Dallas, OR 
Dallas City Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #18 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Dallas City Park

2-4    1/19/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: -Nice tee pads
-Quite a few birdie-able holes for all skill ranges
-Nice little mixture of different holes
-Baskets catch great
-Beautiful little city park
Cons: -Can get overly crowded in summer
-Holes 5,6 and 7 play right along a creek. Plenty of discs get swept away.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great little course. Locals run a league every Friday Night that is a lot of fun. A nice mixture of open and wooded holes. Not too much elevation change. Good course for the family to try out.

 

1    7/6/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park. Great course to take the family. Fun little course with several short ace'able holes.
Cons: Marshy areas around 11 & 12. Couple of holes need better description of holes/hole direction. Park can be crowded so they is a need to watch out for other park goers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace runs, but easy

5+    8/16/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: steezejenkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great park setting
-excellent use of the park
-two shots over the river
-mostly concrete t pads
-groomed so no lost disc's
-dallas burger is bomb
Cons: -shots can be difficult
-narrow minded folks on the course
-people renting their kids to fetch disc's in the water??
-stolen putter on hole four! out of the basket!
Other Thoughts: If your out to dallas and are up for an easy game play this course. It is really fun. But keep in mind that this is a small town. A little ditty about tuff guy tommy chasing his fourteen year old girlfriend around. He's eighteen and prancing around in his jeanco's and insane clown posse hat. As for the rest of the crowd, who left the gate open!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park...

1    7/26/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Immaculately maintained park
-Virtually no blackberry
-Good use of space given
-Excellent signage
Cons: -Lots of people use the park (kids, other activities)
-First 5 holes short and packed together
-Some very short holes
-No teepads on the back 9
-Could have used more park space
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing this park. I was intrigued after I read they added 9 more holes. This park is gorgeous and obviously gets a lot of use for the community.

First of all, the signage is fantastic. The arrows pointing to the next tee under each basket was a cute (and useful touch).

The front 9, especially the first five holes, are short and tight. Holes 5 and 6 are over the water, but a little short. There is little underbrush (save hole 7, with a bunch of ivy). The course opens up from hole 8 on, with less people traffic, etc. My favorite part were holes 12 - 18, which are more open, in the woods, longer, with elevation changes.

The biggest negative for me were the amount of kids of all ages running around, some on bikes, which lead to me waiting around some on the earlier holes. The worst incident with 'civilians' happened on the 17th tee, where a young couple with a 2-month old was sitting in the fairway (field) of the longest hole. I couldn't justify launching an errant throw with my Katana anywhere near them, but they got the point and politely moved for me for a second.

Because most of the course was so short, I scored a -2 on my first round. Just to let you know I play Adair regularly, with a +5 average there. So this isn't the most challenging of courses.

I think I'm going to wait for the fall to play here again. With less people running around, I'd give it a 3.5.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dallas,we're not in Texas anymore

5+    10/3/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 272  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice city park on a small river that you get to throw over twice as you attempt short ace runs. Many of the holes can be reached on the tee shot, but of course there are many trees to distract your disc. Consider yourself lucky or mighty good if you ever get a 3 on hole 7 with its length healthy tree population and ob. Most holes you are picking routes through the trees but they are close enough to reach but just when you feel that you have a chance to reach any hole, up pops #16 and #17 that are 480 and 503 too much for ancient arms like mine to have an easy 3. We do like variety and some quirky challenges like this course offers. Don't we ?
Cons: I don't see how this course can last because honestly there is way too much potential damage to the many other park users. Baskets should not be installed close to swing sets, picnic tables and right on the path where kids have probably been doing bike jumps since before any of us ever heard of disc golf. At least 2 holes play over pavement with the best route being over frequently parked cars. Not wise. Play the course, enjoy it, but don't take chances hitting people or cars. It won't further the cause of disc golf.
Other Thoughts: It can get pretty sloppy during wet spells.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Who shot JR?

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Welcome to Dallas. No it's not the city where President Kennedy was assassinated and no it's not the 1980's soap opera starring Larry Hagman of I dream of Jeannie fame and I'm pretty sure it has nothing to do with Cowboys or Cheerleaders either but it is a fun course not too far south of Portland.

