Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #8 (Taken 8/2009)
5 / 420ft.   4 / 605ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/20/2010   2/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
19 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I drove up to the Highbridge complex of courses fully expecting to be underwhelmed - sure they had bunches of courses, but were they really the cream of the crop? The answer is a confident 'yes' - these courses and the complex itself lives up to expectations!

Although my final choice for 'best of' course went to the Gold course, Blueberry was a close second and earned my 5 rating. Blueberry has the most variety of any of the courses with a great mix of well-defined and more open holes. Distances off the tee likewise range from long par 4's to very short par 3's that are reachable by even the beginner player. All staple shots will be needed for this course and it will expose weakness with punishing rough and some well thought out elevation hazards. One of the other pros that the Blueberry course has over its siblings is the wow factor on some of the holes like the rock walls of hole 3 and the immaculate and private fairway running through hole 8.

Hole Profile
'Outer Orbit'
Hole 9
While it is one of the shortest holes on the course, this one captures the imagination and remains memorable several months after playing. Extremely straightforward, all that the ninth hole requires is a short turnover putter or midrange; the key here is touch and angle to land near the pin while matching the angle of landing with the left to right sloping hillside. Good drives will certainly yield birdies here and even drives that are slightly off will have the opportunity to catch up with a nice putt. Perhaps not the most technical hole I've profiled, but one of the most fun!
Cons: Although it has the most variety and some of the most memorable holes, Blueberry also has several holes which appear to be somewhat tweener's for the highest skilled players. These are holes where a great drive will land between 70-100ft and even great putters will only have a small liklihood of getting birdie. I feel that the Gold level course is better matched to the most skilled players (duh!).
Other Thoughts: To anyone who is wondering if this place is worth a trip - definitely! Although I only had a day to play all of the courses, I feel like I could have easily spent a week here without getting bored. Camping, wilderness, golf carts, and tons of natural beauty all make this place one of the best destinations in disc golf.

19 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 OLD BLUE!!

2-4    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 264  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
11 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Pretty much everything has already been said in terms of Pros for this course. This course Is DEFINITELY a "Best of the Best" by all means. I has everything any DGer could ask for. And it has TONS of water hazards. Which in my opinion makes for a great course. It turns a relaxing round into a challenging blood pumping round real quick! It has a bunch of downhill bombs, uphill shots, tight windows, annys, hyzers, wind, private property, the whole shi-bang... And another HUGE Pro to this course is John (The Man). What a nice guy. Super helpful and just a genuine guy all around!
Cons: The Disc guy (Don i think they called him?) was supposed to show up with over 3000 discs!! And after losing my main distance drivers(With no Back-ups) I was SUPER eager to meet him. Well, that guy never showed up! He had about 10 guys waiting patiently for him eager to spend cash. So on that note, I wish the "Pro shop" was open for more hours out of the day.. No biggie, I survived!!:)
Other Thoughts: A buddy and I made this our Labor Day weekend vacation. It was awesome! Definitely a MUST DO for any DGer who's got a serious problem thinking, dreaming, and throwing Discs... Thanks John and everyone who makes this place possible!!

11 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/22/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 88  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course contains every challenge a disc golfer could hope for. It has elevation changes, water, short and technical, open bomber, tight wooded fairways, and open shots with just enough obstacles to test your line shaping ability.

Specifically:
-Great flow from the different challenges you will face.
-Out of bounds are technical, holes designed with them in mind, but not abusive.
-A long, exercising walk with some of the greatest scenery you will ever see.
-Several holes are 400+ long, a few 500+, but each are different in some way, making no hole seem a copy of another.
-Several holes are 250 feet long, making shot selection (fairway driver or midrange?) important and a fun challenge.
-2 1/2 to 3 hour round (group of 4-6) is over before you know it.
-You will use every disc in your bag.
Cons: The only con one can think of is dependent on whether you can stay in the fairway or not.

Some of the grass far off the fairway is rather dense, tall, and will require spotters. If you play alone and concentrate on staying clean, you will not have any problems.

Beyond that, there is nothing worthy of griping about as this really is the best combination of holes and challenges one can pack into an 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: If Highbridge were not a complex with 5+ courses to play, Blueberry may be too far out of the way to warrant its own trip. However, once you are there, it is easy to see why this is one of the best courses in the world. It is still well deserving of the 5 "discs" rating despite having wild and dense rough.

