Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Easy Quick Play Course

5+    5/20/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6
Pros: This course is right next to my house, I end up playing this one a lot since I can play a quick round like like 20-25 minutes if I just play the regular 9.
-Good practice course to test out new discs
-Open fields to practice drives
-Has 9 alternate tees, so you can make it into a 18 hole course
-Alternate 9 holes do actually add a bit of a challenge
Cons: -They still do not have Alternate tee 7 marked

Studying Disc Golf

1    4/10/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Ace runs here on most every hole.
+Easily navigated, especially with a map. Students are quick to help if they know the course at all.
+Tees are spraypainted on the sidewalk and are pretty easy to find, again, print the map.
+Baskets are nice enough for this little pitch and putt campus course.
+Small amounts of elevation help a bit.
+Campus is pretty well maintained and clean. Green grass and no garbage.
+Being on college campuses will increase exposure to more young players.
+Definitely some safari potential here.
+Alternate tees do add a little length to an otherwise short course.
Cons: -Like most campus courses, it can be tough to play at certain times of the day due to people hanging out on the course or passing through. Many sidewalks intersect this course.
-Fairly open and no real challenges. There might be a tree or two but they are easily avoided. There is never a certain shot forced off the tee here.
-You can often see multiple baskets off the tee. Make sure you are throwing at the right one or you will have to backtrack.
-Hitting cars, buildings and people is a real concern here. This course is one where it would be smart to leave the drivers at home to control your shots better and minimize the damage if they do get out of hand.
Other Thoughts: -If you do play here, play in the evening or on the weekends for best results.
-Not a destination course. There are many better courses in the Denver area. Only stop if you live close, are a student, or are a course bagger.
-They did do well with what they had to work with.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/5/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: player7217
Played: 100  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
Pros: Great use of land. Through a grassy field that you could play in your sandals. Not an incredibly hard course but has some difficult shots hidden away in the back few holes. Not many people know about this course so its easy to play during the day with no interruptions during the summer. Great course for beginners because it shows them some short technical shots and others that are a little longer and more open.
Cons: Sometimes gets crowed when school is in during August-April. Some short holes that you only need your putter to throw. Will help you get different discs out of your bag if your used to longer holes.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend this course if you are near by. I don't live to close and I travel up to this course often as well as some others in the area.

Quick pitch and putt

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great baskets, I was quickly able to figure out navigation, As all of the baskets are very visible.
Cons: Signs were not helpful, most helpful hint is where to start. Be careful purple tee pads can be slippery on the dry days. Baskets are near walkways thankfully i played when school was out.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course enough i practiced upshots when i finished, i can mark this off my list of courses

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Quick Track

1    10/13/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: For the space they have, they have been fairly creative with basket placement.

Fun little course to get in a few holes if you are short on time.

The guy mowing was very paitent to let us play through and not run over our disc.
Cons: Just 9 holes and lots of foot trafic when class lets out.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Flying Discs and Sidewalks

1    11/11/2012   11/13/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -DGA baskets that are in great shape
-Nice well-taken care of campus
-The course has some fun well designed holes that take advantage of available obstacles
-There is elevation change on a couple of the holes
-There were tee-signs on about half of the holes that showed the distance, layout of the hole and par
-The course has both regular and long tee pad positions (the longs add a little more distance which is nice since most of the holes are pretty short.
Cons: -This course plays around and over lots of things that could cause safety issues and other conflicts if the campus is busy with other users. Many of the holes play over sidewalks, some play right next to a building, one hole plays over what looks like it gets used as a soccer field at times, and one even throws right near where several doors exit.
-Hole 3 has a barbed wire fence off to the left of it that if you throw your disc in, you will most likely not get it back.
-None of the holes are very long, some of the long tee-pads add some distance to the holes, but overall if you are looking for a course with lots of long holes, this is not the course for you.
-A lot of fairways cross, which could be an issue of the course was ever crowded.
-It is nice to have the tee-signs, but most of them point in the wrong direction, and can mislead you into throwing to the wrong basket. (One tee-sign was facing the wrong direction and made it seem like you had to throw straight through a building)
-It can be hard to navigate at first, especially finding the first tee. I would suggest either trying to find a map or play with someone who has played the course before.
-The tee-pads are marked on the sidewalk, and while it is nice to have concrete tee-pads, it also gets in the way of other users of the campus.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that has quite a few fun holes for the space they had to put it in. The designers used what they had available to make some fun holes. With that said though this course also has a lot of flaws, especially considering all of the safety issues. I would advise avoiding this courses when class are in session, but if you are looking for a quick round in the summer or on the weekend, I would definitely give this one a try.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice campus course

