North Wilkesboro, NC
Highland Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Dicktracy714 Hole #14 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Not Safe

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: swoop disc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Its a nice park.
Cons: Really did not like this course. Hole #3 in my opinion is not a safe hole at all. If you dont watch your step you could be falling off a 30 foot ridge. If you miss on hole one you could find yourself in 20 foot deep run off ditch. hole six plays straight up the ridge with hardley no room to land a put, and hole 7 is just over the top gimmick.
Other Thoughts: I hate it when I drive over an hour only to be completely let down. What a wasted day. I have played enough different courses to know what a good course plays like. I believe the game should be fun not treacherous. In my opinion one day hole 3 is going to cost some one more than just a disc.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  H!ghland H!lls BANG!!

2-4    11/11/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Dicktracy714
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right out of the gate this course will get your attention. It starts with a sweet downhill toward the yadkin river. The longest hike is to get to the #3 tees but rather sooner than later.since the course has quite a bit of terrain and elevation change. Be careful on #5 because it plays by the river your disc may get wet. #7 is a natural work of art that allows you to shoot up over the waterfall to reach the pin.Bright orange and yellow kingpin baskets through out the park make for great visuals for your target. Signs are very detailed and well done so confusion should be a minimum. The benches that are on every hole are a great place to break and catch a breath to charge on through this nearly 2 mile fun fest. This course comes complete with tire pin suspension basket and a cool bamboo wall that can turn a birdie into a boggy. It also has 3 different tee pads for varied skill levels.Granite dust tee pads for now but concrete pads WILL be in this courses future.
Cons: The tee pads are maybe the only con I guess. The tee pads are in great shape though since the granite dust is fresh. Some reds and blues are not leveled yet. All reds and blues should be completed in the next few weeks. The white tees are completely leveled. with maybe half the reds and blues.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to wear shoes with some traction as you will need it on several ares of the course. This course offers a little bit for everyone. You will get some great exercise and have a challenging round of disc golf all at the same time. A great stop in between if your headed north to Ashe County Park or south to Yadkin Park

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: rattlinchains
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What a great home grown like course open to the public being almost completely in the woods. I thought the walk was fine it is hilly but not more than most discgolfers can handle. There are some amazing looking holes. I like every hole being a par three with some practically begging to be aced, while others try your patience making par. Great job.
Cons: I had a hard time making my disc turn on some of the fairways. Almost unnatural movement for my style of throwing. Some holes seem there for looks instead of practibilty.
Other Thoughts: totally worth the drive from anywhere. Come and see.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 highland thrills

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: brand new course in wilkesboro, bright orange and yellow baskets. use of elevation and terrain make this a very challenging course. 3 tees per hole. benches at the holes where a steep climb is needed to reach the pad, and there were several tees where you climb....and climb. water comes into play on a few of the holes. probably one of the best marked courses ive played, signage was great and tee signs at every hole were very helpful and nicely done
Cons: for a brand new course, it still has some breaking in to do. a few of the tees needed to be leveled out a little more. when you see the elevation on this course you will realize that concrete will be impossible to use for tee pads, so i dont count that as a con. the tee pad for #5 blue is in a blind spot from #4 tee so it could be a problem if crowded.
Other Thoughts: got to play this course at the grand opening. i played the blue tees(longs) i found this course to very enjoyable, hole #1 and #4 are extreme downhill shots that stood out to me as very memorable.i played ashe county park the day before and was in awe of the elevation....highland hills is just sick.... i loved it. get ready to climb, this course is no joke. kudos to the people responsible for building such a bad ass course, cant wait to get back out there and play it again

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Wow... The H!lls Are Alive!!!

5+    10/9/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, it is a great course. And if you are playing disc golf to lose weight (like myself), you are in for a treat. It has been measured out at 2 miles in length with MANY elevation changes. The waterfall fairway (#7) is my favorite hole, but they each hold a special place in my heart. I aced #9 on Oct 9th (hit chain-high on naked pole). That was AWESOME! (Beat Roadrunner turned over nicely on this narrow/long fairway.)

The 3 sets of tees is GREAT! Distances on red will work great for ace races too. Almost all holes are wooded; thus the distances aren't extremely long, but shots must be well-placed.

Lots of water. Only the Yadkin River plays with a penalty, however.

There's an alternate loop (to avoid added hiking); play 1, 2, 6, 3, 4, 5 and then 7. It's called the "Big Hairy Route", after the member who recommended it.

Shortest #18 you will ever see. But strategic throws are again a MUST. Two guardian trees protect the basket and can/will knock your drive to the OB (road) or the valley (to the right).

Lots of parking. Many shelters. 8 trash cans around the course. Bag hooks on ALL holes. Next tee markers (coming soon) on ALL goals. Professional signs.

Overall, a well done course - yeah... the folks who built this one have very nit-picky personalities; obviously.

Cons: Highland HILLS!! The "hills" is very accurate in the naming of the course. There are benches on EVERY tee though.

#15 got ruined, but it is now a viable hole again. I may even like it more than before. Powerline trees had to be cut (thanks, Duke).
Other Thoughts: Play it. You will need a rest afterward, but heck, that's what this game is about... EXERCISE FOLKS!

I am there most days at 7am. Join me.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.