Fall Branch, TN
Harmon Hills Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
One of the best!

1    6/22/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First off- 27 holes
Most challenging course I have ever played!
Lines are clear but tough.
Alternate short basket on the first 18 holes.
Jerry Harmon is very good guy who's hospitality is second to none.
Tee signs and benches on the first 18 holes.
Concrete teepads.
Beautiful land.
Course forces you to use every disc/shot in your bag.
holes 1-9 end at the clubhouse, holes 9-18 end at the clubhouse and you guessed it, holes 19-27 end at the clubhouse.
Camping area (donation)
Cons: Little intimidating to newer players but thats what the short basket locations are for.
Other Thoughts: Course is just awesome. This course has a par of 99 and it is a legit 99. Few holes are able to be reached in 2 and even fewer oppurtunities for an ace. The new 9 Jerry just built makes you play real golf. You have to hit your landing areas and play smart. Be patient and manage the course and their is alot of fun to be had. Try to rip and grip every hole and watch the score add up quickly. Harmon Hills is something special and if you have the chance its a must play!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    3/17/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: i jus like everything bout this course.. you get a lil bit of everything here!!
Cons: dont really have any lol
Other Thoughts: def want to bring your A game here and be ables to sling a disc far.. some of the holes are very very long but in all the owners are very nice and welcome anyone..

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Challange!

2-4    1/22/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: climbtoo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2012
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I frequently travel the Interstate 81corridor between Johnson City and Knoxville looking at the rolling hills and thinking about how many amazing a disc courses it could hold. So when I got a call to play a course near Jonesboro, I did not hesitate to join in. I had wanted to visit this course for a while and was eager to see it for myself in spite of the fact that I knew it was going to bruise my disc golf ego. Tales of monster holes with fairways tight enough to scare off Br'er Rabbit, throwing around a 40' deep sink hole (bottoming out in water cave) and very long approach shots had certainly peaked my curiosity. We played two rounds and I have to say it was the most fun I've had getting my butt kicked since High School. I would not recommend that you take a new player to this course as it plays to a par of 66 in 18 holes but if you can throw 300 out of a 20 foot wide fairway and can shape long approaches, you're going to have a blast.


Just to make it easier, I'll write the Pros as features and benefits…

The front and back 9 start and finish at the parking area - Makes it easy to reload on refreshment.
Good mix of open and wooded holes - It's nice to have some grip and rip Tee shots.
More open holes on the front - easier to get your game going in the right direction.
There is a balanced combination of left and right doglegs - adds to the challenge.
Rolling hills, rock gardens, sink holes, big old trees and nice rural views - visual candy.
None of the holes give you the 'it's all up hill' feeling….most play down - Tee shots are more fun.
Plenty of Tee shots where big arms can air it out - even if you can't do it, it's fun to watch someone go big.
A fair number of tight Tee shots - to help those of us with less distance to compete with the big arms.
It's a rural area - you won't see a lot of other groups and you'll feel like it's your private course.
Terrific signs on every hole - you know where to throw even if you can't see the target.
Easy to find your way around - no time wasted searching for the next hole.
Rough finished concrete Tee pads - good footing in all weather.
Nice pro baskets - hit them right and it stays in.
Lots of benches at the Tee Pads - great for bag stashes or taking a breather while your group throws.
Cons: There are none! This is a private course on amazing terrain. This trumps any of the few minor 'cons' that I could come up with.

