Dallas, OR 
Dallas City Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #3 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    9/4/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: INFECTED503
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Awesome course! There is a lot of obstacles that make each hole it's own unique challenge. Almost all holes have some kind of water hazard around them and a couple holes even cross the river the runs through the park.
Cons: Sprinklers were on and they were covering about four of the holes. If you do make it in the "drink" it can be quiet difficult to get your disc out.
Other Thoughts: Bring a change of clothes!

Dallas City Park

2-4    1/19/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Quite a few birdie-able holes for all skill ranges
-Nice little mixture of different holes
-Baskets catch great
-Beautiful little city park
Cons: -Can get overly crowded in summer
-Holes 5,6 and 7 play right along a creek. Plenty of discs get swept away.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great little course. Locals run a league every Friday Night that is a lot of fun. A nice mixture of open and wooded holes. Not too much elevation change. Good course for the family to try out.

Good variety with holes and fun challenges

2-4    9/21/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: Thrival Time
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variance with distance, elevation, trees, and water hazards.

Less experienced players will definitely use a variety of shots (forehands, backhands, hyzers, annys, and overhand).

Hole 1 and 2 are medium distance with small turns to the right past trees.

Hole 3 is an ace hole.

Hole 4 is a medium long straight shot.

Holes 5 and 6 have an "ace or drink" feel as you throw them across the water.

Hole 7 is pretty long and under some trees.

Holes 8-15 make you use a variety of shots as you work your way up and down a hill and cross some water hazards and trees.

Holes 16 and 17 are pretty long straight shots.

Hole 18 is an ace shot.

Good for playing in groups of different skill levels.
Cons: Holes 7, 16, and 17 can be a bit too long for newer players to view them as par 3's.

Hole 18 is mildly anticlamatic after the build up of the previous 10 holes.

Some holes tend to repeat the previous one (ex: 6 after 5, 17 after 16).
Other Thoughts: Fun place to have an ace race and have other activities if you decide to bring your family.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice laid back course

2-4    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Bryan-Krystal
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is just really nice we enjoyed it a lot. Laid back and just relaxing really. When we go here We play atleast two rounds before leaving.
Cons: Some times the other park guest get in the way, and make it hard to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/6/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park. Great course to take the family. Fun little course with several short ace'able holes.
Cons: Marshy areas around 11 & 12. Couple of holes need better description of holes/hole direction. Park can be crowded so they is a need to watch out for other park goers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dalls City Park

5+    9/15/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: ripcitydisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Variety of holes: Some holes are close to and over 500 feet. While there are back to back holes that are barely over 100 feet. Also there are holes that go downhill and some that go uphill. Some dog right, some left. Some through trees, some in fields. Its a perfect mix.

-Aesthetically Pleasing: The park itself is very nice with some water hazards and very green trees and green grass and fields.

-Challenging: Some holes are especially challenging but they are nicely balanced with some nice birdie holes so you never feel worn down by the course.

-Loop: The course ends super short from where it begings

-THE SIGNS: Easily the best part of the park is the awesome signs they have. They have an arrow that points to the next basket and tells you how far away it is!!!! All parks should use this method, as it shouldnt be hard to do but totally makes first timers find everything SO easy!
Cons: -Useage: The park gets a lot of use during the summer from kids and adults as there is a lot to do in the park, however I went recently during school hours and the park was really open.

-Poor disc knowledge: There are some people there that dont know disc ettiquette and it sucks to get stuck behind them, as they dont let you play through and they play with like real frisbees and swear up and down the course, I usually just skip a hole to get ahead of them though.

-Location: Unless youre from dallas it is a tad out of the way.

-hole 7: One time i was playing at Adair and let two people play through our group and overheard them talk about the notorious hole 7 that goes pretty much straight through a forest, a difficult hole that can eat up discs.

-Tee pads: For some reason the back 9 does not have tee pads yet.

