Dallas, OR 
Dallas City Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #18 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Who shot JR?

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Welcome to Dallas. No it's not the city where President Kennedy was assassinated and no it's not the 1980's soap opera starring Larry Hagman of I dream of Jeannie fame and I'm pretty sure it has nothing to do with Cowboys or Cheerleaders either but it is a fun course not too far south of Portland.

The city of Dallas is very excited about their disc golf course which is really nice to see. As soon as I got out of the car I saw some city employees (3-5 of them actually) all using blowers to get the fallen leaves into a giant pile. As soon as I reached for my disc golf bag one of them came up to me and started talking to me about disc golf and telling me how much he was excited to have the course, I was very impressed by the enthusiasm for disc golf in this town. One of the things the Parks guy talked to me about was how to navigate the course, which by the way is very easy. They have brand new baskets with a red metal arrow and footage that tells you where and how far the next tee pad is and I found this to be an ingenious way of making things easier on first time players of the course.

The course itself starts out with two left to right shots (RHBH anhyzer) with hole one being fairly open and hole two being a very tough fairway to hit with guarding trees. There are two holes that are back to back that take you across the creek and are somewhat heart pounding do to the danger of going in the water but since they are so short (145' and 105' respectively) there isn't much challenge to clearing the danger. Hole number seven is a very tough fairway with lots of trees to navigate your way through and it's quite a long hole that feels longer than it is, this hole reminds me of some of those wooded holes out at Bryant Park in Albany, quite tough indeed. Like the Valkyrie Kid said, hole 15 would be considered the signature hole as it's the fun downhill throw but it would be even better if that hole was extended.
Cons: With hole four and seven the best route from the tee pad is to throw the big hyzer shot (RHBH) out over the busy parking and let it skip off the pavement towards the basket and this is obviously a huge liability and safety risk that should be avoided at all costs, I hate to say it because those are the best routes and fun to throw but there should be mandos on those holes to guard that area.

Holes five and six are fun little ace runs but I can see the danger of the disc going in the water and people going in after it and hurting themselves. There are several spots on this course where it takes you into other activities and sensitive areas and It's a little baffling to me that the course was approved to use all of these spots. When playing you will be going right through picnic areas, busy walking paths, a beautiful Japanese Garden, creeks, BMX dirt jumps, parking lots and more.

Holes 16 and 17 make little sense to me as most of the course is shorter holes with some obstacles but these holes are long, open and boring holes that add very little to course overall and undermine the type of clientele they should be trying for.
Other Thoughts: This place is a bit of a Rubik's Cube, there are several fun holes and a couple of bad ones but this place just doesn't seem to connect as if they took 18 random holes from 18 different courses and stuck them in here. It's good to see the city getting behind disc golf in such a big way and hopefully the local players respect the other park users and their areas so that the city is still excited about disc golf years from now. I would recommend playing here if you are going to be in Dallas as there are some holes you won't soon forget.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/29/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Headynuggs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for beginners. It forces you to learn how to throw your disc but don't expect par if you're a beginner. This course is great for players with expirience because many of the wholes are technical and it really helps to have alot of different throws in your arsenal.

It is now 18 holes. The City takes care of this course and it shows. It is very well kept now. They kept several of the old holes that I liked from the 9 hole version which makes me happy. Aside from hole 7, I would say that every hole is fun. Great course for hot days, it seems to stay pretty cool here despite the temperature in Dallas. Also only about 3 blocks from Little Caesars Pizza if you get hungry.
Cons: Hole 7 is very narrow and very long. It is a par 3 and good luck getting a birdie. They need to do a bit of clearing on hole 7 as well. If you don't want to waste time looking for discs you will need a spotter for sure.
Other Thoughts: I play this course several times a week. It is my local favorite and I drive from Salem to play. The people of Dallas are very polite and the people at the park are aware of the course so they are very respectful about it. If you bring a handful of dollar bills their are usually a handful of kids running around that are more then happy to get your disc out of the water if you're not dressed for the occasion. Which reminds me... If the weather is nice you may want to wear swimshorts or a bathing suite just in case you go in the water on 5 or 6.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Moving Along with it

5+    6/27/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: SassyBullet
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Sent's the first time my bother and I played it has growing. Its a go local for family want to go and make a day of it. The course is a good play. My fav. is hole 13 and 15 they are blind play that make it fun. for a silly group.
Cons: if over threw holes 1, 2, 4 and 18 you will be in the water. which is fine if it is hot hell. under threw holes 5 and 6 in the water. Can do without hole 11 and 12 I just don't like them at all.
Other Thoughts: This course can be longer and be fun to have a tournament there!!!!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Course With A Variety Of Holes!