Every year we make a trip to Highbridge for a whole weekend (3 days) of nothing but discing. Blueberry is always deserving of multiple rounds. The other courses have marquee holes making their courses worthy of being played, but Blueberry does not have a single hole which you would consider a chore to finish.

I did not even notice an issue with the tee pads until it was brought up here. With the ends of the pads and the baskets color coded for the specific course, they would be more of a positive than a negative. I did not have a single issue with them, nor did anyone else in my group, some of who have had ankle and knee surgeries in the past.

Lastly, I would not consider it a Con because it actually improved the course, but the reassignment of holes 14-18 seems a little confusing at first. The new Hole 17 may take you a while to play because it will be hard to resist taking out the camera and snapping several shots of the scenery around you.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 BH IS THE BEST

1    8/30/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: brettsup
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: -In the wilderness
-Secluded
-HIGH grit tee pads for extra grip big plus
-Well maintained was in beautiful shape when i went.
-Very nice maintenance crew
-Beautiful views for the glorious north woods of wisco
-Course has every obstacle you could wish for water elevation natural rock formations etc.
Cons: -signs were kind of faded
Other Thoughts: Cant believe having grippy tee pads would be a con for someone lol.

2 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Golf Experience

1    7/18/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.3 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:

What is there to say that has not been lauded time and time again about this great DGC: NOTHING! Yet, I will review to encourage to make the pilgrimage to northern Wisconsin and experience the great disc golf complex they have there at Highbridge and because every review is a bit different and important.

Blueberry Hills has all the things that make a great DGC great, and has them in spades.
It is run and maintained by people who truly love the sport and the facility is in the middle of nowhere so everyone there is of the same mindset: Let's have some fun playing some disc golf.
Here is some of what you can expect at Blueberry:

- Risk and reward shots, Shot Variety, Challenging and Fair
- Wooded and open holes, Short and long holes, elevation changes
- Scenic views, beautiful trees and fields and rocks (I like rocks, ok?)
- Creative and informative signage (more on that in a bit)
- Maintained fairways
Need I go on? Ok.
- Incredible layout; course starts and ends right in the same spot
- There's a great Club House with friendly folks, a small stash of discs and reasonably priced refreshments
- Not crowded, you will not have to wait to tee off (for the most part)
Cons:

- Some of the signs are quite faded.
- In a few places I wished the grass was a bit shorter or the fairway was wider but not to the extent that I'd blame it for having a bad round. I just need to learn to hit the fairway.
- If you're a recreational golfer like myself, prepare to loose a few discs; the out of bounds can be very thick.
- Far away from civilization, bring what you need for this trip
Other Thoughts:

Again, this course specifically (and the whole complex) has so much to offer.
Most of the things I listed under "Cons" are just the "lay of the land;" and don't make the course unplayable or diminish your golf experience in any way, which is why I believe Blueberry (like many courses) deserves the highest rating.
If you find yourself on the Highbridge DG Complex, make sure not to miss this course and try to play all of them if you have time.
If you want a world-class disc golfing experience look no further that Blueberry.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome.... but #1?

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 41.4 Years
4 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: The scenery was breathtaking both on the course and on the way up. The long drive to me is a pro, I play to get away from everyday life and this is not every day life up there. The course did have a little of everything thats fr sure. Short, long, tight, open, up down and all around.
Cons: After having both of my knees surgically repaired years ago, the tee pads were way to ruff'd up. After playing the first couple tee pads I had to simply throw from behind, to the side or in front of them. There is a science to tee pad construction and please oh please everyone out there learn from this. With many techical holes on Blueberry, not being able to pivot IMO makes it not so fun.
Other Thoughts: Other than the tee pads and some really ruff rough, I loved the course. #1 in the world???? hmmm not in my course's played book. The fun factor was a 4 for me out of 5. I played it twice, first when I go there and again before I left after playing the others. Granite IMO is a more fun course and if I had to do again, I'd of played Granite twice. Gold....whole nother story.....

4 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 The Holy Grail of Disc Golf?

