Highbridge, WI
Highbridge Hills - Granite Ridge Share
Uploaded By: jhgonzo Hole #10 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 385ft.   4 / 575ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Mid-Fairway: Uphill 575'.



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Over rated

1    10/12/2013   1/28/2014
Review By: Offconstantly
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great layout of course. There are a lot of great ideas goin on here but most of, if not all of, them are half done. Lots of space and many very cool and interesting holes. Tee pads were nice and in good shape. I really am trying to find "Pros" to list here but it's pretty hard to talk up a turd.
Cons: Well where do I start.The place is pretty much a dump. Garbage everywhere you look. Lots of unfinished projects laying around. Looks like he started on project then got an idea and started another and did that about 10 times without ever finishing one of them. Make place look real, real unwelcoming. Some of the tee pads were half covered with growth from surrounding brush. Again lots of garbage around tees and in woods surrounding fwys. No real direction when you get there as to where to go to pay/park. Since no one was there it was a bit difficult starting off. Signs do not clearly tell you where to go, but I am used to this. The golf carts, I would never use one, are so bad looking. Why advertise these if they are all broke down and in the woods with tree growing through them. Clubhouse had wild life inside. Chased a coon out of the pro shop, if that what you call it. This really is a great course, but it really does look like a dump. There are a few buildings on property that really bring the place down. There is a house near 1 tee that is about the biggest eye sore ever and the stench of poop was very strong on the first 2 holes. Couches outside turned upside down. Garbage everywhere around starting area. Abandon cars. Piles of lumber that have plants growing ON them. Yes ON them.
Other Thoughts: The people who complain about the sceeters and thorn bushes aren't real discers. Like I said the course design is great, but the rest of the place is in real need of some TLC. Finish the projects and clean up the couches, trash, fix the septic, empty a garbage can or 2. The pay box was stuffed full of 5 and 10 $ bills so use some of that money and clean up a bit. Even a single days work would really make a difference. I'd volunteer for a season pass. For $5 I should be dry heaving on the 2nd tee cause it smells like someone took a poop in my disc bag. I would suggest playing this course in the early spring when overgrowth and bugs aren't bad. Good luck and if you find a Pro Star tie-die on the 13 hole near the pond it's mine. That was the first day with it to.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Hard as a rock (and some tall grass)

2-4    8/23/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Granite Ridge is like the big brother of Blueberry: a little bigger, a little tougher, a bit less clever, but still from the same lineage. The course is about 10% longer than Blueberry, but you'll feel it.

The first seven holes gradually play down the hill, and these feature some of the more wooded holes.

Hole 3 has a drive across a thin land bridge with danger on either side to a difficult landing spot. I only trusted a thumber here off the tee. After the drive the hole opens up into a wide fairway. I respect holes that acknowledge your drive doesn't have to be your longest shot.

Hole 7 is one of my favorites at Granite: a downhill open shot that looks deceptively easy, but a fade will leave you in a huge pond that isn't very visible from the tee (careful with this one), and turning it over will put you in the woods. Looking back up the fairway from the basket shows the beauty of Highbridge with water, elevation, and gently curving, sculpted fairways.

Holes 8 through 14 play up and down and around the same hill at the corner of the property, and it is one of the more physically exhausting parts of the complex. Both times I played I had my hands on my knees on the slow walk up hole 10's rolling fairway that almost certainly used to be a golf fairway. There are some fun holes here for sure, and the lengths alternate nicely so there are some birdie opportunities next to legit par 4s.

Hole 18 is one of the more epic finishing holes I've seen. It is over 600 feet uphill the whole way. It will take a full drive to get beyond the tree-lined fairway before you curve right and heave a couple more drives up before getting to the green protected by some sporadic trees.

Granite Ridge shows off Highbridge's smart use of trees. It demonstrates that you don't always need a forest to impact design; sometimes a small grove of trees or even a smattering of sparse trees can subtly impact your lines (you'll realize this when you don't pay attention and end up just inside one of these areas). For this reason (among many others), I think the replayability of these courses is super high: each time will teach you a bit about your landing zones.

