Highbridge, WI
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A sweet, textured berry

2-4    8/24/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blueberry is one of the best combinations of design, elevation, variety, and challenge of any course I have played.

I really enjoyed the use of terraces here (a feature also used on Gold). On many holes the green or part of the fairway is raised above the surrounding terrain, creating some nice landing areas and a different feel.

The are a number of memorable holes here. Hole 2 is an open drive onto one of these terraces. Hole 8 is a challenging uphill shot through a fairway that won't allow for your max distance drive. Your next shot is a full shot through a gap into an open area, followed by an accuracy-testing approach into a wooded area. My slightly inaccurate shots left me awkward shots along the edges of the fairways.

Hole 9 is a sort of ace run but requires an arching turnover shot or forehand (for RHBH) to a steeply sloping green. You could ace it, but if your putt rolls the wrong way, it could be a bogey.

Hole 13 was maybe my favorite in the complex. A wall of trees blocks the landing area, another terrace that can be reached with a spike hyzer, a big forehand, or an accurate shot through the one gap. After that you approach the basket beyond a pond that is on another terrace above you. You have to walk this entire fairway beforehand, but it's so scenic that you won't mind.

Hole 17 is an epic uphill hole with the basket perched above a natural granite wall. I could go on with more of the holes but will spare you.

The course makes great use of fairways that go from wooded to open areas or vice versa, risky putts on slopes, narrow fairways alternating with long bombs that still require placement. There are multiple tees on most holes, but I only played the main tees (the white ones, I think). Navigation wasn't bad, but you'll want to have the scorecard/map with you.
Cons: Same as with Gold, you never knew which position was in use. If you are going to play any course more than once (and you really should give yourself enough time to play all of them multiple times), I'd recommend Blueberry. The second time is more fun as you remember which route you want to take.

As with all the courses at Highbridge, the tee signs are mediocre. I'm skeptical of the distances shown (I think they underestimate the true distance). Some are faded and difficult to read.

All of the Highbridge courses have some issue with searching for discs. If you can play here with friends, do. Blueberry is not the worst for this issue, and the fairways were perfectly mowed when I played. But the woods will leave you searching if you get far off the fairways. Bring your bright orange discs.
Other Thoughts: This seems to be the most played course at the complex, and for good reason. It is difficult to think of any element that this course lacks, and moreover, any element that it doesn't use really well. As I went through the course pictures before writing this, I had a lot of moments of "Oh, yeah, that hole! I forgot about that one, that was a good one, too."

Although this is the most recreational-friendly of Gold, Granite Ridge, and Blueberry, this isn't an easy course and true beginners might be frustrated. But this course would stand near the top of the heap even if it wasn't at Highbridge with all these other great courses.

When you're writing a review and get sad that you're back on your couch rather than getting another crack at those tough shots, you know you're reviewing a great course. This was one of my favorites.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Blueberry almost perfect

1    5/26/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are to play one course up at Highbridge Hills, it should be Blueberry Hill. It probably is the course that gives you the most of what Highbridge has to offer- incorporates the styles from of every course on the complex added with amazing views and striking landscapes. All baskets stick out with their Mach 3 dark blue color.

Beginners would probably enjoy this course, but it is for slightly more advanced to pro players. A variety of shots will need to be utilized since the holes have a nice mix of diversity- long holes, short wooded holes, downhill, uphill, left, right, etc. Unless you have well over a 400' drive, 1/3 of the holes are unreachable off the tee, leaving you with decisions to make on how to set up your next shot.

Signature Holes:
#2- downhill hole with a rock-wall-lined tiered green
#13- Hole with two large ponds- one right up next to the pin that you have to shoot over.
#17- uphill pump set among a large grouping of rock- John (the owner) is planning to put in a waterfall here.

NOTE: Some of the holes are very unique, with large moss-covered rocks amidst the trees. Hole #4, #16, and #8 have the pins set amongst this setting and could almost be signature holes themselves.

Solitude-
I rarely see anyone on this course and I've played it many times throughout the year.

Landscape/ Vistas-
Amazing views of the surrounding country side. Hole 2 and 3 have great views overlooking the Chequamegon National Forest- the best time to play is in the fall when the leaves change color. The landscape is a great setting with the rocky outcroppings among the trees.