Other Thoughts: The park is beautiful and obviously gets a lot of attention. However its not always the right attention and that can be bad. Ive lost a disc or two there and I know i would never get a call for either of them. But during non-busy times it is one of my favorite courses. I enjoy leisure days at dallas. Sometime soon I plan on taking my putters and midranges and going on a little ace run on holes 3-6 as 3 of those holes are ace-able. Its a good place to take beginners, but me and my friends enjoy it a lot as well. It is a great way to spend the day if you bring a lunch as well.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ace runs, but easy

5+    8/16/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: steezejenkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great park setting
-excellent use of the park
-two shots over the river
-mostly concrete t pads
-groomed so no lost disc's
-dallas burger is bomb
Cons: -shots can be difficult
-narrow minded folks on the course
-people renting their kids to fetch disc's in the water??
-stolen putter on hole four! out of the basket!
Other Thoughts: If your out to dallas and are up for an easy game play this course. It is really fun. But keep in mind that this is a small town. A little ditty about tuff guy tommy chasing his fourteen year old girlfriend around. He's eighteen and prancing around in his jeanco's and insane clown posse hat. As for the rest of the crowd, who left the gate open!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park...

1    7/26/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Immaculately maintained park
-Virtually no blackberry
-Good use of space given
-Excellent signage
Cons: -Lots of people use the park (kids, other activities)
-First 5 holes short and packed together
-Some very short holes
-No teepads on the back 9
-Could have used more park space
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this park. I was intrigued after I read they added 9 more holes. This park is gorgeous and obviously gets a lot of use for the community.

First of all, the signage is fantastic. The arrows pointing to the next tee under each basket was a cute (and useful touch).

The front 9, especially the first five holes, are short and tight. Holes 5 and 6 are over the water, but a little short. There is little underbrush (save hole 7, with a bunch of ivy). The course opens up from hole 8 on, with less people traffic, etc. My favorite part were holes 12 - 18, which are more open, in the woods, longer, with elevation changes.

The biggest negative for me were the amount of kids of all ages running around, some on bikes, which lead to me waiting around some on the earlier holes. The worst incident with 'civilians' happened on the 17th tee, where a young couple with a 2-month old was sitting in the fairway (field) of the longest hole. I couldn't justify launching an errant throw with my Katana anywhere near them, but they got the point and politely moved for me for a second.

Because most of the course was so short, I scored a -2 on my first round. Just to let you know I play Adair regularly, with a +5 average there. So this isn't the most challenging of courses.

I think I'm going to wait for the fall to play here again. With less people running around, I'd give it a 3.5.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 18 and a good start

5+    3/5/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: kilowan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great variation (Trees, dog-legs, elevation changes)
-Good use of the park
-Have to think about the shots
-Good signage by tee pad and pointing in direction of next tee
-Parks Dept has done a great job of clearing out alot of the underbrush on a few of the holes and larger trees on 3, 4 and 6.
-Cement tee pads all in except for 15
Cons: -Playing in the summer is tricky, LOTS of people in and around the fairways on most holes
-Teams (Softball, Football and Soccer) can be on the field for 16 and 17, most move, some just will not.
-Holes 4 and 7 are too close to the parking lots, cars will be hit.
Other Thoughts: The course really opened up the park.
I just hope that the city continues to be behind the course.
The new baskets added have not taken away from the course and have made the flow a lot smoother then the original layout.
If you are playing alone can be difficult to follow the disc if it goes into the blackberries, ivy, woods or water. A spotter is nice on a few of the holes, but not a must have.
* The trees taken down on 4 have opened the river side of the fairway up, but from paved trail to creek is rocks, broken pices of concrete and HUGE black berry bushes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dallas,we're not in Texas anymore

5+    10/3/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 273  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice city park on a small river that you get to throw over twice as you attempt short ace runs. Many of the holes can be reached on the tee shot, but of course there are many trees to distract your disc. Consider yourself lucky or mighty good if you ever get a 3 on hole 7 with its length healthy tree population and ob. Most holes you are picking routes through the trees but they are close enough to reach but just when you feel that you have a chance to reach any hole, up pops #16 and #17 that are 480 and 503 too much for ancient arms like mine to have an easy 3. We do like variety and some quirky challenges like this course offers. Don't we ?
Cons: I don't see how this course can last because honestly there is way too much potential damage to the many other park users. Baskets should not be installed close to swing sets, picnic tables and right on the path where kids have probably been doing bike jumps since before any of us ever heard of disc golf. At least 2 holes play over pavement with the best route being over frequently parked cars. Not wise. Play the course, enjoy it, but don't take chances hitting people or cars. It won't further the cause of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It can get pretty sloppy during wet spells.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.