Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Woodland Greens Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Play it once, but don't play it again, Sam

1    8/23/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the most accessible course at Highbridge (barely) and appeared to be the most popular with recreational players. The distances are relatively short, generally ranging from 200-275 feet. I had figured this would feature a lot of ace runs - and there are a couple - but the shortest holes are generally uphill shots that are not easy holes.

The course overall was more challenging than I expected. I figured it would be a course where I would be putting for birdie a lot, but that didn't happen, both due to the challenging fairways and to some inconsistent shots on my part. You need to hit the line to score well on this course. But it's not a complete beat down.

As with all of the courses here, elevation comes into play frequently. There weren't many flat holes.

Navigation was pretty good. Most of the time you won't need the map, but the fairways play next to each other, and sometimes I was headed in the wrong direction. I never did find the tee pad for 9.
Cons: Every hole was pretty similar. Throw down a fairway that is 20 feet wide. Some were uphill, some downhill, some curving right, some curving left, and some even curving straight (seriously, look at the tee signs that show you throwing straight despite an obvious bend in the fairway). Unlike the other courses, you'd have a tough time saying, "Hey, remember that one hole" and being able to describe it in any distinguishable way.

As with all of the courses here, tee signs are weathered and not as useful as they could be.
Other Thoughts: I played this after a round on Gold to get my confidence back and to have a bit of change of pace. It is not as storied as the other courses on site and lacks some of the dramatic vistas, rock features, ponds, etc., but this is definitely worth a round.

Separate note: this course seems to feature the most ratings disagreement among Trusted Reviewers. Does it suffer by comparison, or are ratings inflated just by being part of the Highbridge complex?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The short, technical Highbridge course

5+    7/2/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 140  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodland Greens is the shortest, most technical course at the Highbridge complex. This is a good change of pace from the other longer courses on site. There are large, level and grippy tee pads on every hole. The signs on every hole have a basic hole layout with all pin locations, hole #, pars and distances to the pin. These are perfectly serviceable. The navigation is not a problem at all. There are quite a few next tee signs throughout and it is generally pretty easy to find your way around. Just like all the other Highbridge courses they offer scorecards with a solid course map on the back of them in the pro shop. The course starts north of the pro shop near the start of Granite Ridge. There's not too much elevation change on this course compared to the others but it's not completely flat either. All holes have a fair line to the pin but the majority require you to hit your line accurately to score well. Any errant shots here will most likely cost you a shot. It is heavily wooded in most spots. Green powder coated mach 3 baskets on every hole. The chains are very rusty on all of these, however they still catch pretty well. Hole 17's basket is raised up about 6 feet off the ground in the middle of 3 tree trunks which is a cool touch. Like I said earlier this is the shortest Highbridge course. The distances range from 155 feet on hole 10 up to 390 feet on hole 13 with most being in the mid 200's. A few of the holes have multiple pin locations and all holes only have one tee. They also have faces attached to a few trees throughout which is another cool little touch. Again like all the other courses here you will need all types of shots. left, right and straight shots are mixed in well throughout. I also noticed that all the baskets had small solar lights on top of them so you'd be able to play a glow round here. Just like all the other courses on site it is extremely peaceful and serene. It doesn't get any better than this.
Cons: The bugs are the worst on this course as it's all pretty wooded. Not really a con because there's nothing they can do about it. Just be sure to bring bug spray. And liquids. You will need extra water or Gatorade when playing Highbridge. Other than that not much.
Other Thoughts: Just like I said in my other Highbridge reviews, this is a must play for any serious disc golfer. I strongly recommend making at least one trip up here if at all possible. You will not be disappointed. Always a blast at Highbridge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love This Course!

