Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun course with decent variety.

5+    9/17/2015   10/2/2015
Review By: Ninjavitus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FREE!

I typically go to the course on weekday mornings to avoid crowds and the heat. I can usually play through a round solo in about 45 minutes (if there aren't many groups ahead of me). I often end up playing 2 rounds in a row.

Nowhere near as crowded as Morley.

In my experiences with groups ahead of me, they have always been very polite in letting me play through. Sometimes I will join up with a smaller groups, which is a nice change from flying solo.

There is a decent variety of holes, with varying pin positions on 1, 2, 3, 4, 6 (although I've never seen it set up on the short pin), 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, & 18. They usually change pins around once a week or so. There's a mix of wide open, slightly wooded, small mandatory gaps, dogleg rights/left, and straight shots.

Sean(Shawn/Shaun?) in the Pro Shop is super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

Baskets are top notch, though I still manage to find ways to hit chains and miss.

Not exceedingly difficult (not sure if that is a pro or con). For me it means fun rounds, with relatively minimal course induced frustrations. My frustrations are primarily self induced.

Public restrooms and water fountains available during park hours.

Cons: I love this park! The cons listed below are really more of a heads up for people, than any sort of complaint. I just wanted to present info on some things that some may see as cons.

Mixed use park can present some human obstacles, but I've never really had any issues with anyone. Sometimes you encounter someone who's oblivious to the course, but not often.

Not super difficult, if that's what you're looking for (see Pros)

Can be very hot. Not really anything the course can do about it, but a heads up nonetheless. Bring some cold water and wear sunscreen.

Dogs must be on leash. Some people think this does not apply to their dog. I haven't yet had one go after a disc, but they are occasionally there.

There's a bit of walking required in between holes 5 and 6, and from 18 back to the parking lot. I don't mind that walking. Overall the course isn't too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course in SD

5+    11/2/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent for a Free to Play
-Wait times aren't typically that long
-Great hole length variation
-Half the holes have 2-3 positions, some requiring very different drives
-Weekly doubles
-Great pro-shop
Cons: -Park is host to cross-country running events that can block holes
-Lots of picnics in the Summer
-The river can get kinda gross and stagnant at times (don't shank it on holes 9, 10)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in San Diego county
-More fun than CSUSM and Montiel
-Much faster round than Morley
-As fun as Goat Hill, but not as ridiculously long

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Sroberts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Free
-Tests all skills
-Good lengths of holes
-Awesome pro shop
-Good Course layout
-Nice practice area
Cons: -If you somehow get a disc in the woods good luck finding it
-confusing finding a few holes
-have to be careful of park go-ers
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course and will go back for sure guy at the proshop was really knowledgable and helpful about course Q's. def a must go. 4/5

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

1    4/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -tests lots of throws
-great scenery
-awesome pro shop
Cons: -pins a little difficult to see, maybe a flag or something
-lay out changes, a little weird to find some holes
-pretty wooded
Other Thoughts: even though there were more cons than pros, the course was awesome. clean, easy to walk. On an overcast weekday, there was no park goers, and just had a great time. Mind the trees and the day will turn out well. Really tests your discs and throws

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Kit Carson

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great 2 basket practice putting area
- awesome pro shop with super friendly workers...scorecards, discs (new, used, lost and found), drinks, and maps available
- relatively flat course, but a couple of minor elevation holes, mandatories, OB's, and the trees keep it interesting
- i think the course is evenly balanced in terms of people who throw RHFH or RHBH. I throw both and do use both throws on this course.
- some holes have different basket positions that change every week or two (1,2,3,4,6,11,14,17...there may be more that i missed, but that's most of them)
- easy to navigate for the most part
- decent length on most holes with an ace run on hole 6
- oh yeah the best part about this course is little to no waiting (unlike Morley Field)
-updating their signs and adding bag hangers on every hole
-for the holes with multiple positions, they now mark which position the basket is in
Cons: - plays through the park, bad to play on the weekends because you may run into park goers, especially holes 6 and 7. May also run into park goers on holes 8, 14, and sometimes 18. most park goers don't know what disc golf is. some even picnic in the middle of the fairways! however if you ask them to move nicely, they will oblige.
- On hole 3, you are literally next to a major road on your right. This can be dangerous lol. I've accidentally thrown my disc onto the road one time before and thankfully it wasn't run over nor did I cause any major distraction to the drivers. On hole 5 you are next to a road in the park as well, but this is not as treacherous.
- some moderate trash, i always try to pick up a few pieces every time i play.
Other Thoughts: Its free, its not crowded, and the holes are decently challenging. Also, its very easy to get through a round of 18 holes here as opposed to other courses such as Morley and Brengle. The only real downside to this course is that it overlaps with other park goers, so keep your eyes open before you throw. NOTE: be careful on holes 4,5, and 16. On hole 4 its very easy to lose your disc in the "habitat area" because this hole doglegs to the right. On hole 5 be careful to not throw into the "habitat area" on your right...very hard to find a disc thrown in that jungle. And on hole 16, you could potentially lose your disc in the dry shrubs to the right. If you play with others, you may want to have someone spotting each other's throws. Overall a great course that is free.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -LOVE this course. It's my home course, so I may be a bit biased but its great, great, great.


