Disc Golf Center
Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Kippler Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Short and fun

1    7/21/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: - Huge park setting makes for a nice walk
- Dominated by short, straight shots with few obstacles, which makes for a fun round
- Great pro shop
- Not too crouded
Cons: - The first 4 holes are totally disconnected from the rest of the course. Seems like they just have them to have 18 holes.
- Other park goers pose an additional (sometimes moving!) obstacle on shots. Everyone knows the deal, though, so there is no tension.
- Escondido is hot...
Other Thoughts: A lot of locals play this course daily. Just hang out at the first hole and someone will invite you to join. It can be tough to find the tee boxes if you've never played and don't have a guide.

How Often Do You Get To Play With A Player With 3 Super Bowl Rings?

1    4/3/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kit Carson Park is a very large sprawling park with oh, so many activities going on. The park features many baseball/softball fields, many picnic and children's play areas, a pro shop, a very nice amphitheater, undeveloped land, walking/jogging tracks and much more.
The course starts over near the amphitheater with the first five holes playing across mostly open dirt patch. These first holes feature more distance than the rest of the course. # 6 is kind of a transitional hole then there is a short walkout to the rest of the course which plays through the main picnic area of the park. These holes aren't especially long but they're well designed, sometimes tight along the cry creek bed and feature some tunnel shots under the trees.
The tee pads are rubber mats. Some of the early pads were slippery with sand on them. A broom would have been a nice touch here. The baskets are in good condition. Nice signs showing the distance, par and sponsor.
The last holes move out of the grassy picnic area into another undeveloped area of the park. # 18 hole has been removed (temporarily?) for the pond being drained and rebuilt). So currently you play 17 and 18 together at the same time.


This course is basically flat. There was no water in the creek (early April). The course is a nice recreational course. It has a nice variety of hole challenges and length including four where you really have to start with a long anhyzer. There are places where a good roller is essential. Advanced players and above probably won't find the challenge at Kit Carson .
Cons: The middle holes (7-15) playing through the picnic area are probably often in conflict with other park users and picnics, etc. I watched one group of players basically just throw right into a group of younger girls near # 9. You may have to skip a hole or two on this course during prime picnic time.

Without my wonderful local guides, navigation would have been a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate enough to hook up with Jack and his son, Steven. Steven played for 10 years with the NE Pats blocking for Tom Brady. Pretty cool to play with a celebrity of sorts. Plus, I managed to beat both father & son by a couple of strokes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson - Escondido CA

2-4    1/21/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: riles
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of dynamic shots to make. Good balance of long and short holes, as well as, left or right hand shots.
Cons: First several holes the landscaping is basically dirt.
Going from hole 5-6 is confusing for someone who had never played the course. Better signage for that would be good.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and would go back again. I appreciated the well made signs and indicators for the current pin placement.
I played with the holes pushed out to the farthest placements and it made for some LONG shots. Pretty cool.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

old classic

1    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: Wilson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: variety of distances and obstacles.
beautiful park in which to play.
excellent signage.
creative design over large acreage.
Cons: the layout encourages some players to skip holes #1-5 and to create a log-jam by starting their round at #6.
Other Thoughts: I didn't realize who he was until after I left and shared a pic of his car/license plate/sticker, but I met THE John Kirkland, the legend. Very cool guy who was beginning his round as I ended mine.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course in SD

5+    11/2/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent for a Free to Play
-Wait times aren't typically that long
-Great hole length variation
-Half the holes have 2-3 positions, some requiring very different drives
-Weekly doubles
-Great pro-shop
Cons: -Park is host to cross-country running events that can block holes
-Lots of picnics in the Summer
-The river can get kinda gross and stagnant at times (don't shank it on holes 9, 10)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in San Diego county
-More fun than CSUSM and Montiel
-Much faster round than Morley
-As fun as Goat Hill, but not as ridiculously long

