Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Kippler Hole #1
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Must play!

1    4/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -tests lots of throws
-great scenery
-awesome pro shop
Cons: -pins a little difficult to see, maybe a flag or something
-lay out changes, a little weird to find some holes
-water
-pretty wooded
Other Thoughts: even though there were more cons than pros, the course was awesome. clean, easy to walk. On an overcast weekday, there was no park goers, and just had a great time. Mind the trees and the day will turn out well. Really tests your discs and throws

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Diversity!

2-4    2/17/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: ChubbieRooster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mix of hole variety. Short, Long, Obstacles.
Played twice and both rounds went by pretty quickly even with larger groups out in front.
Cons: You do have to share this course with other park goers. You do have to keep people informed that you are going to be throwing, but will move without any problem.
Other Thoughts: This course actually had a great pro shop. I usually just see Innova if a course does sell discs but this one kept up with just about everything and wasn't let down with my purchases!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great first time

1    1/29/2013   1/30/2013
Review By: Lackychams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this is a great course for just starting out on, i had no real troubles with playing, the creeks were low, so when i did dump my discs in the creeks they were easily to grab.
-most of the holes are short and are easily noticeable.
- the pro shop is great stocked with new discs and used ones, very informative and helpful.
-great practice baskets with enough area to try different distances.
Cons: - goes through a park and some times people walk around in the field.
- 30% of the holes dont have signs to show what hole you are at
- a few of the hole tees where hard to find or hard to access.
Other Thoughts: i recommend to try this course if your in the area, check out the pro shop for anything needed.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Kit Carson Review

5+    12/15/2012   12/21/2012
Review By: tu-f-o
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. Overall my favorite in San Diego so far. But I've only played Morley Field, Montiel, Cal State San Marcos, Brengle Terrace. A good mix of open shots, narrow wooded, maybe just 1 hole that is a true par 4 (strength or weakness?), pretty challenging to get a good low score consistently, many holes have options to go either backhand or forehand, nice park in general.
Cons: Not very many hills at all. 1 downhill shot. The park sometimes has normal crowds like families and kids, but usually they don't get in the way too much. Not as technical as Morley Field, not as big or challenging as Brengle Terrace.
Other Thoughts: It's a good size course, not too big not too small. Just finishing 18 holes is a nice walk. You won't be beat, but you'll get a decent walk. Nice combo of dirt areas and grass areas. And FREE to play. Nice staff at the pro shop. Best pro shop I've seen so far. Good deals.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    11/6/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Spmurphy23
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is free and easy to access. There are long holes and there are some short more technical holes. It is an intermediate course in my opinion. Not technical but not easy. The pro shop is AWESOME too!!!
Cons: Sundays are hard because of all the park goers. It is also bloody hot in the summer.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Kit Carson

5+    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 3/4/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great 2 basket practice putting area
- awesome pro shop with super friendly workers...scorecards, discs (new, used, lost and found), drinks, and maps available
- relatively flat course, but a couple of minor elevation holes, mandatories, OB's, and the trees keep it interesting
- i think the course is evenly balanced in terms of people who throw RHFH or RHBH. I throw both and do use both throws on this course.
- some holes have different basket positions that change every week or two (1,2,3,4,6,11,14,17...there may be more that i missed, but that's most of them)
- easy to navigate for the most part
- decent length on most holes with an ace run on hole 6
- oh yeah the best part about this course is little to no waiting (unlike Morley Field)
-updating their signs and adding bag hangers on every hole
-for the holes with multiple positions, they now mark which position the basket is in
Cons: - plays through the park, bad to play on the weekends because you may run into park goers, especially holes 6 and 7. May also run into park goers on holes 8, 14, and sometimes 18. most park goers don't know what disc golf is. some even picnic in the middle of the fairways! however if you ask them to move nicely, they will oblige.
- On hole 3, you are literally next to a major road on your right. This can be dangerous lol. I've accidentally thrown my disc onto the road one time before and thankfully it wasn't run over nor did I cause any major distraction to the drivers. On hole 5 you are next to a road in the park as well, but this is not as treacherous.
- some moderate trash, i always try to pick up a few pieces every time i play.
Other Thoughts: Its free, its not crowded, and the holes are decently challenging. Also, its very easy to get through a round of 18 holes here as opposed to other courses such as Morley and Brengle. The only real downside to this course is that it overlaps with other park goers, so keep your eyes open before you throw. NOTE: be careful on holes 4,5, and 16. On hole 4 its very easy to lose your disc in the "habitat area" because this hole doglegs to the right. On hole 5 be careful to not throw into the "habitat area" on your right...very hard to find a disc thrown in that jungle. And on hole 16, you could potentially lose your disc in the dry shrubs to the right. If you play with others, you may want to have someone spotting each other's throws. Overall a great course that is free.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park setting