Navigation wasn't bad, but it seemed a little tougher than some of the other courses. You'll want to have the scorecard/map with you.
Cons: All of the courses here have at least some issue with tall grass off the fairways (not on the fairways; the mowing was pretty impeccable when I was there), and Granite Ridge seemed to be a bit worse than the others. There were plenty of holes where I drifted off the fairway, spotted my landing area, but still spent a minute or two looking. On hole 9 my bright orange disc ended up in some tall golden grass, and I spent over 5 minutes looking. Searching for discs is as exhausting as the steepest hill. This nuisance tarnishes what is otherwise some top-notch design, beauty, and challenge.

As with all the courses here, you never knew which position was in use. The second time is more fun as you remember which route you want to take.

Same as the other courses at Highbridge, the tee signs are mediocre. I wouldn't trust the distances shown if it makes a difference in your disc selection (I think they underestimate the true distance). Some are faded and difficult to read. If you care about playing all the tee positions, and I don't, they weren't always obvious.
Other Thoughts: The degree of overall difference between Granite Ridge, Blueberry, and Gold is fairly small. If you like any of them, you'll probably like all of them, although they do emphasize slightly different skills. I'm not sure that Granite Ridge isn't the best test of overall skills at the complex, and it's absolutely one of my top 10 courses.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lovin' every minute of it.

5+    5/3/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: metalheaddiscs
Played: 99  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long but some elevated tees to make a few of these long ones shorter. Not counting 10 and if you think that's bad wait for the 670ft hard uphill 18. Water in play with a couple 4's and a 5. Wonderful views on a lot of holes.
Cons: Its to far from me.
Other Thoughts: HH is a wonderful place with different amazing views on every course. John the owner is the man. He has big vision. It maybe a little to big but he's gaining on it. I've been to HH 5 years runnin and he has improved every year. You can nit pick at this or that but stop sit back and look at whats around you and what it takes to get it done. HH is the true disc golf mecca. I can't wait to go back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Granite Ridge Review

5+    5/27/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: krupicmd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes:
This course will challenge you on a variety of shots- uphill, downhill, left, right, big "S's", tight, open, long (400-600ft), short (250-300 ft), etc. You will potentially throw every shot you have and will be able to give it all you have on a couple holes.

Few crowds-
I've played this course about ten times ~6 different trips through varying times of the year and I don't think I've even seen another group on the course, let alone have wait for them on a hole.

Great tee pads- large and grippy.

Natural Solitude/ amazing vistas-
This course is an organic course and since you are so far away from any large cities, you really get to take in the natural environment. The course (when I've played it) has never been overcrowded giving me an opportunity to appreciate the beauty and calmness of the land, and the views on some of the holes overlook the surrounding hillside and farmland are great- autumn is an amazing time to play here.

Carts-
John (the owner of Highbridge Hills) has golf carts available to rent for this course. It is a great course to kick back and drive to your disc- especially if you can bomb them.
Cons: A few holes lack signage on where the next hole is- I definitely recommend grabbing a scorecard at the clubhouse, especially if you haven't played the course before.
Other Thoughts: At a length of 8725 ft, this course is fairly long, however, most of the holes are open- many opportunities to grip it and rip it. If you miss your lines, though, you can end up in trouble- especially on the water holes- water comes into play on about 4-5 holes (a stream runs along the left side of two holes). There is varying terrain- some large downhill shots and hole 18 is a massive uphill hole that takes a few pumps to get up to the hole- the view from the top is spectacular, though.

There are many legitimate par 4s on this course with at least one legitimate par 5. The course will force you to make decisions- it may be risky to try and rip a drive out 350- it may be smarter to play a 250 ft shot in the fairway to give you a decent approach.

I come up to this complex every year or so. When I first started playing disc ~5 years ago, this course was very daunting, but now it is a ton of fun. A beginner wouldn't score very well on this one.

Lastly, I will comment on the whole complex-Highbridge Hills. If you make it up here, chances are you drove a long way, so it doesn't make sense to play just one course. The great thing about the courses at HH is that they vary in difficulty, so pending on your skill level or what you're in the mood for, there is a course that will most likely fit your needs. As standalone courses, a couple are still absolutely amazing- Granite/ Blueberry - but I'd bump the ratings up just because if the course doesn't satisfy you, you only have to walk a couple hundred feet to a totally different course- The Bear- long, tight and woodsy- very hard, Gold-very long, mostly open, Granite- mostly open, fairly long, Woodland Greens- short technical course through the woods, numerous ace runs, Blueberry- open and woodsy, some long, some short technical holes. The grounds are beautiful and calm.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Another Highbridge gem

