Lehighton, PA 
Riverview Park Share
Uploaded By: phish4rob Hole #11 (Taken 10/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
stopped on the way

2-4    10/27/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: You get around fast. Good place to practice your approach game. Fun place to bring beginners Getting about was easy on the front nine, a little less so on the back.
Cons: Back nine needs some tweaking. Some fairway too close together.
Other Thoughts: Ok place to practice and play a not too serious round. Short holes, some pretty tight.

 Fun course! Ish.

1    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: Discs2010
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a full 18 holes.
Tee signs at each hole.
Plenty of parking.
Trash cans everywhere.
Nice views of mountains, and river!
Great place to eat right up the street at Riverwalk.
Cons: Dirt tee boxes.
No next hole signs, not to difficult to understand though.
Back 9 has drawing of pin location but not distance and no par given. Would assume all par 3 but some are possible 4?
Can get crowed on weekends.
Be careful on some holes as some use the same flight path back and forth.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area try it out, nothing crazy but not all that easy, first time throwing the course and got -1. Get your birdies on the front 9 as some of the back 9 are tight and a bit technical. Careful of dirty disc losing water on back 9 on bunch of holes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 holes? Nope. Try 18...

1    5/7/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Logical layout- It's very easy to navigate except for the three hiccups noted below that could be corrected with more signage.

2. Good use of terrain - Kudos to whomever designed the basket placements on this course, they have really proved that you can make a little terrain go a long way. Several baskets are on top of little hillocks, which means that sometimes you will be putting inside 30 feet horizontally from 5 to 15 feet below the basket. The water does not come in to play too much (I hate losing disks in water, so I call this a plus)

3. Beginner friendly(ish) - Short length means beginners will not feel outclassed by the distance. The narrowness might be frustrating, but hey, you gotta learn control, and what better way?

4. Good mix of right/left/straight - I had to resort to forehand off of the tee on 3 holes, had to annie backhand at least three more tee shots. And on the first hole I had to throw a really slow weak drive to get it to bend far enough left to get around the corner for the birdie.

5. Challenging but fair design - Good shots are rewarded with birdie putts, bad shots are punished, but not too much that you can't make par. You may have tomahawk, bomb, skip, stretch, forehand, backhand, or even roll to get out of the tight spots THAT YOU PUT YOURSELF IN but in most cases there is a way to recover. Some people are going to hate the narrowness, but I for one love trying to thread needles. Ace runs are possible, just not easy.

6. Hanging basket on #18 - Hey, it's been done a lot, but I still love hanging baskets.
Cons: A. Dirt tee boxes - I would hate to see this on a wet day, it must be mud city. Gravel on all boxes would suffice until concrete becomes available. Having said this, you don't need to generate too much torque for such short throws, so the tees work just fine right now.

B. Tee boxes too close to baskets - As this place gets more popular people are going to have to drive with their eyes WIDE open for wayward approaches from the people on the hole behind them. Fencing? Barriers?

C. Shared fairway(s) - I can see why they did it, but 16 and 17 shouldn't share a fairway.

D. Navigational Hiccups - First, there should be a sign from #5 around and back towards #6, but you will find it without too much trouble if you realize you've just walked five holes straight away from your car and the next hole must take you back towards the parking area. Second, the sign leading from #9 to #10 needs to be more prominent. Third, there should be a sign from #17 pointing back across the road to #18.

E. Swamps - I imagine the mosquitoes are fierce in the summer.
Other Thoughts: I only stopped here to play because I was waiting for my girlfriend to get out of surgery at a local hospital and saw this free course less than fifteen minutes away.

I was frankly a bit disappointed when I played the front nine in 25 minutes, then decided to jog it for 18 more holes, finishing 27 holes in an hour. And then I found a sign on a trash can as I was looking for a place to throw away a wrapper , and it said to cross the road for hole 10.

Hole 10? Cool. BACK NINE!

I only had my Roc with me, but it wasn't a problem, other than missing way too many birdie putts. This course is a good place to practice hitting alleys with mid-ranges and putters and to practice recovering from tight places when you miss your alleys.

Other reviewers said this place was full of trash, but I saw way more trash cans than actual trash, and believe me, I was looking, because I needed a mini-disc and I didn't find anything I could use until I crossed the road and found a stray bottle cap. Obviously somebody has been cleaning the place up and setting up new holes, and I applaud them. Keep up the good work. This course was fun, fair, challenging, and an entertaining walk with a disc.

It is a short narrow course wedged in a small area, but hey, if you play this course a lot you will learn to hit gaps and control your disc. It is a good place to practice with a single disc, and it was well worth the stop. While it is not anything to drive 50 miles out of your way to play, it is a little better than your typical course, with nice equipment, nice amenities, and a nice design.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs some TLC

2-4    8/24/2012   10/6/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked. Good balance of left to right and right to lerft. easy to navigate, except from 17 to 18. The alleys are narrow. This is very fair, because the holes are short.

Good tee signs. The river is very pleasant to play along, and doesn't really come into play.

