Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Kippler Hole #1
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice park setting

5+    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Rugball
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tree-lined park setting. Never overly crowded, even on weekends for DG. They added bag hangers on several holes so you don't have to drop your gear in the dirt. Generally clean course, with grassy fairways except for the first 4 holes. Decent mix of longer holes, with some shorter technical holes with trees. The hole locations are rotated on occasion, but it's not always apparent which spot they're using.
Cons: Can sometimes be a hassle when park-goers aren't aware of DG. The park ranger asked one group to move over the last time I played as they were not even 10 yds from one basket, and their kid was swinging from it. A lot of kids will play in the creek running through the course as well, often too close to baskets . No elevation changes to speak of. If you pay attention to the tee signs, there's more OB than you think. At times your corridor is extremely narrow even if you think you've made a good shot into the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Rubber tees on majority of holes. Usually adequate, but could use longer ones on some holes where you take a bigger run-up. There's a nicely stocked DG/skate shop across the parking lot from the course. I like that every time I've gone to this course, I can hit a few practice putts on the way to the 1st tee, and just take off. I've never had to wait more than a few minutes, even on weekends. I'm usually able to get in 2 rounds without too much trouble.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -LOVE this course. It's my home course, so I may be a bit biased but its great, great, great.

-FREE!

-One of those "good for all levels" courses. Beginners will find it accessible, but there enough challenging shots for more experienced players.

-Hole 13. 300ish feet long, downhill throw, so much fun. Always end up throwing three or four discs when it wont hold anyone up.

-Beautiful San Diego weather, so its awesome.

-Park is very nicely maintained.

-Much, much less crowded than Morley.

- Great pro shop on the premises! SDSF FTW!
Cons: -Squirrel holes EVERYWHERE. Be careful while walking, esp on holes 1-4.

-Some of the holes are a little too short. Birdie Alley (holes 5-9) is fun for a while, but once you figure out the lines it becomes a little routine.

-Pin locations are changed infrequently.

-Multi use park, that can get a little crowded on the weekends. Most people are courteous, but sometimes there will be kids running around on the course and they do not listen. Its taken me as long as five minutes to get their attention before. Kind of surprised that no one has gotten hurt yet.

-Rubber tee pads in shady spots can be slippery.

-
Other Thoughts: This course has gotten much, much better in the last year or so. They've altered 14 so that you don't have to back track as much. They've added a hole (16) so it is now a full 18 hole course. Tee pads on every hole now, which is a huge improvement. My favorite course in San Diego County. Morley is fun, but it gets so crowded. Kit Carson is a fast play, even on weekends. Can't recommend it enough.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Love!

5+    2/19/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: Um...
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Fun and technical course. Plenty of long holes to open it up on, along with some shorter technical shots that will really challenge you to consider your approach to the basket.
- Multiple holes with optional pin locations (although they don't change very frequently)
- Set in a beautiful park. First few holes (1-4) are in more of an open and somewhat dusty meadow, but then the course moves onto cut grass with a meandering stream that winds through the park and is in play for several holes.
- Pro shop has an awesome selection of discs, although pretty pricey, especially when you add CA sales tax. >:-(
- Well maintained and clean. Very friendly crowds and respectful players.
- 2 practice baskets at the start of the course.
Cons:
- Certain shaded tee pads throughout the park can be slippery and unsafe at certain times. Would really love to see concrete pads installed here.
- Some holes play past walking paths and through common areas. Generally if you're kind to the parkgoers and ask them to move, they will.
- OB can be rough here, especially on holes 3 and 4. Hole 3 you're right up against a very busy street where the hole requires you to air it out. Hole 4 is another long hole that has a protected marshland to the right and is very dense. Say goodbye to discs thrown here.
- Can be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I couldn't be more happy that they've managed to install a GREAT course in this park. The park itself is awesome and the course doesn't disappoint. Great place to spend the day too, so if you're inclined, bring a picnic and plan on playing for the day! This park has been around A LOT longer than the dg course so please keep the course and the park clean and be respectful of the other parkgoers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio plays CA

