San Marcos, CA 
CSU San Marcos DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A Tale Of Two Courses

1    3/30/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: THE CSU San Marcos DGC seems more like two distinct courses. The first eight holes and the last three play through these dusty, , wide open wind swept fields using nothing but length as an obstacle. The middle holes of the course are squeezed into the inner parts of the campus quite cleverly making for some quite interesting although short ACE possibilities.

The course features DIScatcher baskets, great tee signs featuring colorful maps, PARs, distance, etc. The tee pads on the field holes are concrete although maybe a bit short. On the campus holes, you're mostly teeing off from sidewalks although they are in some places cleverly marked with these little round SCU San Marcos markers which are inbedded in the sidewalks.
The campus holes were my favorites featuring many fun little ACE runs. # 9 was a simple little 201' downhill shot. # 10 is a 153' uphill shot requiring an anhyser throw. # 11 is just a 128' ACE run when there are no co-eds blocking the throw. # 12 sign says it's 264' but I think it's much shorter. The basket here sits right in the middle of probably the campus' most popular lawn gathering and meeting spot. # 13 is a 163' uphill ACE run while # 14 is a great 178' throw just waiting to be ACED.

Then you come to the signature hole on this course, IMO, # 15 is just a simple little flick/touch shot over a railing, 141' to a basket kinda hidden behind a tree. You can throw a simple little tomahawk for a birdie or an anhyser around the tree for the ACE attempt. Fun little throw!

The course then ends with 16-18 on the far side of the parking garage. # 16 has been re-located due to the construction of a new campus building due to open in fall of 2014.
Cons: The open fields holes fairly boring. The terrain here is ugly. There's a sign at the beginning warning you to watch out for rattlesnakes.
Holes 7 & 8 are closed when there is a track meet in progress.

The campus holes 9-15 would be nearly impossible to play when students are present. I played on Sunday morning and no-one was around. It also might have been the Sunday of spring break.
Other Thoughts: This is actually not a bad little course for a college campus. It would expose a lot of students to disc golf. I'm a little worried that exposure might just be drilling one in the forehead with an approach shot of the campus holes. I sincerely hope the San Marcos student disc golfers are considerate players and are willing to skip holes when students are present. I'd hate to bypass # 15 anytime. I love that little toss!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun time

1    3/14/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -has fun short and long holes
-beautiful scenery
-fun if you are a student there
Cons: -def not good during school hours
-some of the short throws feel useless, like why even put a hole here
-should have a beer start location sign
Other Thoughts: had a great time. could play thru twice. pay to park on campus or risk towing by ralphs...which ever. overall a decent course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Undy Run at CSUSM

5+    5/16/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for begginers because there are some shorter baskets. It is also free and in beautiful San Marcos where the weather is great. I love playing here in the late afternoon because it sits up on a hill and the view is great. Also it's fun to play during the California State Universities do their annual undy run. 18-25 year old women running around the campus in their underwear. Didn't play well but the view was great!! :)
Cons: It is a little on the easy side which makes it a little boring sometimes. It's hard to access too because it is on the University and parking is bad,

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putter/Midrange holes

1    10/20/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and beautiful campus. I only played the campus holes (holes 7-16). Layout is pretty easy to figure out, but a map may be recommended to play the other holes located on the outskirts of campus. This would be a great course to take a beginner out to or to work on your midrange/putter game (most holes less than 200 ft). Most holes should be birdies for the intermediate to advanced player.
Cons: As an intermediate player, I found these holes to be too short (most holes less than 100-150ft range), which didn't keep my interest. Keep in mind I only played on the holes located within the heart of the campus (which is still a majority of the course). There are a couple of longer holes located on the outskirts of campus. Also you have to pay for parking on campus.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would not go out of my way to play this course again. However if I lived nearby I would definitely come here to improve my midrange and putting game. Another thing me and my friends ended up doing was shooting from other spots besides the official tees. You can get creative and come up with some interesting "unofficial" tee spots (throwing from longer spots, going to the 2nd story of buildings and throwing off, etc...get creative). Since we played at night on a weekend, we had the entire course to ourselves and were free to do as we pleased. The campus is lit at night, but a flashlight is recommended if you decide to play in the evening. Since I didn't want to pay for parking, I parked at the CVS located across the street from campus and walked in. It was another 5-7 minute walk into campus, no biggie. I've read its advisable to either play here at nights or on the weekends to avoid the student crowd and this is probably due to the fact that a majority of the holes cut through campus. Worth checking out at least once if you're in the area, otherwise I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

