Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 210ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome.... but #1?

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 43 Years
4 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: The scenery was breathtaking both on the course and on the way up. The long drive to me is a pro, I play to get away from everyday life and this is not every day life up there. The course did have a little of everything thats fr sure. Short, long, tight, open, up down and all around.
Cons: After having both of my knees surgically repaired years ago, the tee pads were way to ruff'd up. After playing the first couple tee pads I had to simply throw from behind, to the side or in front of them. There is a science to tee pad construction and please oh please everyone out there learn from this. With many techical holes on Blueberry, not being able to pivot IMO makes it not so fun.
Other Thoughts: Other than the tee pads and some really ruff rough, I loved the course. #1 in the world???? hmmm not in my course's played book. The fun factor was a 4 for me out of 5. I played it twice, first when I go there and again before I left after playing the others. Granite IMO is a more fun course and if I had to do again, I'd of played Granite twice. Gold....whole nother story.....

4 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 The Holy Grail of Disc Golf?

2-4    7/3/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mcbrandt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Located on a breath-taking property. Yes, I said 'breath-taking.' Kinda lame, but it's true! Excellent variation from hole-to-hole. Great elevation change and usually multiple options for the route to the basket. Not easy, but playing under par is definitely a possibility. extremely well-maintained. Very little litter on the ground. secluded enough where you feel like you could take a break mid-round for a picnic lunch, which i did. IMHO, this is the best course up there, and possible the best course in the world.
Cons: Since they do not have a system where the tee sign denotes which pin is in play, just ask John or someone else at the pro shop. John is about as nice a person as you could meet.
Other Thoughts: This course, part of the Highbridge Sports Complex, is simply amazing. I made the mistake of only coming up for two days and one night. You really need to be there for at least three/four full days. This is the course I would choose to play repeatedly because it is the most well-balanced, and its fun-factor rates the highest. While it is certainly possible to break par, it is just as easy to break a +10. Just an incredible property.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Heaven on Earth?

2-4    7/4/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: kyleo2o
Played: 131  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
12 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course is set in a pristine forest and is extremely well maintained.

Zen like feeling of solitude and disc golf is all that matters.

The shorter holes here all utilize the elevation and play alot longer than their actual length. Most offer two or three distinct pathways to the basket all with different risk and reward. #4 has a huge slopping rock face that goes up towards the basket fun skip shot.

The longer holes offer spectacular landscape, scenery, and rolling hills. With really cool rock walls coming into play. #2 has an awesome view of the hills and a huge rock alcove.

Some holes offer huge 90 degree angle left and right doglegs. #14 and #16 is crazy you shoot up a hill then right up some more hills than further right and finally out with another 100ish to the basket.

One hole had a pretty mind blowing 3 different water hazards!

This course utilizes every element Highbridge Hills has to throw at you in my opinion it isn't close to the hardest either maybe just the perfect mix of challenge and fun.

You get a sense of accomplishment just playing up there you're completely at one with everything in this place that is so incredibly dedicated to not only Highbridge but disc golf in general. It is well worth the trip from ANYWHERE(group of 5 Swedish there for 25days).

In my opinion it is located in the perfect place if it weren't hard to get to it would probably be played too much and loose its magic. We went for 4 days 3 nights and played around 250 holes and waited during one round. At one point there were about 8 groups out but its such a massive place you really don't run into anyone else. Its extremely peaceful. When you speak with people at the club house everyone is just very nice and extremely happy to be there.
Cons: Signs were a little faded.

Could utilize thumbtacks or something to signify which pin placement is in use.
Other Thoughts: Every disc golfer should make a trip to mecca.

12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: JakeTJ98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of open and tight holes. The elevation changes and trees make this course challenging and fun.
Cons: Some of the signs are a little bit faded but not too bad. Some of the "next tee" signs are missing or hard to find, but most holes have a path from the basket to the next tee. There are a lot of holes where you can't see the basket from the tee, so if it's your first time playing it can pay to scout the hole first to see just where the basket it. Especially where there is a large difference between the "A" location and the "B" location.
Other Thoughts: As others have said, this complex is well worth the trip.

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    7/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Beautiful surroundings. On top of the hill with fantastic views and well cared for fairways and teepads.