Fun to play, and there is a chance to put up a low number, but just as much chance to play bumper pool with all the trees.
Cons: Surprisingly, I had to downgrade my review after they put the back nine in. It is VERY clear that the back was deigned by someone different. The front is well thought out while the back is downright dangerous. Tees, fairways, and baskets are very close to each other. There will be trouble if more that a few groups are out there. It is very overgrown. All sorts of stuff encroaching on the fairways and greens. 18 is totally grown over.
Other Thoughts: I had to update this, since they made it an 18 holer. It was nine when i first played it. I expected to put up a better number, but I slammed way too many trees. My fault, as the course plays tight, but fair.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 River view

1    7/23/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to my home in Weatherly and a change of pace from Eurana Park. This course is well off the beaten path of the park itself. There were a few people there for our trip but they were courteous enough.
Cons: Trashcans everywhere but trash was everywhere too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not my cup of tew

1    6/30/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Jby1999
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course can see baskets mostly
From tee boxes. Trash cans everywhere!!
We were the only people playing and no interference with rest of park.
Cons: Ferns very high course fairways are like deer paths chance to hunt for discs is very high. Basket 4 missing! Tee 5 hard to find after capturing the hill on back hole
Other Thoughts: Would recommend playing in winter or spring as it is well overgrown

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overgrown

2-4    7/10/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Ease of finding next hole: 4
Cons: Terrain management: 1 The second time I played this course its fairways were very overgrown.
Ease of finding course: 2
Layout: 2
Variety: 2
Beginner friendly: 2
Fun factor: 2
Other Thoughts: Lost disc recovery: 3
Hole info: 3
Pin and tee box quality: 3

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent chip and putt course

1    9/3/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: Qwikstreet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This 9 hole really short course was a quick play for us and was a nice wind down round from playing over at Yetter, Not like that is a big arm course. The tee signs were key in helping us find the baskets. Although it was short the baskets were hardly straight ahead and the woods makes this a technical course. It is well laid out and not a lot of walking in between holes.
Cons: Needs 9 more holes of the same length range.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the tightest 9 I've ever seen

1    5/19/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes with new DIScatcher baskets. Tees are natural and well done. Signs are very nice and accurately fit the hole. Mix of lefty/righty holes with a few near the river, but with plenty of trees bordering the river, the chance of landing one in there is quite low. The holes are VERY short, from the opening 130' to a 239' hole 5, the "signature hole". Little elevation makes it easy going for several rounds. Lots of trash cans. Very scenic with the Lehigh River next to it and the mountain on the other side. Gas station nearby and less than 3 minutes from 248.
Cons: Yes, I realize there was very little room to work with and the layout is well designed, but them trees are hatin'! A few bad kicks and you might as well throw course par into the Lehigh. Fairways are tight and for the most part, very unforgiving. Nothing else really in the immediate vicinity. The trees kill many ace runs.
Other Thoughts: For what it was worth, great job on the course with the little room they have. Plenty of parking. Not worth driving well out of the way for, but if it's on your way or not too far from where you are, stop on over there and give Riverview a ride.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, technical 9 holer by the river

1    5/1/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Narrow, technical fairways
New tees (natural), baskets and signs (albeit simple) as well as an abundance of trash containers
Naturally flowing navigation
Low possibility of disc loss even though close to a river/in the 'woods'
Scenic; bordering the Lehigh River with mountain backdrop
Hopeful springboard for local DG interest and a more dynamic 18 hole DG course in the area
Favorite hole: #5 - The second longest hole on the course, it's a 234ft technical hyzer to an elevated basket with a nice view of the neighboring river.
Cons: Extremely short; lacks diversity (not designed for that however)
Mostly flat (hats off to designers for using limited elevation available)
For an area not densely populated, the land allocated seems limited considering what's available nearby
Although I was not there after a rainfall, it's fairly clear this place stays 'swampy' after rain. This should be expected being next to a river with mountain runoff, having sandy soil, etc.
Road/highway nearby and close to industrialization therefore not exactly quiet and peaceful
Other Thoughts: Situated at the base of a mountain, this short, technical 9 hole course scenically placed next to the Lehigh River is a welcome introduction to disc golf for the immediate local area. What I liked was how it forced me to think of alternate lines - mostly due to that stray tree or two protruding onto the tight fairways every so often. Players with little or no disc golf experience may have birdie looks here due to the short length. However the narrow and technical fairways can make ace runs a challenge for players with more experience.
I didn't use many discs at this course - off the tee a couple drivers I use for short woods control but otherwise just an approach and a couple putters. Additionally, I appreciate the potential lesson it may teach to local newcomers - that disc golf is more about control and thinking creatively in tricky situations (which this course could be for a newbie) rather than a huck 'n' chuck free for all.
This course gives me 'Disc Golf' hope for the local region and it's a good step towards filling in the disc golf course gap between the Lehigh Valley and I-80 area courses.
I recommend to those who live in the region or are passing through to give it a play, write a review and share your thoughts.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.