Ridgeley, WV 
Knobley Mountain DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #5 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 303ft.   3 / 186ft.   3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #5



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Little Creation

1    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: knettles
Played: 60  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid gravel teepads.
-Short and long tees.
-Alternate tees viewing baskets from different directions.
-Variety of shots used.
-Woodsy challenge.
-Cool creator (JimB).
Cons: -While I can appreciate homemade baskets, some still lacked the exact feel of an official Innova/DGA basket.
-No wide open holes to let the drivers loose.
-Poor/no signage (not really an issue since this is a private course and you shouldn't be playing it unless accompanied by the designer).
-Multiple tees using the same basket could cause major problems for large numbers of people playing (also not an issue since it's private).
Other Thoughts: I'll admit, I came into this not sure of how it was going to be just because it was a private course essentially in someone's backyard. But it definitely turned out to be more fun than I was expecting. First off, the designer and property owner JimB is a super nice guy. He welcomed me out to play it while they were having a little tournament, and I had a great time.

I was impressed for what he has done with the area he has. He took a hillside covered with saplings and oaks and made a decent course that didn't feel too monotonous. It's only nine baskets, but four different tees make it feel like more. I struggled between the 2.5 and 3 rating, but went with 2.5 simply because of the lack of variety when it comes to foilage. I'm not saying the course was too hard, just that I appreciate a good mix of wooded/open holes in a course.

Still, If you're in the area, I'd suggest giving Jim a call. If he decides that you're not a complete psycho, he might show you around (the course is afterall at his house).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

6x3 ... or is it 3x6?

1    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Your host and course creator, Jimb. Chance to work on your mid-range control game - plenty of birdy opportunities if you're hitting your lines. Need a blend of straight/right/left shots, turns of various sharpness, off the tee.

Update 10/22/12: With three more baskets and another set of tees, there are now 36 holes on the course. Your control - or scrambling - game will get a thorough workout on these tight, and at times, unforgiving holes.
Cons:
Only six, irregular baskets. Small, hard-to-find tees. no map. Nigh impossible to have more than a couple of groups playing at the same time.
Other Thoughts:
If you were to find this course in a public park, you'd easily be frustrated, as finding the tees would be quite difficult, and trying to determine the flow nearly impossible! You'd wonder if anyone had ever bothered to create a map, and would probably end up playing safari, albeit on a very small scale - more like "zoofari". But when you consider the course is on a small bit of private land, and see the time, effort, and money the creator/owner/guide has put into the course, the negatives don't matter so much - you won't need a map, as you'll have a guide,and the flow won't matter, as your group will be the only one on the course!

Six baskets, each served by three tees. The front nine is behind the house, playing through small paths and openings found amongst a fairly dense collection of mid-sized trees. Mostly flat, fairly short holes (average about 175'), with a premium on control, due to the thickness of the trees, and normally offering only one line to the basket. The back nine is at the front of the house, has moderate elevation change on every hole, longer (average about 200') than those on the back, and, while still requiring control, is more forgiving - the trees are larger than those in back, but more spread out, and at times you'll have a choice of lines to the basket.

Is this a "destination" course? No, of course not, but if you happen to be passing through the Cumberland, MD, area, feel like practicing your short/accuracy game, and want to meet a very enthused and gracious fellow disc golf player, by all means contact Jimb and schedule a round. Very easy to find and not far from I68, with plenty of food and petrol options along the way.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 I had to review it.

5+    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2011
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Update, 1-1-11/See Other Thoughts, Please***

Near Cumberland, MD (shopping, dining, tourist attractions,etc.) in the scenic hills of WV, in my yard... seriously. Please see other thoughts before proceeding with the rest of my review.

Efficient use of the land available. There are both uphill and downhill shots with significant elevation change. There's a good mix of left turning, straight and right turning shots.

Some challenging lines to hit as the front 9 plays through thicker woods with tighter fairways while the back 9 is a little more open but still heavily wooded. Finesse and accuracy are much more important here than power. It's a good place to work on your short game, maneuvering in and out of the trees.

