Littleton, CO 
Arapahoe Community College Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 193ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Can You Get An A.A. Degree In Disc Golf?

1    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just typical of a little college course. It's contained in a very small area of the campus. The pads are marked on the sidewalks with a painted number in purple paint. The baskets are a combination of nice Innovas with double chains and some older "spit em out" single chains type. For such a simple little course, there are some really clever little throws to be had here. # 1 has you teeing off an elevated concrete patio/staircase to a basket probably 175' below. You have to put a liittle anhyser on your disc and there's often a crowd watching from the patio. Adds a little pressure to an otherwise simple hole.
# 2 is also a fun little throw to a basket sitting about two feet in front of a brick wall. Do you need to call bank? I'm sure that's a option for the players who play here regularly (or don't attend class regularly).
I also really enjoyed # 5. it's probably a 225' anhyser throw to a basket hidden behind a little electric power supply building and three mature trees. With just the right touch, you could fade your disc around the obstacles guarding the basket for an ACE worth bragging about!
There are alternate boxes marked on the sidewalks adding a bit of a challenge.
Cons: This is not a destination course. It's probably not even a recreational level course. It's probably a combination of a pitch and putt and a REC course. I'm sure, at times, you might have to skip a hole or two due to students lounging on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is just another example of why our young people are graduating from college and aren't ready for the real world and the job market. These students are learning to put anhyser spin on their discs and banking in ACEs on # 2 but learning marketable job skills may not be on their quarter's schedule. This is another of those college's where it might have taken me another quarter or two (or maybe another year or two) in which to earn my degree due to tremendous numbers of disc golf rounds I would have played during my time here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad for the space allocated

2-4    3/16/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For the current layout, there are some creative shots to be had at this course. Not a high volume of traffic on a regular basis allows for a faster pace of play. Good use of natural features.
Cons: I feel like there could be more land used to open up the course a little more. A lot of the holes criss cross to some degree making looking over your shoulder common. Currently the layout has just been changed making it somewhat difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Flow of the course could definitely be better, but this is a nice little piece of land and a good quick play if your looking for a lunch round and in the neighborhood. 2.25 discs in all reality but I will round up!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Layout and Great Night Golf

5+    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: cridenou
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice grass, bathroom and coffee shop right inside of Tee #1, good baskets, pretty well marked.

Best of all is that it is well lit at night and great for playing late. I actually prefer playing at night to playing during the day here.
Cons: Flat, Short, 9 Holes, Crowded, Criss-Cross Layout, Teepads too close to previous basket.

Only play here on the weekends or at night or you will be waiting a lot.
Other Thoughts: Alternate course layout a friend and I developed. We tried to use every tee-pad and basket once and also measured out the holes with a 500' measuring tape. WARNING avoid playing this layout when others are playing the normal one.

Tee 1 to basket 3 for 405 feet
Tee 9 to basket 2 for 292 feet
Tee 3 to basket 9 for 244 feet
Tee 5 to basket 7 for 452 feet
Tee 8 to basket 5 for 325 feet mando tunnel shot
Tee 4 to basket 1 for 276 feet
Tee 2 to basket 6 for 487 feet
Tee 7 to basket 8 for 372 feet
Tee 6 to basket 4 for 217 feet mando right of big tree

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Students Review

5+    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: DumpsterDane
Played: 91  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2013
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great use of the land. With only a small area to use the put in 9 pretty good holes. With Short tees and long tees it offers 18 different holes. This is a great mid-range and putter practice course.
Cons: Lots of foot traffic. The school removed old basket two. Short holes; all less then 300 except long one.
Other Thoughts: Due to the old two being gone. Hole one is now the hole two. The new hole one tees from the North side of the lot that runs parallel to Santa Fe. Hole 7's long is on the hill northeast of basket 6. Its unmarked and under pine trees, you can tell from the dead grass patch

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: mrkvnmnn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Nicely marked out
-Well groomed
-Quick play, can play multiples rounds in less than 45 minutes.
Cons: -There was a fence we threw over once and hit some cars. Its was hard to find the disc.
-there are light poles benches and people walking around all the time.(They have to get to class)
-It was hard to determine exactly which basket to play to the first time.
Other Thoughts: Great for college students! I wish my college had a course right on campus! I would go out of my way to play this course, but if your in the area its a nice little course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/3/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice baskets and grass to walk on. easy to navigate course. good for a quick game.
Cons: to close to the school. easy to throw over a fence and loose a disc.
Other Thoughts: I wish it was further from the school. There is plenty of room to expand where you wouldn't have to worry about hitting students.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pop Quiz