-Signage. As with every course on the property (with the exception of Chestnut Grove and Woodland Greens) the signs were fantastic from the detailed signs at the tees to the "next tee" signs after most holes.

-Great flow. The course flowed well. This goes along with the good signage.

-Tons of elevation changes. One of my favorite aspects of any course, from the uphill shots to the downhill shots and everything inbetween. (For some reason, one of my favrite holes was 2)

-Good obstacles. Really challeged you and every shot you have. Along with that, great risk/reward. It really showed.
Cons: It's really a challenge to think of anything bad for this course. It's amazing in most every way.

The only con is the 6 hour drive which is probably shorter than for most of you.
Other Thoughts: There's no question that this course is truely the best of the best. Best in the world? That's an opinion, not a fact. The ratings really can't show the best course in the world, only the course that people liked he most. Maybe someone likes Blueberry Hill better, maybe someone Flip. But theres no way to truely name a "best" But it was a joy to play this course and I would suggest it to anyone who loves disc golf.

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 249  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything about the course screams excellence! This is the kind of course where the difference between a good and bad shot is obvious on the scorecard and the risk/reward here is superb.

There are a number of great pro par 4's where you really have to think about your shot. This course seems nearly balanced between hyzer and anhyzer shots (I'm a RHBH player). I really like that and it definitely adds to the challenge. Every type of shot is represented here, and there are often multiple ways to throw a hole.

There are elevation changes galore here and the course is absolutely beautiful. Many of the holes here would stand out as signature holes on any other course. At first I thought holes 2 and 3 (despite their elevation changes) didn't fit with the rest of the course since they're so open, but then I realized one aspect of good course design is showcasing the scenery and natural features of the land. These two holes excel at that; the view is incredible. Hole 4 is a great turnover shot. Hole 8 was in the 600ft position when I was here and it's a fantastic wooded par 4. Hole 13 is so well designed with the two small lakes to deal with. Hole 16 is an excellent par 4 with an S shaped fairway with great elevation and lots of rocks in the fairway. The one that stands out the most to me is hole 17 because of the rocks as you approach the basket and the breathtaking view from the top of the hill looking back down the fairway.

Navigating the course is easy as there are next tee signs everywhere and maps are provided at the hilltop clubhouse. The concrete tee pads are in great shape. The course is more wooded than open. There is lots of landscaping that's been done here, especially with built up hills lined with large rocks. The course is so well maintained and it shows. I just can't say enough good things about this course and the entire complex!
Cons: The ONLY thing I can say here is some of the tee signs are sun bleached and difficult to read, and it would be nice if there was a way to indicate which position the basket is in on the sign.
Other Thoughts: John has put innumerable hours turning this into the best place ever to disc golf and it shows. This is a top notch complex with a number of incredible courses, and there are more courses on the way. If you ever get a chance to make the trip up here, DO IT! Plan on spending more than one day because these courses are long, have lots of elevation changes and they will wear you down. And that's coming from someone who can play 4 rounds in a day no problem.

This truly is the mecca of disc golf!

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nature's Gift to Disc Golf

5+    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 120  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.1 Years
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where to begin...
--The course utilizes elevation changes on just about every hole (IMHO - the best obstacle on a course)
--Great mix of Wooded & Semi-Open holes
--The signs are in good condition and feature a nickname for each hole
--Hole 13 has three different water hazards!!
--Beautiful scenery of the northwoods of Wisconsin
--Contains signature holes that will be implanted in your mind for years including holes 2, 12, 13
--Navigation was a breeze
--Pro shop on-site with one of the nicest hosts you will find
--Perfect combination of bomber holes, technical holes, LHBH/RHFH & LHFH/RHBH holes, water holes, and even a few ace runs
--Virtually no trash throughout the course
--You feel as if you are the only ones on the course (normally this is actually the case)
--Feeds the addiction and then some
--very well maintained course
--Mowed weekly/bi-weekly
--Nice, large tee-pads
--Has two hybrid courses w/ concrete tee-pads to play an alternative course mixed with Granite Ridge
--$10 per day is well worth it
--Icing on the cake: has so many other amenities that are tied in with coming to highbridge
--Isolated from all of the riff-raff of a city course
Cons: Cons are few and far between and you have to be very nit-picky to find them

--Bugs can be an issue, bring spray
--Far away (honestly this is a pro for me, but some might think its a con)
Other Thoughts: There has never been a course that takes my breath away on just about every hole the way this course does.

