Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: CubbieBlue Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 226ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 all about lines

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!
Cons: Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  great coarse

5+    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: jimmyslicks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a great technical coarse , really makes you think of what discs to use. It has long holes , short holes but always an obstical to try to over come.
Cons: The bugs are the only down fall to this wonderful coarse

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson keeps on impressing

5+    5/3/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Wide variety, of holes, terrain, and it almost feels like climate as well
- The more course in so cal I play the more I like what they have done it Kit Carso
Cons: - Park traffic
- Tees
Other Thoughts: - Great course.. wish more cities would take on this oppurtunity

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course winds through a nice multiuse park. Very dusty at first but it then winds through some well kept grassy areas.

- Good use of obstacles throughout the park, including the giant snake statue.

- A good mix of distances, including a handful of long bombs. But not too many that you can't take beigginners along.

- Water and OB winding throughout to give an extra challenge. But usually you can retreive your disk from the water without much trouble.

- No crowds!! SD county really needed another quality 18 holer.
Cons: - Other park users can get in the way. I have not played on the weekend but I can imagine that it could get very crowded with other park users.

- The first few dusty holes can get really hot with OB where you can not retreive lost discs.

- Navigation was a bit tricky, not a big deal but it definitely helps to print out the map.
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the guys in Escondido for building a much needed quality course. Out of the 4 in the Escondido/ San Marcos area this is my favorite. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 spring break

2-4    4/14/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: hatchet
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wonderful course
-many grass holes
-some dirt
- long holes, short holes
Cons: -bit hard to navigate
-signs are old
-way to many peds right in the middle of half of the holes, they get in the way and make you wait.
- have to cross a creak with no bridge to get to a tee pad, just to come straight back across
Other Thoughts: I still enjoyed this course thoroughly

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just get past the first 3

1    5/27/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great shape and easy to see.
Tee pads are good, maybe a little small if you have a huge run up, but plenty big enough for the 3 step throw.
The park is amazingly beautiful and was awesome to play in.
There is a disc shop that is on site and has a great selection of disc and gear. You can also get a map and scorecard here... Take the map if it is your first time!
Lots of different shots to choose from.
Challenging but not impossible course.
Wasn't very crowded (weekday later in the afternoon).
There is a small creek that runs through the course which adds a little intimidation. Don't worry, I don't remember anywhere when I was there that you wouldn't be able to get your disc out of it... you may have to get a tiny bit wet in some areas. If the water rises in other months it could be a real issue.
Two practice holes in the open away from everything else.
Cons: Holes 1-3 or 4 were in dense overgrowth and could be hard to find your disc.
There was a section of protected marshland or something to the right of hole 2 that you are NOT allowed to go retrieve you disc from.
If there are people here and I suspect that this park gets used a lot, you will have some many areas where you will have to wait to throw "Safely" or skip that hole all together.
Snakes - be sure to stomp through the brush and weeds areas.
There are a few signs that are marked wrong or in the wrong places after being moved. The staff in the disc shop should be able to give you specific details on this. I lost my notes, so I can't remember exactly which ones, but it was near 14 or 15.
Other Thoughts: 18 is a wide open bomb shot... a good ending to a rather technical course.
Just up the hill from 18 tee (can be seen on hole 17 too) is a sculpture garden that is absolutely amazing. If I ever make it back down that way I will bring a camera. It's all tile and polished rocks, and glass mosaic covered walls and statues. DO NOT pass up seeing this if you play here.
This is worth the trip to play, just try and avoid the weekends.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    8/10/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park. There are some minor elevation changes that are used fairly well to make the course more interesting. The creek running through the middle section of the course is used on several holes, even when dry it can be a hazard to have to shoot up out of the creek bed and adds some risk if you play it as ob. There is a mix of open dusty areas and grassy park areas with more trees to avoid.

The course has some longer holes that add some challenge and a chance to open up and throw some longer drives, as well as some shorter ace run holes for variety. The course felt pretty balanced between left and right turning holes, with a nice mix of hole shapes to make you throw different shots. There are nice hole signs with hole layout and distance. The alternate pin placements on several holes looked like they would change up some of the holes quite a bit for some more variety. There is plenty of signage to help navigate the course, and I had no issue finding my way around the first time out despite some longer walks.
Cons: The tees are awful here. Most are rutted out areas in the dirt, and make for pretty bad footing on drives. A couple use rubber or concrete, but often don't have enough room for a real run up without risking your ankles. A few of the signs are awkwardly placed at the front corners of tees.

The holes in the open areas don't offer very much interest or challenge, and are very dusty and hot on a warm summer day. There are some safety concerns, with lots of holes that play through picnic areas and could be unplayable on a nice weekend afternoon. There are several walking paths that come into play, we had to wait on a few pedestrians even in the middle of the week. The alternate pin placements are nice, but there is no marking to tell you what placement is in use.
Other Thoughts: This is a great alternative to the crowds at Morley, hopefully the sport continues to grow in San Diego and more courses can go in. There are some nice holes here, and it offers some good challenges even for more experienced players. Newer players will find it tough but not too terribly punishing, so it's approachable for beginners. If you're in the north county area, this is the best option, and when you don't feel like waiting on every hole downtown this is a nice change of pace.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great 2nd option n San Diego!

