Highbridge, WI 
Highbridge Hills - Blueberry Hill Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Left Fairway



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wow!

1    7/12/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Beautiful surroundings. On top of the hill with fantastic views and well cared for fairways and teepads.

-Signage. As with every course on the property (with the exception of Chestnut Grove and Woodland Greens) the signs were fantastic from the detailed signs at the tees to the "next tee" signs after most holes.

-Great flow. The course flowed well. This goes along with the good signage.

-Tons of elevation changes. One of my favorite aspects of any course, from the uphill shots to the downhill shots and everything inbetween. (For some reason, one of my favrite holes was 2)

-Good obstacles. Really challeged you and every shot you have. Along with that, great risk/reward. It really showed.
Cons: It's really a challenge to think of anything bad for this course. It's amazing in most every way.

The only con is the 6 hour drive which is probably shorter than for most of you.
Other Thoughts: There's no question that this course is truely the best of the best. Best in the world? That's an opinion, not a fact. The ratings really can't show the best course in the world, only the course that people liked he most. Maybe someone likes Blueberry Hill better, maybe someone Flip. But theres no way to truely name a "best" But it was a joy to play this course and I would suggest it to anyone who loves disc golf.

10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: AdamE
Played: 223  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything about the course screams excellence! This is the kind of course where the difference between a good and bad shot is obvious on the scorecard and the risk/reward here is superb.

There are a number of great pro par 4's where you really have to think about your shot. This course seems nearly balanced between hyzer and anhyzer shots (I'm a RHBH player). I really like that and it definitely adds to the challenge. Every type of shot is represented here, and there are often multiple ways to throw a hole.

There are elevation changes galore here and the course is absolutely beautiful. Many of the holes here would stand out as signature holes on any other course. At first I thought holes 2 and 3 (despite their elevation changes) didn't fit with the rest of the course since they're so open, but then I realized one aspect of good course design is showcasing the scenery and natural features of the land. These two holes excel at that; the view is incredible. Hole 4 is a great turnover shot. Hole 8 was in the 600ft position when I was here and it's a fantastic wooded par 4. Hole 13 is so well designed with the two small lakes to deal with. Hole 16 is an excellent par 4 with an S shaped fairway with great elevation and lots of rocks in the fairway. The one that stands out the most to me is hole 17 because of the rocks as you approach the basket and the breathtaking view from the top of the hill looking back down the fairway.

Navigating the course is easy as there are next tee signs everywhere and maps are provided at the hilltop clubhouse. The concrete tee pads are in great shape. The course is more wooded than open. There is lots of landscaping that's been done here, especially with built up hills lined with large rocks. The course is so well maintained and it shows. I just can't say enough good things about this course and the entire complex!
Cons: The ONLY thing I can say here is some of the tee signs are sun bleached and difficult to read, and it would be nice if there was a way to indicate which position the basket is in on the sign.
Other Thoughts: John has put innumerable hours turning this into the best place ever to disc golf and it shows. This is a top notch complex with a number of incredible courses, and there are more courses on the way. If you ever get a chance to make the trip up here, DO IT! Plan on spending more than one day because these courses are long, have lots of elevation changes and they will wear you down. And that's coming from someone who can play 4 rounds in a day no problem.

This truly is the mecca of disc golf!

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Nature's Gift to Disc Golf

5+    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Where to begin...
--The course utilizes elevation changes on just about every hole (IMHO - the best obstacle on a course)
--Great mix of Wooded & Semi-Open holes
--The signs are in good condition and feature a nickname for each hole
--Hole 13 has three different water hazards!!
--Beautiful scenery of the northwoods of Wisconsin
--Contains signature holes that will be implanted in your mind for years including holes 2, 12, 13
--Navigation was a breeze
--Pro shop on-site with one of the nicest hosts you will find
--Perfect combination of bomber holes, technical holes, LHBH/RHFH & LHFH/RHBH holes, water holes, and even a few ace runs
--Virtually no trash throughout the course
--You feel as if you are the only ones on the course (normally this is actually the case)
--Feeds the addiction and then some
--very well maintained course
--Mowed weekly/bi-weekly
--Nice, large tee-pads
--Has two hybrid courses w/ concrete tee-pads to play an alternative course mixed with Granite Ridge
--$10 per day is well worth it
--Icing on the cake: has so many other amenities that are tied in with coming to highbridge
--Isolated from all of the riff-raff of a city course
Cons: Cons are few and far between and you have to be very nit-picky to find them

--Bugs can be an issue, bring spray
--Far away (honestly this is a pro for me, but some might think its a con)
Other Thoughts: There has never been a course that takes my breath away on just about every hole the way this course does.