5+    10/8/2012   3/1/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short holes allowing for many ace runs which = lots of fun.
-Requires a lot of technical shots = more fun.
-Great wooded landscape. Rocky hillsides, rock outcroppings throughout the course make it visually appealing when compared to most wooded courses filled with just grass and trees.
-Elevation. Sometimes strictly the pins were either raised or lowered on this course. Hole 17 features a basket between a trio of trees raised about 7 feet in the air. Another hole involves a sharp dogleg right up to a pin located about 5 feet down in a hole surrounded by rock.
-You can score a -5 one round on this course and a +5 the following round. It seems like sometimes hitting 1 tree can start the flurry and once it's in your head it's all over. However, it seems like once you barely miss 1 ace, you can be all over every pin on this course.
-No wind as a factor in this thick, heavily wooded area.
Cons: Cons:
-Bugs are bad during the right seasons. Spring time brings tons of wood ticks.
-No water (somewhat thankfully when you look at above con).
-Not much, I Love this course!
Other Thoughts: This is going to seem ridiculous, but I have played this course more than any other course out at Highbridge and will call it my favorite course on the grounds. Nuts huh? This review and my rating is biased to what suits my taste. If you are a big arm and like whipping the disc on every throw, play highbridge gold and good luck if you have an arm left when you are done. If you like highly technical shots, requiring you to shape and finesse your shots this way or that way then you will love this course as much as I do. If you like a happy medium play either Granite Ridge or Blueberry. I will say, my good friend that has went to this venue every time with me over the last 3 years agrees that this is the most fun course out on these grounds. I am not the only one, though, we may be the only 2 that feel this way :) In summation, go to highbridge hills and you WILL find at least 1 course that makes your top 5 all time imo. Great experience in general with ability to use carts, all the course options and a place to crash and sober up right on the course (honka house)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland greens and Silhouette

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my "go to" course on the windy days! Because the Highbridge complex is toward the top of a hill, windy days aren't few and far between. It is heavily wooded, with narrower fairways. Not an exhausting course by any means. Every basket is short. Some baskets play to left handed and rhfh throwers. Making this a well rounded "group activity" course! There is even a basket wedged between a 3 forked tree. Making it more original! There are many opportunities for aces on this course! I haven't triumphed one myself, but have come closer on woodland than any other Highbridge course!
Cons: This was my first official course I have every played. With that said...this course becomes frustrating for a green horn player. I lost many discs my first time ever playing this game! Made me not want to play again, but here I am a few years later! Still playing, and loving this course! Now that I have a few years experience!
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray!!!! It is called woodland greens for a reason! It goes through a marsh, by ponds, and around pine trees. The bugs will be waiting for you!!!

Plan out your throws! It's very easy to leave 18 with a -5 or better!

The green baskets are sometimes hard to see in the middle of summer!!!

I highly recommend this course!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Greens

1    6/8/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: [The Complex]- There are presently 5 complete 18-hole courses, with 2 more still being constructed. I like the fact that the courses are designed to be at varying levels of difficulty (hardest-> Gold-Granite-Blueberry-Woodland-Chestnut <-easiest) so if you come and play them all you will have a well-rounded experience of both challenging Žskill-testers and more relaxing, fun rounds. Each course has different colored baskets that correspond to the course's name. The courses are set on an amazing piece of land that is huge and contains many natural features that are ideal for disc golf (open, woods, elevation, and ponds). The land is dedicated purely to disc golf and is so isolated that only disc golfers will be here, and chances are you will have these courses all to yourself. Huge props need to be given to the course designer for placing all the courses where they aren't on top of each other, each has its own character, and individual hole design is very creative and well-done. John, the owner, is very nice and loves to have people come and play. He works extremely hard on the courses and on the facility as a whole.

