Clewiston, FL 
Indigo DGC Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #9 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Do Not Go Here!

1    12/14/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: TchuBon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a lot of potential. Beautiful land. Professional baskets with great next tee signs. Great signage at the tees.
Cons: No one maintains the course anymore. Talked with some locals that said they stopped cleaning it. No clear ways to throw. Played every hole except 4 because we couldn't find it. Wish I didn't go out of my way for this course.
Other Thoughts: Just don't even go here. It's so overgrown that you could throw right down the fairway and still lose your discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Remote DG Adventure!

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Location. This has to be one of the most remote courses on the planet.

+ Two sets of tees and two pin placements make for 2x the fun.

+ Nice tee signs, and next tee signs.

+ Nice Innova baskets.

+ The course was very clean.

+ Fairly challenging for a rec/camp ground style course, but easy enough for a family round.

+ Typical Florida style Flora and Fauna.
Cons: - The course is very short in length. There is ALOT of vacant land out there, plenty of room for a full size disc golf course. Hopefully they can keep it going and add another 9, or put in a new 18 holer.

- The course was grown in a little bit when we threw it. A little TLC would really help showcase this course.

Other Thoughts: If driving to or from Naples to Miami make sure to stop in and play this course.

A sign at the entrance to the course stated no horses or atv's allowed on the course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rating

1    2/23/2011   4/10/2011
Review By: LethargicMind
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads for the everglades. Good variety of shots for the given terrain. Nice course. Would play it again if I am ever in the area.
Cons: Kind of short, but thats due to the swamp around it. Alligators, I didnt see any, but I made sure my discs stayed on the fairway. "Alligators are angry cause they got all them teeth, but no toothbrush"
Other Thoughts: Im a big fan of courses that truly make the best of what is available in the park/area. That is exactly what this course does. Its only nine holes, and has short holes for the most part. It however is good at making you do tricky shots. I travel across the country playing courses while working on business, and I would definitely recommend this course. It is pretty unique.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Short but nice course.

2-4    5/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: The Nerd
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly constructed. Beautiful signs and maps throughout the course. New tee pads and baskets. Most holes are challenging, but not impossible. Very few "ace" opportunities; a well-planned course for somewhat limited space. Beautiful Florida wilderness.
Cons: Bring bug repellant with DEET. Do not try to play without it, you'll dislike the course for the wrong reasons. Probably not the best course for beginners, the fairways are tight and the rough can be painful in places.
Other Thoughts: Played alone at 1pm on a Saturday. Signs on the roadway led me to the course nicely, and the directions posted here are spot on.

Didn't see a soul my entire visit. After looking at the beautiful course map posted by the road and walking the first hole, I decided to play the course two ways, simultaneously: One score, I would use a Shark for every throw; the other, a Stingray/Aviar combo. All discs are late '90s vintage in very good shape. My only deviation was on the long drive on #8, I used a Viper instead of the Stingray.

This was a fun course, I played it in just over an hour. I am an experienced player, and I tossed a 26 with the Shark, a 29 with the Stingray/Aviar. I played strictly from the red tees; the tee pad placement is well done, green tees will present many more birdie opportunities.

I enjoyed the dogleg hole due to the red tee placement, which requires a skilled anheiser-to-heiser drive to get a good look at the basket on your second shot. Probably should have tried the Viper on that one...

Hole #9 is gorgeous. A good photo from the tee at #9 would make a great DG postcard, and should belong on a calender. The photo posted here doesn't do it justice. It is also, however, the place where my sweat began to overpower my DEET, and the mosquitoes attacked.

Course was completely clean of any garbage, cig-butts, etc. LET'S KEEP IT THAT WAY. But leave the dead crow on the path between #6 and #7... I wanna see how it decomposes over the next month or so before I make the 65 mile drive to play here again.

A well-designed course, someone put a lot of work into this and I can't wait to see Phase 2.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Indigo dgc: FL's 1st course on a reservation

1    4/7/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A short course to start out beginner players. Color coded tees. "Next Tee" signs on each basket.
Compacted crushed shell under tee mats should keep them from getting lumpy. Beautiful multi-color tee signs. Separate putting area. Full map and rules signs. Nearby RV park also has cabins, pool, putt putt golf, pool tables, showers, lawn bowling, and even room for some temp holes (if done carefully and in the dry season)
Cons: Mosquitos…and lots of em. Wooden tee frames can constrict follow through. Course is hard to find from the north, but easy to navigate once there. Efforts have been taken to reduce the amount of poison ivy, but some still exists. Private course! Visitors Welcome, but must call Stan to play. 863 228-0383.
Other Thoughts: Originally slated as an easy "plug-n-play" installation within the camp ground, the course was moved a few hundred yards to the east, when we decided that there were too many safety issues. The Indigo disc golf course was so named for the non-poisonous snakes that have been witnessed in the area of the course. The Indigo snake has been known to eat or run off rattlesnakes.

It's called "Big Cypress" for a good reason. The course has several fairways bordering cypress stands. This tends to indicate lower lying areas, so we tried to keep the fairways to areas with less Cypress and more oaks, palms, pines and grasses.

The parking area is near the welcome sign, which is at the path that leads to the putting area. Another path leads from the putting basket to fairway #1.

Each of the 9 holes has 2 color rubber tee-mats serving as the green and red tees.
Each tee mat is framed by landscape timbers to protect the mat from mowers and ATVs that used to run through the disc golf area. An alternate set of pin positions was designed into the permanent lay out and will be placed in phase two.

The mats rest upon crushed shell that was delivered and compressed via a skid steer bucket. Not all are perfectly flat, which causes some of the frames to stick up near the rear.

Due to a last minute necessitated redesign of fairway #2, the first 3 holes (apologetically) turn right off the red tees. Hole 3 is the only dogleg on the course, which demands a decent placement shot off the tee to set up the 2nd shot towards the green.

Hole #4 changes up and is the shortest hole on the course from the green tees. Holes #5 & 8 are listed as a par 4 for the newbies, but an eagle "deuce" can be achieved on either with a well-executed drive by an advanced or pro-level player.

Hole 6 is a blind hyzer and #7 is a scenic prairie shot between two tees.

Hole #9 is the showcase, or signature hole on the course, which rests beneath a lovely canopy of live oaks. The protruding branches force a choice of "over or under" in the thrower's attack on the green.

A walking path from basket #9 leads either to the parking area or back to the putting area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.