2-4    3/12/2011   6/26/2012
Review By: patdb23
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If I were to say anything positive is that the Discatcher baskets and signs are new and look nice.
Cons: Where to begin. The course is situated on a college campus and you would think that would be a positive aspect. The first few holes are in open space with no obstacles throwing over rocky flat terrain covered with weeds. Good luck spotting your disc. The course wraps around the college track, with long walks in between most of the holes. Once you pass hole 8, it's a long walk uphill to the next basket, best to have a map to find this hole. The next half of the course runs through the central campus over walkways, pedestrians, and busy body students. 8 of the holes are so short, a putter is all you would need throwing up or down 100ft shots.

If you want to finish on the last two holes, you have to take another very long walk past the parking structure into a hillside open area, no obstacles. Once you finish the round the walk back is a long one. I understand the principle of trying to incorporate a disc golf course on a college campus. The thought of exposing college students to this sport is a good concept, but the design is poorly executed. Teepads are extremely short and not flat, and the tee signs are so close to the teepad. Safety was not a concern as player's have to stay to the far right of the teepad to avoid whacking their hand on the tee sign. A lot of money was raised for this course and very disappointed with the results.
Other Thoughts: If you have played disc golf several times, I would avoid this course at all costs. I've never left a course with such a bitter taste. Keep driving east several miles and make your way to Escondido to play at Kitt Carson.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Bag

1    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Scenic course that winds through the campus. Definitely a change of pace from your average public park DG course.

- Fairly simple navigation with good tee signs and good tees.

- It's a fun course for beginners with the potential to introduce the sport to thousands of potential new disc golfers.

- Good use of obstacles and elevation where available.

- Baskets are new and in great shape.
Cons: - Some of the holes are super short, however if you approach 9-16 as putter only it can still be interesting.

- Major safety concerns with the campus holes. Holes shooting over stairways waiting for a student to round a corner. It is acceptable provided everyone uses putters or round edge mids but if some newb trys to throw a katana 150' around a blind corner they can have a serious problem.

- It lacks the wow factor to bring me back, but I'd still play if if I lived close.
Other Thoughts: It's a fun change of pace to play on a college campus and it is a good opportunity to give the sport more exposure.

I appreciate the work that went into putting a course here and I love the DG vibe in this area, but I'll probably stick to the other courses nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Bring a map

1    6/11/2011   6/11/2011
Review By: D_Fresh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Starts strong with some nice par 3's. and a good size par 4. hole 9 was confusing to find becuase it was so far from basket 8.
Cons: Hard to find where the next tee box is.
Other Thoughts: Weekends much better then the week days when school is in session. Weeds are really tall on the first 5 holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Some good, some bad...

