North Wilkesboro, NC 
Highland Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: mcleanclan Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
The Great (Bamboo) Wall of Disc Golf



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best I've played

1    5/22/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the most fun courses I've played. The extreme elevation change and otherwise unique holes make this an incredibly fun time to watch your discs fly.
Cons: It's a bit tiring, so be ready for a hike. Otherwise, throw a couple discs per hole and have fun.
Other Thoughts: A great twist on a normal fairways-through-the-woods style course. Can't wait to come back.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great fun

1    8/2/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: ikester69
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging. And the corse was nothing like I have ever played. I went by myself and met the local club having an event. They invited me to play and were very nice and informative.
Cons: Only thing I could complain about was that someone that has never played the corse it was a little hard to know where you were throwing.
Other Thoughts: Bring extra discs this corse can eat them if you are not careful. Bring good shoes you will get a workout.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Delivers!

1    3/30/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The people responsible for putting this course in the ground (and maintaining it) deserve plaudits. Fast greens, crazy elevation, raised pin positions, water, great risk/reward, and awesome amenities are brought together in a secluded and lovely park.
- Outstanding use of elevation throughout. Perhaps the best I've seen in terms of squeezing out every last thrill from the awesome land available to the designers. Risk/reward is maximized on almost every green. The landing zones often are miniscule, yet always fair. Aggressive players that hit their lines will be rewarded with deuce opportunities, but the ever-present risk of rolling away lends a certain legitimacy to a more cautious approach, if executed well. Putting skills are tested throughout, often with unsure or uncomfortable footing due to the elevation.
- Three sets of tees give pretty much each hole three unique looks at the pin. Rarely did the tees add merely distance. One could mix and match their favorite tees on each hole to "customize" a round. With so many different looks and angles, one could play this course a long while before it became old hat.
- Great diversity between hole types, although extremely long holes aren't included. Each hole brings some surprise, from #1's green to the hole with the mando and bamboo wall designed to force a particular shot. #7 actually throws up a small waterfall. Outstanding!
- Spectacular amenities: incredibly descriptive signage throughout the course never leaves doubt as to the location of the 3 sets of pads for each hole, pin positions, mandatories, out-of-bounds, or the direction to the next tee; large bright rubber-coated hooks upon which to hang bags; stairways to ease passage; and perhaps most importantly due to the elevation, benches. Score cards found by #1.
Cons: - I do not consider this a con; however, there are many people who might, so I'll mention the fact that this course will give you a work out. Expect a lot of ups and downs, and if it has recently rained, slippery slopes upon which traction is dicey at best. Nothing is egregiously dangerous though, and the addition of stairs in the worst areas largely mitigates any true problem.
- A lot of old junk can be found lying about in certain spots. Sometimes more interesting than off-putting, actually. Again, not so much of a real con as an off-beat characteristic of the course.
Other Thoughts: - An interesting and charming quirk to this course can be found in the remnants of what appears to be a 1950's park replete with ancient playground equipment in the form of a large metal turtle as well as the eerie ghost-like elephants and horses upon which to ride.
- The park that Highland Hills is located in seemed extremely DG-oriented. It didn't appear as though any other sort of park activity occured. The ancient playground equipment certainly hadn't attracted any children for probably a generation or two, and there wasn't much of a walkable path for people with dogs, at least that I saw.
- This course was played before the addition of the 19th and 20th hole, so this review reflects the old 18 hole layout.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Coolsizzler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course. You have the option to play from 3 different sets of tee pads. The scenery through out the whole course is beautiful. The bright yellow and orange baskets are very easy to spot. Best signs, nice man made bridges, and a bench on every hole.
Cons: It can be a little slick on holes 3 and 4, especially after a rain. Shoes with good traction is highly suggested.
Other Thoughts: This course is great because it offers some relaxed holes, and some more challenging holes. I would recommend this course to anybody.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Highland Thrills

5+    1/8/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: big daddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: excellent scenery, skill building course, long shots, as well as ace runs
Cons: wooded, somewhat hilly
Other Thoughts: this course is brilliant, I can finally avoid a 30 minute drive just to play dg (i live in wilkes), this course has everything

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Thrills

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First taste of the course is an amazing view from the parking lot/tee pad 1.

-Course uses elevation better than any other course I have played.

-Every shot is unique (never throw the redundent back and forth shots found at other mountain courses)

-all signs are prestine (tee box, mando, next tee.)

-The tee signs are set in positions so that the players can look strait from where they are and see the target.

-Targets are coolest I have seen. (orange and yellow with chains that so shiny they look polished)

-multiple bag hooks near every tee pad

-Benches (with backs) at every tee pad

-Toughest climb on the course has a bench half way up.

-The park had been closed prior to the course opening so it is basically a disc golf only park

-Locals were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: -I was impressed with the gravel dust pads as I had no expectations for them, but the pads were very small and gave little run up room.

Other Thoughts: Highland Hills is definitely a phenomenal course. I could easily see it rated as a 5. The thought put in and attention to detail on this course is greater than any that I have played.

There are plans for another 18 on the same property. I cant wait to see what the people of wilkesboro are able to do as an encore.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wow... The H!lls Are Alive!!!

5+    10/9/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, it is a great course. And if you are playing disc golf to lose weight (like myself), you are in for a treat. It has been measured out at 2 miles in length with MANY elevation changes. The waterfall fairway (#7) is my favorite hole, but they each hold a special place in my heart. I aced #9 on Oct 9th (hit chain-high on naked pole). That was AWESOME! (Beat Roadrunner turned over nicely on this narrow/long fairway.)

The 3 sets of tees is GREAT! Distances on red will work great for ace races too. Almost all holes are wooded; thus the distances aren't extremely long, but shots must be well-placed.

Lots of water. Only the Yadkin River plays with a penalty, however.

There's an alternate loop (to avoid added hiking); play 1, 2, 6, 3, 4, 5 and then 7. It's called the "Big Hairy Route", after the member who recommended it.

Shortest #18 you will ever see. But strategic throws are again a MUST. Two guardian trees protect the basket and can/will knock your drive to the OB (road) or the valley (to the right).

Lots of parking. Many shelters. 8 trash cans around the course. Bag hooks on ALL holes. Next tee markers (coming soon) on ALL goals. Professional signs.

Overall, a well done course - yeah... the folks who built this one have very nit-picky personalities; obviously.

Cons: Highland HILLS!! The "hills" is very accurate in the naming of the course. There are benches on EVERY tee though.

#15 got ruined, but it is now a viable hole again. I may even like it more than before. Powerline trees had to be cut (thanks, Duke).
Other Thoughts: Play it. You will need a rest afterward, but heck, that's what this game is about... EXERCISE FOLKS!

I am there most days at 7am. Join me.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.