Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #4 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 329ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Short and fun

1    7/21/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: - Huge park setting makes for a nice walk
- Dominated by short, straight shots with few obstacles, which makes for a fun round
- Great pro shop
- Not too crouded
Cons: - The first 4 holes are totally disconnected from the rest of the course. Seems like they just have them to have 18 holes.
- Other park goers pose an additional (sometimes moving!) obstacle on shots. Everyone knows the deal, though, so there is no tension.
- Escondido is hot...
Other Thoughts: A lot of locals play this course daily. Just hang out at the first hole and someone will invite you to join. It can be tough to find the tee boxes if you've never played and don't have a guide.

 Kit Carson - Escondido CA

2-4    1/21/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: riles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of dynamic shots to make. Good balance of long and short holes, as well as, left or right hand shots.
Cons: First several holes the landscaping is basically dirt.
Going from hole 5-6 is confusing for someone who had never played the course. Better signage for that would be good.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and would go back again. I appreciated the well made signs and indicators for the current pin placement.
I played with the holes pushed out to the farthest placements and it made for some LONG shots. Pretty cool.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

old classic

1    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: variety of distances and obstacles.
beautiful park in which to play.
excellent signage.
creative design over large acreage.
Cons: the layout encourages some players to skip holes #1-5 and to create a log-jam by starting their round at #6.
Other Thoughts: I didn't realize who he was until after I left and shared a pic of his car/license plate/sticker, but I met THE John Kirkland, the legend. Very cool guy who was beginning his round as I ended mine.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads
Cons: Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kit Carson Review

5+    12/15/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.
Cons: Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.
Other Thoughts: It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    11/6/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is free and easy to access. There are long holes and there are some short more technical holes. It is an intermediate course in my opinion. Not technical but not easy. The pro shop is AWESOME too!!!
Cons: Sundays are hard because of all the park goers. It is also bloody hot in the summer.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park setting

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tree-lined park setting. Never overly crowded, even on weekends for DG. They added bag hangers on several holes so you don't have to drop your gear in the dirt. Generally clean course, with grassy fairways except for the first 4 holes. Decent mix of longer holes, with some shorter technical holes with trees. The hole locations are rotated on occasion, but it's not always apparent which spot they're using.
Cons: Can sometimes be a hassle when park-goers aren't aware of DG. The park ranger asked one group to move over the last time I played as they were not even 10 yds from one basket, and their kid was swinging from it. A lot of kids will play in the creek running through the course as well, often too close to baskets . No elevation changes to speak of. If you pay attention to the tee signs, there's more OB than you think. At times your corridor is extremely narrow even if you think you've made a good shot into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Rubber tees on majority of holes. Usually adequate, but could use longer ones on some holes where you take a bigger run-up. There's a nicely stocked DG/skate shop across the parking lot from the course. I like that every time I've gone to this course, I can hit a few practice putts on the way to the 1st tee, and just take off. I've never had to wait more than a few minutes, even on weekends. I'm usually able to get in 2 rounds without too much trouble.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 all about lines

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!
Cons: Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson keeps on impressing

5+    5/3/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Wide variety, of holes, terrain, and it almost feels like climate as well
- The more course in so cal I play the more I like what they have done it Kit Carso
Cons: - Park traffic
- Tees
Other Thoughts: - Great course.. wish more cities would take on this oppurtunity

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course winds through a nice multiuse park. Very dusty at first but it then winds through some well kept grassy areas.

- Good use of obstacles throughout the park, including the giant snake statue.

- A good mix of distances, including a handful of long bombs. But not too many that you can't take beigginners along.

- Water and OB winding throughout to give an extra challenge. But usually you can retreive your disk from the water without much trouble.

- No crowds!! SD county really needed another quality 18 holer.
Cons: - Other park users can get in the way. I have not played on the weekend but I can imagine that it could get very crowded with other park users.

- The first few dusty holes can get really hot with OB where you can not retreive lost discs.

- Navigation was a bit tricky, not a big deal but it definitely helps to print out the map.
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the guys in Escondido for building a much needed quality course. Out of the 4 in the Escondido/ San Marcos area this is my favorite. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.