Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #18 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Creative Design Makes for a Good Challenge

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Creative Use of angles on every hole, even mix of RHBH and LHBH (or RHFH) holes throughout the course
Challenging for more experienced players, but accessible to all levels of players
Great use of obstacles throughout the park
Water Hazards and OB are present and intermingled making for a challenging element
Park is well kept and beautiful
4 to 5 holes that are 400 foot+ which retain their character (thus remaining interesting) while still being highly challenging
Great use of limited elevation change especially The "Back 9"
New Up and Coming Pro Shop with Drinks and a Snack bar. They also have been setting up a stand at the Hole 5 tee.
Bathrooms at the Pro Shop and at Hole 7 (The Snake)
Navigation was a snap for a first timer. Great "next tee" signs tell you where the next tee is. Very important especially on the 5 to 6 transition. Need a "Next Tee" sign at the 11 to 12 transition as well that was the only spot I had to ask directions.
Brand new DGA Baskets
Free! (Buy something at the Pro Shop to support the guys)...
Cons:
Natural loose dirt Teepads
Some holes play through high use areas in the park. Especially Holes 15, 16 and 18 which are right through prime picnic areas
OB Areas and "Protected Habitat" are a bit limiting. You are forced to shape your shot around them, but then you can't go in to get your disc? This Seems a tad counterproductive.
Dust on the first 4 holes seems like it would be wicked in the summertime. Too bad there's not more grass in these areas.
Walk Back between 15 and 16 was a bit cumbersome, walking back up the fairway you just shot down to get to the next hole is always tiring.
No Smoking signs everywhere you look
Other Thoughts:
Kit Carson DGC is a new 18 hole course in the San Diego area, and it is a welcome addition to the few courses in this large metro area. The crowds at Morley Field need some sort of relief at this point, it is just getting too crowded there. I played Kit Carson on a Saturday, and there was decent foot traffic with people playing pretty much every hole. However, the vibe was more easygoing and there wasn't a 15 minute WAIT at every hole which has become a Morley Standard.

What I think I liked most was this course really made me think about each shot. There was a bit of Morley like flavor here in the technicality, but with less crossing terrain and a little more room to stretch the legs. It was necessary to pull out my sidearm game here as there were several shots that either doglegged right or had obstacles cutting off RHBH Hyzer angles. Overall, This course has an excellent design. Holes 9, 10, and 14 were redesigned in Mid-June 2010 due to some apparent injuries caused to park goers by Disc Golfers. This has resulted in 9 skirting the creek perfectly (I went in the water) but the real gem is Hole # 10. It has just a beautiful tee tucked among the trees alongside the creek, So you're shooting through a tree window, uphill, over the river, and well, through the woods to make it to a pin that seemed to be about 370 feet away. Very challenging hole. Hole 14 seems to have been (unfortunately) removed for the time being.

To me the biggest con here was the dirt tee pads. I really think that the addition of Concrete or maybe even Rubber tee pads would add a great sense of permanency to this course. I am not a fan of the natural tee pads that are currently in place. The Dirt is loose and I lost my footing a few times. Often times I'd tee off in the grass next to the dirt tee pad or concrete if it was available. Hole 18 was a good example of this. Why use the Dirt tee when there is a natural concrete tee 6 feet in front of it? Also, the OB Area on Hole 2 is a little ridiculous. The hole skirts the OB (DogLeg right) so you have to shoot around it then there's a Sign that says "Protected Habitat. Do NOT remove discs." Yea right. Are they really serious about this? I can't see any Disc Golfer willing to just leave their disc in there when the brush isn't even that thick.

This is definitely a mixed use park, and watch out for Non DG'ers starting on Hole 6. I almost decapitated a kid playing soccer on a RHFH shot with my Nuke on Hole 18. Watch out for other park goers, who aren't quite as familiar with the sport yet. I took the time to talk to a gentleman who was playing baseball with his 2 sons on the shared fairway for 15 and 16. They were very interested in the game and promised they'd try it soon. There really is a family focus here as opposed to the normal party vibe you'd find at other courses.

I would definitely play this course again if in the area, but unfortunately I live a bit far away to make it a regular occurrence. The San Marcos area is really putting itself on the Disc Golf Map. This course and CSU San Marcos make excellent additions to the San Diego Disc Golf scene. Add in Montiel Park and you've got 3 new courses in the area in the last 2 years. Flat out, this is a fun course with a great vibe. If you don't feel like putting up with the crowds at Morley Field, give Kit Carson a try. It doesn't quite have the variety (yet) that Morley does, but it is an excellent alternative.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    5/24/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: CubbieBlue
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot less traffic, giving you time to throw two drives if you want to. Course is a lot longer than Morley if you want to unleash a few.
Cons: Not quite as technical as it could be, but could be a positive too. Weekends are very busy because it's in a local park that is home to many parties.
Other Thoughts: Course is in great shape and offers something that is drastically different than playing Morley everyday. Already has club doubles on Tuesday at 5. Don't know if it's in the works yet or not, but it would be nice to see the club reach out to the Escondido community and maybe set up a one day event to the kids in the area and teach them disc golf. Just a thought, otherwise the course is great.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Park - Challenging Course