Oh, actually there was a big one - I did not get to meet Jerry Harmon :) But I'll fix that soon when I return for another round!
Other Thoughts: I played Harmon Hills with a group that included three private course owner/builders from the North Carolina high country so the conversations tend to be about hole design, the flow of the course and optimum land use. Discussions about improving a tee position and comments like "I'd take out this tree'- "would not have cut this one' or moving this basket to some overlooked location are more frequent than those about disc selection or playing strategy. I say USUALLY because it was different at Harmon Hills. We were quickly drawn in to the rhythm of the course and it was obvious that the designer/builder intimately knew the land and took full advantage of it's unique features and terrain. It's an incredible layout on an amazing piece of land - there is not a bad hole in the mix and most are exceptional! Sure, I'd cut a tree or two to make a few holes more playable for the average golfer (like me) but then again, this is no average course.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/11/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The owner is really nice and told us we didn't even have to pay to play but we gave him money for maintenance. Perfect variety of open and wooded holes. Great length range. Difficult yet not frusterating (this is really important to me). Super scenic. Probably my favorite course I have played.
Cons: Not much maybe some trashcans along the way and it wasn't mowed in some places (which is completely understandable).
Other Thoughts: Super memorable holes: 1,3,4,5,10,12, and 16 all stand out in my memory. Very secluded and just a great course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful Terrain + Great Design = Fantastic Course

1    4/19/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 324  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tremendous variety
Cons:
Nitpicks - couple missing signs, tees could be longer, basket-18 near children's play areas
Other Thoughts:
The many gently-rolling hills and valleys, open space defined by lines of trees and scattered sections of woods combine to create a terrain seemingly custom-made for a great disc golf course.

There is so much variety on this course:
* Length: from 177' to 606', you'll have both grip-n-rip and touch-shot opportunities from the tee. ~2/3rds of the holes are over 350'
* Elevation: pretty much every combination you can think of - flat, up, down, across, up-n-over, undulating, very evenly distributed
* Tightness - degree: from quite to wide-open, more fair/open than tight
* Tightness - location: entire length, early,late, midpoint, combinations, typically only for a small portion of the length of the hole.
* Turns - none, left, rights, S - very even blend. #13 is a left-turning J-shape/fishhook!
* Management - about 1/3rd of the holes require a very-accurately placed first shot to provide a reasonable approach for the second shot - too short/long/left/right on these holes, and you'll be scrambling for a bogey.

Two nine-hole clockwise-loops starting/ending near house - tee-1/basket-9 to left of house, tee-10/basket-18 to right of house. The course, even without a map, was easy to navigate, and the family dog joined, and sometimes led, us on our round.

The front nine has a second set of shorter-located, non-uniform baskets. These can sometimes be useful when playing to the standard baskets, as on both #3&4, throwing towards the short basket, then turing 30-degrees to the left upon reaching it, is probably the best line to take

Favourite hole: - many to choose from
* Number-1 requires a sweeping, down-slope right-turner through a midpoint treeline-gap to reach basket-1, framed by impressive large stones
* Number-3 requires a straight throw to exit some woods, cross open space, needing to then fade left into another portion of woods, basket tucked behind a small, tree-populated rise.
* Number-12 exits straight out of woods from an elevated position, across open space, then a sharp right after entering the next section of woods.
* Number-17 requires a long, straight, throw through a smattering of trees on slightly downwardly-sloping land. From there, need to quickly get up-n-over a tree-filled rise then fade a bit left to find the basket to the right of a large tree

This course is a joy to play, and is well worth making the effort to visit - give Jerry a call if you're going to be anywhere near the area.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 In my Top 5 (out of 150+)

