Monroe, GA 
Mathews Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #10 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 396ft.   3 / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Alternate Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Mathews Park

2-4    9/5/2016   9/7/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 87  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has 16 concrete tee pads and 2 elevated wooden tee pads for holes #8&14

Has nice tee signs with most indicating basket placements

Has next tee signs

Multiple basket placements on almost half of the course

Good mix of wooded and open fairways with some elevations

Most of the holes are under shade where this can be really appreciated in the hot and humid summers

Well-maintained

Restrooms

Free parking
Cons:
Course design and flow could use improvement as there are long walks between holes 5&6 and 15&16

Has water where you have to drive over - hole #15 is the riskiest to lose a disc

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice multi-use course in Walton County that I enjoyed playing. Since my first visit in December 2015, this course has really improved since the addition of concrete tee pads, new tee signs, and I suppose more alternate basket placements in 2016. I think the course makes the best of its limited land with all the uphills and downhills and the use of the lake. The lake does seem to be a popular attraction here as there were people fishing around holes #5 and #15 when I played. The pavilion near hole #1 was crowded with some cars parked in the hole #18 fairway...so one might consider playing during off-peak hours to avoid this. Hole #16 can present challenges if cars are parked in the lot on the left of the fairway. There are some short holes here but you'll need the control to get that birdie. I want to thank the local disc golf club for their hard work and TLC to make this course more enjoyable to play now.

Mathews is where its at right now

5+    4/12/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: Astroboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes. New concrete pads and tee signs installed this year. including a drop pad for 15 a shot over the water. The local club has put in a lot of work clearing out brush and trees opening up a lot of different lines.
Even mix of lefty to righty holes. Which for me is big plus being that Im left handed.
Cons: The center piece of this course is the lake. makes for beautiful sights and interesting shots. This does lead to holes around the lake being wet and muddy. Mostly after a good rain. the park is not very big which means locals coming to the park to enjoy the weather are often hanging out in the middle of the course during a round.
Other Thoughts: In the past Mathews wasn't much of a disc golf course. Few even knew this course was even here. The WCDG is the local club and calls Mathews their home. They have done a great job in cleaning up the course, adding concrete pads and new Tee signs and building up buzz around the community with lots of support from the county. Mathews is where its at right now. Lots of event have already been had with many more to come. DUBs every WED at 5:30 during daylight savings. keep a look out for glow rounds during the summer.
Come out and see the new Mathews

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: rwe366
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation changes
- use of water on a few holes
- good course to work on basics
- challenging, but fair
- a lot of ace runs
Cons: - no tee pads ( would be a 4 if they had tee pads). number 4 I went back 10 ft because the dirt pad had roots on it.
- no legit par 4
- anyone over 900 rated should avg at least 6 or 7 down.
Other Thoughts: Good Course, nothing special but well worth the visit. I thought about not going at all, but it was well worth it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Has Potential

1    3/3/2015   3/5/2015
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * There is nothing spectacular about this course but it has the potential to be a fun course to play. Actually it is fun, but it could be more fun with signage. I rate the signage as 2.
* Enough trees to make you pay attention but not so many that you get lost in the jungle.
* Some elevation change but nothing extreme.
* A tournament is upcoming to raise funds for course improvement.
Cons: * Water. I hate water. Since that is a personal preference I didn't downgrade the course because of it. I just hate it when something unforeseen such as wind or a rollaway cause a disc to be lost forever.
* Very little signage as to where to go after finishing a hole.
* Some T-Boxes had nice signs, some were missing, some were broken and half missing, all were faded. Some of the T-Box signs didn't distinguish which of the 2 visible baskets was the one to throw at.
* Some T-Boxes were only painted marking on the ground.
* No alternate T-Boxes for those who don't want to throw across water or, more importantly, those who can't throw far enough to get across the water.
* Lots of trash and cigarette butts on the grounds. I hope it is not the disc golfers who are leaving it there.
Other Thoughts: * It appears that the city financed the course installation and then, as the economy turned down, has done little or nothing in the way of maintenance except an occasional mowing.
* I feel that someone playing a course for the first time should be able to find there way around without having to wander around to find T-Boxes or walk down fairways to find a basket or which basket. For clarification on signage scoring: 0 - Signage is so bad that a player will quit a go somewhere else because they can't find anything or know what they have found when they find something; 1 - T-Boxes have signs telling you where you are but there is not much else; 2 - Some signs but not enough to make things perfectly clear, missing signs, inadequate information; 3 - All T-Boxes have signs, and there is at least one sign pointing to the next T-Box after finishing a hole, but there is still room for doubt in some cases; 4 - Lots of signs so a person probably will have no trouble navigation the course; 5 - Idiot proof. Several signs along the path from basket to T-Box. Signs pointing to baskets where there is a blind shot. Clearly marked T-Boxes showing which T-box a person is standing and which direction to throw. Some visual or narrative describing every hole.
* Fix the signage and I'd play it again.
* I'd call this an intermediate course since there are no really long bombs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Morw than mediocre and fun

