Disc Golf Store
San Marcos, CA
CSU San Marcos DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #15 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Half n half

1    8/10/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around a scenic college campus with nice views of the surrounding hills. Half of the course plays through open desert areas with lots of sand and rocks, and scattered low plants. This part of the course mainly uses wind and some small elevation changes as obstacles, with a couple longer holes that let you open up and throw some long drives. The middle of the course plays through the campus proper, with shorter technical holes playing around buildings. There is lots of sidewalk ob to contend with, and some fun elevation changes through the terraced quads. This part of the course is nicely manicured with lots of nice flowering plants and green grass.

The course equipment is in great shape, with nice custom discatchers that are still new. The signs are clear and informative, with hole distance and map, and an arrow to the next tee. The land available for the course was used quite well, it's not ideal for a disc golf course but it was turned into a fun place to play and to expose the college students to the sport.
Cons: The biggest con here is the fact that the middle of the course is completely unplayable if it's a busy school day, as most of the shots play along or across main walkways through campus. Even in the summer with few people around, we had to wait on several pedestrians. There are also lots of opportunities to hit buildings and cars, hopefully that doesn't happen enough to get the course pulled. Several of the signs are placed quite poorly, where they are right where most players would hit their hand if not careful. The tees that aren't on sidewalks are tiny rubber pads that are too small and not at all level.

The course is not terribly challenging, and the open field holes get pretty repetitive and boring. The ones that are torn up for construction are completely wide open across torn up dirt with no obstacles at all. Parking is an issue, campus parking is enforced 24/7 so you have to pay to park at lots that aren't all that close to the end of the course. We ended up parking by the Blockbuster and starting at hole 6, and that worked pretty well. There are some long walks between sections of the course, make sure you print a course map otherwise it's pretty tricky in spots.
Other Thoughts: If I were going to school here, I'd play the section of the course going through the campus all the time with just a putter. There are some really fun holes that will work on your short game in this part of the course that make it worth playing. I love that so many students are exposed to the sport with the baskets and signs right where they walk between classes. Overall, the course doesn't really present too many challenges to more experienced players, and the parts that aren't on the campus are nothing special, but it's worth a stop if you're in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Novice Players Only

1    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: sooner_fan_84
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have don't have any pros for this course with the exception that my girlfriend shot under par here. It is a good course for the Rec to Novice players. Not a competition level course.
Cons: I will start with course design. The first couple of holes are in a huge open area that could have been utilized much better. On several of these holes the tee sign is much too close to the tee pad. They should be moved so that there is no chance of your arm hitting them in your follow through. The tee sign acts more like an obstacle rather than being informative.
The play through the campus is scenic but not good for disc golf. They have signs stating that they want you to stick to the sidewalks but as I watched the other groups throw, they were constantly searching for there discs in the flower beds because of errant shots. This will happen often because this course attracts the novice level players.
Other Thoughts: Avoid this course if you are serious golfer. If you are the novice level player just bring your mid-range drivers and putters and you will get a fun experience and some practice to go along with it. I will not recommend this course to other. It is not worth the drive from San Diego.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Another great San Marcos course.

5+    6/10/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: rizbee_jr
Played: 162  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was in the works for a loong time. Lots of hard work made it possible and the wait was worth it. This designer knows how to use the land he's given. Great job Dad!
Cons: A few long walks. Kinda sucks that a few holes aren't there. But they will be soon.
Other Thoughts: But seriously, unbiased, this course makes use of the land that is available very well. It may not be the most challenging and exciting course ever, but it is fun and makes great use of all the campus.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Weekends only

2-4    11/13/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: socalproshop
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/15/2010
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice scenery. Long overall distance of course. Super Duper fun holes with tons of different obstacles!
Cons: You can only play weekends unless you have really good insurance and a bodyguard. There is no free parking anywhere; but there is no parking enforcement on weekend :] Impossible to find all holes the first time you play unless you have a map.
Other Thoughts: If the campus was empty 7 days a week this would be a 5 star course!... for those of us who have crappy discs that don't go over 200' :]

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 checked it out

1    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: close to freeway. free. variety of distances and elevation changes. 9-16 are the heart and soul of the course..short with obstacles. but dont try to play during school hours. weekends or late nights only
Cons: at busy college campus. pay to park. i walked from the starbucks down the street (ten minutes away ) only holes 1-6 and 9, 17 and 18 and disc golf exclusive. all the others need to be played with caution. so weekends and holidays
Other Thoughts: hole 1- i liked that the basket was on a sloped hill

hole 7- i like how the basket was in between those trees. i ended on the edge of the hill so i had a blind second shot. it was interesting. also if you see a cement water channel on the hill to the left of the tee. be careful not to land your disc at the edge of the hill because there is a grate that the disc can fall through and it doesnt look like you can get your disc if it falls through.

the walk from 8 to 9 is long

hole 9- nice and disc golf exclusive-tree in way

hole10- nice uphill shot(weekends only)

hole11- short but trees in the way. nice

hole 13- nice short uphill (weekends or spotter)

hole 15- short but lots of elevation and obstacles. metal bar. stairs and such

hole 16- short but plenty of trees in the way

hole 17 and 18 are really far from 16 and are located in rattlesnake country. not worth it

(it probably makes more sense to park by the blockbuster and walk to hole 9 to start with...and finish at 8. then walk back to your car..that ways its free

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 FUN!

1    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very unique course.
-Lots of fun holes mixed within the campus. I wish I had gone to school here.
-Short holes with lots of interesting elevation changes and Baskets were in interesting locations. We will be playing our regular games here very frequently.
-I used to frequent Montiel, this is much more interesting.
-Excelent signage at Tees
Cons: -Unfortunately Holes 4-6 are closed during field construction.
-Holes 17 and 18 were far away from 16 (on the other side of the parking structure). Course map I printed cut off those holes and I didn't find them easily. Map is essential for first timers.
-Not very challenging, but fun to play through the heart of campus.
-Can be lots of people in between classes.
-rubber tee pads are a bit small, but most of the holes utilized sidewalks as tee pads.
Other Thoughts: -$5 to park on campus. We parked just across the street from Hole 1 (all side streets off Barham have some good parking).
-Would rank this higher if it was more challenging and longer.
-Another bonus was the excellent "Vistas". We will definately return for the eye candy in the heat of the summer

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of Pedestrians

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the only 18 hole courses around, and a great addition to the very few other courses in San Diego County. The first thing I noticed was the brand new custom Innova baskets with the top band being blue and white (school colors), instead of the normal yellow. These are some of the nicest baskets i've seen. Good color signs provide map of each hole and distance to basket. The designer made creative use of the available space and elevation. I fully agree with the course description that the scenery is excellent. Tees are either rubber or sidewalk. Several "island greens" due to basket placement on grassy areas surrounded by sidewalk. Most of the back nine is wheelchair accessible. Nice variety of wide open holes and holes with lots of obstacles. Great for students to use between classes, or as a break from studying.
Cons: Most holes are short, except for # 3 which is over 500 feet. Several holes play through busy parts of the campus where pedestrians are prevalent. The signs are a little too close to the tees, and the rubber tees are a little too small. Some of the walks between holes are longer than the holes themselves. Holes 7 and 8 are unplayable during track meets. Players must pay to park on campus.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had a course on my college campus! I wanted to give this course a better rating, but due to lack of length, and the fact that most of the course is not DG exclusive, a 3 is the best I could do. Worth checking out, but try to avoid the busy times on campus. Print a map, or grab one at Clarke Fieldhouse because navigation is somewhat difficult.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.