Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 234ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ok for it's location

2-4    2/28/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: + Short course, can get thru it on a 30min lunch
+ Some shots require accuracy
+ Great for new players
Cons: - real short
- poor layout
- to many buildings/fences where you could lose a disc
- Buzy with soccer and classes, some holes are nearly impossible to access at sometimes during the day
Other Thoughts: Worth a play if you havn't played it

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A putter, a mid and 15 minutes.

2-4    11/14/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun litte course located on a community college campus. First hole right by the main building. Though the holes are short, there are lots of things to shoot around from buildings, trees and pedestrians. There is very limited room on this course so accuracy is needed to get close to the pin for the birdie. Several different types of shots are needed from straight, hyzer, anhyzer and thumber. Teesigns on all the holes that show the basket location and though the teepads are all cement, they use the existing sidewalks for the teepads. Seems to work well and saved them some good money so they could buy the great Mach V baskets, my favorite!
Cons: Another example of why build a course here? Space is very limited and plays right on the campus. You have to throw right next to buildings, fences and hole 7 basket is roughly 10 feet from the parking lot. The teepads are on the sidewalks where other people walk. Fairways cross each other and are generally very close together. Watch out for other disc golf users. Someone or something could easily be hit. I can certainly see many close calls with other campus users. It is up to disc golfers to play with respect and caution to others to avoid this. Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if this course is pulled becasue of such issues. Parking could be a problem, watch for signs where to park. No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: A fun little course that does offer lots of different types of shots. Nothing extreme, but it will work your short game. No driver needed here. Definate ace opportunies. I would suggest to play this course on the weekend as during the week it could be difficult to play. A fun course that I would come back to play again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Quick 9

5+    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: BobbyO
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable course, campus mall is kept very nice.
Even Beginners have tons of fun on this course
Chances to ace holes increases the sport of this course
Quick enough to play through multiple times if your time allows
Cons: Hole markers are misleading; poor layout
If you lose a disc and if it ends up in the L&F it's a process to get it back.
Early evening you might find classes around the holes be careful.
Other Thoughts: This is a fast play course and truly is set up for any style or caliber player to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great mid-range course

5+    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great for working on your short game. There are several different types of holes. The course is compact and can be played in 15 minutes on a low traffic day. The staff in the auto department and maintenace crew are disc golf friendly and will usually help gert lost discs back or call if they find one in a locked lot. Write your name an phone number on all discs!
Cons: The tees could be improved, tee pads would be great. The painted pads get a little slick if there is moisture on the sidewalks or your feet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun stuff

2-4    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This courses uses it limited resources as well as it can. There are great obstacles, and tee box #1 is a blast. This course makes you think outside the box. For a nine hole, it included a couple of decent length holes.
Cons: Beware the Auto yard! The large space is backed up right next to the course, fortunately the automotive teachers were kind and let me look for a stray disc.
Other Thoughts: I wish all colleges had courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Letís See How Many Holes we can Overlap!

1    7/8/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great place to practice you mid-range and putting game. Beginners and novices will appreciate the short layout and few people on this open area of the college. I recommend bringing your friends that have never played to this place and letting them get a feel for the game before heading out to a good course in the surrounding area.

The baskets are in great shape, and the course layout is easy to follow with large painted concrete tees on the walkways. This course is also very easy to spot from Santa Fe coming in, but you'll need to be careful about parking since some of the parking is restricted for the college. Park along the front of the course parallel to Santa Fe and you shouldn't have a problem.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #7
Cons: Where to begin - The biggest negative that the course is too short and dangerous for busy regular play. The whole course comes in at under 2000' and I think the distances markers were being generous. However, I hope this place never is never busy because most holes overlap each other from tee to pin. This is probably the most dangerous layout I have ever played, and assume the designer had no idea what they were doing besides trying to make sure the walkways could doubles as concrete tee boxes.

Plus, as far as the concrete boxes go, the large slick painted numbers made these some of the worst concrete boxes I've ever played. Being a walkway they aren't brushed like traditional boxes and each has a 4' by 4' number painted onto the area, which makes it great to see but too slick to throw from and I was even wearing trail shoes. I recommend throwing from anywhere but the painted numbers.