Having played over 50 courses, with some of the best throughout the country, I can honestly say this is the best course I have ever played, with Gold, Granite Ridge, and Horseshoe Canyone following close behind. I am sure that there are a few courses in the world that can compete for the "Best Course in the World" title, and this has to be either at the top of the list or in the top 3. I took a long time in deciding to review this course because I didn't want to just give it a 5 after my first experience, but it has passed the test after playing it 7 times now. I want to thank John for creating this mecca for the disc golf community and doing it all with a big smile on his face. In closing, travel as far as you can to play here. During my last visit, there was a group of guys that came all the way from Sweden just to play at Highbridge for 3 weeks.


17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/8/2009   7/4/2010
Review By: OakCreekKiller
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: Full complex of disc golfing. What more could you want. Distance and strategy. Beauty and manicured. Blueberry is the crown jewel of this place. We are trying to make this a once a year trip.
Cons: Middle of Wisconsin away from any conveniences. Details of other immaculate courses missing. Minor points for a great course.
Other Thoughts: A must visit if in Wisconsin.

3 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Just awesome

1    6/9/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
21 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Blueberry is a special course, and stands out even among the other great courses at the Highbridge complex. It plays on the large hill that makes up most of the property, with some great elevation changes. Most holes use some form of elevation to add challenge and variety, with a great mix of fun downhill holes, tricky sidehill shots, and tough uphill holes, with some hilly greens to add roll away risk. The holes play through a mix of forested areas with thick trees and brush off the fairways and more open areas, with several holes that play into or out of the woods.

There is a great mix of lengths here, with a few holes that are aceable with great shots, and a couple you can really open up on but that still have trouble to get into with an errant drive. You'll need all kinds of different shots to be successful here, with left and right turning holes in a pretty good balance, and enough length, terrain and shape variety that none of the holes really feel the same.

There are nice concrete pads for every hole, with good texture for grip even when wet. The course doesn't hold too much water, the drainage is good enough that we were able to play the day after a big rain with no real areas of standing water or too much mud. There are basic signs showing the map and distance, and when combined with the map on the scorecard make it easy to follow the course. The whole property is nicely maintained, and was trash and vandalism free, adding to the atmosphere here.
Cons: There are only two minor issues I have with this course, neither of which are enough to take away from the awesome experience here. The signs in general at Highbridge are pretty basic, and many have faded due to sun and weather. Also, many holes on Blueberry have alternate pin placements, and on many blind holes you have to walk ahead to see which placement is currently in use, a marker would be nice to avoid that.
Other Thoughts: This is the crown jewel of a fantastic disc golf complex. Blueberry by itself would be a destination course, and when you add in the other courses available on site this is definitely a must play. Blueberry is more beginner friendly than Granite Ridge or Gold, but still has enough length and challenge that some new players might find it frustrating. More experienced players will fnd a ton of variety and different challenges here. The natural beauty here and the great views from a few places on the course add even more to the experience.

21 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Tough to Beat

1    6/12/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: PA Frolfer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: It really is tough to beat this course - it truly has it all. Elevation, water, the fun factor, some distance, and a good challenge. I have played many courses around the country and felt compelled to rate the Highbridge courses (along with Flip City). What Blueberry Hill has over Flip City is the challenge factor. Blueberry Hill offers a little bit of everything: water, elevation, distance, open holes, wooded holes, option holes (hole 11 comes to mind), and overall beauty. Blueberry Hill (like the rest of the Highbridge courses) offers a real challenge and are great tournament courses. Blueberry Hill is definitely the "best of the best"! Holes 10 through 13 offer such an amazing four hole stretch. The pond factor at Blueberry really makes you think about shot selection. Go to Highbridge and stay for a week!
Cons: Tough to find any cons about the coolest disc golf facility in the world - I wasn't a big fan of hole 17, but if that's my only complaint then that's my only complaint. The bugs really weren't that bad, as some of the other reviewers have seemed to imply. The distance from civilization could be a con, but I enjoyed the secluded weekend.
Other Thoughts: No question about it - the Highbridge courses are the top of the line. If you haven't been out to Highbridge, Wisconsin, then do it. That's all I have to say.