1    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Miamisms
Played: 58  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean course
Pro Shop
-also if you find a disc and call the person you can leave the disc at the pro shop and the shop,will give you a dollar for the return. The owner will then just have to go to the pro shop to pick it up. GREAT IDEA!
Good variety
Wooded but not to much
Fine distances
Pads and baskets in good condition
Cons: A little hard to navigate if you don't know course
Idk if I screwed up but I think I played 16 before 15 thought followed the logical course layout
Some park goers were clueless at what was going on and hung around a baskets was shooting at for 5 mins
Other Thoughts: Compared to OH courses it was a good combination of all my favorite holes. Wasn't very sunny but still very nice weather. Other players were very nice.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 all about lines

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!
Cons: Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  great coarse

5+    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: jimmyslicks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is a great technical coarse , really makes you think of what discs to use. It has long holes , short holes but always an obstical to try to over come.
Cons: The bugs are the only down fall to this wonderful coarse

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson keeps on impressing

5+    5/3/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Wide variety, of holes, terrain, and it almost feels like climate as well
- The more course in so cal I play the more I like what they have done it Kit Carso
Cons: - Park traffic
- Tees
Other Thoughts: - Great course.. wish more cities would take on this oppurtunity

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course winds through a nice multiuse park. Very dusty at first but it then winds through some well kept grassy areas.

- Good use of obstacles throughout the park, including the giant snake statue.

- A good mix of distances, including a handful of long bombs. But not too many that you can't take beigginners along.

- Water and OB winding throughout to give an extra challenge. But usually you can retreive your disk from the water without much trouble.

- No crowds!! SD county really needed another quality 18 holer.
Cons: - Other park users can get in the way. I have not played on the weekend but I can imagine that it could get very crowded with other park users.

- The first few dusty holes can get really hot with OB where you can not retreive lost discs.

- Navigation was a bit tricky, not a big deal but it definitely helps to print out the map.
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the guys in Escondido for building a much needed quality course. Out of the 4 in the Escondido/ San Marcos area this is my favorite. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 spring break

2-4    4/14/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: hatchet
Played: 72  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -wonderful course
-many grass holes
-some dirt
- long holes, short holes
Cons: -bit hard to navigate
-signs are old
-way to many peds right in the middle of half of the holes, they get in the way and make you wait.
- have to cross a creak with no bridge to get to a tee pad, just to come straight back across
Other Thoughts: I still enjoyed this course thoroughly

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just get past the first 3

1    5/27/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great shape and easy to see.
Tee pads are good, maybe a little small if you have a huge run up, but plenty big enough for the 3 step throw.
The park is amazingly beautiful and was awesome to play in.
There is a disc shop that is on site and has a great selection of disc and gear. You can also get a map and scorecard here... Take the map if it is your first time!
Lots of different shots to choose from.
Challenging but not impossible course.
Wasn't very crowded (weekday later in the afternoon).
There is a small creek that runs through the course which adds a little intimidation. Don't worry, I don't remember anywhere when I was there that you wouldn't be able to get your disc out of it... you may have to get a tiny bit wet in some areas. If the water rises in other months it could be a real issue.
Two practice holes in the open away from everything else.
Cons: Holes 1-3 or 4 were in dense overgrowth and could be hard to find your disc.
There was a section of protected marshland or something to the right of hole 2 that you are NOT allowed to go retrieve you disc from.
If there are people here and I suspect that this park gets used a lot, you will have some many areas where you will have to wait to throw "Safely" or skip that hole all together.
Snakes - be sure to stomp through the brush and weeds areas.
There are a few signs that are marked wrong or in the wrong places after being moved. The staff in the disc shop should be able to give you specific details on this. I lost my notes, so I can't remember exactly which ones, but it was near 14 or 15.
Other Thoughts: 18 is a wide open bomb shot... a good ending to a rather technical course.
Just up the hill from 18 tee (can be seen on hole 17 too) is a sculpture garden that is absolutely amazing. If I ever make it back down that way I will bring a camera. It's all tile and polished rocks, and glass mosaic covered walls and statues. DO NOT pass up seeing this if you play here.
This is worth the trip to play, just try and avoid the weekends.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.