Escondido, CA 
Kit Carson Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Disc Kippler Hole #14 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ohio plays CA

1    12/19/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Miamisms
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean course
Pro Shop
-also if you find a disc and call the person you can leave the disc at the pro shop and the shop,will give you a dollar for the return. The owner will then just have to go to the pro shop to pick it up. GREAT IDEA!
Good variety
Wooded but not to much
Fine distances
Pads and baskets in good condition
Cons: A little hard to navigate if you don't know course
Idk if I screwed up but I think I played 16 before 15 thought followed the logical course layout
Some park goers were clueless at what was going on and hung around a baskets was shooting at for 5 mins
Other Thoughts: Compared to OH courses it was a good combination of all my favorite holes. Wasn't very sunny but still very nice weather. Other players were very nice.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 all about lines

5+    10/25/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: dheathx
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: High variety
Elevation changes
Technical shots required
No wait times
Manicured park
Water hazards!
Cons: Insects are slightly annoying down by the creek.
Some tee pads can be a bit uneven, but not too crazy.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and is very challenging! Probably the toughest course in san Diego. The course requires you to figure out your lines before throwing the shot. Hyzer, anny, flat, all shots are needed and utilized. Figure out your lines and you will have a pretty solid day of DG.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  great coarse

5+    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: jimmyslicks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a great technical coarse , really makes you think of what discs to use. It has long holes , short holes but always an obstical to try to over come.
Cons: The bugs are the only down fall to this wonderful coarse

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Kit Carson keeps on impressing

5+    5/3/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Wide variety, of holes, terrain, and it almost feels like climate as well
- The more course in so cal I play the more I like what they have done it Kit Carso
Cons: - Park traffic
- Tees
Other Thoughts: - Great course.. wish more cities would take on this oppurtunity

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 74  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course winds through a nice multiuse park. Very dusty at first but it then winds through some well kept grassy areas.

- Good use of obstacles throughout the park, including the giant snake statue.

- A good mix of distances, including a handful of long bombs. But not too many that you can't take beigginners along.

- Water and OB winding throughout to give an extra challenge. But usually you can retreive your disk from the water without much trouble.

- No crowds!! SD county really needed another quality 18 holer.
Cons: - Other park users can get in the way. I have not played on the weekend but I can imagine that it could get very crowded with other park users.

- The first few dusty holes can get really hot with OB where you can not retreive lost discs.

- Navigation was a bit tricky, not a big deal but it definitely helps to print out the map.
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the guys in Escondido for building a much needed quality course. Out of the 4 in the Escondido/ San Marcos area this is my favorite. Definitely worth the trip if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 spring break

2-4    4/14/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: hatchet
Played: 58  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wonderful course
-many grass holes
-some dirt
- long holes, short holes
Cons: -bit hard to navigate
-signs are old
-way to many peds right in the middle of half of the holes, they get in the way and make you wait.
- have to cross a creak with no bridge to get to a tee pad, just to come straight back across
Other Thoughts: I still enjoyed this course thoroughly

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just get past the first 3

1    5/27/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great shape and easy to see.
Tee pads are good, maybe a little small if you have a huge run up, but plenty big enough for the 3 step throw.
The park is amazingly beautiful and was awesome to play in.
There is a disc shop that is on site and has a great selection of disc and gear. You can also get a map and scorecard here... Take the map if it is your first time!
Lots of different shots to choose from.
Challenging but not impossible course.
Wasn't very crowded (weekday later in the afternoon).
There is a small creek that runs through the course which adds a little intimidation. Don't worry, I don't remember anywhere when I was there that you wouldn't be able to get your disc out of it... you may have to get a tiny bit wet in some areas. If the water rises in other months it could be a real issue.
Two practice holes in the open away from everything else.
Cons: Holes 1-3 or 4 were in dense overgrowth and could be hard to find your disc.
There was a section of protected marshland or something to the right of hole 2 that you are NOT allowed to go retrieve you disc from.
If there are people here and I suspect that this park gets used a lot, you will have some many areas where you will have to wait to throw "Safely" or skip that hole all together.
Snakes - be sure to stomp through the brush and weeds areas.
There are a few signs that are marked wrong or in the wrong places after being moved. The staff in the disc shop should be able to give you specific details on this. I lost my notes, so I can't remember exactly which ones, but it was near 14 or 15.
Other Thoughts: 18 is a wide open bomb shot... a good ending to a rather technical course.
Just up the hill from 18 tee (can be seen on hole 17 too) is a sculpture garden that is absolutely amazing. If I ever make it back down that way I will bring a camera. It's all tile and polished rocks, and glass mosaic covered walls and statues. DO NOT pass up seeing this if you play here.
This is worth the trip to play, just try and avoid the weekends.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

