Akron, OH 
Portage Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #4 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 360ft.   4 / 512ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Over Rated

1    8/30/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Frolfer22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: It's a great course if you are Ken Climo......
It's a great course if you like to swim.
It's a great course if you like cutting yourself with glass.
Cons: Tee Placement. 15, really???? Saw 2 discs floating helplessly in the water. 13 is a ridiculous hole as well. Back 9 seems cool at first, then is an annoying pain.


2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Portage Lakes

1    2/18/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical front nine with the first three holes all leaving the player to really think about the drive and how to negotiate the dense foliage along the fairway. Hole #5 plays slightly downhill to a basket sitting on a small peninsula overlooking a lake...Very nice looking hole. If #5 isn't the signature hole, #7 or #8 could be. Both these holes play on either side of some mature growth hardwoods in an otherwise open area, leaving the player with a very defined fairway.
Cons: Very little direction from one basket to the next tee. I became disoriented on several occasions and had difficulty finding the next tee. It would be nice, as the course develops into a full 18, if signs leading the player to the main parking area and some sort of kiosk was installed. As is the case with many state park courses, the sheer size of the park can leave someone who's never been there a bit lost in finding the first tee. Some of the drives have little risk/reward potential. I found myself at many tees trying to find the "lesser of two evils" so to speak and just gunning for it. The tee signs are simply laminated paper attached to a wood base. This will not stand the tests of time and some of the torn off, faded, signs I encountered along the course are bound to become more numerous. The tees are simple boundary lines set in the ground. Though I've seen worse, it would be nice to see actual tee pads put in when this course becomes a full 18.
Other Thoughts: I hiked along the area where the back nine is being developed. This course has a lot of potential. I'm hoping, despite the cutbacks you see associated with a lot of state parks, that the volunteer base for this course is strong, and the continued improvement of this course will draw me back in the near future! Definitely coming back after the full 18 is in!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  BRING A MAP!!!

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: chadpimp1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are hard and that is a good thing! Throwing across a valley and through trees is difficult but fun.
Cons: For a first time player at this course it will be impossible to find your way around without a map. Print one off of this site and BRING IT!
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of broken glass but otherwise it is quite a beautiful course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Potential

1    9/11/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The holes aren't too jam packed into areas; nice mix of hole types. The length varies enough to keep you guessing and pin locations are challenging. I think hole #5 is a signature hole, with the basket right on the water's edge. This course has a lot of potential to be a great course when the back 9 gets put in and with a little clearing of brush. I really enjoyed playing it, reminded me slightly of Massillon.
Cons: There is some clearing that needs to be done. Some of the trees and brush make the holes very difficult and with a few taken out, the course would play more smoothly. Being 9 holes isn't the greatest, but they are planning to add in a back 9 soon and still working on cleaning it all up.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, it may not the be the world's best, but it was fun and in the future, with some basic work, it has potential to be a strong course here in Akron. There aren't a lot of courses in Summit County and having this course close will be fun.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Decent but needs work.

5+    4/22/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: frisbeechamp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Baskets are sweet. Long and short tees are nice. 2 and 3 were a blast. 4, 7, and 8 are pretty. 5th was scary throwing a $16 disc with the water sooo close! lol
Cons: Holes 6 and 9 are pretty much tree eating wastes of time at the moment. Obviously needs some more clearing. Watch your footing walking along 9, those little tree stumps will trip you everytime.
Other Thoughts: Just needs some more work, once tee signs/distance markers get put up, I can see it being played constantly.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.