-One of those "good for all levels" courses. Beginners will find it accessible, but there enough challenging shots for more experienced players.

-Hole 13. 300ish feet long, downhill throw, so much fun. Always end up throwing three or four discs when it wont hold anyone up.

-Beautiful San Diego weather, so its awesome.

-Park is very nicely maintained.

-Much, much less crowded than Morley.

- Great pro shop on the premises! SDSF FTW!
Cons: -Squirrel holes EVERYWHERE. Be careful while walking, esp on holes 1-4.

-Some of the holes are a little too short. Birdie Alley (holes 5-9) is fun for a while, but once you figure out the lines it becomes a little routine.

-Pin locations are changed infrequently.

-Multi use park, that can get a little crowded on the weekends. Most people are courteous, but sometimes there will be kids running around on the course and they do not listen. Its taken me as long as five minutes to get their attention before. Kind of surprised that no one has gotten hurt yet.

-Rubber tee pads in shady spots can be slippery.

Other Thoughts: This course has gotten much, much better in the last year or so. They've altered 14 so that you don't have to back track as much. They've added a hole (16) so it is now a full 18 hole course. Tee pads on every hole now, which is a huge improvement. My favorite course in San Diego County. Morley is fun, but it gets so crowded. Kit Carson is a fast play, even on weekends. Can't recommend it enough.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Love!

5+    2/19/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Um...
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
- Fun and technical course. Plenty of long holes to open it up on, along with some shorter technical shots that will really challenge you to consider your approach to the basket.
- Multiple holes with optional pin locations (although they don't change very frequently)
- Set in a beautiful park. First few holes (1-4) are in more of an open and somewhat dusty meadow, but then the course moves onto cut grass with a meandering stream that winds through the park and is in play for several holes.
- Pro shop has an awesome selection of discs, although pretty pricey, especially when you add CA sales tax. >:-(
- Well maintained and clean. Very friendly crowds and respectful players.
- 2 practice baskets at the start of the course.
- Certain shaded tee pads throughout the park can be slippery and unsafe at certain times. Would really love to see concrete pads installed here.
- Some holes play past walking paths and through common areas. Generally if you're kind to the parkgoers and ask them to move, they will.
- OB can be rough here, especially on holes 3 and 4. Hole 3 you're right up against a very busy street where the hole requires you to air it out. Hole 4 is another long hole that has a protected marshland to the right and is very dense. Say goodbye to discs thrown here.
- Can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I couldn't be more happy that they've managed to install a GREAT course in this park. The park itself is awesome and the course doesn't disappoint. Great place to spend the day too, so if you're inclined, bring a picnic and plan on playing for the day! This park has been around A LOT longer than the dg course so please keep the course and the park clean and be respectful of the other parkgoers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio plays CA

1    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Miamisms
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean course
Pro Shop
-also if you find a disc and call the person you can leave the disc at the pro shop and the shop,will give you a dollar for the return. The owner will then just have to go to the pro shop to pick it up. GREAT IDEA!
Good variety
Wooded but not to much
Fine distances
Pads and baskets in good condition
Cons: A little hard to navigate if you don't know course
Idk if I screwed up but I think I played 16 before 15 thought followed the logical course layout
Some park goers were clueless at what was going on and hung around a baskets was shooting at for 5 mins
Other Thoughts: Compared to OH courses it was a good combination of all my favorite holes. Wasn't very sunny but still very nice weather. Other players were very nice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  great coarse

5+    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: jimmyslicks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a great technical coarse , really makes you think of what discs to use. It has long holes , short holes but always an obstical to try to over come.
Cons: The bugs are the only down fall to this wonderful coarse

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot less traffic, giving you time to throw two drives if you want to. Course is a lot longer than Morley if you want to unleash a few.
Cons: Not quite as technical as it could be, but could be a positive too. Weekends are very busy because it's in a local park that is home to many parties.
Other Thoughts: Course is in great shape and offers something that is drastically different than playing Morley everyday. Already has club doubles on Tuesday at 5. Don't know if it's in the works yet or not, but it would be nice to see the club reach out to the Escondido community and maybe set up a one day event to the kids in the area and teach them disc golf. Just a thought, otherwise the course is great.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.