Highbridge, WI
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #18 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Fairway



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A sweet, textured berry

2-4    8/24/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blueberry is one of the best combinations of design, elevation, variety, and challenge of any course I have played.

I really enjoyed the use of terraces here (a feature also used on Gold). On many holes the green or part of the fairway is raised above the surrounding terrain, creating some nice landing areas and a different feel.

The are a number of memorable holes here. Hole 2 is an open drive onto one of these terraces. Hole 8 is a challenging uphill shot through a fairway that won't allow for your max distance drive. Your next shot is a full shot through a gap into an open area, followed by an accuracy-testing approach into a wooded area. My slightly inaccurate shots left me awkward shots along the edges of the fairways.

Hole 9 is a sort of ace run but requires an arching turnover shot or forehand (for RHBH) to a steeply sloping green. You could ace it, but if your putt rolls the wrong way, it could be a bogey.

Hole 13 was maybe my favorite in the complex. A wall of trees blocks the landing area, another terrace that can be reached with a spike hyzer, a big forehand, or an accurate shot through the one gap. After that you approach the basket beyond a pond that is on another terrace above you. You have to walk this entire fairway beforehand, but it's so scenic that you won't mind.

Hole 17 is an epic uphill hole with the basket perched above a natural granite wall. I could go on with more of the holes but will spare you.

The course makes great use of fairways that go from wooded to open areas or vice versa, risky putts on slopes, narrow fairways alternating with long bombs that still require placement. There are multiple tees on most holes, but I only played the main tees (the white ones, I think). Navigation wasn't bad, but you'll want to have the scorecard/map with you.
Cons: Same as with Gold, you never knew which position was in use. If you are going to play any course more than once (and you really should give yourself enough time to play all of them multiple times), I'd recommend Blueberry. The second time is more fun as you remember which route you want to take.

As with all the courses at Highbridge, the tee signs are mediocre. I'm skeptical of the distances shown (I think they underestimate the true distance). Some are faded and difficult to read.

All of the Highbridge courses have some issue with searching for discs. If you can play here with friends, do. Blueberry is not the worst for this issue, and the fairways were perfectly mowed when I played. But the woods will leave you searching if you get far off the fairways. Bring your bright orange discs.
Other Thoughts: This seems to be the most played course at the complex, and for good reason. It is difficult to think of any element that this course lacks, and moreover, any element that it doesn't use really well. As I went through the course pictures before writing this, I had a lot of moments of "Oh, yeah, that hole! I forgot about that one, that was a good one, too."

Although this is the most recreational-friendly of Gold, Granite Ridge, and Blueberry, this isn't an easy course and true beginners might be frustrated. But this course would stand near the top of the heap even if it wasn't at Highbridge with all these other great courses.

When you're writing a review and get sad that you're back on your couch rather than getting another crack at those tough shots, you know you're reviewing a great course. This was one of my favorites.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Blueberry almost perfect

1    5/26/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are to play one course up at Highbridge Hills, it should be Blueberry Hill. It probably is the course that gives you the most of what Highbridge has to offer- incorporates the styles from of every course on the complex added with amazing views and striking landscapes. All baskets stick out with their Mach 3 dark blue color.

Beginners would probably enjoy this course, but it is for slightly more advanced to pro players. A variety of shots will need to be utilized since the holes have a nice mix of diversity- long holes, short wooded holes, downhill, uphill, left, right, etc. Unless you have well over a 400' drive, 1/3 of the holes are unreachable off the tee, leaving you with decisions to make on how to set up your next shot.

Signature Holes:
#2- downhill hole with a rock-wall-lined tiered green
#13- Hole with two large ponds- one right up next to the pin that you have to shoot over.
#17- uphill pump set among a large grouping of rock- John (the owner) is planning to put in a waterfall here.

NOTE: Some of the holes are very unique, with large moss-covered rocks amidst the trees. Hole #4, #16, and #8 have the pins set amongst this setting and could almost be signature holes themselves.

Solitude-
I rarely see anyone on this course and I've played it many times throughout the year.

Landscape/ Vistas-
Amazing views of the surrounding country side. Hole 2 and 3 have great views overlooking the Chequamegon National Forest- the best time to play is in the fall when the leaves change color. The landscape is a great setting with the rocky outcroppings among the trees.

Tee Pads- great large grippy pads.
Cons: This course can get wet, so if there has been a lot of recent rain wear out some waterproof boots.
Other Thoughts: Lastly, I will comment on the complex-Highbridge Hills. If you make it up here, chances are you drove a long way, so it doesn't make sense to play just one course. The great thing about the courses at HH is that they vary in difficulty, so pending on your skill level or what you're in the mood for, there is a course that will most likely fit your needs. As standalone courses, three are still absolutely amazing- Granite, Blueberry and Gold - if one of the courses doesn't satisfy you, you only have to walk a couple hundred feet to a totally different course- The Bear- long, tight and woodsy- very hard, Gold-very long, mostly open, Granite- mostly open, fairly long, Woodland Greens- short technical course through the woods, numerous ace runs, Blueberry- open and woodsy, some long, some short technical holes. The grounds are organic, beautiful and calm.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is the forest stay home pretty boys.

