San Marcos, CA 
CSU San Marcos DGC Share
Uploaded By: Rizbee Hole #5
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
fun time

1    3/14/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -has fun short and long holes
-beautiful scenery
-fun if you are a student there
Cons: -def not good during school hours
-some of the short throws feel useless, like why even put a hole here
-should have a beer start location sign
Other Thoughts: had a great time. could play thru twice. pay to park on campus or risk towing by ralphs...which ever. overall a decent course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Undy Run at CSUSM

5+    5/16/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for begginers because there are some shorter baskets. It is also free and in beautiful San Marcos where the weather is great. I love playing here in the late afternoon because it sits up on a hill and the view is great. Also it's fun to play during the California State Universities do their annual undy run. 18-25 year old women running around the campus in their underwear. Didn't play well but the view was great!! :)
Cons: It is a little on the easy side which makes it a little boring sometimes. It's hard to access too because it is on the University and parking is bad,

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Bring a map

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: D_Fresh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Starts strong with some nice par 3's. and a good size par 4. hole 9 was confusing to find becuase it was so far from basket 8.
Cons: Hard to find where the next tee box is.
Other Thoughts: Weekends much better then the week days when school is in session. Weeds are really tall on the first 5 holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Another great San Marcos course.

5+    6/10/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: rizbee_jr
Played: 162  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was in the works for a loong time. Lots of hard work made it possible and the wait was worth it. This designer knows how to use the land he's given. Great job Dad!
Cons: A few long walks. Kinda sucks that a few holes aren't there. But they will be soon.
Other Thoughts: But seriously, unbiased, this course makes use of the land that is available very well. It may not be the most challenging and exciting course ever, but it is fun and makes great use of all the campus.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 checked it out

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: close to freeway. free. variety of distances and elevation changes. 9-16 are the heart and soul of the course..short with obstacles. but dont try to play during school hours. weekends or late nights only
Cons: at busy college campus. pay to park. i walked from the starbucks down the street (ten minutes away ) only holes 1-6 and 9, 17 and 18 and disc golf exclusive. all the others need to be played with caution. so weekends and holidays
Other Thoughts: hole 1- i liked that the basket was on a sloped hill

hole 7- i like how the basket was in between those trees. i ended on the edge of the hill so i had a blind second shot. it was interesting. also if you see a cement water channel on the hill to the left of the tee. be careful not to land your disc at the edge of the hill because there is a grate that the disc can fall through and it doesnt look like you can get your disc if it falls through.

the walk from 8 to 9 is long

hole 9- nice and disc golf exclusive-tree in way

hole10- nice uphill shot(weekends only)

hole11- short but trees in the way. nice

hole 13- nice short uphill (weekends or spotter)

hole 15- short but lots of elevation and obstacles. metal bar. stairs and such

hole 16- short but plenty of trees in the way

hole 17 and 18 are really far from 16 and are located in rattlesnake country. not worth it

(it probably makes more sense to park by the blockbuster and walk to hole 9 to start with...and finish at 8. then walk back to your car..that ways its free

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of Pedestrians

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the only 18 hole courses around, and a great addition to the very few other courses in San Diego County. The first thing I noticed was the brand new custom Innova baskets with the top band being blue and white (school colors), instead of the normal yellow. These are some of the nicest baskets i've seen. Good color signs provide map of each hole and distance to basket. The designer made creative use of the available space and elevation. I fully agree with the course description that the scenery is excellent. Tees are either rubber or sidewalk. Several "island greens" due to basket placement on grassy areas surrounded by sidewalk. Most of the back nine is wheelchair accessible. Nice variety of wide open holes and holes with lots of obstacles. Great for students to use between classes, or as a break from studying.
Cons: Most holes are short, except for # 3 which is over 500 feet. Several holes play through busy parts of the campus where pedestrians are prevalent. The signs are a little too close to the tees, and the rubber tees are a little too small. Some of the walks between holes are longer than the holes themselves. Holes 7 and 8 are unplayable during track meets. Players must pay to park on campus.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had a course on my college campus! I wanted to give this course a better rating, but due to lack of length, and the fact that most of the course is not DG exclusive, a 3 is the best I could do. Worth checking out, but try to avoid the busy times on campus. Print a map, or grab one at Clarke Fieldhouse because navigation is somewhat difficult.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.