1    5/31/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays through a pretty little city park. The two things that makes this course different from most are 1) The huge variety of holes and 2) the fact that this course plays through so many areas of the park that are normally off limits to disc golf courses. This course has it all from big boomer holes to back to back 100 foot throws over the small creek. It has some of the best signs ever. Each sign gives you the hole number and distance and points to the next tee and tells you how far away it is. Without this handy little feature, the course would be pretty hard to find your way around. Probably the signature hole is # 15. It's a blind, downhill throw, throuh a fairly narrow gap in the branches, only about 225 ft. with a dogleg right at the bottom of the hill.
Cons: These aren't really major cons to me but the designers of this course were able to place baskets and fairways in places that I'm amazed the parks department people would allow. I'm talking teeing off when the only obvious path is to throw a hyser shot over the parking lot. Or having a basket in the middle of the Japaneese Garden. I think the two very short holes over the creek are kinda cute and fun but......if I was a park's department official, I'd be concerned with kids going into the water after discs even though the creek appears to be only a couple of feet deep.
Other Thoughts: This course has kind of a schizophrenic personality. Mostly it's a short, enjoyable recreational course designed for the novice/beginner/recreational type player. Then you get to # 16s and # 17 and they are 500 ft. bombs.

I enjoyed playing this course. But I have a strong feeling that you'll be seeing some sweeping changes in the course design in the future as holes changed after too many cars are hit or problems with the creek holes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dallas City Park, Short and Long

5+    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The City of Dallas seems to be supporting this course in a big way. I'm glad to see they have an up an running parks dept. in a small town.

Every tee has a sign showing the tee number and the hole distance. Almost every basket has a sign saying how far it is to the next tee! Finding the next tee can be a problem, but at least you know how far to walk.

Hole 1 is really good layout, the trees, the ditch, and the creek behind the basket. The tee needs little work with the rocks and concrete, but it works.
Hole 2 really is unique the way it uses the sunken terrain and the trees to make it a good hole.
Hole 8 ain't bad. It's 298 feet and it parallels a deep drainage ditch and the trees keep you honest with your throw.
Hole 11 is part of the old layout. The combination of trees and small elevation changes can make this one frustrating hole. I like it.
Hole 12 is fun, how often do you get to throw into a field of flowers, at least in the springtime. It has a ditch cutting across the middle with a bridge for us to use.
Hole 13 has the pin positioned on the left up a small hill with a trees space throughout the hillside.
Hole 14 is long , straight with trees keeping your discs low. Not to mention the big ditch leading downhill 2/3 of the way to the pin with blackberry bushes protecting the ditch. It's all good!
Hole 15 is a love/hate type of hole. Your shooting a disc diagonally downhill through the trees with the basket at the bottom. You either make through or you don't. It is amazing how many discs find their own special path through the trees and end up within 20 feet of the pin.
Hole 16 is really long all the way across a grass field.
Hole 17 is all the way back across the field with mature trees down the left side.
Hole 18 your throwing across the access road and the walking path. Not far, only 180 feet.
Cons: Hole 3 is joke. 156 feet with the picnic tables and a playground down the right side.
Hole 4 has problems. It is real narrow. You are throwing parallel to the parking lot. Most people will be throwing over the parking lot. If the park is busy, cars and people are going to get hit.
Hole 5 and 6 are just too short. Your throwing across the creek and then moving to the other side of the bridge and throwing back.
Hole 7 is just scary. 430 foot wooded hole covered in English Ivy. You can't see the basket from the tee. The parking lot will come into play to get the longest distance. They actually mowed down the ivy to make the fairway. Don't throw a green disc here.
Hole 9 looks like it was added just to add another hole.
The basket for hole 10 is in a part of the park where they just removed some large trees. The area your throwing into is a bit of a mess. It should improve with time. Putting a basket right next to the Japanese garden is not a good thing for the garden.
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course I liked it a lot. Then they added the extra baskets and now I think it's not so good.
This is a new course and I can see changes being made due to public input of the poor locations of the added holes. This is an old city park with many users.
It is really hard to classify this course. It has many short holes, throws across the creek times 2, wooded holes, and long open holes. It can be easy, short, long, and difficult, all on the same course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/8/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: MrMayor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice to have 18 holes instead of the old 9 holer.
Glad they kept some of the old holes.
Cons: Hole 4 is great in principle(narrow tunnel shot), but I see to many cars getting hit in the parking lot on the right side.

I wish the two short, easy ace holes over the creek were spaced out rather than right next to each other.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New Layout is fun!

2-4    4/23/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: JonnyQuest
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Lots of challenges! but also a few very easy holes.
-fun and tense shots across the river
-very nice flow, longest walk is around 300' from hole 13 to 14
Cons: -hole 6 which is the 2nd river throw is pretty scary because there is a lot of things to hit that will knock your disc right into the river.
-hole 7 is very hard and long for a par 3 (but still fun)
Other Thoughts: I love this course even more with the new holes! i have played it numerous times already and it gets funner each time. there's a lot of luck involved in some of the holes but there's also a few holes that you can ace pretty easily.

I'm still fairly new to this game so my reviews should be considered as a beginners. but this is a course that really forces you to learn new throws and how to control your disc.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.