5+    1/30/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: damtroll
Played: 142  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has good Discatcher baskets.
The course does make use of the pond at the park, but not in a way that is overly challenging. I have seen better golfers than me lose discs in the pond, though. The Walton County Disc Golf Club has done a really good job taking over ownership of the course. Concrete tee pads have been placed on 16 of the 18 tee pads (One alt pad) and 2 wooden tee pads, due to site conditions. A lot of the brush and shule has been cleared from the course.
The course has several ace runs that give the intermediate golfer the hope that they finally garner that long awaited ace.
The course is rarely crowded.
Nice practice basket that you can also use as a 19th hole. Just throw from the park entrance road.
The new alternate pins give a different look on 7, 9, 10, 12, and 14, and the new pad on 13 takes the overgrown creek out of play, for the most part..
The course has a pretty good flow, and isn't too hard to follow,even without a course map.
Bathroom next to 16, for what it's worth.
New tee signs on all 18 holes, with accurate lengths.
Cons: Course maintenance has been a a problem in the past. Weeds on 6 through 8, and 12 through 14 can be a real problem in the spring/summer growing season. However, a lot of work has been done on these holes recently, thanks to WCDG club and Walton county..
For some reason, lazy people like to park on the fairways of 15 and 16. Sure, I occasionally throw in the parking lot on 16, but that doesn't need to mean they should park in the fairway.
There has been problems with people fishing around the pond. Most people are pretty cool if you let them know what you are doing.
I have seen people use the basket for 15 as a trash receptacle and a dog tie out.
Eighteen throws over an old play area that doesn't get much use anymore. It hasn't posed a problem.
No course map.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for geese and people fishing while on the course.
During previous spring/summer seasons when doubles were being run, we played 1-5 and 15-18 twice to avoid the overgrown sections of the course. With the extra work being done, this may not be necessary.
As a 845 rated disc golf without a lot of distance, I liked playing the course for doubles, as I felt I had a chance to contribute, even playing with a 1000+ rated partner for the round.
I have read reviews about the sketchy area, but have never had a problem with being on the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy, and technical

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: umeshc
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I am an intermediate RHBH player but use my forehand equally well. For me this course was fun to play at least to those pins that were close to the water because I like more of a technical and accurate game than distance because I can't throw more than 350 feet. Well, Only two pins were above 350 I think. Pin #10 and Pin # 18 were 400 and 396 feet respectively. You can get easy EAGLE in pin #10 if you throw forehand or good anhyzer because you have very small room for big hyzer shots. All the wooded pins are poorly maintained and needs good accuracy otherwise you are most probably going to loose your disc because of the bushes along the fairway. The wooded holes are short for me at least. Maximum distance I found was 270 feet or so, not sure right now. Pins near to the water aren't that lengthy, so you can basically use your mid-range discs or even putter. I shot 4 under par in my first attempt with 4 spits out. Definitely within range of any intermediate player.
Cons: Poor management of the course. I think the reason is, it is free. However, my home course, the Herman C. Michael in Bishop (near Athens) is free yet well maintained. You will find people fishing and kids playing around some holes like#15, #17, and #18. Some tee had missing information about the distance and par.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I like this course for fun play. If the park administration puts some money to update the course information every once two year and if they mow the bushes and grasses along the fairway, it would be a good DGC.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mathews Mediocrity

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 13.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mathews Park is a full 18 hole disc golf course with some other interesting installations right in the middle of it all. The course encircles a small body of water with diverse woods and small elevation changes in spots. Opening and closing holes are more open, and where the water comes into play on a couple of holes (#1 and #15 mainly). The middle of the course requires more precise lines through thicker trees, and a couple of power and distance holes nearing 400 feet. Some good holes, but nothing about the course stands out more than the various learning centers, observational experiments, and an extensive collection of carefully labeled trees mixed into the general tree population in one corner of the park. There are signs identifying different species of trees, signs telling the purpose of conservation studies, signs urging people not to litter. Other weird objects have also been built or arranged around hole 5 to hole 12 or so. Many of these items are near or part of the disc golf course.

All baskets are in place, and most holes have a sign. Hole #5 ends very close to the tee for #15 so 9 holes is a short option as well. .
Cons: The course is a functional 18 holes, but nothing that is especially memorable or terrific. The assortment of educational items on the course or other park goers could inhibit play on a nice day, I suppose. I hit two of these metal signs on the same hole (#8). The 18th hole goes right through a playground! I know thats no good. The sign for #6 had fallen off the post, and I couldn't find the tee marker for #13.
Other Thoughts: Kind of interesting place if you have the time, but not an exceptional disc golf course. I did think the exotic trees exhibited were cool. It is a cost free park, unlike other better courses nearby. Some good challenging shots out there, and some nice holes. This course reminds me of Herman C. Michael Park in nearby Bishop, without quite as dense trees in the wooded portion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Matthew's is a dump

1    2/19/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is free.
Cons: Everything. And you get what you pay for(see pros). Apparently the county has zero money for it's parks. Couldn't see the basket on hole #1. Lots of trees cut down & left where they fell.
Other Thoughts: My Son & I drove (10 miles)down to Matthew's for a nice saturday of disc golf. They cut down a bunch of trees & left them piled where they fell. Some of the branch cuttings were in big piles. On hole #1 we couldn't see the basket. Not sure if a tree was laying on it. We both decided to go to Ft Yargo(much better course). Lots of better parks in nearby counties. The pictures on this website are very out of date. Hole #1 picture shows the basket just over the water. It wasn't there when we visited, either dug up or a tree crushed it. Tree was laying where basket should have been.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Mathews

