Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #18 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 This is the forest stay home pretty boys.

5+    6/4/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 101  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful and totally peaceful. Yeah you might get a tick or skeeter bite but hey this is the northwoods. Over half of the holes would be a signature hole at most courses so enjoy the greatness. Great mix of shots. Views abound.
Cons: Being picky: signs could improve a bit and a little better moving at times but its good enough when your next to a national forest. I didn't drive to the sticks to play in a city park.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to Highbridge go, unless you can't live without your hair products and skirt. I'm not sure who the guy is giving this place a half disc but he must have a grudge. Highbridge is what disc golf is about. Great people, great piece of land, 4 courses that will challenge every level and 2 other courses and John the owner is very friendly and wants everyone to enjoy the outdoors.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What Doesn't This Course Have

5+    10/13/2012   3/13/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 72  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great signage throughout the course
-Has several holes that satisfy every disc golfers taste.
-Very clean
-Well maintained course
-Requires every shot and ability a person can have to have a good round.
-Natural beauty. I've played this course in spring and fall and this course has several holes that warrant a camera.
-Will challenge a good disc golfer while giving average players enough satisfaction to keep them coming back for more.
-Honestly im trying to think of one thing this course doesn't offer besides great winter play. However, i have not played any course in the northern winter that reaches anywhere near its summer potential.
-This course offers distance holes, short holes, up hill throws, down hill throws, water hazzards, prairie throws, rocky landscapes, hyzer drives, anhyzer drives, finesse shots, and anything else you can imagine. Play it!
Cons: Ummmmmm....I guess the only thing i can come up with is i like heavily wooded, heavily technical, short holes and this course only offers 4 holes that fit exactly that description. Oh yeah and perhaps the mosquitos im sure get bad at the right time of the year but welcome up north.
Other Thoughts: If you play this course and don't like it. Clean your discs, put them in your bag, pack it up and put a price tag on it because there is no way you like disc golf. This isn't my favorite course, but i would definately put it in my top 7 or so. I could only rate it a 4.5 or 5 so i rated it a 5 but it deserves a solid 4.75 from almost any disc golfer preference. Do not be turned off by the guy who rated this course a .5. The only person who would bother rating this course that low is someone who doesnt know what they are talking about. I don't care what "tour" this guy is on with his girlfriend, this course is top of the line by all standards. To rate a course a .5 because of wood ticks and long fairways (as the only two negative things that guy could point out about the course.) shows me the guy either hasn't played it or he thinks a course he lives by should be the best. Blue Ribbon Pines is a nice course. I have played them both about 10 times, but Blueberry Hill is a better course imo. Definately is not 4 point rating difference between them and i can guarentee that.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Winter Wonderland

1    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: WOTI
Played: 99  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A very good variety of shot needed for this while still providing multiple options for almost every hole. The course has very good elevation changes and the occasional pond. Going off the fairway can be punishing. This course also offers views that are picture worthy.
Cons: This course is not a suitable winter course unless you are looking for a good workout. Expect knee to waist deep snow with buried obstructions. Only 2 or 3 tee boxes had been cleared completely with the remaining of them having a 2x3 foot spot cleared.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to camp out there next summer and play all day everyday.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the very best

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nearly flawless hole variety. I won't list all the disc golf shots that exist, but assure you that this course has room for all of them. The scenery and wildlife are stunning. Great use of elevation.
Cons: Needs better signs, but I'm not docking it a half point (as I did for Granite Ridge), because most of the pins on this course were visible from the tee. It wasn't much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: It's amusing to see a course this good hidden so far from "civilization" (by which I mean airports and hotels).

I was only here for a day, and I do recommend allowing more time than I did. 2-3 days should be enough.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The best of Highbridge?

2-4    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Open, tight, long, short, right, left.....What more could you ask for? Nice cement tees, decent signage, nice baskets. Garbage and a place to sit at every tee.
Cons: a bit rough around the edges, everything is mowed nice, but there are some surprise wet spots.
Other Thoughts: This was far and away my favorite course of the weekend at Highbridge.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ten sub-par courses where three excellent ones should be.