2-4    8/1/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 70  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enroll yourself in alternative sports education by taking a "course" on the grounds of Arapahoe Community College. Puns aside, this clever, obstacle-laden course is excellent for weaving your discs through tight spaces, such as between trees, around light posts, under low branches, along fences, and even off walls. Playing through the course is a great way to test your underdeveloped skills, or to learn some new non-traditional shots, such as wide hyzers, tomahawks, turbo-putts, rollers and anything else that can help you arrive closer to the relatively short-distanced baskets. Most of the pins are out of view, tucked neatly behind an obstacle, so in order to land that ace or birdie you'll need to be smart with your drives! The mowed lawns, sign posts (regardless of their legibility) and brightly painted sidewalk tees make finding your way a breeze.
Cons: Many reviews warn of the overcrowding and possible clashes of interest between golfers and student foot traffic on the interweaving sidewalks that dissect the course. Since the tees are positioned directly on the sidewalks, outdoor classes and the busy evening hours of the school year (late August through mid-May) will always be a factor. Avoid the unruly and unaware pedestrians by visiting on a mid-summer evening. If you're not pleased with your score, re-play the course in hopes of a passing grade, but don't expect it to change much. One set of tee boxes limits alternate play-throughs unless you get creative when attendance is down. Park along Sumner Street instead of the labeled student lot to avoid run-ins with the campus parking patrol.
Other Thoughts: ACC's DGC could be a convenient practice course if you live, work, or attend class (imagine that) nearby. If you've taken the aforementioned pros and cons into consideration, you've done your homework. It's time head off to school.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 1 Made it Worthwhile

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that I would consider mostly an open field. There are some large and small trees scattered throughout it which the course designers did a quality job of incorporating into most of the holes. Hole 1 made this course worth it for me. If you like bank shots… expect to unload most discs in your bag off of the first tee. The hole starts off of an elevated concrete patio and travels between 175-225 feet. After 30-40 feet there is a large building which spans the length of the hole in which the pin lies 2-3 feet away from the wall. It is a PERFECT bank shot, and a fairly easy one at that. To add a little bit of skill there is a tree right in front of the hole, but that is easily avoided with a nice bank shot. You can also choose to hyzer around the tree for an easy birdie… but the bank is too awesome to not shoot multiple times.

From here, the course is fairly self-explanatory. It is fairly easy to find the next hole if you do some walking around, but bringing a map makes navigating the course easy. Holes 2,3, and 5 all border some sort of alternate property or fenced in area, so accuracy is key if you don't want to lose a disc here (they're easy to get… you just have to hop a fence & trespass). Most holes here are straight shots, but the trees add enough variety to make it a fun yet not-to-challenging round. Hole 6 is the only true straight shot with no trees. Hole 9 was my second favorite hole… not too long, but a small stretch of grass with 7-9 bushes and trees to avoid.

The grass and facilities here are kept very nice, and most people around the campus are very nice to you. Numbers are marked in the ground with purple paint. Each tee is a large purple square (3'x3') with a white number in the middle - they are easier to find than the description on DGCR leads you to believe.
Cons: This course is on Arapahoe Community College campus, so you really have to pick and choose your time of day. The course literally dissects the outdoor "quad" area multiple times, so when students are there it is your job to wait. This means during the school year and in between classes you will have to do a lot of waiting and a lot of making sure people know you're throwing discs. Some people are accommodating… but most are oblivious to the sport of disc golf. Luckily ACC hosts far less classes in the summertime, so there are way less people to come in contact with then.

The course is good considering what they have. It is not very creative, and partially hard to navigate without a map. I threw RHFH on every hole but one, just to show the lack of variety in the park. It is a good course to practice getting close to the pin on, but there is not much technical practice here. Only a few holes have signs, and it is hard to distinguish which basket to throw to off of tee 3. This course is highly susceptible to wind.
Other Thoughts: This is a good practice course for those who live in the area. If I was an ACC student I'd be playing every day. Hole 1 is AWESOME… you don't find too many bank shots out there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Arapahoe CC

2-4    3/16/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -fun course that was different from other courses that you normally play
-the holes were all very short so its good to work on midrange and putting
-for being on a college campus it was much better than expected
-very well kept area
-easy to follow and find the next hole (except the basket on 8, we played to 9 the first time through.)
Cons: -there were things to hit everywhere like light poles, benches, and students
-had to wait for people to get out of the way before throwing on many holes
-tee pads were all on sidewalks which was not a problem but you do not know where the end of the tee pad was.
-very short and lack of very interesting shots

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Last Resort

2-4    2/26/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for ACC students, hell I'd love coming out to throw some discs between classes, I don't care how crappy it is! Good course to work on straight throws for your putter and mid-range.
Cons: Students walking by, soccer players by hole #8 sometimes, makes one angry when eager to throw but can't(or shouldn't :D)
Other Thoughts: $5 to whoever tags a slow-moving student walking the sidewalk from hole 3 toward your tee, in the face.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.