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 106  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 8.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Matthews is a very enjoyable 18 hole course set in a park that features a nice 3 acre lake. While on the short side, coming in at only 4776 feet, it can be challenging. Besides the three holes that top out at just less than 400 feet, you'll find holes that average around the 240 feet range. Many of these holes are heavily wooded and will not only require skill and finesse, but at times a little luck. But you'll also find some holes that open up a bit and they add to the variety. Additionally, there is a good mix of elevation too, nothing dramatic but certainly enough to keep it interesting. Although water comes into play on a hand full of holes, only three will require you to throw across. Most are quite easy to clear but an occasional bad shot could make it possible to go home with a lighter bag. On a couple of holes overshooting the baskets could get you wet too. It's also worth noting that even if you're not a short wooded course kind of person the consolation is that this is a very fun course to play and there's ample ace and birdie opportunities.

Each tee pad has good signs with distances and there's some next tee signs where it counts. Together they get you through the course pretty well. The natural tee pads are in decent shape and they do the trick nicely. The newer DISCatchers are in perfect shape. There's also a practice basket for putting available near hole one. There's even enough room throw some longer warm up approach shots/short drives as well. An information sign with a mailbox for scorecards and other info is here too, although it was empty on my visit.
Cons: The hole six transition is less than seamless. It requires a little backtracking that is more of an annoyance than anything. You'll wish there was a way to get down the hill directly to the basket from the pad. You'll have to walk back towards five's basket and then finally back down to six's basket.

The park itself seemed a little depressing to me. Having the whole park to yourself is usually a good thing but for whatever reason it felt a little creepy when I visited. The rundown bathrooms and structures add to the atmosphere, as does the miscellaneous trash scattered around. Even the lake had lots of submerged trash around its banks. It'd be nice if some trash cans were added around the course, although I suspect it's not the disc golfer's littering as much as other park users.

There are just a few more areas towards the middle of the course that need to be cleaned up and broken in. Mainly just some scraggly stuff, vines, etc. More often than not the fairways are fairly clean and well defined but there's plenty of brush to deal with outside the lines.
Other Thoughts: Being that I like shorter, wooded courses I really had a great time here. There were a few memorable holes for me. Number eight was my favorite on the course. It is a really nice uphill shot with a low ceiling and was lots of fun. Number ten's open downhill shot topping off near 400 feet was a fun hole too. My second favorite was probably number thirteen. Another shot near 400 feet plays along a valley floor with a dry creek bed running along its right side. If the underbrush gets cleaned out on this hole it will be beautiful.

As mentioned in a previous review there are dozens of trees with orange ribbon tied around them near and in seventeen and eighteen's fairways. I hope they are not going to be cut for the course's sake. They make the course so much more fun than if they disappeared. I'm afraid they might have come under pine beetle attack or something similar. Although I didn't see any sap leaking I did see lots of little holes drilled in the bark of these trees. Let's hope they survive.

This is a course that is worth a little travel to check out and play. I drove over an hour and a half and left very pleased. I will definitely go and play again. It's also worth noting that nearby Criswell Park's nine hole course is a nice way to justify the trip as well. Make sure you try to hit both while you are in the area.

Based on my fun factor and the courses potential I'd rate it a 3.5 but based on what I perceive as the average disc golfer's expectations, I'll ring it up as an official 3 for now. Enjoy!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet & Petit

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 7.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great variety of hole types, some old growth pine, some open, some short water carries, uphills, downhills and through a wooded nature area that has probably every type of tree you can grow in GA.

Holes are mostly short and technical with a couple longer open holes.

Great use of what seems to be a pretty un-used park.
Cons: Kind of trashy. We only saw one trashcan and it was on the back side of the course. Over by the lake there are no trash cans but there is plenty of trash and even a sign telling you to use them.

Basket 15 has become a trashcan because of this and a tub of butter on the top of the basket distracted me and caused a bogey...I would have thrown it away if there was anywhere to do it.

Spooky bathrooms that would make excellent sets for a horror movie chainsaw rapist/killer scene.

Lots of goose poop around the lake...not a big deal, just watch your step!!

Still needs some breaking in, lots of brush and undergrowth but its a new course.

Several of the signs point in the wrong direction and with a few blind baskets this could be frustrating, but after we saw this on an open hole we started checking before throwing...I think they adjusted the tees after the signs were made.
Other Thoughts: A great and fun little course. The water carries are short enough that all but the smallest of kids could clear them. A pair of new players, father and son asked us why all the trees were marked on 16-18 and we didn't know but I really hope they are not thinking about removing them...they are beautiful and make the last holes fun and interesting...it would be a waste to do so and if the newbies want them, why would you do it?

If they installed about a dozen trash cans and cleaned up some brush this course would easily be a 3.5 in my book.

We look forward to playing again...and again.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.