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Where the Wild Things Are

1    10/29/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Decent shot selection
Nice park
Tees are good (rubber mat variety)
Baskets are good
Signs are great
Course is easy to find
Water/restrooms
Multiple basket placements
Friendly folks
Cons:
Park people are in play for a good chunk of the course
A few holes are a little criss-crossy
Might be a bit short/easy for your advanced and above player
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Do read the signs. There are sneaky OBs and mandos out there

Random Thoughts:
I get the impression that this is a favorite amongst the locals as this was the greatest number of disc golfers I've seen at a course, outside of a tournament. That didn't hold up play or anything (in case you were wondering), and I found the folks to be quite friendly. One even asked me to join him and showed me around. As for the course, it really lets you warm-up a bit as the first 5 holes are pretty wide open. True, if you get aggressive, you can go OB, but there's a pretty good amount of room for error. A decent, sensible shot off the tee and you'll be fine. Once you transition to the park holes, that's where the fun begins. Lots of trees, a creek, some OB, pedestrians (ugh) and an island-ish green await. Even though the holes aren't particularly long, you will need accuracy and a variety of shot shaping to get in range of a birdie/par. Having said that, I felt like the course was very fair and there wasn't a time where I couldn't see the intended line.

Bottom Line:
About as good a job as you can do with the space provided, and some interesting use of the 'protected' areas as OB. I also like that there are several types of shots on the course. I would prefer the people not be so much in play but you do the best with what you've got. I'd probably also state that this would be a good course to introduce someone to the game on a non-busy day. Looking forward to a return visit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first five holes play through an open dirt patch with some moderate distance. After that, the course transitions to the grassy main area of the park, and the distances were much shorter. With a couple exceptions, most of the holes felt like a solid birdie opportunity, but not a gimme.

I liked the use of the creek bed. It was mostly dry when I played, but the baskets were situated close by on many holes, so a bad drive or missed putt could leave you putting from the creek bed.

One hole had a cool island hole for one of the pin positions.

I think all tee pads were fly pad except one that was part of the sidewalk. I assume these are recent based on some past reviews.
Cons: The course wasn't even that busy when I visited (a Saturday morning around 9:30), but other park users certainly came into play. Twice I had to wait. One of those times the group in front of me called out to the person walking in the fairway, and the person was clueless and didn't change course. From other reviews, it seems like this is common.

The first four holes are wide open, and holes 1 and 4 basically throw at each other. If you throw RHBH, on the 4th hole you may need to decide between risking turning over your shot into the wildlife habitat, or having your shot fade toward the hole 1 basket.
Other Thoughts: Navigation wasn't bad. The map on the site seemed wrong on a couple holes near the middle of the course, but I didn't need to use it much.

There isn't a ton of challenge here, but I found most of the holes pretty enjoyable. I imagine if I played here regularly, the challenge would be how far under par I could shoot (this is not typical for me!).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/31/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
Pros: Great for beginners. Decent variety of shots with some minor elevation and technical spots. You get to rip 'em on the first few and last couple holes.
Cons: Signage is weak! A very crowded Park- we had a few near misses of children and picnickers who were oblivious to the course!
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course with a variety of holes and shots. It plays through a fairly crowded public park so be very aware your throws. The first 4 holes are grip and rips in a open dirt fields but after that you head into the trees and the feel changes. Definitely a good alternative to my home course (Morley field) if I need a change- ie: not waiting at EVERY tee box or being hounded.

Good Course

1    8/4/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course with several different types of holes.
- Long open
- Long with obstacles
- Short open
- Short with obstacales
Good signage and teepads
Cons: Large groups 8+ that play slow
Picnickers and joggers
Other Thoughts: Pro shop in the park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: Sroberts
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Free
-Tests all skills
-Good lengths of holes
-Awesome pro shop
-Good Course layout
-Nice practice area
Cons: -If you somehow get a disc in the woods good luck finding it
-confusing finding a few holes
-have to be careful of park go-ers
Other Thoughts: Over all a great course and will go back for sure guy at the proshop was really knowledgable and helpful about course Q's. def a must go. 4/5

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.