Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 193ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Alternate Layout and Great Night Golf

5+    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice grass, bathroom and coffee shop right inside of Tee #1, good baskets, pretty well marked.

Best of all is that it is well lit at night and great for playing late. I actually prefer playing at night to playing during the day here.
Cons: Flat, Short, 9 Holes, Crowded, Criss-Cross Layout, Teepads too close to previous basket.

Only play here on the weekends or at night or you will be waiting a lot.
Other Thoughts: Alternate course layout a friend and I developed. We tried to use every tee-pad and basket once and also measured out the holes with a 500' measuring tape. WARNING avoid playing this layout when others are playing the normal one.

Tee 1 to basket 3 for 405 feet
Tee 9 to basket 2 for 292 feet
Tee 3 to basket 9 for 244 feet
Tee 5 to basket 7 for 452 feet
Tee 8 to basket 5 for 325 feet mando tunnel shot
Tee 4 to basket 1 for 276 feet
Tee 2 to basket 6 for 487 feet
Tee 7 to basket 8 for 372 feet
Tee 6 to basket 4 for 217 feet mando right of big tree

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Last Resort

2-4    2/26/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for ACC students, hell I'd love coming out to throw some discs between classes, I don't care how crappy it is! Good course to work on straight throws for your putter and mid-range.
Cons: Students walking by, soccer players by hole #8 sometimes, makes one angry when eager to throw but can't(or shouldn't :D)
Other Thoughts: $5 to whoever tags a slow-moving student walking the sidewalk from hole 3 toward your tee, in the face.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok for it's location

2-4    2/28/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Short course, can get thru it on a 30min lunch
+ Some shots require accuracy
+ Great for new players
Cons: - real short
- poor layout
- to many buildings/fences where you could lose a disc
- Buzy with soccer and classes, some holes are nearly impossible to access at sometimes during the day
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you havn't played it

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Letís See How Many Holes we can Overlap!

1    7/8/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great place to practice you mid-range and putting game. Beginners and novices will appreciate the short layout and few people on this open area of the college. I recommend bringing your friends that have never played to this place and letting them get a feel for the game before heading out to a good course in the surrounding area.

The baskets are in great shape, and the course layout is easy to follow with large painted concrete tees on the walkways. This course is also very easy to spot from Santa Fe coming in, but you'll need to be careful about parking since some of the parking is restricted for the college. Park along the front of the course parallel to Santa Fe and you shouldn't have a problem.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: Where to begin - The biggest negative that the course is too short and dangerous for busy regular play. The whole course comes in at under 2000' and I think the distances markers were being generous. However, I hope this place never is never busy because most holes overlap each other from tee to pin. This is probably the most dangerous layout I have ever played, and assume the designer had no idea what they were doing besides trying to make sure the walkways could doubles as concrete tee boxes.

Plus, as far as the concrete boxes go, the large slick painted numbers made these some of the worst concrete boxes I've ever played. Being a walkway they aren't brushed like traditional boxes and each has a 4' by 4' number painted onto the area, which makes it great to see but too slick to throw from and I was even wearing trail shoes. I recommend throwing from anywhere but the painted numbers.

Finally, the course is simply too short from any experienced player to get a real challenge. This more of an ace run course where every hole could and should be a birdie hole. Also, I've never been a fan to bouncing my disc off of man-made objects and many of the fairways have fences and buildings as fairway obstacles.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there aren't many quality courses in south Denver, so you'll have to head up into the mountains and play Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park or Phantom Falls if you want a real disc golf experience. If you're in the area and can't make the trip to the mountains, I recommend skipping this course and playing the mildly more interesting Schaefer DGC just west on 285. It's about the same in length and difficulty, but at least it has a couple of interesting features and doesn't play in such a hazardous layout.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty but a Goody!

5+    6/28/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new course! Great new baskets and they made it pretty good with what they had to work with. Damn near every basket is behind a tree or something. Great to work on your mid-range and putting. You can cruise this course pretty fast. Easy to navigate your way through this course.
Cons: Short. One bad design was the center of the couse because at one point if it fills up hole 2 throws across 3 and 3 is thowing across 4 and 5. So it make it quite a clusterfuck. They could try to make better signs.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on short game. Hole one play off the wall and sneak it on the left side of the tree. Its a par 2 so if you have a bad drive your playing make up the whole round. Be careful on hole 3 that you either make it over the fence or keep it low, barb wire fence makes it a bit troublesome to get your disc. If you throw a disc on the roof or somewhere that you can't get it go talk to Matt at the student center and he will help you out. Keep it clean!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.