Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    7/27/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 156  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first five holes play through an open dirt patch with some moderate distance. After that, the course transitions to the grassy main area of the park, and the distances were much shorter. With a couple exceptions, most of the holes felt like a solid birdie opportunity, but not a gimme.

I liked the use of the creek bed. It was mostly dry when I played, but the baskets were situated close by on many holes, so a bad drive or missed putt could leave you putting from the creek bed.

One hole had a cool island hole for one of the pin positions.

I think all tee pads were fly pad except one that was part of the sidewalk. I assume these are recent based on some past reviews.
Cons: The course wasn't even that busy when I visited (a Saturday morning around 9:30), but other park users certainly came into play. Twice I had to wait. One of those times the group in front of me called out to the person walking in the fairway, and the person was clueless and didn't change course. From other reviews, it seems like this is common.

The first four holes are wide open, and holes 1 and 4 basically throw at each other. If you throw RHBH, on the 4th hole you may need to decide between risking turning over your shot into the wildlife habitat, or having your shot fade toward the hole 1 basket.
Other Thoughts: Navigation wasn't bad. The map on the site seemed wrong on a couple holes near the middle of the course, but I didn't need to use it much.

There isn't a ton of challenge here, but I found most of the holes pretty enjoyable. I imagine if I played here regularly, the challenge would be how far under par I could shoot (this is not typical for me!).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. Decent variety of shots with some minor elevation and technical spots. You get to rip 'em on the first few and last couple holes.
Cons: Signage is weak! A very crowded Park- we had a few near misses of children and picnickers who were oblivious to the course!
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course with a variety of holes and shots. It plays through a fairly crowded public park so be very aware your throws. The first 4 holes are grip and rips in a open dirt fields but after that you head into the trees and the feel changes. Definitely a good alternative to my home course (Morley field) if I need a change- ie: not waiting at EVERY tee box or being hounded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads
Cons: Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the park

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Sroberts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Free
-Tests all skills
-Good lengths of holes
-Awesome pro shop
-Good Course layout
-Nice practice area
Cons: -If you somehow get a disc in the woods good luck finding it
-confusing finding a few holes
-have to be careful of park go-ers
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course and will go back for sure guy at the proshop was really knowledgable and helpful about course Q's. def a must go. 4/5

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must play!

1    4/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -tests lots of throws
-great scenery
-awesome pro shop
Cons: -pins a little difficult to see, maybe a flag or something
-lay out changes, a little weird to find some holes
-water
-pretty wooded
Other Thoughts: even though there were more cons than pros, the course was awesome. clean, easy to walk. On an overcast weekday, there was no park goers, and just had a great time. Mind the trees and the day will turn out well. Really tests your discs and throws

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Diversity!

2-4    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: ChubbieRooster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice mix of hole variety. Short, Long, Obstacles.
Played twice and both rounds went by pretty quickly even with larger groups out in front.
Cons: You do have to share this course with other park goers. You do have to keep people informed that you are going to be throwing, but will move without any problem.
Other Thoughts: This course actually had a great pro shop. I usually just see Innova if a course does sell discs but this one kept up with just about everything and wasn't let down with my purchases!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great first time

1    1/29/2013   1/30/2013
Review By: Lackychams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this is a great course for just starting out on, i had no real troubles with playing, the creeks were low, so when i did dump my discs in the creeks they were easily to grab.
-most of the holes are short and are easily noticeable.
- the pro shop is great stocked with new discs and used ones, very informative and helpful.
-great practice baskets with enough area to try different distances.
Cons: - goes through a park and some times people walk around in the field.
- 30% of the holes dont have signs to show what hole you are at
- a few of the hole tees where hard to find or hard to access.
Other Thoughts: i recommend to try this course if your in the area, check out the pro shop for anything needed.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson Review

5+    12/15/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.
Cons: Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.
Other Thoughts: It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    11/6/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is free and easy to access. There are long holes and there are some short more technical holes. It is an intermediate course in my opinion. Not technical but not easy. The pro shop is AWESOME too!!!
Cons: Sundays are hard because of all the park goers. It is also bloody hot in the summer.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 0.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great 2 basket practice putting area
- awesome pro shop with super friendly workers...scorecards, discs (new, used, lost and found), drinks, and maps available
- relatively flat course, but a couple of minor elevation holes, mandatories, OB's, and the trees keep it interesting
- i think the course is evenly balanced in terms of people who throw RHFH or RHBH. I throw both and do use both throws on this course.
- some holes have different basket positions that change every week or two (1,2,3,4,6,11,14,17...there may be more that i missed, but that's most of them)
- easy to navigate for the most part
- decent length on most holes with an ace run on hole 6
- oh yeah the best part about this course is little to no waiting (unlike Morley Field)
-updating their signs and adding bag hangers on every hole
-for the holes with multiple positions, they now mark which position the basket is in
Cons: - plays through the park, bad to play on the weekends because you may run into park goers, especially holes 6 and 7. May also run into park goers on holes 8, 14, and sometimes 18. most park goers don't know what disc golf is. some even picnic in the middle of the fairways! however if you ask them to move nicely, they will oblige.
- On hole 3, you are literally next to a major road on your right. This can be dangerous lol. I've accidentally thrown my disc onto the road one time before and thankfully it wasn't run over nor did I cause any major distraction to the drivers. On hole 5 you are next to a road in the park as well, but this is not as treacherous.
- some moderate trash, i always try to pick up a few pieces every time i play.
Other Thoughts: Its free, its not crowded, and the holes are decently challenging. Also, its very easy to get through a round of 18 holes here as opposed to other courses such as Morley and Brengle. The only real downside to this course is that it overlaps with other park goers, so keep your eyes open before you throw. NOTE: be careful on holes 4,5, and 16. On hole 4 its very easy to lose your disc in the "habitat area" because this hole doglegs to the right. On hole 5 be careful to not throw into the "habitat area" on your right...very hard to find a disc thrown in that jungle. And on hole 16, you could potentially lose your disc in the dry shrubs to the right. If you play with others, you may want to have someone spotting each other's throws. Overall a great course that is free.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.