2-4    7/3/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: mcbrandt
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Located on a breath-taking property. Yes, I said 'breath-taking.' Kinda lame, but it's true! Excellent variation from hole-to-hole. Great elevation change and usually multiple options for the route to the basket. Not easy, but playing under par is definitely a possibility. extremely well-maintained. Very little litter on the ground. secluded enough where you feel like you could take a break mid-round for a picnic lunch, which i did. IMHO, this is the best course up there, and possible the best course in the world.
Cons: Since they do not have a system where the tee sign denotes which pin is in play, just ask John or someone else at the pro shop. John is about as nice a person as you could meet.
Other Thoughts: This course, part of the Highbridge Sports Complex, is simply amazing. I made the mistake of only coming up for two days and one night. You really need to be there for at least three/four full days. This is the course I would choose to play repeatedly because it is the most well-balanced, and its fun-factor rates the highest. While it is certainly possible to break par, it is just as easy to break a +10. Just an incredible property.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Heaven on Earth?

2-4    7/4/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: kyleo2o
Played: 91  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
12 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Course is set in a pristine forest and is extremely well maintained.

Zen like feeling of solitude and disc golf is all that matters.

The shorter holes here all utilize the elevation and play alot longer than their actual length. Most offer two or three distinct pathways to the basket all with different risk and reward. #4 has a huge slopping rock face that goes up towards the basket fun skip shot.

The longer holes offer spectacular landscape, scenery, and rolling hills. With really cool rock walls coming into play. #2 has an awesome view of the hills and a huge rock alcove.

Some holes offer huge 90 degree angle left and right doglegs. #14 and #16 is crazy you shoot up a hill then right up some more hills than further right and finally out with another 100ish to the basket.

One hole had a pretty mind blowing 3 different water hazards!

This course utilizes every element Highbridge Hills has to throw at you in my opinion it isn't close to the hardest either maybe just the perfect mix of challenge and fun.

You get a sense of accomplishment just playing up there you're completely at one with everything in this place that is so incredibly dedicated to not only Highbridge but disc golf in general. It is well worth the trip from ANYWHERE(group of 5 Swedish there for 25days).

In my opinion it is located in the perfect place if it weren't hard to get to it would probably be played too much and loose its magic. We went for 4 days 3 nights and played around 250 holes and waited during one round. At one point there were about 8 groups out but its such a massive place you really don't run into anyone else. Its extremely peaceful. When you speak with people at the club house everyone is just very nice and extremely happy to be there.
Cons: Signs were a little faded.

Could utilize thumbtacks or something to signify which pin placement is in use.
Other Thoughts: Every disc golfer should make a trip to mecca.

12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: JakeTJ98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of open and tight holes. The elevation changes and trees make this course challenging and fun.
Cons: Some of the signs are a little bit faded but not too bad. Some of the "next tee" signs are missing or hard to find, but most holes have a path from the basket to the next tee. There are a lot of holes where you can't see the basket from the tee, so if it's your first time playing it can pay to scout the hole first to see just where the basket it. Especially where there is a large difference between the "A" location and the "B" location.
Other Thoughts: As others have said, this complex is well worth the trip.

4 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    7/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Beautiful surroundings. On top of the hill with fantastic views and well cared for fairways and teepads.

-Signage. As with every course on the property (with the exception of Chestnut Grove and Woodland Greens) the signs were fantastic from the detailed signs at the tees to the "next tee" signs after most holes.

-Great flow. The course flowed well. This goes along with the good signage.

-Tons of elevation changes. One of my favorite aspects of any course, from the uphill shots to the downhill shots and everything inbetween. (For some reason, one of my favrite holes was 2)

-Good obstacles. Really challeged you and every shot you have. Along with that, great risk/reward. It really showed.
Cons: It's really a challenge to think of anything bad for this course. It's amazing in most every way.

The only con is the 6 hour drive which is probably shorter than for most of you.
Other Thoughts: There's no question that this course is truely the best of the best. Best in the world? That's an opinion, not a fact. The ratings really can't show the best course in the world, only the course that people liked he most. Maybe someone likes Blueberry Hill better, maybe someone Flip. But theres no way to truely name a "best" But it was a joy to play this course and I would suggest it to anyone who loves disc golf.

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.