin a good DG course. Nothing a few huge nasty logs here and there laying across the fairways won't solve. Trust me..it may look hideous but a few strategic well placed logs at access points from the lot and road will do wonders in preserving the course. Nothing erodes a grat course like 2 wheelers. I saw a mountain biker on the course at 7 AM I would not be shy about taking my advice. I had a blast and will come back when I am in the region.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Riverview Park

1    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Hodge
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice short course on a narrow tract of land between the Lehigh River and Riverview road. Hole variety is good as can be for the space allotted. Longest hole is only 239ft but there are lots of trees to keep it interesting. Couple ace chances but some challenge your accuracy. Very clean course with lots of trash cans.
Cons: It is a short course. Nothing to strain the arm. It is not a destination course on its own, but there are lots of nearby courses to play along with this one.
Other Thoughts: After Hole 5 walk along the road towards the parking lot for 150ft to get to Hole 6. Plenty of parking and the park is scenic, next to a large mountain and a river.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.