5+    7/1/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is another of the excellent courses on the Highbridge grounds. Granite ridge offers a more wooded section at the beginning with it opening up more in the middle to end. There are large, level and grippy tee pads on all holes. All holes have a solid map with a basic hole layout, hole #, various pin locations and distances and pars for the various pin locations. These serve their purpose just fine. Once again like all the courses at Highbridge, they use the available land in about the best way possible. There are drastic elevation changes here as well. There are numerous uphill and downhill bombs to be had here. The baskets are all standard mach 3's that are in good condition and catch very nicely. There's a very drastic variation in distances here. The shortest is 245 feet on hole 13 all the way up to a possible 805 feet on hole 3 with a great mix in between. There are also water hazards on 4 of the 18 holes here. Again a great job using the available land. There are also multiple pin locations on almost all the holes, with most offering very different looking shots. Like all the other Highbridge courses you're going to need every type of shot here. All the holes have a fair line to the pin. With that being said though, you'll have to deal with the wind on most of the holes. This is probably the biggest challenge on this course. That or the distance. Or the elevation. Basically just an all around tough course. The course starts to the north of the pro shop near the woodland greens course. Navigation is pretty easy. They offer scorecards with a good map on the back of them in the pro shop. You won't need it for the most part but it wouldn't hurt to grab one just in case. One confusing area is at the top of the hill by holes 9, 12 and 15 I believe. But with a little bit of walking around you'll sort it out. Another thing to remember is to bring plenty of fluids to drink. You'll need them playing this and/or any of the other courses on site. They have many homemade benches and trash cans located throughout the course too which you'll most likely need at some point. Another cool little touch is that they have the Blueridge and granberry courses. These basically just kind of combine different sections of Granite Ridge and Blueberry Hill to make a different way to play the two. Just another nice little touch by John, the super awesome, friendly owner of Highbridge. Also along with the Gold course you can rent golf carts to use on the course. Just another nice Highbridge touch.
Cons: The bugs can get pretty bad on this or any of the Highbridge courses. This isn't really a con but you'll definitely want to bring bug spray as you would any other course in northern Wisconsin. Other than that I don't have much else.
Other Thoughts: This is just one of the 6 up and running courses at the Beautiful Highbridge Hills sports complex. I highly recommend visiting here for any serious disc golfers out there. Theres a reason these courses are rated among the best. That's because they are.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great All-Around Course

5+    10/8/2012   3/1/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 44  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Variety of shots and holes.
-Lots of elevation changes. Some up-hill, some down-hill, some level.
-Minimal water in play but there is some.
-Hole length - seems to be a wide range of different lengths on this course.
-Abilities utilized - This course seems to require the use of almost all tricks in your arsenal. Each hole seems to have its own character, with few holes reminding you of another on the course. Looking at pictures/reviews from Flip City, this clearly isn't a requirement from most reviewers, however, seems to give the course more challenge.
-You will not be able to just step up and throw an uncontested shot directly at a basket on this course on hole after hole. You're either dealing with length, trees, wind, elevation or your own consistency as your enemy on this course.
-Fun to play at all skill levels I would imagine, however, beginners could get overwhelmed on a few holes.
-well maintained course. Grass has always been mowed nicely, which says a lot considering the owner (John) has a ton of acreage to keep up with out on these grounds with 5 playable (and awesome) courses up and fully running.
Cons: Wind - although I like factors making a course a challenge, every time I play this course there are those 3 middle holes of like 9, 10 and 11 that seem to always have the wind blasting. I'm no pro but feel like I have a good grip on the game but the wind on 10 is just treacherous every time I play it over the last 3 years.
My preference for a course is short, ace runs, and highly technical, typically in a heavily wooded area. That being said, I also know that is not most discer's preference. This course definitely tailors a bit more to a stronger arm than mine for the most part. This is just picky and strictly a preference of mine.
Other Thoughts: Highbridge Hills sports complex is second to none. I haven't traveled all that far but have hit and looked at a ton of courses on this site and honestly, it is hard to get excited about much of what else I see on here because I compare everything to my experiences out at Highbridge over the last few years. If anyone can tell me where else they can sleep in the middle of (in my opinion) 5 solid top tier courses while utilizing carts, a hot tub and fully functional house to drink beer in please let me know where it is. Granite is 1 of those 5 courses and is my second favorite course to play on the grounds. Has everything but more water in my opinion. My favorite is Woodland Greens, which I know most who have been out there with would disagree, but once again, I like highly technical, short courses and Woodlands does it for me.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic course