The city of Dallas is very excited about their disc golf course which is really nice to see. As soon as I got out of the car I saw some city employees (3-5 of them actually) all using blowers to get the fallen leaves into a giant pile. As soon as I reached for my disc golf bag one of them came up to me and started talking to me about disc golf and telling me how much he was excited to have the course, I was very impressed by the enthusiasm for disc golf in this town. One of the things the Parks guy talked to me about was how to navigate the course, which by the way is very easy. They have brand new baskets with a red metal arrow and footage that tells you where and how far the next tee pad is and I found this to be an ingenious way of making things easier on first time players of the course.

The course itself starts out with two left to right shots (RHBH anhyzer) with hole one being fairly open and hole two being a very tough fairway to hit with guarding trees. There are two holes that are back to back that take you across the creek and are somewhat heart pounding do to the danger of going in the water but since they are so short (145' and 105' respectively) there isn't much challenge to clearing the danger. Hole number seven is a very tough fairway with lots of trees to navigate your way through and it's quite a long hole that feels longer than it is, this hole reminds me of some of those wooded holes out at Bryant Park in Albany, quite tough indeed. Like the Valkyrie Kid said, hole 15 would be considered the signature hole as it's the fun downhill throw but it would be even better if that hole was extended.
Cons: With hole four and seven the best route from the tee pad is to throw the big hyzer shot (RHBH) out over the busy parking and let it skip off the pavement towards the basket and this is obviously a huge liability and safety risk that should be avoided at all costs, I hate to say it because those are the best routes and fun to throw but there should be mandos on those holes to guard that area.

Holes five and six are fun little ace runs but I can see the danger of the disc going in the water and people going in after it and hurting themselves. There are several spots on this course where it takes you into other activities and sensitive areas and It's a little baffling to me that the course was approved to use all of these spots. When playing you will be going right through picnic areas, busy walking paths, a beautiful Japanese Garden, creeks, BMX dirt jumps, parking lots and more.

Holes 16 and 17 make little sense to me as most of the course is shorter holes with some obstacles but these holes are long, open and boring holes that add very little to course overall and undermine the type of clientele they should be trying for.
Other Thoughts: This place is a bit of a Rubik's Cube, there are several fun holes and a couple of bad ones but this place just doesn't seem to connect as if they took 18 random holes from 18 different courses and stuck them in here. It's good to see the city getting behind disc golf in such a big way and hopefully the local players respect the other park users and their areas so that the city is still excited about disc golf years from now. I would recommend playing here if you are going to be in Dallas as there are some holes you won't soon forget.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Course With A Variety Of Holes!

1    5/31/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays through a pretty little city park. The two things that makes this course different from most are 1) The huge variety of holes and 2) the fact that this course plays through so many areas of the park that are normally off limits to disc golf courses. This course has it all from big boomer holes to back to back 100 foot throws over the small creek. It has some of the best signs ever. Each sign gives you the hole number and distance and points to the next tee and tells you how far away it is. Without this handy little feature, the course would be pretty hard to find your way around. Probably the signature hole is # 15. It's a blind, downhill throw, throuh a fairly narrow gap in the branches, only about 225 ft. with a dogleg right at the bottom of the hill.
Cons: These aren't really major cons to me but the designers of this course were able to place baskets and fairways in places that I'm amazed the parks department people would allow. I'm talking teeing off when the only obvious path is to throw a hyser shot over the parking lot. Or having a basket in the middle of the Japaneese Garden. I think the two very short holes over the creek are kinda cute and fun but......if I was a park's department official, I'd be concerned with kids going into the water after discs even though the creek appears to be only a couple of feet deep.
Other Thoughts: This course has kind of a schizophrenic personality. Mostly it's a short, enjoyable recreational course designed for the novice/beginner/recreational type player. Then you get to # 16s and # 17 and they are 500 ft. bombs.

I enjoyed playing this course. But I have a strong feeling that you'll be seeing some sweeping changes in the course design in the future as holes changed after too many cars are hit or problems with the creek holes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.