[The Course]- Woodland Greens is Highbridge's mid-level shorter technical woods course. It is a nice relief from the longer and more grueling courses here. It is mostly shaded and does not take too long to play it. Most of the holes are in the 150'- 250' range and there are many ace runs and birdie opportunities, but don't be fooled into thinking it is easy and lame as it is a great test of accuracy and shot-shaping trying to avoid the isolated trees that are in strategic spots in the fairway and around the basket and staying out of the punishing rough. There is a good mix of left and right shaped holes and just enough elevation to have an impact. There are 18 holes with concrete tees and unique, highly visible lime-green baskets. Baskets are some cheaper odd brand, but get the job done. (The pics on this site currently show the old baskets.)
Cons: [The Course]- All the holes tended to blend together and became repetitive. None of the holes were bad, but there weren't any super awesome memorable holes. The two notable characteristics are the one basket on the hill on #9 and the other wedged up high in the three tree trunks on #17. #9- I don't mind a basket on a hill, but the rough was so densely grown up it was hard to get any footing, hard to find your disc, and it did not look good. #17- I am not the hugest fan of abnormal basket heights, but I can deal with 1 on a course, however the tree trunks blocked about half of the basket entrance, which seemed to be a little much with the basket also being so high, and honestly put putting on this hole in the realm of goofy golf. (My opinion- elevate or wedge in trees, but not both.) Some people really like it though because it is different.

Course maintenance was severely lacking, the fairways were overgrown and some tee signs were missing, added a level of frustration to the course that was supposed to be the fun relaxer. Also, there were many spots that were very marshy, probably due to recent rains, so keep that in mind if it has rained a lot.

Also as a temp fix, the Bear course only has 7 holes in the ground (which were unplayable with waist high fairways when I was there) and then you are supposedly diverted to the Woodland Greens course to make 18 holes, but this is not a good idea in that the two courses are completely different in style- the Bear is supposed to be long and hard where WG is the short course. And if you play both, then you essentially end up playing a majority of Woodland Greens twice, when you need to be spending time playing Blueberry, Gold, and Granite twice instead. (This is all not really a con for WG, but a major con for the Bear course.)

[The Complex]- Can be summed up in two words- trashy and incomplete. The land is beautiful but is littered with junk and trash and numerous unfinished projects. And then add on top the most important thing of trying to maintain 5 courses while building 2 more, but nature is easily overtaking things. John is fighting a losing battle with an unpaid staff of 2 that can't complete the things that are already here while simultaneously trying to build more stuff. Things appeared to be breaking faster than they could be fixed. The campground was trashy and smelled of raw sewage in several spots. The Honka House has a lot of potential but the pics of the outside don't tell the whole story- inside it is missing basics like drywall, outlet covers, lights, etc. and seems to be used as much for storage of junk as it is for housing guests.
Other Thoughts: [The Course]- This course is not the reason you come to Highbridge, but it is a welcome change of pace from the top signature courses. I love a good shorter, technical course and this is a fine example of one. Woodland Greens is pretty fun, but it would have been so much better if it had not been overgrown.

*Tip- Hole #1 is a blind sharp right into the woods towards a lime green basket. The basket you see from the tee is white and for the Whitetail course. After that navigation is pretty easy, but there are a couple of spots where alternate paths appear to lead to the incomplete Whitetail course.

[The Complex]- If you like lots of holes and very rustic lodging then you will love it here. If you have high expectations of well-manicured courses and hotel-like lodging then prepare to be disappointed. John's mission is noble as he wants people of all ages to enjoy the outdoors and has plans to have 7 courses, as well as numerous other activities, but he does not seem concerned with creating a first-class disc golf facility. He dreams big, but appears to have bitten off more than he can chew. Highbridge needs manpower, but does not have the advantage of disc-golf loving locals or park workers that most other courses have. Other private courses don't either, but are usually only 1 course, not 7, and much easier to maintain!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Woodland Greens

1    3/8/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Woodland Greens is intended to be a wooded, short, technical course, and I feel like the designer of the course really hit the nail on the head.

