North Wilkesboro, NC 
Highland Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: mcleanclan Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee Area



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Love the terrain

1    12/24/2010   1/1/2011
Review By: PDaddy
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed the course... Best Signage, nicest baskets, best benches, well made stairs and bridges over rough terrain.

Some of the holes have terrain that made watching the disk fly a thing of beauty ... or frustration. I'm sure you know what I mean.

Cons: The only problem was that it was a little muddy, making some of the hillsides rather treacherous when recovering some disks from where the trees decided to send them.


Other Thoughts: I'm an old fart, and it was a challenge for me, but for the younger guys it was perfect.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Hiiiiilllllllssssss

1    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all doglegs straight tunnel shots wide open holes plenty of ace opportunites.
- very hilly and may suprise you when you go after you look at the hole lengths.
-alot of casual water which is great cause it can be kind of hard to avoid it.
-bag hooks and great tee signs on every hole
-a great work out
Cons: Very hilly and wooded but that just adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Great course you should come out and check it out because it will be worth your while no matter what swoop disc says.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Highland Thrills

5+    1/8/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: big daddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: excellent scenery, skill building course, long shots, as well as ace runs
Cons: wooded, somewhat hilly
Other Thoughts: this course is brilliant, I can finally avoid a 30 minute drive just to play dg (i live in wilkes), this course has everything

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Highland Thrills

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -First taste of the course is an amazing view from the parking lot/tee pad 1.

-Course uses elevation better than any other course I have played.

-Every shot is unique (never throw the redundent back and forth shots found at other mountain courses)

-all signs are prestine (tee box, mando, next tee.)

-The tee signs are set in positions so that the players can look strait from where they are and see the target.

-Targets are coolest I have seen. (orange and yellow with chains that so shiny they look polished)

-multiple bag hooks near every tee pad

-Benches (with backs) at every tee pad

-Toughest climb on the course has a bench half way up.

-The park had been closed prior to the course opening so it is basically a disc golf only park

-Locals were extremely friendly and helpful.
Cons: -I was impressed with the gravel dust pads as I had no expectations for them, but the pads were very small and gave little run up room.

Other Thoughts: Highland Hills is definitely a phenomenal course. I could easily see it rated as a 5. The thought put in and attention to detail on this course is greater than any that I have played.

There are plans for another 18 on the same property. I cant wait to see what the people of wilkesboro are able to do as an encore.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not Safe

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: swoop disc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Its a nice park.
Cons: Really did not like this course. Hole #3 in my opinion is not a safe hole at all. If you dont watch your step you could be falling off a 30 foot ridge. If you miss on hole one you could find yourself in 20 foot deep run off ditch. hole six plays straight up the ridge with hardley no room to land a put, and hole 7 is just over the top gimmick.
Other Thoughts: I hate it when I drive over an hour only to be completely let down. What a wasted day. I have played enough different courses to know what a good course plays like. I believe the game should be fun not treacherous. In my opinion one day hole 3 is going to cost some one more than just a disc.

3 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  H!ghland H!lls BANG!!

2-4    11/11/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Dicktracy714
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Right out of the gate this course will get your attention. It starts with a sweet downhill toward the yadkin river. The longest hike is to get to the #3 tees but rather sooner than later.since the course has quite a bit of terrain and elevation change. Be careful on #5 because it plays by the river your disc may get wet. #7 is a natural work of art that allows you to shoot up over the waterfall to reach the pin.Bright orange and yellow kingpin baskets through out the park make for great visuals for your target. Signs are very detailed and well done so confusion should be a minimum. The benches that are on every hole are a great place to break and catch a breath to charge on through this nearly 2 mile fun fest. This course comes complete with tire pin suspension basket and a cool bamboo wall that can turn a birdie into a boggy. It also has 3 different tee pads for varied skill levels.Granite dust tee pads for now but concrete pads WILL be in this courses future.
Cons: The tee pads are maybe the only con I guess. The tee pads are in great shape though since the granite dust is fresh. Some reds and blues are not leveled yet. All reds and blues should be completed in the next few weeks. The white tees are completely leveled. with maybe half the reds and blues.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to wear shoes with some traction as you will need it on several ares of the course. This course offers a little bit for everyone. You will get some great exercise and have a challenging round of disc golf all at the same time. A great stop in between if your headed north to Ashe County Park or south to Yadkin Park

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: rattlinchains
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What a great home grown like course open to the public being almost completely in the woods. I thought the walk was fine it is hilly but not more than most discgolfers can handle. There are some amazing looking holes. I like every hole being a par three with some practically begging to be aced, while others try your patience making par. Great job.
Cons: I had a hard time making my disc turn on some of the fairways. Almost unnatural movement for my style of throwing. Some holes seem there for looks instead of practibilty.
Other Thoughts: totally worth the drive from anywhere. Come and see.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 highland thrills

1    11/6/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.2 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: brand new course in wilkesboro, bright orange and yellow baskets. use of elevation and terrain make this a very challenging course. 3 tees per hole. benches at the holes where a steep climb is needed to reach the pad, and there were several tees where you climb....and climb. water comes into play on a few of the holes. probably one of the best marked courses ive played, signage was great and tee signs at every hole were very helpful and nicely done
Cons: for a brand new course, it still has some breaking in to do. a few of the tees needed to be leveled out a little more. when you see the elevation on this course you will realize that concrete will be impossible to use for tee pads, so i dont count that as a con. the tee pad for #5 blue is in a blind spot from #4 tee so it could be a problem if crowded.
Other Thoughts: got to play this course at the grand opening. i played the blue tees(longs) i found this course to very enjoyable, hole #1 and #4 are extreme downhill shots that stood out to me as very memorable.i played ashe county park the day before and was in awe of the elevation....highland hills is just sick.... i loved it. get ready to climb, this course is no joke. kudos to the people responsible for building such a bad ass course, cant wait to get back out there and play it again

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Wow... The H!lls Are Alive!!!

5+    10/9/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2010
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, it is a great course. And if you are playing disc golf to lose weight (like myself), you are in for a treat. It has been measured out at 2 miles in length with MANY elevation changes. The waterfall fairway (#7) is my favorite hole, but they each hold a special place in my heart. I aced #9 on Oct 9th (hit chain-high on naked pole). That was AWESOME! (Beat Roadrunner turned over nicely on this narrow/long fairway.)

The 3 sets of tees is GREAT! Distances on red will work great for ace races too. Almost all holes are wooded; thus the distances aren't extremely long, but shots must be well-placed.

Lots of water. Only the Yadkin River plays with a penalty, however.

There's an alternate loop (to avoid added hiking); play 1, 2, 6, 3, 4, 5 and then 7. It's called the "Big Hairy Route", after the member who recommended it.

Shortest #18 you will ever see. But strategic throws are again a MUST. Two guardian trees protect the basket and can/will knock your drive to the OB (road) or the valley (to the right).

Lots of parking. Many shelters. 8 trash cans around the course. Bag hooks on ALL holes. Next tee markers (coming soon) on ALL goals. Professional signs.

Overall, a well done course - yeah... the folks who built this one have very nit-picky personalities; obviously.

Cons: Highland HILLS!! The "hills" is very accurate in the naming of the course. There are benches on EVERY tee though.

#15 got ruined, but it is now a viable hole again. I may even like it more than before. Powerline trees had to be cut (thanks, Duke).
Other Thoughts: Play it. You will need a rest afterward, but heck, that's what this game is about... EXERCISE FOLKS!

I am there most days at 7am. Join me.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.