7 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/29/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.5 Years
28 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As with all the courses here; nice tees. Long and roughed. All level; many with landscaping around them. Tees at theses courses are poured perfectly. Sloped for water drainage. Thick crusher run surround; again done to specs of high quality. Slope, for drainage; but gradual slope for entrance and exit from tee area.
Two sets of tees for various skill levels. I think the red (short) tees are very rarely played and slightly difficult to find.
Signage a bit weather worn; but serves purpose well enough. We thought a number of the hole lengths were under actual length.....but, whether this was due to length increase or our feeling everything was 50 foot longer than actual, due to playing good/tough courses on good/tough terrain; is undetermined.
Fairly good signage in regard to where to go to next. Blueberry probably does this the best any course here...probably because it is realized this course is played by a very high percentage of visitors.
Benches for taking a breather; available often. Shade placement of said benches done well.
The course is filled with quality shots. Blue level players will find nearly every hole challenging. Multiple pin placements. Long pins (which seemed to be in place in abundance), knock these holes into true par 4 land for all but the best of players.
Maintenance of this complex, and Blueberry in particular, is phenomenal; given the size and toughness of terrain. Many areas; especially on the greens; require weed whacking; in addition to mowing. Imagine the love and dedication (both in heavy doses to make this happen) needed to keep these courses playable; much less looking good. Memorial Day weekend, owner John Jokinen, himself, mowed from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m. on Friday evening/Sat. morning (followed by working an eight hour shift, delivering mail). Sounds like he was trying to catch up for the weekend crowd...but, this kind of dedication is needed from April to September, to keep things in what is really outstanding condition. We played every course on the property this weekend; and there were really no bad spots on any. Past experience has been very similar. (Though, mother nature is mother nature, and to some extent; can make maintenance quite difficult). Blueberry was pristine.
Numerous alternate layouts to "mix it up", and to offer more options to various skill levels. Granberry, a bit shorter than Blueberry or Granite Ridge; yet, very enjoyable. We played some of these holes; while playing both Granite and Blueberry; partially to get in a few bonus holes, and partially, because until you get the signage to next tee zeroed in, you may find yourself on a tee designed for this alternate layout.
"The Crown" is a new alternate layout; using top of complex holes from Blueberry, Gold and Granite. Believe me, single digits over par is not bad for this layout either......
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha....
I laugh at your bid to score well on Blueberry, probably the second easiest course at HB; or any other course here for that matter. Go spend your precious time at Chestnut; playing round after round of night golf; if you want to post some scores to offset your overall HB beat down.
The atmosphere here is great. For instance, basement of the Honka House has showers and bathroom available. Be respectful, pay your greens and other applicable fees; and appreciate this good will gesture. John J. is doing everything he can to make your stay a good one. He supplied us with two air mattresses, to make our camping experience more enjoyable. Now, bring your own stuff, and don't treat him like a butler; but, the point is; here at HB, these guys are still treating you like a welcomed guest; rather than simply a paying customer.
Pets are welcomed. Please clean up after them. Even though pets are welcome, you are much more likely to come across bear scat, than dog waste.
Take the time to sit on a bench and admire the birds singing and the expansive woods and hill views while you're here. This is beautiful country.
Copper Falls nearby. There is a $7 park entrance fee. Falls are nice. Two falls converge from different directions and result splits in a third (seemingly uphill) direction. Unique water fall setting. Huge observation tower (climb all the way to the tree tops....but....the view is actually somewhat disappointing....tree tops actually prevent wide views). In this regard, many views at HB better than Copper Falls....but, the falls are nice at CF park....
Dune buggy style four wheelers available for rent. Adds another level to HB experience. Rent one, or two, and zoom around the course as you play; and between rounds. These things have roll cages and the whole works!!
Cons: This, and all of the HB courses, beat the living snot out of you. This is rough terrain physically; and tough courses; mentally. Bring plenty of fluids (especially if it's 80 degrees; as it was this past trip). Snacks beneficial on these courses; for energy maintenance.
If there's really any con to this course; this would be it; the terrain is rough. Blueberry is perhaps, one of the least demanding in this regard, which is probably one of the reasons it is the highest ranked on the complex. You get more of the relaxing feel that parks department courses generate. With that said, even on Blueberry, the schule grows in thick and between the hill climbing and the demanding shots; even this course is not for the faint of heart.
For gold level players; more baskets can be seen off the tee, more are reachable with good shots; a few holes may feel pitch and putt. These will be considered welcome deuce opportunities by most.
There are bugs here. HB is in the middle of nowhere. You should plan bug spray against the mosquitoes and ticks will more than likely be in abundance. These things should be expected in this type of terrain. True, rural settings of a private nature especially, are going to have some insect issues.
Pro shop type of amenities are still a bit primitive. The staff here is small, and on the plus side; they spend their time keeping courses in good condition. There are well constructed disc golf carts, available for rent or purchase. So, they are working in the area of making pro shop full of the stuff you want; but I doubt shop(s) are always manned.
Other Thoughts: 've been here 5 times now; roughly once, each year, since installation.
I have waited to review these courses for a couple of reasons. A) They wear me out so much; both physically and mentally, that trips here can end with primary thought being; WOW! B) Difficult to find the time or energy to simply walk courses and think of individual holes. C) Wanted to review in an objective way; especially in regards to rating. D) Wanted to have an individual course outlook; rather than complex wide....
You will note that this is difficult to do. So many things factor into the complex as a whole, that it is fairly difficult to remember to rate courses by themselves. However, with this intent in mind, I did pay attention to this area better this journey. Blueberry actually impressed me even more than in the past. You can score here, but tourney SSAs (from pro Worlds); which show par (54) to be a good score for gold level players; illustrates quality of play needed. Beautiful, imaginative shots; on terrain equal to same adjectives.
Original designer of this, and most of the original courses at HB, Chuck Kennedy, has recently weighed in on a HB high point or two. He stated that it was some of the true par four (5) holes that may have been an "objective accomplished," in his mind. Blueberry has a few of these; #8, and #12 first come to mind.
I have to say, that I have spent a number of years trying to come up with a reason nearly all of the HB courses should not be 5 rated. I have come to the conclusion that they deserve this rating (I have over 450 courses played; and was a solid blue level player, when younger, and still at the lower end of that player rating.) In addition, I have played quite a number of the top 100 courses; and, after pretty serious consideration, have to say that Blueberry, Gold, Granite, partial Bear, and from what I hear, Whitetail, when done, stand toe to toe, with the best of any of these. Woodland Greens is one of the very best of it's skill level courses in business too. Even in the pure terrain category, guys from Colorado, East Coast mountains (both north and south), and even northern Cali/Oregon guys, will find this terrain to be equal to their home turf. I think even big arm Texas guys will find the length/difficulty plenty enough to satisfy there need for challenge. Many holes here somewhat similar to ski hill courses; but do not require ski lift or monstrous uphill climbs. Course laid out in manageable way in this regard. Terrain is tough and beautiful; but not "one round and you're done."
Take a rest after your Blueberry round, and you'll be ready for more action on another great course; with a number of different options to choose from....Woo hoo!!!