While the holes are the shortest of all the courses at HHSC (except Chestnut Grove) averaging around 230 feet, they definitely require accuracy and can be deceivingly difficult. Beginning this round I was convinced that I could go sub par and I ended up a few strokes above par. Granted, on ace runs I would always go for it and completely overshoot the basket. ;)

A really cool feature that this course has is the "spectators" on each hole. They're basically faces on trees that are observing you and, I like to think, cheering you on.

Also, this course has the most interesting basket placements. #17 is elevated about 7 feet off the ground and there's a few baskets on mounds. This definitely makes putting intimidating and fun at the same time.

When we played here there was snow on the ground, but there were a lot of footsteps leading us in the direction of the next tee, which was invaluable.
Cons: As this is heavily wooded, I'd imagine that bugs will be a huge problem in the summer.
The chains on the green baskets don't really catch as well as the chains at the other courses and the baskets in general were kind of weird.

Highbridge in general is far away from any big cities or towns. Make sure you stock up on food, water, and other survival necessities before you set up camp here.
Other Thoughts: Definitely come check out the Highbridge Hills Sports Complex! It's a phenomenal destination for disc golf and I'm convinced all the courses here will wow you.
Make sure you plan to stay at least 2 full days because there's absolutely no way you can play all the courses here in one day.
The people and the facilities here are beyond awesome. John Jokinen, the owner, really goes out of his way to ensure that you have a good time.
The honka house is a huge cabin house that can house 15 or so people comfortably and it's only $24 a night. Definitely make sure to stop by if you can!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woodlands is a short, technical course set entirely in the woods. All but two of the holes are under 300 feet. There is one par 4 here, hole 17, it's the signature hole on the course. It's only 270 feet but it's got a grueling S shaped fairway with an elevated basket sitting in a tri-forked tree.

The course has a good balance of hyzer, anhyzer, straight shots and a few twisting fairways. You need to be very accurate to score well on this course.

Navigation is breeze here with next tee signs and a map is provided at the hilltop clubhouse. The teepads and signs are in great condition.
Cons: I would normally say something about a short course needing a few long holes to round it out. But Highbridge is different. Since it has so many long courses, this course does a great job rounding things out here.

The one con I have here is it's lacking the elevation changes seen on all the other courses.
Other Thoughts: John has put innumerable hours turning this into the best place ever to disc golf and it shows. This is a top notch complex with a number of incredible courses, and there are more courses on the way. If you ever get a chance to make the trip up here, DO IT! Plan on spending more than one day because these courses are long, have lots of elevation changes and they will wear you down. And that's coming from someone who can play 4 rounds in a day no problem.

This truly is the mecca of disc golf!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good for the intent

1    5/28/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 134  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For what Woodland is intended for, it does its job. Unlike the other Highbridge courses, Woodland is completely in the woods and is intended to reward accuracy/accuracy/accuracy. Only 2 holes are over 300 feet, and there are many under 200. Normally I would rate this course a 3, but I considered the purpose of the course. Highbridge Gold and Granite Ridge are intended to be tough, long, grueling courses. Blueberry is intended to be the fun course that does offer a challenge. Chestnut is the beginners course, while Woodland is intended to be a technical course that truly is fun. I wouldn't call the course easy (I dueced the first five holes but only shot -6), but it certainly is easier than Blueberry, Gold, and Granite. However, that is the intent of the course - in addition, I talked to the owner and this course is actually the second most played course on the complex (behind only Blueberry). Woodland also offers a fun basket on a nice mound, and the coolest basket ever (the hanging basket on 17). While some people would complain about this, this is one of the coolest things I have ever seen at a disc golf course.
Cons: The course is extremely short - if you are looking for a long, challenging course, go play Gold or Granite. After 12 holes the course does seem a bit repetitive, as almost every hole is in the woods. This course is also more fun to play with other people. I played with myself and one more person, and I saw a thirteen-some playing later in the day (yup, you heard me right) and they were having an absolute blast. This is a fun course to come out and test your technical abilities, but it isn't a big challenge.
Other Thoughts: The best thing about the Highbridge complex is the variety offered - Blueberry is the fun gem, Gold is the challenging beast, Granite is the open jewel, Chestnut is the night/fun course, Woodland is the technical course, and the Bear is the absolute goliath. I played Chestnut after playing both Gold and Granite in the same day (the day after), and it was such a breath of fresh air. It was fun to shoot under par, and that's the intention of Chestnut - to have fun and shoot a good score.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