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tree-lined park setting. Never overly crowded, even on weekends for DG. They added bag hangers on several holes so you don't have to drop your gear in the dirt. Generally clean course, with grassy fairways except for the first 4 holes. Decent mix of longer holes, with some shorter technical holes with trees. The hole locations are rotated on occasion, but it's not always apparent which spot they're using.
Cons: Can sometimes be a hassle when park-goers aren't aware of DG. The park ranger asked one group to move over the last time I played as they were not even 10 yds from one basket, and their kid was swinging from it. A lot of kids will play in the creek running through the course as well, often too close to baskets . No elevation changes to speak of. If you pay attention to the tee signs, there's more OB than you think. At times your corridor is extremely narrow even if you think you've made a good shot into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Rubber tees on majority of holes. Usually adequate, but could use longer ones on some holes where you take a bigger run-up. There's a nicely stocked DG/skate shop across the parking lot from the course. I like that every time I've gone to this course, I can hit a few practice putts on the way to the 1st tee, and just take off. I've never had to wait more than a few minutes, even on weekends. I'm usually able to get in 2 rounds without too much trouble.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -LOVE this course. It's my home course, so I may be a bit biased but its great, great, great.

-FREE!

-One of those "good for all levels" courses. Beginners will find it accessible, but there enough challenging shots for more experienced players.

-Hole 13. 300ish feet long, downhill throw, so much fun. Always end up throwing three or four discs when it wont hold anyone up.

-Beautiful San Diego weather, so its awesome.

-Park is very nicely maintained.

-Much, much less crowded than Morley.

- Great pro shop on the premises! SDSF FTW!
Cons: -Squirrel holes EVERYWHERE. Be careful while walking, esp on holes 1-4.

-Some of the holes are a little too short. Birdie Alley (holes 5-9) is fun for a while, but once you figure out the lines it becomes a little routine.

-Pin locations are changed infrequently.

-Multi use park, that can get a little crowded on the weekends. Most people are courteous, but sometimes there will be kids running around on the course and they do not listen. Its taken me as long as five minutes to get their attention before. Kind of surprised that no one has gotten hurt yet.

-Rubber tee pads in shady spots can be slippery.

-
Other Thoughts: This course has gotten much, much better in the last year or so. They've altered 14 so that you don't have to back track as much. They've added a hole (16) so it is now a full 18 hole course. Tee pads on every hole now, which is a huge improvement. My favorite course in San Diego County. Morley is fun, but it gets so crowded. Kit Carson is a fast play, even on weekends. Can't recommend it enough.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Love!

5+    2/19/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Um...
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Fun and technical course. Plenty of long holes to open it up on, along with some shorter technical shots that will really challenge you to consider your approach to the basket.
- Multiple holes with optional pin locations (although they don't change very frequently)
- Set in a beautiful park. First few holes (1-4) are in more of an open and somewhat dusty meadow, but then the course moves onto cut grass with a meandering stream that winds through the park and is in play for several holes.
- Pro shop has an awesome selection of discs, although pretty pricey, especially when you add CA sales tax. >:-(
- Well maintained and clean. Very friendly crowds and respectful players.
- 2 practice baskets at the start of the course.
Cons:
- Certain shaded tee pads throughout the park can be slippery and unsafe at certain times. Would really love to see concrete pads installed here.
- Some holes play past walking paths and through common areas. Generally if you're kind to the parkgoers and ask them to move, they will.
- OB can be rough here, especially on holes 3 and 4. Hole 3 you're right up against a very busy street where the hole requires you to air it out. Hole 4 is another long hole that has a protected marshland to the right and is very dense. Say goodbye to discs thrown here.
- Can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I couldn't be more happy that they've managed to install a GREAT course in this park. The park itself is awesome and the course doesn't disappoint. Great place to spend the day too, so if you're inclined, bring a picnic and plan on playing for the day! This park has been around A LOT longer than the dg course so please keep the course and the park clean and be respectful of the other parkgoers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio plays CA

1    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Miamisms
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean course
Pro Shop
-also if you find a disc and call the person you can leave the disc at the pro shop and the shop,will give you a dollar for the return. The owner will then just have to go to the pro shop to pick it up. GREAT IDEA!
Good variety
Wooded but not to much
Fine distances
Pads and baskets in good condition
Cons: A little hard to navigate if you don't know course
Idk if I screwed up but I think I played 16 before 15 thought followed the logical course layout
Some park goers were clueless at what was going on and hung around a baskets was shooting at for 5 mins
Other Thoughts: Compared to OH courses it was a good combination of all my favorite holes. Wasn't very sunny but still very nice weather. Other players were very nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.