Pittsburg, KS 
Schlanger Park Share
Uploaded By: jayhawker737 Hole #15
3 / 242ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than I thought it would be...

1    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
Pros: Tee pads, signage and course layout are all pretty good. I didn't realize it was 18 holes until I got there and was surprised of how well the layout worked. I enjoyed driving from elevated tee pads on some of the holes. There is a fun "tunnel" shot and a few nice basket placements that make this tight course more fun then expected. All holes are pretty easy to get under par, even for beginners.
Cons: There are times when you have to be careful not to throw into people's property, which is adjacent to the course in many spots. Also this is a public park and the course runs through it, so you have to watch for kids and families and people walking their dogs. It would be nice to have seen some more difficult holes, but the designer did a great job of winding all the holes in the space they had allotted.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see a small playable course like this in Pittsburg. It's definitely worth playing again. It would be hard to see how they can change this course any, due to space restrictions, but some longer, more difficult, holes would be nice.

More variety of shots than its cross town counterpart

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 253  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good signage and ample tee pads. The park appears to be well maintained and offers other activities such as skateboarding, playground, tennis courts, etc. There are many holes with a good amount of shade. It also uses mandos in several spots to keep you on your toes. Schlanger has the right amount of trees to provide you with a good challenge.
Here are my observations of the holes:
1-open hole with a protected basket
2-open with water threat(if the drainage ditch is full, and it was when I played)
3-dog leg right with trees off the box
4-A cool tunnel shot with the potential of a roll away if you go too far
5-another dog leg right hole
6-slight dog leg left with a mando
7-short aceable hole with a drainage ditch behind the basket
8-has you teeing off of a cement drainage area, never seen this before and I thought it was unique
9-a nice and long hole
10-basket is on a cement island
11-a big dog leg left shot
12-has a narrow window upon approach with potential for a roll away putt, see the pics
13-open hole that plays left to right
14-has a stream upon your approach
15-18 all vary in length and are reachable in 2

Cons: Many of the holes can get very wet during a good rain. When I played here they had a lot of rain the day and night before I played and many times I was walking thru standing water while in the fairway. There is the potential to hit a walker so paying attention is advised before you throw.
I think some mulch would be nice to put around #14's basket. It was very slick upon my visit and might spruce it up a bit at the very least. The flow of the course is confusing on a few holes so printing a map for the first time is highly suggested.
Other Thoughts: It appears that the tee pad and signage issues have been fixed since the previous reviews. I found the tee pads to be lengthy enough for a proper run up and the signs offered all the necessary info(except 6, I think, it was broken).
If you play this course with the map and it is dry, this course is a good course. It offers a variety of shots, some long some short, and both dog leg left and right as well. I really liked holes #4, #8, #11, and #12 the best. In my opinion they used the land as best they could and made a solid course that will challenge most players. It offers a lot more of a challenge than Lincoln Park across town and when you pair the 2 courses together Pittsburg has 2 courses they can be proud of. If it were me and I were in the area again, I would warm up at Lincoln first and then try something a little more demanding in Schlanger.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Falls short of it's potential

2-4    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: kcplease
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Monkey trap baskets are some of the better baskets I've ever played on. There are three rings of chains that all but guarantee you'll stick if you can hit near to pole. The mix of shots and lengths never fail to keep things fairly interesting, although this course still favors the RHBH player simply because many of the holes have a hyzer option (i think I only had to throw anny on 3 or 4 holes but ended up doing so on half of them). The park setting makes it so the course is usually well manicured. Trees provide a reasonably difficult challenge without being too overbearing.
Cons: The flow of the course not good and very difficult to follow at best which is made worse by tee signs that are vague or non-existent. I have heard that new signs are in the works but I'm afraid these won't be enough to save the course from the bad flow. There is way too much backtracking to be done and I feel like much better use could have been made of the land. The fairways rarely to never cross paths, but it seems like to get to the next hole you always have to walk along the previous hole's fairway which gets tiresome and a bit annoying, especially since a lot of this backtracking involves retracing your steps multiple times over the same bridge or creek. After a while, it just get repetitive. There are a lot of homes very close to some of the baskets/tees and if the golfer is not careful they could end up breaking some windows or having to take their lie from someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: This property had a lot of potential for a decent disc golf course, however it seems a lot of the potential was squandered trying to force shots and make fairways out of places they should not be. This forcing of fairways destroyed the flow of the course. The entire round all I could think about was how I could have made this entire course better. It is extremely nice to have another course in Pitt,especially one you can open up on, besides the short Lincoln Park, but I really do wish the designer would have taken more time with this one- it was just too forced and too rushed to meet it's potential, and this park definitely had potential.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    8/11/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: flicker86
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every hole is different and the use of mando's are pretty fun and well placed.
Cons: The course can be hard to navigate if its your first time. Though if its your first time try and find a local player for help. I feel like some of the holes couldn't be birdied, no matter how many shots you took at it.
Other Thoughts: Rumor was tee pads are coming sometime in the fall so that would be a great addition. Overall if your in the area I'd play it. If not the Pitt Open is a blast, but sign up early!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Currently Confusing

1    8/13/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: airman_miller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: LOTS of variation. You need to bomb it on some holes, and be precise on others. Great quality pins. Players who visit course are helpful.
Cons: Course is CONFUSING! No signs at all, have to walk to a hole to see if it is right. Skipped a couple of holes just because you could not find them. Definitely a "walk before you play" course. Cannot tell what is personal and park property at times.
Other Thoughts: I didn't really comment on the pads because I hear they will be getting new ones. Lots of construction around the early holes, so you may want to hold off for a bit.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

New Course!

5+    7/26/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very new course. The baskets were just installed on July 25th, 2012.
Great mix of long versus short drives.
Sidearm players and backhand players have certain holes that favor their style, but are challenged on other holes when the fairway fades in the opposite direction.
Some holes provide longer tunnel shots, which is a great way to test accuracy.
Flows fairly logically.
Great use of land, this course spans the entire park.
Mando signs are posted very clearly.
Cons: No concrete tees yet, as they will be coming later on this fall.
Some shots are very close to a few homeowner's property.
Ivy and some stickerbushes, but what place doesn't have that...
Other Thoughts: This is a great course, and given a couple of months it will be even better with practice baskets, concrete tees, and just some beating in. I am excited that I will now have a new home course that is a much longer course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.