Tee Pads- great large grippy pads.
Cons: This course can get wet, so if there has been a lot of recent rain wear out some waterproof boots.
Other Thoughts: Lastly, I will comment on the complex-Highbridge Hills. If you make it up here, chances are you drove a long way, so it doesn't make sense to play just one course. The great thing about the courses at HH is that they vary in difficulty, so pending on your skill level or what you're in the mood for, there is a course that will most likely fit your needs. As standalone courses, three are still absolutely amazing- Granite, Blueberry and Gold - if one of the courses doesn't satisfy you, you only have to walk a couple hundred feet to a totally different course- The Bear- long, tight and woodsy- very hard, Gold-very long, mostly open, Granite- mostly open, fairly long, Woodland Greens- short technical course through the woods, numerous ace runs, Blueberry- open and woodsy, some long, some short technical holes. The grounds are organic, beautiful and calm.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Highbridge's Finest

5+    7/2/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is arguably Highbridges best course. There are large, level grippy tees on every hole here. The land at Highbridge is second to none. The views and just the feeling of solitude alone make this a must play course for any serious disc golfer. The navigation here is pretty easy as well. They offer scorecards with an accurate map on the back of it at the pro shop building too. This would probably be recommended for first timers, but you'd figure it out without one. They just recently replaced most of the old signs with new ones. The signs show a basic hole layout, hole #, The different pin locations, and distances and pars for the various pin locations. These serve their purpose just fine. All the holes were recently mowed or being mowed when I went. The mowing of all these courses alone is pretty much a full time job here so if its a little overgrown you're just gonna have to deal with it or go play the Ashland elementary school course. There are beautiful blue powder coated mach 3 baskets on all the holes that are in great shape and catch well. You'll need every type of shot in your arsenal at this course as well. There's an excellent mix of left, right and straight shots here. There's also a great variation of different distances with the shortest being hole 1 at 210 feet all the way up to 605 feet on hole 8. The elevation changes are also a big factor in scoring well here. They do a fantastic job of using the available terrain and incorporating it into the course design. 6 of the 18 holes have at least one type of water hazard on them as well. This always makes for a more challenging round. The rough is also pretty brutal in most spots, so for blind shots a spotter would be highly recommended. There's a good mix of tightly wooded and more open holes, with some of them having both. They also have garbage pails and homemade log benches on nearly every hole as well. As I mentioned earlier but can't say enough is that the peacefulness of this course is, and for that matter any of the highbridge courses, pretty much impossible to match.
Cons: The bugs can get bad but as the previous reviewer said, this ain't your typical city course. You're way up in the middle of nowhere. Bring bug spray and you'll be fine. As I mentioned earlier it may not be mowed to everyone's standards but take into consideration all the courses on the property. With this being said I've never seen it even remotely too overgrown to play. These are all just nitpicking really though. Also not even a con but make sure to bring plenty of water or Gatorade. This course is no joke. Again not a con but hole 1 starts a little ways east (behind) the pro shop with hole 2 being right in front of the pro shop throwing over the parking lot. I usually just start on hole 2 and finish on 1 which brings you right back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course as well as the Gold and Granite Ridge are must play courses for any serious disc golfer. I make at least one trip up here every year since I first played it five years ago. If you're not into camping or only like school/city courses this probably isn't for you. I should say DEFINATELY isn't for you. This is a big boy course so you'll need to put on your big boy pants to play it and the other on site courses. One of my favorites and I strongly recommend it to anyone that takes disc golf seriously.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is the forest stay home pretty boys.

5+    6/4/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 99  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful and totally peaceful. Yeah you might get a tick or skeeter bite but hey this is the northwoods. Over half of the holes would be a signature hole at most courses so enjoy the greatness. Great mix of shots. Views abound.
Cons: Being picky: signs could improve a bit and a little better moving at times but its good enough when your next to a national forest. I didn't drive to the sticks to play in a city park.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't been to Highbridge go, unless you can't live without your hair products and skirt. I'm not sure who the guy is giving this place a half disc but he must have a grudge. Highbridge is what disc golf is about. Great people, great piece of land, 4 courses that will challenge every level and 2 other courses and John the owner is very friendly and wants everyone to enjoy the outdoors.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