5+    11/3/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2011
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Jerry Harmon. Jerry Harmon is a true Southern Gentlemen. I have crashed at his house a few times for DG tournaments and he has always welcomed me and others. I've also seen other people camp on his land. He's a great guy and he'd probably be more than happy to have you over to play his course sometime.
- Private Property. How many times do I have to say it…? Private Property courses rock. How can you beat a course that sits on 90 acres of beautiful Appalachian farmland? With that amount of property, there are some BIG holes out there… 800'ers, 600'ers, 500'ers through the woods, etc… I think every Hole takes up more than an acre of land!!!
- Serious Golf. Even though we all know "everything's a 3" in the world of DG, Jerry will tell you that his course plays as a Par 66 (I agree with Jerry). The Holes are amazing. You'll need to throw a great 300+' drive to an "ideal" landing zone in order to throw a 200+' upshot through a gap or a in a different direction just for the opportunity to make a putt. You definitely need to play golf.
- Open / Wooded. Harmon Hills feature a nice combination of Open and Wooded holes… and in many cases, both open and wooded on the same hole. There are many holes where you start in the trees, play across an open field and then back into the trees… with opportunities for punishment all along the way.
- Holy Cow Man Cave. The best clubhouse I have ever seen. 80' long, 30' wide, 3 sided structure, couches, fireplace, flat-screen… Tennessee football games on TV post-round… etc. Every disc golfer in the world will be jealous over Jerry's man-cave/course combination.
Cons:
- Tweeners. A few of the Par 4's are really more like 3.5's. Many of them are easily 3'able, but rarely to never 2'd. 4's would be common, but the 3's could come a little easy on a few of the 4's.
- Tee-Pads. This really isn't a "con" but it belongs here more than the other sections. Jerry's tees are concrete (yeah!), but they're rather small for the length of the Holes and chunky (deep grooves for traction in winter).
Other Thoughts:
- Quite Possibly One of the Best DG Experiences You'll Ever Have. When you combine a supremely awesome course, with Dave242's Appalachian Beauty, with Jerry's man cave, and great people like Jerry Harmon himself, Harmon Hills becomes one of the best disc golf experiences you'll ever have. It's definitely in my Top 5. The only thing missing from Harmon Hills is a Top of the World shot and Water.
- Course Record. Kris Orrick and I were partnered in a doubles tournament and set the course record of 51… and we played almost perfect golf. Jerry Harmon shot a solo round of 52 during a tournament, in the rain. I mention these numbers to give some idea of the difficulty of Harmon Hills… it's definitely not your standard Par 3 course. I think there are only 4 or 5 Holes that are actually, realistically 2-able… and, you'll need to get them all to counter balance the 5's and 6's your bound to take.
- Great Destination Area. The Johnson City/Kingsport Tennessee area is a hotbed for great disc golf. Fossil Hill is less than 1 mile away from Harmon Hills and it's super fun, although Fossil Hills is extremely private now and only really open for tournament play. Warriors Path is a great little course and it's just up the 81 probably less than 25 minutes away. And Winged Deer, also ½ and hour away, is bad ass. If you're on a road trip… PLAY HERE.

**edited**
- My Disc Score: According to DGCR's disc scale, a 5 disc course is the best of the best. Since I gave Sugaree (IMO the best course in North Carolina), a 5 disc score… and, I think Harmon Hills is even better than Sugaree, I had to come back and revise my disc score to reflect that. I just don't pass out 5's like candy at Halloween, I take reviewing very seriously and felt like I had to come back and do justice for Harmon Hills.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 great private course

1    6/24/2009   2/2/2011
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great mix of holes, right out of the gate hole 1 is great and challenging. course is tough and demands accuracy. great distance to the course and the owner is very nice. has a ball golf feel to a few of the holes, which i always love.
Cons: tee pads aren't the best, but are good for a private course
Other Thoughts: great all around course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: one of the premier courses in upper east tn. pdga par 66. placement golf. accuracy a must. i love the par 4s and 5s. mostly open, plenty in the woods as well. great hospitality. plans of adding 9 more shorter holes for a full 27.
Cons: a couple of holes still lack teepads.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great mixed long course

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: mdeangmu
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A mix of open shots through gaps and technical wooded shots. Great setting. Well maintained. Incredible for a private course.
Cons: Great course. Con? Maybe losing a disk on hole 11. If you miss the gap or make the gap and lose sight of your drive, several places it could end up. Limited parking? Private house, private course...what would you expect. :)
Other Thoughts: Owner is super awesome guy. Very friendly and welcoming. Great overall course. Every hole is long. Only one hole under 200 and not many under 300/350'. Planned for 1 hour game and ended up 2.5 hours. You will not get through the course in less than 1.5 hrs your first time out unless you throw blind and run.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.