Disc Golf Store
Edgewood, NM
Wildlife West Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 420ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worn out but still plyable

2-4    11/11/2013   11/25/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13 Years
Pros: If you want solitude than this course is for you. I live in the East Mountains and have played here a few times and each time there was nobody else on the course. There are some challenging shots that are blind that require you to pull out some overhead, hyzer and anny shots. I like this course as a practice course to get you going for the season or just a mellow round of DG.
Cons: This course is in need of some major TLC. Only 9 holes remain but have a lot of potential. You need good shoes on this course as you are walking through the desert with cactus and obstacles, it is wildlife west nature park anyway. Tee pads are almost non-existent due to weather and no maintenance. Hole 6 I think could be broken up into 2 holes as the basket is like 600'-700' away from the tee pad. Baskets are old and worn out with a poor double chain design.
Other Thoughts: Still worth it too check out. Maps are usually in the box on hole 1 but sometimes you need to go inside to ask for a map. Use to be 18 holes I heard but only 9 exist now, can play 2 rounds to make up the 18 hole course. The tee pads can be hard to find but doable; it helps to play with someone that has played here before. If anyone wants to play this course let me know I am up for anytime. Enjoy!

 Wild West Coarse

5+    9/25/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Crazy Fast Ford
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course can be as hard or easy as you like. From the AM Tees it is pretty straight forward and from the Pro tee one must curve the shots to get them where one wants to be. There are a couple of blind tees which can be very rewarding. This course is not covered in sage brush like others in the area which means one can find their disc much easier.
Cons: No permintent Tees. There are signs that point you to the next tee but they are all in need of maintainence.
Other Thoughts: It is only a 9 hole course. The course is also on the edge of Edgewood and as such is cooler in the summer and makes for a nice destination to play a round of golf and get out of the heat without driving hours to other courses Nice course for the entire famliy. Remimber it is on the east side of the mountian so playing in the morning before the wind starts is advised. We play the Pro tees for the front and the AM tees for the back to make it a 18 hole course. I wish the old back nine would come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I40 travel stop

1    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is challenging and sensible. There is a good mix of hole lengths. Inner chains have been added to baskets which did not include them originally, and all they catch pretty good.
A good map is available from the gift shop on grounds where you can also get cold drinks. A porta potty is nearby - not sure about indoor toilets.
Tee signs have hole# and length on them. Two tees for every hole are appropriate as Blue and Red level tees and well marked with flags and signs.
OB fences can come into play on the left side of holes 1,2,3,4, and 5. Hole #5 has some interesting putting area structures built as hazards. Hole #6 is straight and flat and open at over 1000' from the long tee. OB twine is in place on both sides of hole #6, and can also come into play on holes 3,4, and 5. Hole #8 has a putting area "island" marked with OB twine which players clearly must land in from the tee or go to a flagged drop zone tee to shoot for 3. The parking area to the left of hole #9 is also OB.
Cons: AS OF JULY 2011 THERE ARE ONLY 9 HOLES!
There are virtually no navigation aids out on the course. Without a guide or the map, the course is very hard to navigate, though not impossible. The tee signs are showing age, and some were hard to read. The angle of the tee boxes on hole #3 suggests throwing to the #8 basket, but the correct goal is actually to the left.
Hours are limited - officially 10:00 to 6:00. I arrived much earlier, and nobody seemed to mind. But there were no maps in the map box and I could not get a map until 10:AM when the gift shop opened. It is clear that the closing time of 6:PM is much more firm.
There are few amenities out on the course - a shaded bench between #2 and #3 was about it.
The baskets are a mix of light weight and old. There are 2- In Step, 2- M-14, One homemade (16 chains nicely done), and 4 old Mach 2's. The course design slightly favors RHBH hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a high desert course at a wildlife sanctuary. The principal activity of the facility is wildlife rescue, and rehab, and education on these subjects. The disc golf course has been added as one of the healthy human parts of the effort. The terrain includes some gentle elevation change through mostly open scrub brush and cactus.
The basic course design is really quite sound. Holes ranging from about 200 feet (#4) to over 1000 offer lots of variety. Once I figured out the course I went back out and played it in about 45 minutes, and definitely appreciated the the fun of it.
As a stop on I40 it is definitely worthwhile, and the wildlife sanctuary looks to be very interesting and worthwhile also. If it works for your schedule I suggest stopping to play, and throwing a few bucks into their donation box to help with the effort.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Local Player

5+    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is secluded, quiet, and played only often enough to have paths warn down which is great if you're wanting to play without interruption from other golfers. The front 9 is very long, and sometimes windy giving your skill a chance to improve. The back 9 is rarely windy and extremely wooded, requiring a whole different set of skill to score par or under on.
Cons: Signage could be better, and the maps provided could have a directional plot on them (N, S, E, W Gino!) The cholla are a bit of a pain in the ass, literally in some cases, and the trees are sometimes 40 feet wide and love to eat discs. A recent update to the course has left the back 9 very confusing and the lengths on the holes are incorrect (Microsoft Worldview gives different distances for 17 holes than marked)
Other Thoughts: As myself, my brother, our friend Josh, and our friends Gino and Guy helped design that course, I find the course to be a much better option than playing in the city (Albuquerque). The course has it's drawbacks, like any other course, but is great fun for all skill levels. If you'd like to play this course, please call me any time at 505 463-9122. I very much enjoy the course and am more than willing to show you around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amateur and Pro length tee boxes on almost every hole with signs that indicate distance. Scenic. Moderately challenging. Wide open; due to to its location, I'd doubt that anyone (unless there are local players, and one would assume there would be, or else the course wouldn't be here in the first place) plays it very often. As such, it's super clean and plays fast. Tee boxes are just dirt, but they're fairly sizable and - if it makes sense - composed of "good" dirt. Part of a wildlife preserve / zoo.
Cons: Confusing layout. No maps. No indication on signs of where the pin is located. All the tee boxes point in more or less the right direction, but unless you know where you're going or just throw blind, you'll have to walk the hole to find which pin you're shooting at. The pins themselves are not of the best quality, and not all of the flags on them indicate which number pin they are. The front 9 runs very close to the highway which detracts from what would otherwise be fantastic solitude in a pleasant environment; it's also adjacent to a cow pasture, which makes for nervous throwing (on two holes) on windy days.
Other Thoughts: Are there 18 holes? Were there 18 at one point? Only 9 the time I played it. And the people working at the wildlife preserve / zoo gave conflicting answers, ranging from oblivious to there were plans to put nine more in that never came to fruition. Even with nine more, it really wouldn't be worth driving to by itself; unless you're passing through and want to check it out, I really can't recommend this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.