1    8/5/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: jaru22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played for the first time today. Hardly anyone there and get this---no waiting and waiting at each tee like at Morley field. Its only been open for a few months so they are still dialing in the course around the park but there are some good fun layouts there, good job guys. Lots of long drives, lots of potential for aces, and some good challenge in quite a few holes.
Cons: first 4 holes are just in an open field. Actually a good way to warm up. I also think if all goes well that at some point this will be developed a little for us.
Tees are all dirt except one hole. Not just dirt but lumpy rutted dirt, easy to turn an ankle. Hopefully this is the next thing on the list of upgrading. even a few racks and shovels and and packer and these tees could be in better shape. no problem it will come in time I am sure. Out of bounds habitat is a bummer but did not really come into play for me, it could for others.
Other Thoughts: Its a weekday only course I am sure. Its a public park and I am sure on the weekends it would tend to be too crowded with non DGers.
We had a un time today getting to know the course. Well laid out. room to grow. Check it out for an option to Morley field

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect for North County players

2-4    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: jagomes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything...trees, hazards, elevation changes, distance changes and doglegs left and right. Best of all is the mid week crowds...there are none! There is really no reason to drive down to Morley to sit and wait at every hole if you live up here in North County.
Cons: 9 and 10 have been changed...14 is gone. Original 9 was a great hole...too bad. rubber or lack of tee boxes is the only real cons here.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Creative Design Makes for a Good Challenge

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: OcDiscGolf
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Creative Use of angles on every hole, even mix of RHBH and LHBH (or RHFH) holes throughout the course
Challenging for more experienced players, but accessible to all levels of players
Great use of obstacles throughout the park
Water Hazards and OB are present and intermingled making for a challenging element
Park is well kept and beautiful
4 to 5 holes that are 400 foot+ which retain their character (thus remaining interesting) while still being highly challenging
Great use of limited elevation change especially The "Back 9"
New Up and Coming Pro Shop with Drinks and a Snack bar. They also have been setting up a stand at the Hole 5 tee.
Bathrooms at the Pro Shop and at Hole 7 (The Snake)
Navigation was a snap for a first timer. Great "next tee" signs tell you where the next tee is. Very important especially on the 5 to 6 transition. Need a "Next Tee" sign at the 11 to 12 transition as well that was the only spot I had to ask directions.
Brand new DGA Baskets
Free! (Buy something at the Pro Shop to support the guys)...
Cons:
Natural loose dirt Teepads
Some holes play through high use areas in the park. Especially Holes 15, 16 and 18 which are right through prime picnic areas
OB Areas and "Protected Habitat" are a bit limiting. You are forced to shape your shot around them, but then you can't go in to get your disc? This Seems a tad counterproductive.
Dust on the first 4 holes seems like it would be wicked in the summertime. Too bad there's not more grass in these areas.
Walk Back between 15 and 16 was a bit cumbersome, walking back up the fairway you just shot down to get to the next hole is always tiring.
No Smoking signs everywhere you look
Other Thoughts:
Kit Carson DGC is a new 18 hole course in the San Diego area, and it is a welcome addition to the few courses in this large metro area. The crowds at Morley Field need some sort of relief at this point, it is just getting too crowded there. I played Kit Carson on a Saturday, and there was decent foot traffic with people playing pretty much every hole. However, the vibe was more easygoing and there wasn't a 15 minute WAIT at every hole which has become a Morley Standard.

What I think I liked most was this course really made me think about each shot. There was a bit of Morley like flavor here in the technicality, but with less crossing terrain and a little more room to stretch the legs. It was necessary to pull out my sidearm game here as there were several shots that either doglegged right or had obstacles cutting off RHBH Hyzer angles. Overall, This course has an excellent design. Holes 9, 10, and 14 were redesigned in Mid-June 2010 due to some apparent injuries caused to park goers by Disc Golfers. This has resulted in 9 skirting the creek perfectly (I went in the water) but the real gem is Hole # 10. It has just a beautiful tee tucked among the trees alongside the creek, So you're shooting through a tree window, uphill, over the river, and well, through the woods to make it to a pin that seemed to be about 370 feet away. Very challenging hole. Hole 14 seems to have been (unfortunately) removed for the time being.

To me the biggest con here was the dirt tee pads. I really think that the addition of Concrete or maybe even Rubber tee pads would add a great sense of permanency to this course. I am not a fan of the natural tee pads that are currently in place. The Dirt is loose and I lost my footing a few times. Often times I'd tee off in the grass next to the dirt tee pad or concrete if it was available. Hole 18 was a good example of this. Why use the Dirt tee when there is a natural concrete tee 6 feet in front of it? Also, the OB Area on Hole 2 is a little ridiculous. The hole skirts the OB (DogLeg right) so you have to shoot around it then there's a Sign that says "Protected Habitat. Do NOT remove discs." Yea right. Are they really serious about this? I can't see any Disc Golfer willing to just leave their disc in there when the brush isn't even that thick.

This is definitely a mixed use park, and watch out for Non DG'ers starting on Hole 6. I almost decapitated a kid playing soccer on a RHFH shot with my Nuke on Hole 18. Watch out for other park goers, who aren't quite as familiar with the sport yet. I took the time to talk to a gentleman who was playing baseball with his 2 sons on the shared fairway for 15 and 16. They were very interested in the game and promised they'd try it soon. There really is a family focus here as opposed to the normal party vibe you'd find at other courses.

I would definitely play this course again if in the area, but unfortunately I live a bit far away to make it a regular occurrence. The San Marcos area is really putting itself on the Disc Golf Map. This course and CSU San Marcos make excellent additions to the San Diego Disc Golf scene. Add in Montiel Park and you've got 3 new courses in the area in the last 2 years. Flat out, this is a fun course with a great vibe. If you don't feel like putting up with the crowds at Morley Field, give Kit Carson a try. It doesn't quite have the variety (yet) that Morley does, but it is an excellent alternative.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.