1    5/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 53 Not
Pros: -The courses we played were decent elevation with a few scenic areas.
-Using a golf cart on two of the courses was a blast.
-Lots of interesting things going on around the property.
Cons: -Ten courses in one place? How could it fail? Well, with only three people to maintenance, design and continually expand on what they have, they've got quantity without quality.
-The property is 'okay' for disc, but compared to what? This course is the second top rated course in the nation, but I've played dozens more scenic, interesting, and that take time and effort to create a unique discing experience.
-Ticks. I'm not usually bothered by anything the woods can throw at me, but every step into the rough (and by that I mean the 'fairways') and you brought 4 or 5 ticks out with you. If you're on a tour, like we were, expect to be picking them of you for the next four states.
-Surprise water. Not just water, which can be an interesting obstacle, but Surprise Water due to a lack of maintenance and any signage to speak of. Even scouting ahead on each hole, the difference between the overgrown fairways and an overgrown swamp were indiscernible.
Other Thoughts: -Doesn't belong in the top ten, let alone the top five. Do yourself a favor and bypass this and Mt. Du Lac if your touring in the US. Play nearby at Blue Ribbon if you want to see what a top five course should look like.

7 of 60 people found this review helpful.

 The best?

1    6/23/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *Has everything you could ask for in a course:Elevation changes, water, lots of trees/woods, open meadows, holes across hill sides, large rocks and anything else you can think of
*Possibly the best hole ever, #13, if you have the back pin between the pond and swamp
*Clearly marked, especially each tee
*Starts and ends near Honka House/pro shop
*Scenery is beautiful
*Nicely mowed/maintained
Cons: *Was a bit wet from all the rain when I played it, but nothing else
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved this course, played twice in a day. Really nothing bad to say about it, other than I can't play it every day. If you could only play one course for the rest of your life, this might be the one...

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/2/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Open for the most part. some baskets are more wooded. all varieties of fairways on this course! Water hazards, over grown woods, bugs, wild life around every corner. Not the course for the prissy disc golfers out there. Amazing views of the landscape as well!

if it isn't a windy day in highbridge, i usually will play this course. you have the option to branch off to the granite ridge course after 12! which is a great way to avoid the pond on 13!
Cons: Some ponds kind of sneak up on you (13) I have lost a few to the water... only con is it is the most popular course in Highbridge, some back ups here and there. you shoot over the parking lot on basket 2 tee off, but if you play it smart. you will be fine...
Other Thoughts: i recommend playing this course!!!

i have seen all sorts of wildlife playing this course. i've been amazed at the view from basket 17! it is one of my favorite places to sit back and have a "thought"

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the trip

1    8/30/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: IronJack
Played: 51  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Outstanding, picturesque setting. Great variety of hole design and interesting layout. Punishing rough, yet forgiving fairways, i.e., enough to challenge and reward for smart golf, tough enough to ruin a day for dumb golf.
Cons: Remote, and not much on amenities. Come prepared, plenty of food, water, bug spray, sunscreen, etc., and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: I'd call it world class, but I haven't personally been around the world playing disc golf, so let's just say in terms of course design, layout and environment, it's the best I've ever played and while I imagine it could be matched, it'd be difficult to beat by much.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/1/2008   8/13/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 46.8 Years
2 Helpful / 37 Not
Pros: Decent course. was thewe for PDGA Pro Worlds. The course was beautiful because it was ready for Worlds.
Cons: The whole complex was a problem for me. Everything is 45 minutes away to anywhere and ladging is questionable even at 45 minutes away let alone on the property.
Other Thoughts: If you do not mind roughing it and coming into this area very prepared, then there will be no problems. Watch out for the bears. when they say "in the middle of nowhere, you are here.

2 of 39 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.