1    6/8/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays on the hillside through dense forest. Nearly all the holes have some kind of elevation change, and this is mixed up throughout the course with holes uphill, downhill, and some across the slope. There are several tricky greens with good rollaway possibility, and a couple very creative elevated pins, with one on the side of a small steep knoll, and one nestled 6 feet up between 3 tree trunks. Most of the holes play down grassy fairways lined with thick trees and rough, and many have strategically placed trees left in the fairway to make sure you hit your line. The rough is thick enough that you'll usually lose at least a stroke for an errant shot.

There is great variety of hole shapes here; it doesn't feel like you really throw the same shot twice. There is a good mix of left and right turning shots, and an occasional straight hole, but all have their own unique quirks and challenges. Even the shortest holes on the course will punish you for a shot that misses it's line.

The maintenance is pretty good here, most of the grassy areas were mowed nicely, and there was no trash or vandalism at all. The tees are nice level concrete pads with good grip and plenty of room. The second half of the course has good signage with hole map and distance, and the first half at least has numbers on the tees and next tee signs when necessary. The flow is good, and with next tee signs, very easy to follow especially with the map on the scorecard.
Cons: This course is challenging, but very short. There is only one hole over 300', the rest are holes that many players can reach with a mid or a putter. If you're playing the other courses here that's less important, but looking at this course on it's own, it lacks variety in distances. The first 7 holes don't quite feel finished, with temporary baskets and no tee signs, once this course and bear are finished with their own sets of baskets it will feel much more like a complete course.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course at the wonderful Highbridge complex. It it's own unique flavor with shorter technical holes, and is certainly a must play while here. It's not all that beginner friendly, with tight lines and thick rough, but more experienced players will find some great technical challenges. Highbridge is truly a disc golf destination, and this course is part of that for sure.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic tecnhical course

2-4    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Feli
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is about as good as it gets for accuracy geared players. It's mostly par 3s but an excellent challenge for any player.
The fairways are narrow and guarded by tree lines on either side. The distances make it seem as if it'd be easy, but on most holes, you won't even be able to see the basket from the tee since it's a dogleg and/or heavily wooded fairway. There are some hills, but it's much more of a test for hyzering and thumb throw abilities.

This course will reward accuracy while other Highbridge layouts like Gold and Granite with many wide, long, and open fairways rewarded mostly just distance. There are probably far more guys who can rip discs 300 or 400+ feet than the number who can consistently throw a beauty down these narrow Woodland fairways and hook to the baskets. If you try to power your way through this course, you will be playing Plinko off trees and spending a lot of time pushing branches aside to look for your discs in the forest.
Cons: The course accomplishes its purpose of emphasizing accuracy and maneuvering discs around curves and trees. Some power players will whine that the holes aren't long enough for a Highbridge course, but there are still a few 300ft+ ones on this course to appease them also.
Other Thoughts: This is a course where a TeeBird or even a midrange will probably be your main disc off the tee boxes. If you like precision DG courses and having to use a variety of disc throws and hyzer angles, you will love Woodland Greens.

If, however, you want to be able to easily see the basket from the tee and just bomb away drivers on wide fairways, then you are better off just heading to Gold instead. All in all, Highbridge courses compliment eachother very well.

There's something to work for (and against) every player's DG style at Highbridge, and this course will really test your accuracy. It's also a pretty shady course that plays faster than other Highbridge courses, and it's great for the sunny days where you would get burnt to a crisp playing the longer 18s at the complex. The wood spirit faces on the trees are a nice touch. Great course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.