Finally, the course is simply too short from any experienced player to get a real challenge. This more of an ace run course where every hole could and should be a birdie hole. Also, I've never been a fan to bouncing my disc off of man-made objects and many of the fairways have fences and buildings as fairway obstacles.

WORST HOLE/S: #1
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there aren't many quality courses in south Denver, so you'll have to head up into the mountains and play Beaver Ranch/Conifer Park or Phantom Falls if you want a real disc golf experience. If you're in the area and can't make the trip to the mountains, I recommend skipping this course and playing the mildly more interesting Schaefer DGC just west on 285. It's about the same in length and difficulty, but at least it has a couple of interesting features and doesn't play in such a hazardous layout.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  nice short course, good for practicing accuracy

2-4    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: mikko95
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its a good short course, where accuracy is quite important. I didn't use my driver much, and it would be possible to do the whole thing with a putter. It only takes 25 minutes, so its nice to do during a lunch hour or for an evening jaunt. the whole course stays in the a small courtyard, so you're never too far away from the starting point, and if its really sunny, there is always some shade. the holes are all in good condition.
Cons: Its really easy to lose a disc, I didn't, but i almost did. there are a couple holes that are right up against a tall fence with barbed wire, so if the disc went over there would be no way to retrieve it. There is also another hole that goes right over a fenced in electrical box, this one would be possible to climb over, but it would be pretty hard. Additionally, the most of the maps near the tee are missing the par number, so I had to guess on a lot of them. The maps are hard to understand, and posts on hole 7, 8, and 9 are missing maps all together, so I ended going from the hole 7 tee to the hole 8 hole.
Other Thoughts: Worth going to, a nice place to brush up on accuracy skills.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty but a Goody!

5+    6/28/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new course! Great new baskets and they made it pretty good with what they had to work with. Damn near every basket is behind a tree or something. Great to work on your mid-range and putting. You can cruise this course pretty fast. Easy to navigate your way through this course.
Cons: Short. One bad design was the center of the couse because at one point if it fills up hole 2 throws across 3 and 3 is thowing across 4 and 5. So it make it quite a clusterfuck. They could try to make better signs.
Other Thoughts: Great course to work on short game. Hole one play off the wall and sneak it on the left side of the tree. Its a par 2 so if you have a bad drive your playing make up the whole round. Be careful on hole 3 that you either make it over the fence or keep it low, barb wire fence makes it a bit troublesome to get your disc. If you throw a disc on the roof or somewhere that you can't get it go talk to Matt at the student center and he will help you out. Keep it clean!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun short course.

2-4    6/24/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets, great numbering, trees make for more challenge than you might think, short enough you can go try to bingo every hole. On the campus so the grounds are really well maintained. Generally out of the way of foot traffic during the mornings and evenings.
Cons: A short, flat course, not a lot of opportunity to really open up a good drive, except hole #8. Fairways cross each other so when there are many players, you end up on top of one another. Most of this can be worked out by making sure you wait until the group ahead is 2 holes in front of you before starting.

There doesn't appear to be any way to retrieve a disc from over the fence when shooting toward hole #3 (fence on left guards a parking lot), no chance to climb over due to barbed wire. I didn't lose any discs, but wouldn't know where to go if I had.
Other Thoughts: Lots of opportunities for some great accuracy work here. I used my midrange discs a lot, also understable drivers for big curving S shots to get around the trees. This is another course that has options for playing when its empty, if nobody else is playing you could make some holes much longer by shooting at different baskets while increasing some of the difficulty.

I gave it a 3 because my brother and I had a GREAT time here, especially considering 4 other groups around. He's new to the sport and he absolutely loved it because it was challenging but there was no "scary water" or "places to lose these discs I just bought".

Play it 2 or 3 times when you go, it only takes 20 minutes to complete!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lunchtime Fun!

1    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: RandomToss
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you work at the DISH Network building across the street, this is the perfect place to get some short hole practice in during lunch. In this case short is good.
Cons: Could be a bit difficult to play through if there were students about, but luckily they stay on the otherside of campus most times.
Other Thoughts: My buddy did not like the obstacles, as in, every hole is right in or behind trees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.