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice grassy area to play barefoot on a summer day. #2 has a creative basket placement (against a building wall) and tee locations (elevated classroom walkway. #5 tucks in nicely behind a transformer and a couple of trees. #6 puts you over by the maintenance shop. There was definitely some thought put in to this course. Short and long tee pads brings the possibility of playing 18 holes. You can see your car the whole time you play if you worry about that kind of thing.
Cons: most signage is blank, leaving you to search for tees. Obviously, it can be crowded during school hours. Criss-crossing of holes occurs quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: Nice to have a course at the college. Lights can make for fun night rounds. A good spot to hit up if you need a DG fix and are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can You Get An A.A. Degree In Disc Golf?

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just typical of a little college course. It's contained in a very small area of the campus. The pads are marked on the sidewalks with a painted number in purple paint. The baskets are a combination of nice Innovas with double chains and some older "spit em out" single chains type. For such a simple little course, there are some really clever little throws to be had here. # 1 has you teeing off an elevated concrete patio/staircase to a basket probably 175' below. You have to put a liittle anhyser on your disc and there's often a crowd watching from the patio. Adds a little pressure to an otherwise simple hole.
# 2 is also a fun little throw to a basket sitting about two feet in front of a brick wall. Do you need to call bank? I'm sure that's a option for the players who play here regularly (or don't attend class regularly).
I also really enjoyed # 5. it's probably a 225' anhyser throw to a basket hidden behind a little electric power supply building and three mature trees. With just the right touch, you could fade your disc around the obstacles guarding the basket for an ACE worth bragging about!
There are alternate boxes marked on the sidewalks adding a bit of a challenge.
Cons: This is not a destination course. It's probably not even a recreational level course. It's probably a combination of a pitch and putt and a REC course. I'm sure, at times, you might have to skip a hole or two due to students lounging on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is just another example of why our young people are graduating from college and aren't ready for the real world and the job market. These students are learning to put anhyser spin on their discs and banking in ACEs on # 2 but learning marketable job skills may not be on their quarter's schedule. This is another of those college's where it might have taken me another quarter or two (or maybe another year or two) in which to earn my degree due to tremendous numbers of disc golf rounds I would have played during my time here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for the space allocated

2-4    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the current layout, there are some creative shots to be had at this course. Not a high volume of traffic on a regular basis allows for a faster pace of play. Good use of natural features.
Cons: I feel like there could be more land used to open up the course a little more. A lot of the holes criss cross to some degree making looking over your shoulder common. Currently the layout has just been changed making it somewhat difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Flow of the course could definitely be better, but this is a nice little piece of land and a good quick play if your looking for a lunch round and in the neighborhood. 2.25 discs in all reality but I will round up!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Layout and Great Night Golf

5+    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice grass, bathroom and coffee shop right inside of Tee #1, good baskets, pretty well marked.

Best of all is that it is well lit at night and great for playing late. I actually prefer playing at night to playing during the day here.
Cons: Flat, Short, 9 Holes, Crowded, Criss-Cross Layout, Teepads too close to previous basket.

Only play here on the weekends or at night or you will be waiting a lot.
Other Thoughts: Alternate course layout a friend and I developed. We tried to use every tee-pad and basket once and also measured out the holes with a 500' measuring tape. WARNING avoid playing this layout when others are playing the normal one.

Tee 1 to basket 3 for 405 feet
Tee 9 to basket 2 for 292 feet
Tee 3 to basket 9 for 244 feet
Tee 5 to basket 7 for 452 feet
Tee 8 to basket 5 for 325 feet mando tunnel shot
Tee 4 to basket 1 for 276 feet
Tee 2 to basket 6 for 487 feet
Tee 7 to basket 8 for 372 feet
Tee 6 to basket 4 for 217 feet mando right of big tree

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.