1    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: onemilemore
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes 9-16 on the actual campus are a lot of fun. Short, but nice use of elevation.
-Good for beginners, like myself. Shot my best round ever, so it was a confidence booster.
-Great views from the top of the campus to the coastline.
-Excellent signage that points you to the next hole.
-Used a variety of discs, rather than the typical driver/mid-range/putter combo.
Cons: -Holes 1-4 are extremely overgrown. Use your brightest discs, and spot them closely, or else you'll be hunting for awhile.
-Lots of rocks and concrete. Bring your most durable plastic.
-Some of the par 3s should really be par 2s, so it pads your score a bit. I suppose this could be seen as a pro, too.
-The rubber tee pads are short, which makes for an awkward run-up.
Other Thoughts: The thing I look for most in a course is replayability. As in, "Would I play this course over and over if I lived here?" Overall, I would say no for this one. The beginning of the course is annoyingly overgrown, and I could see the campus being crowded midweek. Also, the first 6 holes are not particularly creative, requiring mostly straight shots. That being said, the middle of the course, as other reviews have said, is the bread and butter of this place. A lot of fun, and with enough variety to work on some technique. I am sure more experienced players would not enjoy this course, but if you're a beginner and the in the area, it's worth a shot.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: Vikings
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: -Great baskets
-detailed tee signs
-18 hole course
-great scenery
-innovative hole design 9-18
-Nice campus
Cons: -long walks between holes
-may lose discs in the first 6 holes because of the weeds
-some holes closed during track events
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play as a beginner, a full 18 holes that are different and unique. Back 9 are the most interesting and worth checking out!! Play on the weekends because there will be no distractions. It's a fun thing to play with friends as you enjoy the nice campus and scenery.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Good exposure. Thats it.

1    4/7/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -DISCatcher baskets
-Tee signs & pads/markers
-Exposure to thousands of college students
-Some wacky 'urban' scenarios
-Night Play OK on holes 9-16 (only opportunity in SD?)
Cons: -Long boring holes (with tiny tee pads) in fields of brush
-Tiny short holes (with infinite sidewalk tees) in high traffic areas
-Tee Signs in finger-breaking front-left corner of the tee pad
-Long walks between several holes
-On a college campus, so everything about it is inconvenient
Other Thoughts: This campus course is the first of its kind that I have been exposed to. It begins in dusty, overgrown fields of weeds that skirt around the pristine athletic facilities, then works its way through a section of campus, and ends with two more random field holes.

This course has multiple personalities. The first segment through the brush was enjoyable enough on the first two holes, however it became repetitive quite quickly. The throws are flat (or slightly graded), and completely open. During our spring visit, some of the flowers were over 6 feet tall, and it was a miracle that we were able to find our discs. On a 550' hole, your perception of where the disc landed and where it actually landed can differ greatly, so keep an eye out because you wont be able to see your disc until you are standing on top of it.

Holes 6 - 8 are also open, but are not in a brushy area. These work their way around the track, so lighting may make them possible to play at night. The putting green on hole 8 is by far the most pristine putting green I have ever encountered.

After hole 8, you need to walk about 1/4 a mile up the hill to the campus proper. An open field shot next to a building leads you to the front area of campus, where several more holes exist. These holes are all pretty short and require no angling technique, so a putter is all that is necessary.

While I totally understand that exposure to the sport is awesome and I should appreciate it, holes just should not cross the main stairway into campus. Holes should not play across the main quad area of campus. Holes should not play across the OTHER main stairway into the area. Many of the ADA access ramps onto campus also had holes over them. We played through a very dead campus (sundown/night) and dealt with no crowd issues, but I can only imagine.

There was one pretty cool throw over a railing to a pin on a tiny green about 120 feet away. It was interesting because you had to elevate your arm enough to get it over the railing, but it was kind of lame because you were throwing the disc about as hard as you would throw a paper airplane.

After meandering through campus, should you feel like playing two more holes, you can walk through the parking garage and across another large parking lot to play the two remaining dueling fairways in an empty field. After finishing these holes, you are now just about a third of a mile from the beginning of the course.

I recommend parking in the garage if you play this course, as it is kind of halfway between the beginning and the end. Plus, if you don't feel like playing the last two holes, 16's basket is right by it.

Don't get me wrong, if I were a college student here, I would love the fact that I have a course right outside my class. That being said, it is not a good course, people should not be going out of their way to play it, and in a way, I think it may almost provide negative exposure to the possibilities of what the sport can be. However, I am always a fan of a good train wreck, so there was no way I could miss this opportunity.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.