28 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca of Disc Golf

1    5/21/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blueberry Hill at High Bridge Hills is one of the best courses I have ever played. I would rate the course more beautiful than Flip City while not quite as fun. Holes 2 and 3 offer amazing views of the valley and great elevation changes. Hole 8 is an amazing hole through the woods that goes into the open in the middle of the hole and back into the woods on a rocky green for the finish. Holes 10 through 13 are where the course really shines, with 11 offering an option through some pines over a pond and hole 13 featuring three ponds which you have to throw around or over. Blueberry Hill is more fun than Granite Ridge and Highbridge Gold and was designed to be as such. The grass on holes 10 and 11 are lush, golf grass that truly looks and feels like a golf fairway. John Jokinen at Highbridge needs to be commended to the highest level. Besides offering the Mecca of disc golf, he is such a friendly person. The compassion that John puts into these courses is nothing but extraordinary.
Cons: It's hard to find cons at Blueberry, but I will briefly address a few things that I spoke with John about. The two finishing holes at Blueberry are at first confusing and then disappointing. The original design of these two holes was much better (as has been spoken by Chuck Kennedy as well) but apparently people didn't like walking back up the hill. However, the rock face and the view from the green on 17 seem to be well worth it. Hole 17 is nothing more than a dink hole, and 18 does offer a challenge. But the view is nothing compared to the view offered by the old hole 17. My suggestion would be to play the original layout, which would involve playing from 17's tee to 18's basket and then back down to 17's basket. The only other con I had was the location of the alternate pins. I had a tough time always knowing where the pin was located, and John did say this was being taken care of with a marker system. With that idea in mind, I went ahead and gave the course a 5 star rating.
Other Thoughts: Even though I would rate Flip City ahead of Blueberry Hill, the course would still rate in the top 5 courses I have seen. Even though Blueberry Hill isn't as well kept as an Idlewild or Flip City, the design and overall experience of being at High Bridge wins out. Hole 17 issues aside (I just didn't like the fact that a 230 foot no challenge hole would be at the end of a course like this when it could have been so much better with the rock face cliff green), the Blueberry Course is one of the top courses in the nation. Blueberry Hill has 4 or 5 distinct signature holes. Like other High Bridge courses, the course starts at the top of the hill, goes down into the park, and finishes back at the top of the hill. With that thought in mind, the course is a challenge to play and walk. The experience of High Bridge is also bar none - for example, not only did I speak with the owner on multiple occasions, but he invited me to stay at his house one of the nights (for free) and even gave me a private tour of the back nine of the Bear course and a special walk through of the brand new Whitetail course that will be opening later this summer. The Whitetail course will be an awesome addition to the Highbridge facility, including an amazing 1000 foot hole down the main Highbridge path with 4 ponds bordering the fairway, a breathtaking 120 foot drop down a hill (approximately 350 feet in total length for the hole) to a green guarded by a pond, a rock faced waterfall bordering the fairway of a hole, and a beautiful hole throwing out over the dam to the hillside (near Granite Ridge number 7). Highbridge is truly the Mecca of disc golf.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Highbridge Hills is AWESOME!