Having played over 50 courses, with some of the best throughout the country, I can honestly say this is the best course I have ever played, with Gold, Granite Ridge, and Horseshoe Canyone following close behind. I am sure that there are a few courses in the world that can compete for the "Best Course in the World" title, and this has to be either at the top of the list or in the top 3. I took a long time in deciding to review this course because I didn't want to just give it a 5 after my first experience, but it has passed the test after playing it 7 times now. I want to thank John for creating this mecca for the disc golf community and doing it all with a big smile on his face. In closing, travel as far as you can to play here. During my last visit, there was a group of guys that came all the way from Sweden just to play at Highbridge for 3 weeks.


17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/8/2009   7/4/2010
Review By: OakCreekKiller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: Full complex of disc golfing. What more could you want. Distance and strategy. Beauty and manicured. Blueberry is the crown jewel of this place. We are trying to make this a once a year trip.
Cons: Middle of Wisconsin away from any conveniences. Details of other immaculate courses missing. Minor points for a great course.
Other Thoughts: A must visit if in Wisconsin.

3 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Just awesome

1    6/9/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.2 Years
22 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Blueberry is a special course, and stands out even among the other great courses at the Highbridge complex. It plays on the large hill that makes up most of the property, with some great elevation changes. Most holes use some form of elevation to add challenge and variety, with a great mix of fun downhill holes, tricky sidehill shots, and tough uphill holes, with some hilly greens to add roll away risk. The holes play through a mix of forested areas with thick trees and brush off the fairways and more open areas, with several holes that play into or out of the woods.

There is a great mix of lengths here, with a few holes that are aceable with great shots, and a couple you can really open up on but that still have trouble to get into with an errant drive. You'll need all kinds of different shots to be successful here, with left and right turning holes in a pretty good balance, and enough length, terrain and shape variety that none of the holes really feel the same.

There are nice concrete pads for every hole, with good texture for grip even when wet. The course doesn't hold too much water, the drainage is good enough that we were able to play the day after a big rain with no real areas of standing water or too much mud. There are basic signs showing the map and distance, and when combined with the map on the scorecard make it easy to follow the course. The whole property is nicely maintained, and was trash and vandalism free, adding to the atmosphere here.
Cons: There are only two minor issues I have with this course, neither of which are enough to take away from the awesome experience here. The signs in general at Highbridge are pretty basic, and many have faded due to sun and weather. Also, many holes on Blueberry have alternate pin placements, and on many blind holes you have to walk ahead to see which placement is currently in use, a marker would be nice to avoid that.
Other Thoughts: This is the crown jewel of a fantastic disc golf complex. Blueberry by itself would be a destination course, and when you add in the other courses available on site this is definitely a must play. Blueberry is more beginner friendly than Granite Ridge or Gold, but still has enough length and challenge that some new players might find it frustrating. More experienced players will fnd a ton of variety and different challenges here. The natural beauty here and the great views from a few places on the course add even more to the experience.

22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to Beat

1    6/12/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: PA Frolfer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It really is tough to beat this course - it truly has it all. Elevation, water, the fun factor, some distance, and a good challenge. I have played many courses around the country and felt compelled to rate the Highbridge courses (along with Flip City). What Blueberry Hill has over Flip City is the challenge factor. Blueberry Hill offers a little bit of everything: water, elevation, distance, open holes, wooded holes, option holes (hole 11 comes to mind), and overall beauty. Blueberry Hill (like the rest of the Highbridge courses) offers a real challenge and are great tournament courses. Blueberry Hill is definitely the "best of the best"! Holes 10 through 13 offer such an amazing four hole stretch. The pond factor at Blueberry really makes you think about shot selection. Go to Highbridge and stay for a week!
Cons: Tough to find any cons about the coolest disc golf facility in the world - I wasn't a big fan of hole 17, but if that's my only complaint then that's my only complaint. The bugs really weren't that bad, as some of the other reviewers have seemed to imply. The distance from civilization could be a con, but I enjoyed the secluded weekend.
Other Thoughts: No question about it - the Highbridge courses are the top of the line. If you haven't been out to Highbridge, Wisconsin, then do it. That's all I have to say.

7 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.