Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Woodland Greens Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The short, technical Highbridge course

5+    7/2/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Greens is the shortest, most technical course at the Highbridge complex. This is a good change of pace from the other longer courses on site. There are large, level and grippy tee pads on every hole. The signs on every hole have a basic hole layout with all pin locations, hole #, pars and distances to the pin. These are perfectly serviceable. The navigation is not a problem at all. There are quite a few next tee signs throughout and it is generally pretty easy to find your way around. Just like all the other Highbridge courses they offer scorecards with a solid course map on the back of them in the pro shop. The course starts north of the pro shop near the start of Granite Ridge. There's not too much elevation change on this course compared to the others but it's not completely flat either. All holes have a fair line to the pin but the majority require you to hit your line accurately to score well. Any errant shots here will most likely cost you a shot. It is heavily wooded in most spots. Green powder coated mach 3 baskets on every hole. The chains are very rusty on all of these, however they still catch pretty well. Hole 17's basket is raised up about 6 feet off the ground in the middle of 3 tree trunks which is a cool touch. Like I said earlier this is the shortest Highbridge course. The distances range from 155 feet on hole 10 up to 390 feet on hole 13 with most being in the mid 200's. A few of the holes have multiple pin locations and all holes only have one tee. They also have faces attached to a few trees throughout which is another cool little touch. Again like all the other courses here you will need all types of shots. left, right and straight shots are mixed in well throughout. I also noticed that all the baskets had small solar lights on top of them so you'd be able to play a glow round here. Just like all the other courses on site it is extremely peaceful and serene. It doesn't get any better than this.
Cons: The bugs are the worst on this course as it's all pretty wooded. Not really a con because there's nothing they can do about it. Just be sure to bring bug spray. And liquids. You will need extra water or Gatorade when playing Highbridge. Other than that not much.
Other Thoughts: Just like I said in my other Highbridge reviews, this is a must play for any serious disc golfer. I strongly recommend making at least one trip up here if at all possible. You will not be disappointed. Always a blast at Highbridge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Greens

1    3/8/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woodland Greens is intended to be a wooded, short, technical course, and I feel like the designer of the course really hit the nail on the head.

While the holes are the shortest of all the courses at HHSC (except Chestnut Grove) averaging around 230 feet, they definitely require accuracy and can be deceivingly difficult. Beginning this round I was convinced that I could go sub par and I ended up a few strokes above par. Granted, on ace runs I would always go for it and completely overshoot the basket. ;)

A really cool feature that this course has is the "spectators" on each hole. They're basically faces on trees that are observing you and, I like to think, cheering you on.

Also, this course has the most interesting basket placements. #17 is elevated about 7 feet off the ground and there's a few baskets on mounds. This definitely makes putting intimidating and fun at the same time.

When we played here there was snow on the ground, but there were a lot of footsteps leading us in the direction of the next tee, which was invaluable.
Cons: As this is heavily wooded, I'd imagine that bugs will be a huge problem in the summer.
The chains on the green baskets don't really catch as well as the chains at the other courses and the baskets in general were kind of weird.

Highbridge in general is far away from any big cities or towns. Make sure you stock up on food, water, and other survival necessities before you set up camp here.
Other Thoughts: Definitely come check out the Highbridge Hills Sports Complex! It's a phenomenal destination for disc golf and I'm convinced all the courses here will wow you.
Make sure you plan to stay at least 2 full days because there's absolutely no way you can play all the courses here in one day.
The people and the facilities here are beyond awesome. John Jokinen, the owner, really goes out of his way to ensure that you have a good time.
The honka house is a huge cabin house that can house 15 or so people comfortably and it's only $24 a night. Definitely make sure to stop by if you can!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the intent

1    5/28/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For what Woodland is intended for, it does its job. Unlike the other Highbridge courses, Woodland is completely in the woods and is intended to reward accuracy/accuracy/accuracy. Only 2 holes are over 300 feet, and there are many under 200. Normally I would rate this course a 3, but I considered the purpose of the course. Highbridge Gold and Granite Ridge are intended to be tough, long, grueling courses. Blueberry is intended to be the fun course that does offer a challenge. Chestnut is the beginners course, while Woodland is intended to be a technical course that truly is fun. I wouldn't call the course easy (I dueced the first five holes but only shot -6), but it certainly is easier than Blueberry, Gold, and Granite. However, that is the intent of the course - in addition, I talked to the owner and this course is actually the second most played course on the complex (behind only Blueberry). Woodland also offers a fun basket on a nice mound, and the coolest basket ever (the hanging basket on 17). While some people would complain about this, this is one of the coolest things I have ever seen at a disc golf course.
Cons: The course is extremely short - if you are looking for a long, challenging course, go play Gold or Granite. After 12 holes the course does seem a bit repetitive, as almost every hole is in the woods. This course is also more fun to play with other people. I played with myself and one more person, and I saw a thirteen-some playing later in the day (yup, you heard me right) and they were having an absolute blast. This is a fun course to come out and test your technical abilities, but it isn't a big challenge.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about the Highbridge complex is the variety offered - Blueberry is the fun gem, Gold is the challenging beast, Granite is the open jewel, Chestnut is the night/fun course, Woodland is the technical course, and the Bear is the absolute goliath. I played Chestnut after playing both Gold and Granite in the same day (the day after), and it was such a breath of fresh air. It was fun to shoot under par, and that's the intention of Chestnut - to have fun and shoot a good score.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

1    6/8/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on the hillside through dense forest. Nearly all the holes have some kind of elevation change, and this is mixed up throughout the course with holes uphill, downhill, and some across the slope. There are several tricky greens with good rollaway possibility, and a couple very creative elevated pins, with one on the side of a small steep knoll, and one nestled 6 feet up between 3 tree trunks. Most of the holes play down grassy fairways lined with thick trees and rough, and many have strategically placed trees left in the fairway to make sure you hit your line. The rough is thick enough that you'll usually lose at least a stroke for an errant shot.

There is great variety of hole shapes here; it doesn't feel like you really throw the same shot twice. There is a good mix of left and right turning shots, and an occasional straight hole, but all have their own unique quirks and challenges. Even the shortest holes on the course will punish you for a shot that misses it's line.

The maintenance is pretty good here, most of the grassy areas were mowed nicely, and there was no trash or vandalism at all. The tees are nice level concrete pads with good grip and plenty of room. The second half of the course has good signage with hole map and distance, and the first half at least has numbers on the tees and next tee signs when necessary. The flow is good, and with next tee signs, very easy to follow especially with the map on the scorecard.
Cons: This course is challenging, but very short. There is only one hole over 300', the rest are holes that many players can reach with a mid or a putter. If you're playing the other courses here that's less important, but looking at this course on it's own, it lacks variety in distances. The first 7 holes don't quite feel finished, with temporary baskets and no tee signs, once this course and bear are finished with their own sets of baskets it will feel much more like a complete course.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course at the wonderful Highbridge complex. It it's own unique flavor with shorter technical holes, and is certainly a must play while here. It's not all that beginner friendly, with tight lines and thick rough, but more experienced players will find some great technical challenges. Highbridge is truly a disc golf destination, and this course is part of that for sure.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.