5+    8/4/2007   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
25 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Usually in my reviews I give a description of the land. It is imposible with this facility and course. Please see my other thoughts.

This course is absolutely a blast to play!

EQUIPMENT
Concrete Tee Pads-> They are super grippy and very large. They were installed correctly and all of them are flat. Many have great landscaping around them. Some with stairs. Each tee pad has Blueberry Hill painted on them and a blue stripe on the front edge of the tee pad.
Benches-> There are several benches throughout the course to sit down and enjoy the beauty this land offers.
Tee Signs-> They are very descriptive with accurate distances of both pin positions. There are also several signs helping navigate this course.
Baskets-> Blue DGA Mach 3 baskets in very good condition. They look so awesome and go great with the theme of this course.

COURSE DESIGN
There is very good flow on this course and I had no problems navigating it. You start near the clubhouse and finish near the clubhouse. There are no conficts with other holes. There is plenty of space between holes to avoid conflicts but no super long walks to get to the next hole. Every hole is unique and this course will test every shot in your bag. There is not 1 bad hole on this course. There is a good mix of tough par 4's and fun par 3's. This course is fun for all skill level players which is why it's so popular. The very best players in the World played this course in 2007. Here is a link to SSA. It played 55.08 for rounds 1-3 and 53.70 for rounds 4-7.
http://www.pdga.com/course-ra...?TournID=6277

TERRAIN
This course has it all. Elevation, water, woods, well maicured grass fairways, and rocks. It can't get any better than this. This large piece of private propety is well maintianed.

OTHER
Although some may find the area it's located a negative it's a big positve for me. The first time I was in the area I saw a black bear cub. The views are amazing. The owner is a super nice guy and he will give you any information you need. The people are there to play disc golf and it's not crowded. It's a very relaxing place to have fun and play disc golf.
Cons: I have no cons. I dream about wining the lottery and opening a disc golf facility like this. This course is the signature course on this property. If this were in a popluated area the owner would be making a nice living as a pay to play venue.
Other Thoughts: I have spent significant time at Highbridge as an amateur in 2005 at Mid Nationals and as a Pro in 2007 at Pro Worlds. This is my #1 spot to play disc golf ahead of KC, Des Moines, Quad Cities, Madison, Milwaukee, Peoria, Kalamzaoo, Detroit, and others. There is nothing like this place. It's special and a must visit if you love disc golf. Plan at least a week to stay here an play disc golf.

Come prepared. You are in the middle of nowhere. Bring food, drinks, and any other items you may need.

Search Highbridge Hills disc golf on Youtube. There are some clips where you can get a feel for the land. Check the links/files. There are some great pictures on PlayDG.com . There is an abundance of pictures and resources about this course. This will tell you how awesome this course is. It's in the middle of nowhere. If it was an average course you would know nothing about it.

I have one of my favorite moments of disc golf on this course. I skip aced #3 at Pro Worlds and was the only person to ace on the course during the week. That ace was worth just under $300.

25 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: tomdizzlefizzle
Played: 100  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well where to start on this amazing gem of a disc golf course. Evey hole is a hole of its own, the scenery is incredible, with rolling hills, tightly wooded fairways and water hazards set up to boggle your mind of where to place your drive. You have your chances to make birdies and many chances to make some great pars. The whole feel of the course is amazing and for any disc golf maniac this is a must to play. Well developed, multiple pin locations, Unique to the max. Get to highbridge, bring some friends, make it a weekend or even longer if you can but don't miss out on this heavenly disc golf mecca.
Cons: Its so far away from me.
Other Thoughts: When I went to highbridge this was the last course I played on the day we were leaving and I only got to play it once. If you go there for your first time, play this course first so you have a chance to play it again. Don't make my mistake.


10 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.