1    8/10/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park. There are some minor elevation changes that are used fairly well to make the course more interesting. The creek running through the middle section of the course is used on several holes, even when dry it can be a hazard to have to shoot up out of the creek bed and adds some risk if you play it as ob. There is a mix of open dusty areas and grassy park areas with more trees to avoid.

The course has some longer holes that add some challenge and a chance to open up and throw some longer drives, as well as some shorter ace run holes for variety. The course felt pretty balanced between left and right turning holes, with a nice mix of hole shapes to make you throw different shots. There are nice hole signs with hole layout and distance. The alternate pin placements on several holes looked like they would change up some of the holes quite a bit for some more variety. There is plenty of signage to help navigate the course, and I had no issue finding my way around the first time out despite some longer walks.
Cons: The tees are awful here. Most are rutted out areas in the dirt, and make for pretty bad footing on drives. A couple use rubber or concrete, but often don't have enough room for a real run up without risking your ankles. A few of the signs are awkwardly placed at the front corners of tees.

The holes in the open areas don't offer very much interest or challenge, and are very dusty and hot on a warm summer day. There are some safety concerns, with lots of holes that play through picnic areas and could be unplayable on a nice weekend afternoon. There are several walking paths that come into play, we had to wait on a few pedestrians even in the middle of the week. The alternate pin placements are nice, but there is no marking to tell you what placement is in use.
Other Thoughts: This is a great alternative to the crowds at Morley, hopefully the sport continues to grow in San Diego and more courses can go in. There are some nice holes here, and it offers some good challenges even for more experienced players. Newer players will find it tough but not too terribly punishing, so it's approachable for beginners. If you're in the north county area, this is the best option, and when you don't feel like waiting on every hole downtown this is a nice change of pace.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great 2nd option n San Diego!

1    8/5/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: jaru22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played for the first time today. Hardly anyone there and get this---no waiting and waiting at each tee like at Morley field. Its only been open for a few months so they are still dialing in the course around the park but there are some good fun layouts there, good job guys. Lots of long drives, lots of potential for aces, and some good challenge in quite a few holes.
Cons: first 4 holes are just in an open field. Actually a good way to warm up. I also think if all goes well that at some point this will be developed a little for us.
Tees are all dirt except one hole. Not just dirt but lumpy rutted dirt, easy to turn an ankle. Hopefully this is the next thing on the list of upgrading. even a few racks and shovels and and packer and these tees could be in better shape. no problem it will come in time I am sure. Out of bounds habitat is a bummer but did not really come into play for me, it could for others.
Other Thoughts: Its a weekday only course I am sure. Its a public park and I am sure on the weekends it would tend to be too crowded with non DGers.
We had a un time today getting to know the course. Well laid out. room to grow. Check it out for an option to Morley field

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect for North County players

2-4    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: jagomes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything...trees, hazards, elevation changes, distance changes and doglegs left and right. Best of all is the mid week crowds...there are none! There is really no reason to drive down to Morley to sit and wait at every hole if you live up here in North County.
Cons: 9 and 10 have been changed...14 is gone. Original 9 was a great hole...too bad. rubber or lack of tee boxes is the only real cons here.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.