Athol, ID 
Farragut SP - A.W.O.L. DGC Share
Uploaded By: Sean Johnson Hole #2 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 325ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
So Many Trees, So Little Time...

5+    7/12/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 73  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the longest and toughest of the three 18-hole courses at Farragut State Park.

This course has six par 4 holes, including very challenging beginning and ending holes.

These are legitimate par fours that require hitting a specific landing area with your first drive, and then driving again on a different line to the basket. Two good drives will give you a look at a birdie, but missing either drive will have you looking at bogie or worse.

Most holes are tightly wooded, with narrow fairways. Each hole has at least one, and often more fair routes to hit, but they will punish shots that are even slightly off line. The rough can get pretty tight.

Good risk/reward opportunities on several holes. They offer one tight, straight line to the basket that gives a chance for a birdie, but if missed will take you to bogie quickly. Or another safer line that eliminates the birdie but gives a better chance for par.

Large, flat concrete tee pads, and good Innova baskets. Tee signs are simple brown lathes with hole number, par, and distance. Each basket has a "next hole" arrow, and navigation is simple.

Large parking area with drinking water, restroom, practice basket, and a driving net. The course makes two nine-hole loops so you can hit the restroom, refill water or get to your car after the front nine.
Cons: There is little elevation change on this course. There are a few holes that play up or down maybe 10 - 15 feet, but that is about it.

If you like big, open drives this is not the course for you.

The tee signs are simple hole #, par, and distance. A larger sign with the hole layout would be welcome for first-timers as the basket location is hidden from several of the tees.
Other Thoughts: Farragut State Park is an outstanding disc golf destination. With a family friendly 9-hole course (being expanded to 18) and three very good 18-hole courses, you can play here for many days and not get bored.

Check out the Visitor Center for a very nice selection of reasonably priced discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If you want a challenge and have an arm

5+    8/2/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: MikeHuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very long holes so bring your arm. Nice layout. Not crowded at all. Lots of variety even though there isn't much elevation change.
Cons: Don't expect to do as well as on the other two courses at farragut. Humbles you. No spectacular features (water, cliffs, etc), but still really fun.
Other Thoughts: I like it. Well done. Hope to improve my score on this challenging course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Double Back Diamond

5+    6/20/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Newest of the three courses at Farragut. A very challenging (sometimes long) and well laid out course consisting of some shorter technical holes along with a few long holes (620 ft for example). One of the things I enjoy most about Farragut is, the parking lot can be full but the percentage that you'll have to wait or even run into another group is very minimal.
Cons: No real elevation changes' mostly level ground unlike Wreakreator. Can be rough if your not in shape due to amount of acreage covered.
Other Thoughts: Improvements are being made and things are looking great!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in Idaho

5+    10/17/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: hyzer315
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout! Demanding drive right outa the gate!
well placed baskets and clean fairways, while still keeping them technical. Nice concrete tees.
Great distance shots throughout the whole course.
Cons: Needs some good tee signs with distance and hole numbers. Navigating hole to hole was a little tough the first few times I played this course, but just like any new course, as it gets broken-in, basket to tee trails will be obvious.
Other Thoughts: Great course, props to Keith & JP for all their hard work!!
Also, a big Thanks to Keith (the park ranger) for all the maintenance he puts into all the farragut courses! We are fortunate to have such a great place to play!!! So all you Idaho DG players respect the courses and please continue to keep them clean, pack it in, pack it out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the tougher courses you will ever find

1    7/4/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Double Black Diamond Course is the new 18 hole disc golf course at Farragut State Park and combined with the North Star and Wreckreator Disc Golf Courses respectively this makes this place THE disc golf destination in Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. As of right now the course is in and ready to play but is still being worked on so the tee signs and concrete tee pads are not currently in place but the natural pads are easy to use and navigation at the course isn't much of a problem. For those of you like myself who are sad to see the family friendly course go away don't worry because they are currently working on a four hole short course for beginners and children nearby. This course is on the other side of the road from the other two courses and you are still able to use the warm up net for driving and the practice basket for putting as well as the large parking lot and unisex bathrooms. There is also camping on site with running water and showers as well.

This is one of if not the most challenging course I have ever played in my life but with that being said it wasn't overly frustrating and even though I was many strokes over par I was still having fun and enjoying this beautifully made disc golf course. The course has many par four holes that are not only long but extremely difficult to get anywhere near par if you find yourself off of the small but fair fairways. Lots of epic holes and this is the type of course that will better your game and make you learn many different shots, this is the ultimate risk vs. reward course.

The tee pads as of now are either old snowmobile tracks or conveyor belts but they are skinny pieces of rubber that do a decent job for now until the concrete is put in. For most of the holes there is a nearby tree that has a piece of white paper stapled into it that tells you the par, length and name of the hole. There are also little orange flags stuck in the ground that lead you down the fairway or to the next tee pad. The baskets are all in great shape and there is no litter what so ever that I could see. Flow leads you back around to the car.
Cons: Hole nine is the only hole on the course that I was not in love with. It is a poke and pray hole with no fairway what so ever and no way to go under or over the trees. On most of the holes it looks like they have gone through and created beautiful fairways but for some reason on this hole they decided not to cut down any trees and I think two or three would have done the job. There isn't much elevation at the course other than a few small hills which could be a pro or a con depending on who your ask. This course will kick your butt! Do not bring first timers here unless you are trying to get revenge on them or something.
Other Thoughts: One of the coolest things happened to us while we were playing the course somewhere in the back nine but I can't remember which hole. We were putting when we see a doe walk through on one of the paths noticing us but still going through and eat the grass along her way. We putt out and start walking toward the next tee pad which is towards her and as soon as we get too close she kind of slowly hops away. It was a pretty cool experience being only 40 or 50 feet away from this deer and I imagine we were able to get so close because it is a state park and the deer probably see humans quite a bit. Overall a wonderful job done on this one, I can't wait to come back!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.