Little chance of losing a disc... and if you do, I promise I'll look for it some more later on. There shouldn't be any navigation issues since it's a private course and I'll always be there to show you around. (Of course, I messed up the order of the holes showing swatso and Fascinated Flyer around... doh.)

*****Updated on 7-29-11*****
I thought that I should update the review now that I've played the new 9 hole layout a lot.

Simply having the 3 additional baskets is a big plus so that there are now 9 different pins to play to. Two sets of tees are improved. They have been lengthened, leveled and have crusher run gravel in them now. Plus there are 4 other 9 hole Safari layouts as well.
Cons: Very limited space, so...
#1) The holes are short. I don't have a big arm (325'-ish level ground drive distance) and there's just one hole that I can throw a full driver on. And that's due to the significant increase in elevation (#15). Otherwise, I generally tee off with an Aviar (11 holes) and a mid-range (6 holes).

#2) There are only 6 baskets, with three tees playing to each basket. So even though each of the tee shots is unique, you can end up with similar putts or approaches to the same baskets on different holes. This also forces the holes to overlap several times... not that I've ever had more than one group playing at a time. ;-)

#3) There are three different kinds of baskets: 4 InStep baskets upgraded with a 2nd set of inner chains, an ebay purchased basket that I've never seen anything else like, and my home-made "wheel chair wheel and car tire" basket (sorry swatso, you'd have had the course record if not for my ace in the hole), both also with outer and inner chains.

#4) The tees are generally small and natural or gravel filled. For me, most of the holes don't require a run-up, or even an x-step, so they're long enough for me. However, if you need more space to drive, you may not have enough room to get comfortable.

#5) You have to totally walk a couple of the holes backwards, from basket to tee along the fairway to get to the tees (#7 and #13).

****Updated 7-29-11***
You can basically eliminate cons #2 (although there are sill crossing fairways on a couple holes) 4, & 5 with the addition of three more baskets, 18 upgraded tees and the new 9 hole layout..
Other Thoughts: ***Updated 7-29-11***
With the upgrade to a 9 basket configuration, the course is still relatively short with moderately to very tightly wooded holes. Having 9 different baskets really makes it feel more like an "official" course. I really enjoy playing it, and wouldn't be let down if I found this setup in a public park setting now. It's still not a destination course, but the offer still stands... If you're interested in playing, just send me a pm and we'll hopefully be able to work something out.

***Update, 1-1-11*** I have totally changed the configuration of the course and am in the process of updating the course info. on the site. Once I finish the work, hopefully this Spring, I'll update the "meat" of my review. Thanks for looking! Jimb

Since I've had the opportunity to show a couple people around my course recently I thought that I should go ahead and do a review to give a little bit better idea regarding what to expect if you come to play. I will do my best to review the course as objectively as possible. Now, please carry on from the top of the review.

Highlights:
#6 is a fun little ace run, playing 175', slightly up hill. The fairway is guarded by the woods on the left & right before opening up into a small clearing with a single tree on the left and a row of small pine trees on the right to hit the gap in-between.

#11 is another short hole at just 159'. It plays severely down hill with the pin guarded by some big trees on the left and shrubs on the right. It's another distinct ace run. It's the only hole that I've ever aced on any course, with that just coming while I was practicing & working with the course layout.

#16 and #18 are my other favorites. #16 is 198' long, somewhat down hill. There's a gap to hit that's only about 15' wide at about 150' out. And #16 is actually the first hole that I ever set up on the course, before I ever thought that it would end up this elaborate. Please check out the pictures if you like. They'll also give you a good idea about the course.

I really enjoy having this course in my back, and front, yards and genuinely think that the course is worth playing. I'd be kidding myself, though, if I rated the course any higher as compared to the other courses that I've played. If, for example, I could just drive 10 minutes down the road to The Woodshed, it's highly unlikely that I would have put this much effort into my home course.

It's by no means a destination course, but if you find yourself near Cumberland or Frostburg, MD or Keyser, WV and feel like a little golf, send me a p.m.

Thanks for checking it out. Jimb

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.