5+    6/4/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 99  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful and totally peaceful. Yeah you might get a tick or skeeter bite but hey this is the northwoods. Over half of the holes would be a signature hole at most courses so enjoy the greatness. Great mix of shots. Views abound.
Cons: Being picky: signs could improve a bit and a little better moving at times but its good enough when your next to a national forest. I didn't drive to the sticks to play in a city park.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to Highbridge go, unless you can't live without your hair products and skirt. I'm not sure who the guy is giving this place a half disc but he must have a grudge. Highbridge is what disc golf is about. Great people, great piece of land, 4 courses that will challenge every level and 2 other courses and John the owner is very friendly and wants everyone to enjoy the outdoors.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

What Doesn't This Course Have

5+    10/13/2012   3/13/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great signage throughout the course
-Has several holes that satisfy every disc golfers taste.
-Very clean
-Well maintained course
-Requires every shot and ability a person can have to have a good round.
-Natural beauty. I've played this course in spring and fall and this course has several holes that warrant a camera.
-Will challenge a good disc golfer while giving average players enough satisfaction to keep them coming back for more.
-Honestly im trying to think of one thing this course doesn't offer besides great winter play. However, i have not played any course in the northern winter that reaches anywhere near its summer potential.
-This course offers distance holes, short holes, up hill throws, down hill throws, water hazzards, prairie throws, rocky landscapes, hyzer drives, anhyzer drives, finesse shots, and anything else you can imagine. Play it!
Cons: Ummmmmm....I guess the only thing i can come up with is i like heavily wooded, heavily technical, short holes and this course only offers 4 holes that fit exactly that description. Oh yeah and perhaps the mosquitos im sure get bad at the right time of the year but welcome up north.
Other Thoughts: If you play this course and don't like it. Clean your discs, put them in your bag, pack it up and put a price tag on it because there is no way you like disc golf. This isn't my favorite course, but i would definately put it in my top 7 or so. I could only rate it a 4.5 or 5 so i rated it a 5 but it deserves a solid 4.75 from almost any disc golfer preference. Do not be turned off by the guy who rated this course a .5. The only person who would bother rating this course that low is someone who doesnt know what they are talking about. I don't care what "tour" this guy is on with his girlfriend, this course is top of the line by all standards. To rate a course a .5 because of wood ticks and long fairways (as the only two negative things that guy could point out about the course.) shows me the guy either hasn't played it or he thinks a course he lives by should be the best. Blue Ribbon Pines is a nice course. I have played them both about 10 times, but Blueberry Hill is a better course imo. Definately is not 4 point rating difference between them and i can guarentee that.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

One of the very best

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nearly flawless hole variety. I won't list all the disc golf shots that exist, but assure you that this course has room for all of them. The scenery and wildlife are stunning. Great use of elevation.
Cons: Needs better signs, but I'm not docking it a half point (as I did for Granite Ridge), because most of the pins on this course were visible from the tee. It wasn't much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: It's amusing to see a course this good hidden so far from "civilization" (by which I mean airports and hotels).

I was only here for a day, and I do recommend allowing more time than I did. 2-3 days should be enough.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The best of Highbridge?

2-4    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Open, tight, long, short, right, left.....What more could you ask for? Nice cement tees, decent signage, nice baskets. Garbage and a place to sit at every tee.
Cons: a bit rough around the edges, everything is mowed nice, but there are some surprise wet spots.
Other Thoughts: This was far and away my favorite course of the weekend at Highbridge.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The best?

1    6/23/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 86  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *Has everything you could ask for in a course:Elevation changes, water, lots of trees/woods, open meadows, holes across hill sides, large rocks and anything else you can think of
*Possibly the best hole ever, #13, if you have the back pin between the pond and swamp
*Clearly marked, especially each tee
*Starts and ends near Honka House/pro shop
*Scenery is beautiful
*Nicely mowed/maintained
Cons: *Was a bit wet from all the rain when I played it, but nothing else
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved this course, played twice in a day. Really nothing bad to say about it, other than I can't play it every day. If you could only play one course for the rest of your life, this might be the one...

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open for the most part. some baskets are more wooded. all varieties of fairways on this course! Water hazards, over grown woods, bugs, wild life around every corner. Not the course for the prissy disc golfers out there. Amazing views of the landscape as well!

if it isn't a windy day in highbridge, i usually will play this course. you have the option to branch off to the granite ridge course after 12! which is a great way to avoid the pond on 13!
Cons: Some ponds kind of sneak up on you (13) I have lost a few to the water... only con is it is the most popular course in Highbridge, some back ups here and there. you shoot over the parking lot on basket 2 tee off, but if you play it smart. you will be fine...
Other Thoughts: i recommend playing this course!!!

i have seen all sorts of wildlife playing this course. i've been amazed at the view from basket 17! it is one of my favorite places to sit back and have a "thought"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the trip

1    8/30/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: IronJack
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.8 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Outstanding, picturesque setting. Great variety of hole design and interesting layout. Punishing rough, yet forgiving fairways, i.e., enough to challenge and reward for smart golf, tough enough to ruin a day for dumb golf.
Cons: Remote, and not much on amenities. Come prepared, plenty of food, water, bug spray, sunscreen, etc., and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: I'd call it world class, but I haven't personally been around the world playing disc golf, so let's just say in terms of course design, layout and environment, it's the best I've ever played and while I imagine it could be matched, it'd be difficult to beat by much.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite

2-4    6/5/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: nukematt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the definition of the Highbridge experience. There is a huge amount of variety on this course. As many have said before all the amenities like nice tee pads and signs are great. There is not much traffic so you can take your time, which you will definitely need if the grass is as long as it was when I was there. The flow of the holes is great and each hole tests something different in your game.
Cons: I can't think of one thing that I would change. I like a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I played all the courses at least once on my weekend and Blueberry is the only one I played twice. Definitely a test of all the skills in disc golf. We are planning another trip up there this fall and this will be the first course I play for sure. John is a great man and the complex he has designed for disc golf is amazing.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.