What Doesn't This Course Have

5+    10/13/2012   3/13/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2013
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great signage throughout the course
-Has several holes that satisfy every disc golfers taste.
-Very clean
-Well maintained course
-Requires every shot and ability a person can have to have a good round.
-Natural beauty. I've played this course in spring and fall and this course has several holes that warrant a camera.
-Will challenge a good disc golfer while giving average players enough satisfaction to keep them coming back for more.
-Honestly im trying to think of one thing this course doesn't offer besides great winter play. However, i have not played any course in the northern winter that reaches anywhere near its summer potential.
-This course offers distance holes, short holes, up hill throws, down hill throws, water hazzards, prairie throws, rocky landscapes, hyzer drives, anhyzer drives, finesse shots, and anything else you can imagine. Play it!
Cons: Ummmmmm....I guess the only thing i can come up with is i like heavily wooded, heavily technical, short holes and this course only offers 4 holes that fit exactly that description. Oh yeah and perhaps the mosquitos im sure get bad at the right time of the year but welcome up north.
Other Thoughts: If you play this course and don't like it. Clean your discs, put them in your bag, pack it up and put a price tag on it because there is no way you like disc golf. This isn't my favorite course, but i would definately put it in my top 7 or so. I could only rate it a 4.5 or 5 so i rated it a 5 but it deserves a solid 4.75 from almost any disc golfer preference. Do not be turned off by the guy who rated this course a .5. The only person who would bother rating this course that low is someone who doesnt know what they are talking about. I don't care what "tour" this guy is on with his girlfriend, this course is top of the line by all standards. To rate a course a .5 because of wood ticks and long fairways (as the only two negative things that guy could point out about the course.) shows me the guy either hasn't played it or he thinks a course he lives by should be the best. Blue Ribbon Pines is a nice course. I have played them both about 10 times, but Blueberry Hill is a better course imo. Definately is not 4 point rating difference between them and i can guarentee that.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Winter Wonderland

1    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: WOTI
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A very good variety of shot needed for this while still providing multiple options for almost every hole. The course has very good elevation changes and the occasional pond. Going off the fairway can be punishing. This course also offers views that are picture worthy.
Cons: This course is not a suitable winter course unless you are looking for a good workout. Expect knee to waist deep snow with buried obstructions. Only 2 or 3 tee boxes had been cleared completely with the remaining of them having a 2x3 foot spot cleared.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to camp out there next summer and play all day everyday.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the very best

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nearly flawless hole variety. I won't list all the disc golf shots that exist, but assure you that this course has room for all of them. The scenery and wildlife are stunning. Great use of elevation.
Cons: Needs better signs, but I'm not docking it a half point (as I did for Granite Ridge), because most of the pins on this course were visible from the tee. It wasn't much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: It's amusing to see a course this good hidden so far from "civilization" (by which I mean airports and hotels).

I was only here for a day, and I do recommend allowing more time than I did. 2-3 days should be enough.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The best of Highbridge?

2-4    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Open, tight, long, short, right, left.....What more could you ask for? Nice cement tees, decent signage, nice baskets. Garbage and a place to sit at every tee.
Cons: a bit rough around the edges, everything is mowed nice, but there are some surprise wet spots.
Other Thoughts: This was far and away my favorite course of the weekend at Highbridge.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ten sub-par courses where three excellent ones should be.

1    5/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 48 Not
Pros: -The courses we played were decent elevation with a few scenic areas.
-Using a golf cart on two of the courses was a blast.
-Lots of interesting things going on around the property.
Cons: -Ten courses in one place? How could it fail? Well, with only three people to maintenance, design and continually expand on what they have, they've got quantity without quality.
-The property is 'okay' for disc, but compared to what? This course is the second top rated course in the nation, but I've played dozens more scenic, interesting, and that take time and effort to create a unique discing experience.
-Ticks. I'm not usually bothered by anything the woods can throw at me, but every step into the rough (and by that I mean the 'fairways') and you brought 4 or 5 ticks out with you. If you're on a tour, like we were, expect to be picking them of you for the next four states.
-Surprise water. Not just water, which can be an interesting obstacle, but Surprise Water due to a lack of maintenance and any signage to speak of. Even scouting ahead on each hole, the difference between the overgrown fairways and an overgrown swamp were indiscernible.
Other Thoughts: -Doesn't belong in the top ten, let alone the top five. Do yourself a favor and bypass this and Mt. Du Lac if your touring in the US. Play nearby at Blue Ribbon if you want to see what a top five course should look like.

7 of 55 people found this review helpful.

The best?

1    6/23/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 86  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: *Has everything you could ask for in a course:Elevation changes, water, lots of trees/woods, open meadows, holes across hill sides, large rocks and anything else you can think of
*Possibly the best hole ever, #13, if you have the back pin between the pond and swamp
*Clearly marked, especially each tee
*Starts and ends near Honka House/pro shop
*Scenery is beautiful
*Nicely mowed/maintained
Cons: *Was a bit wet from all the rain when I played it, but nothing else
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved this course, played twice in a day. Really nothing bad to say about it, other than I can't play it every day. If you could only play one course for the rest of your life, this might be the one...

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.