2-4    5/8/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 265  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A new 18 hole course in North San Diego. This course is in a very beautiful park and provides a fair challenge for skilled players. Several holes are located in under-developed buffer zones surrounding the park. The remainder of holes wind through grass fairways with mature trees and a seasonal stream. The undeveloped areas feature long wide open holes.
Players will get a chance to throw big drives on many of the holes, but will still need finesse shots to score well on the rest. Holes 5 through 16 & 18 are very fun to play and require a wide variety of skills. Hole 11 has two challenging positions that require skill to score well. Hole 17 is still a bit rough, but has potential.

Update: New teepads and great signage are a welcome addition.

Again, the course is very fun and challenging to play. For skilled players, I would rate as a 3.5 to a 4.0 for playability and enjoyment. The course earns a 3.0 overall and the potential to go up with some redesign.
Cons: This design heavily interacts with other park user on holes 6 thru 11, holes 14 thru 16 and 18. While mandatories work well to keep tournament players away from other park users, most casual players don't understand or simply ignore these. Seven holes on this course use mandatories, which indicates the scope of the problem.

High risk of losing discs. The OB is extremely punitive on Holes 1, 2 and 4. It is a protected habitat area with "No Trespassing" signs that extends along the right side of these fairways. It runs from tee to pin on Holes 2 & 4. If a player is unfortunate enough to have a disc go into this area, they are not allowed to retrieve it. I fear players of all skill levels will be losing discs or simply ignore the no trespassing signs and proceed to trample through the protected habitat area. Neither outcome is desirable.

Could use better signs to lead players on the walk from Hole 5 to Tee 6. Update: New signage solves the problem.

A lot of fox tails in wild areas 1-5, 12-13 & 17 to get in your shoes and socks! Signs also warn of rattlesnakes.
Other Thoughts: I originally rated this course lower for safety concerns. Several holes have been and are being redesigned. New Tee pads and signage are well done. Also, I have decided that average players are not as concerned about safety as playability.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of pros, some cons.

5+    4/29/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: xians421
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 43.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great variety of holes, long and wide open, long with accuracy, tunnel shots and a couple of good roller holes (#11 is 511' and GREAT for right hand rollers). Some par 4s which is a refreshing change for SoCal. This course will teach you how to play in the wind with open spaces and constantly changing wind directions. It's great to have another disc golf course in SD County.
Cons: The poison oak that ate my 'money' putter behind hole #5. DOH ! ! ! Update: I got it back 2 days later.Lots of stickers in your socks in the first five holes but they should pretty much get trampled and grass will be nice on those holes someday. Also I can't imagine playing this course on weekends until almost all of the picnickers get chased to other parts of the park (it's a BIG park).Update: I just played on a Saturday and the holes generally stay away from MOST of the picnickers as long as some accuracy is maintained. The good news is CSUSM will be best on weekends and it's right down the road.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot of elevation changes on this course. Escondido cops hang out in the parking lot so leave that stuff in your bag. My friends and I will be playing this course an awful lot in the future because of overcrowding at Morley. For now, at least it's wonderful not to have to wait for two or three groups on just about every hole.

"Tee off and fly freely." Ed

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  4 out of 5!

1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Manicai
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is free! To be honest, a small fee in exchange for future upkeep would not be an issue for me. The course offers some variety. There are holes with lots of open space for long S-Curves, as well as holes with tight windows to challenge your accuracy.
Cons: As pointed out in the other review. The course is not exclusive to disc golfing. Meaning there is nothing really you can do about the old lady and her poodle in the middle of the fairway. Also, being inland I fear the summer are going to be HOT HOT HOT!
Other Thoughts: Overall the course offers a great atmosphere. Living in Poway, this course offers me a high quality disc golf course that is much closer to home. Using Morley Field as an example of a 5, I give this course a 4.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Park Course

1    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 94  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with lots of variety plus two practice baskets. Some holes play through manicured parkland while others have a more natural feel. The really nice tee signs provide a map of each hole, distance and par, and they make finding each tee a little easier because they can be seen from a distance. Designers made great use of large trees as obstacles with several tunnel shots and tight drives off the tee. Out of bounds areas add challenge. Park has a long list of facilities from tennis courts and baseball fields to a sculpture garden and amphitheater.
Cons: Watch out for dog walkers, joggers, picnickers and children. Most of the course would probably be unplayable on the weekend due to other park users in or near the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course that was much needed in the area. It's too bad that it couldn't be in more of an exclusive disc golf area. After hole 5 turn right and walk down the road toward the Girl Scout sign. The 6th tee is on the left. Hole 14 is across the road past the tables with the water hazard to your left.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.