Disc Golf Center
Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Woodland Greens Share
Uploaded By: pvilleDiscgolfer   (Taken 6/2009)



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Woodland greens and Silhouette

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my "go to" course on the windy days! Because the Highbridge complex is toward the top of a hill, windy days aren't few and far between. It is heavily wooded, with narrower fairways. Not an exhausting course by any means. Every basket is short. Some baskets play to left handed and rhfh throwers. Making this a well rounded "group activity" course! There is even a basket wedged between a 3 forked tree. Making it more original! There are many opportunities for aces on this course! I haven't triumphed one myself, but have come closer on woodland than any other Highbridge course!
Cons: This was my first official course I have every played. With that said...this course becomes frustrating for a green horn player. I lost many discs my first time ever playing this game! Made me not want to play again, but here I am a few years later! Still playing, and loving this course! Now that I have a few years experience!
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray!!!! It is called woodland greens for a reason! It goes through a marsh, by ponds, and around pine trees. The bugs will be waiting for you!!!

Plan out your throws! It's very easy to leave 18 with a -5 or better!

The green baskets are sometimes hard to see in the middle of summer!!!

I highly recommend this course!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 214  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodlands is a short, technical course set entirely in the woods. All but two of the holes are under 300 feet. There is one par 4 here, hole 17, it's the signature hole on the course. It's only 270 feet but it's got a grueling S shaped fairway with an elevated basket sitting in a tri-forked tree.

The course has a good balance of hyzer, anhyzer, straight shots and a few twisting fairways. You need to be very accurate to score well on this course.

Navigation is breeze here with next tee signs and a map is provided at the hilltop clubhouse. The teepads and signs are in great condition.
Cons: I would normally say something about a short course needing a few long holes to round it out. But Highbridge is different. Since it has so many long courses, this course does a great job rounding things out here.

The one con I have here is it's lacking the elevation changes seen on all the other courses.
Other Thoughts: John has put innumerable hours turning this into the best place ever to disc golf and it shows. This is a top notch complex with a number of incredible courses, and there are more courses on the way. If you ever get a chance to make the trip up here, DO IT! Plan on spending more than one day because these courses are long, have lots of elevation changes and they will wear you down. And that's coming from someone who can play 4 rounds in a day no problem.

This truly is the mecca of disc golf!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Suffers by comparison

5+    5/26/2008   9/16/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wooded theme course. Need for accuracy here is a huge plus. There are some nice tight pin placements that introduce risk and make your play very fun. Be sure to look for the wooded spirits on each hole. These neat little gimmicks are nice. This is a great course as a warmup or for beginners, and is a great test of your accuracy. It also has some longer holes which test very specific shot shaping abilities. The amount of ace runs here are fun and just less than a handful of holes that add some distance and balance.
Cons: While the course is well themed as a wooded wonderland, it gets a bit repetititve. There are basically ONLY wooded holes here. And they lack some of the more extreme elevation at Highbridge. I do not believe there is a water hazard on Woodland, or maybe just some dried up stanky mudhole or two. All in all the accuracy needed is nice, but it's mainly short accuracy. Bear would be the EXCELLENT long accuracy compliment! The last time I played, they had a few temp baskets like Travellers and M14s out on this course - THOSE SUCK! Navigation gets a bit difficult in the area where it merges with the Bear course and this will continue to be a problem I'd imagine.
Other Thoughts: IN talking to the owner, now that the Bear is supposedly ready for baskets, the orange baskets will be moving to the Bear course and all new baskets are ready for Woodland. Having 18 green baskets here would be a great touch, but I didn't ask what color they were. Assuming that all baskets will be upgraded and there will no longer be a shared split with the Bear course, Woodland can thrive in filling the niche it does at Highbridge - a shorter wooded course. The compliment and contrast of every course on the property is what makes the Highbridge experience so amazing. It's not just 4 courses of the same thing, each one fills a niche. I love this and have thus decided to update my rating from a 3.5 to a 4. This is assuming that Woodland will get 18 matching baskets.

Sidebar - quit messing with the Granberry and BlueRidge "quasi" courses and GET BEAR FINISHED! Then get Whitetail Run finished!(white baskets??)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Start

1    6/19/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: pvilleDiscgolfer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good 18 to start Highbridge. There is a good chance you will run into John the owner/caretaker riding his mower. This course is short but no less challenging than one would like in a grade A course. Tricky fairways studed by large trees. Two holes in particular have interesting pin locations which add a cool twist. That is one reason we started with this course, looking for that pin in the tree!
Cons: not yet
Other Thoughts: I want to second what therealbigtrav stated, "IF YOU LOVE DISC GOLF COME TO HIGHBRIDGE!!" I can honestly see a resort being built here in the near future. Check out the Honka house at the top of the hill for incredible lodging.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.