Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #7 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 261ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee (unmarked grass tee, check map for location)



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Can I play through your study group?

1    9/10/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical campus course throwing around the part of the property with the most trees on it. The designer(s) used most of what could be used in a reasonable fashion with the exceptions of the crossing fairways but more on that in the cons sections.

Tee pads are purple squares painted on the cement walking paths that students use to walk back and forth on from school to their car and are fairly easy to locate. There are two tee pads for each hole one, short and long. You can kind of choose how serious you want to get each round, if you want an easy ace run round play shorts if you want to challenge your distance a little more then you can play long tee pads. You can mix and match, there are several things you can do to change it up and it even looks like there are several opportunities for safari holes as well.
Cons: It seems like I've seen a million of these types of courses on school property like they were all thought up by the same person who only knows how to make one kind of course and travels around the country to college, high school and elementary schools putting them in. I call them "cookie cutter" courses because they all look the same, very predictable, bland and make you say "meh" or something to that effect.

The fairways are crossing very badly so multiple groups here could get dangerous. We had to skip a hole because some students were studying outside on a table in our fairway. There are lots and lots of chances for bad things to happen, hopefully disc golfers at this course are being smart and letting pedestrians pass before they throw.
Other Thoughts: This is basically a fun but dangerous putter course on campus.The grass is green and the campus is pretty but the disc golf lacks imagination and challenge for the most part. It's a decent option compared to some of the other courses in the area but be ready to share the course with students and other golfers. This is a nice place for course baggers because a round can last as little as 15-20 minutes but if you're seeking serious golf with wide rimmed drivers you should seek what you're looking for somewhere else.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Layout and Great Night Golf

5+    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice grass, bathroom and coffee shop right inside of Tee #1, good baskets, pretty well marked.

Best of all is that it is well lit at night and great for playing late. I actually prefer playing at night to playing during the day here.
Cons: Flat, Short, 9 Holes, Crowded, Criss-Cross Layout, Teepads too close to previous basket.

Only play here on the weekends or at night or you will be waiting a lot.
Other Thoughts: Alternate course layout a friend and I developed. We tried to use every tee-pad and basket once and also measured out the holes with a 500' measuring tape. WARNING avoid playing this layout when others are playing the normal one.

Tee 1 to basket 3 for 405 feet
Tee 9 to basket 2 for 292 feet
Tee 3 to basket 9 for 244 feet
Tee 5 to basket 7 for 452 feet
Tee 8 to basket 5 for 325 feet mando tunnel shot
Tee 4 to basket 1 for 276 feet
Tee 2 to basket 6 for 487 feet
Tee 7 to basket 8 for 372 feet
Tee 6 to basket 4 for 217 feet mando right of big tree

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Last Resort

2-4    2/26/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for ACC students, hell I'd love coming out to throw some discs between classes, I don't care how crappy it is! Good course to work on straight throws for your putter and mid-range.
Cons: Students walking by, soccer players by hole #8 sometimes, makes one angry when eager to throw but can't(or shouldn't :D)
Other Thoughts: $5 to whoever tags a slow-moving student walking the sidewalk from hole 3 toward your tee, in the face.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok for it's location

2-4    2/28/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Short course, can get thru it on a 30min lunch
+ Some shots require accuracy
+ Great for new players
Cons: - real short
- poor layout
- to many buildings/fences where you could lose a disc
- Buzy with soccer and classes, some holes are nearly impossible to access at sometimes during the day
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you havn't played it

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Letís See How Many Holes we can Overlap!

1    7/8/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great place to practice you mid-range and putting game. Beginners and novices will appreciate the short layout and few people on this open area of the college. I recommend bringing your friends that have never played to this place and letting them get a feel for the game before heading out to a good course in the surrounding area.

The baskets are in great shape, and the course layout is easy to follow with large painted concrete tees on the walkways. This course is also very easy to spot from Santa Fe coming in, but you'll need to be careful about parking since some of the parking is restricted for the college. Park along the front of the course parallel to Santa Fe and you shouldn't have a problem.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: Where to begin - The biggest negative that the course is too short and dangerous for busy regular play. The whole course comes in at under 2000' and I think the distances markers were being generous. However, I hope this place never is never busy because most holes overlap each other from tee to pin. This is probably the most dangerous layout I have ever played, and assume the designer had no idea what they were doing besides trying to make sure the walkways could doubles as concrete tee boxes.

Plus, as far as the concrete boxes go, the large slick painted numbers made these some of the worst concrete boxes I've ever played. Being a walkway they aren't brushed like traditional boxes and each has a 4' by 4' number painted onto the area, which makes it great to see but too slick to throw from and I was even wearing trail shoes. I recommend throwing from anywhere but the painted numbers.

Finally, the course is simply too short from any experienced player to get a real challenge. This more of an ace run course where every hole could and should be a birdie hole. Also, I've never been a fan to bouncing my disc off of man-made objects and many of the fairways have fences and buildings as fairway obstacles.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there aren't many quality courses in south Denver, so you'll have to head up into the mountains and play Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park or Phantom Falls if you want a real disc golf experience. If you're in the area and can't make the trip to the mountains, I recommend skipping this course and playing the mildly more interesting Schaefer DGC just west on 285. It's about the same in length and difficulty, but at least it has a couple of interesting features and doesn't play in such a hazardous layout.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty but a Goody!

5+    6/28/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 32  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new course! Great new baskets and they made it pretty good with what they had to work with. Damn near every basket is behind a tree or something. Great to work on your mid-range and putting. You can cruise this course pretty fast. Easy to navigate your way through this course.
Cons: Short. One bad design was the center of the couse because at one point if it fills up hole 2 throws across 3 and 3 is thowing across 4 and 5. So it make it quite a clusterfuck. They could try to make better signs.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on short game. Hole one play off the wall and sneak it on the left side of the tree. Its a par 2 so if you have a bad drive your playing make up the whole round. Be careful on hole 3 that you either make it over the fence or keep it low, barb wire fence makes it a bit troublesome to get your disc. If you throw a disc on the roof or somewhere that you can't get it go talk to Matt at the student center and he will help you out. Keep it clean!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.