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful scenery, an abundance of wide open holes requiring a variety of shots. Uphill/downhill, hyzer/anhyzer, short/long, etc. Sharing a property with six other courses is a big plus that has to be factored in. The view from the tops of several hills is spectacular. Fighting the wind was a fun challenge that I don't get at many more wooded courses.
Cons: The signage could use a lot of work. There were at last 4 or 5 holes where I could not see the pin from the tee, and had to run the fairway to find out which position the basket was in. I eventually stopped looking at the very faded signs because they list as many as six possible distances, with the scorecard sometimes offering a seventh distance that matched nothing on the sign. My mistake, because I lost a disc in a pond that presumably would have been marked if I were still looking. There are a few places that sorely need arrows pointing to the next tee as well. The fairways crisscross each other, creating a non-obvious sense of direction if you are new to the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great layout, and has the potential to be one of the very best courses in the world. It's slightly disappointing to see the crew working on cutting out three additional courses when they don't seem to have the staff to maintain the seven they already have. Hopefully when all 10 courses are installed, some of the polishing work can begin.

Does a property with 180 disc golf holes really need so many alternate basket locations and layouts?

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

love the holes, hate the layout

1    8/18/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gorgeous views, gorgeous holes, nice cement pads, you get to drive a cart, brings every shot in your bag to the table multiple times. Basically everything you would design a disc golf course to have is here. Long holes, short holes, left turns, right turns, open bombs, tight gaps. This is a great fun course.
Cons: Layout is kinda goofy, couple spots where the signage is unclear, or you have to cross a different fairway to get to where you need to go. Especially bad with the carts in a few spots, if the course got busy this would be a serious problem. Was bad enough to dock the score by half a star.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't done Highbridge yet, then you are not giving yourself the greatest Disc Golf experience you can get. Seriously the courses here are all top notch.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grantastic!

5+    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to start out with this. If you have not been to Highbridge make your plans now. You are missing out if you have not been there. Plan to spend at least 3 days to enjoy what the golf offers.

Granite Ridge is an absolutely fantastic course. This is the "most" open course on the property and allows you to crush some drives. Don't let the "most" open fool you though. There are still great wooded holes and nasty rough to land in. Just like the other courses there are some great views.

Concrete tee pads are plenty long and flat. Very grippy with great texture.

The baskets are great DGA Mach 3's.

Tee signs are just fine. Shows a good picture of the hole with both pin positions, par, & distance info.

Risk and reward is all over the course. There are options to club down and keep it in the fairway or just grab a driver and let it rip. Your entire game will be tested and you will pay the price.

Elevation comes into play all over the course. You throw up, down, and along many hills.

Water comes into play on several holes. 6, 7, & 9 are primes holes with H2O.

Distance varies from 235 to 805. There are great par 3's along with Pro par 4's and 5's.

Hole #3 is my favorite hole on the course. This is a very fun downhill bomb. It can be rewarding or absolutely punishing throw if you mess it up.

Hole #6 is a downright nasty hole depending on where the pin is. I've seen a 2 on the hole and I've seen an 8.
Cons: These don't hinder my rating of this course. Although not the best the tee signs could be upgraded to the best of the best.

Highbridge is a huge piece of property. Depending on when played the grass can be somewhat long. It depends on when John mows.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love Highbridge. I have Blueberry, Gold, & Granite as 5 disc courses. It's my #1 favorite place to play disc golf. Keep in mind that this is in the middle of nowhere. Be prepared (food, water, etc...) and bring some good hiking shoes. Bring a friend and spot for each other. This is no walk in the park. I have spent over 2 weeks at Highbridge and the golf is fantastic!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/4/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Silhouette
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: i love this course! it has everything for any type of player! long shots, narrow/short fairways, left handed and rhfh fairways! AMAZING views!! awesome use of elevation!!!

to top it off- you can branch off to blueberry hill after basket 12!!!! this comes in handy if you are finding yourself exhausted!!!
Cons: the baskets are natural metal color! I had to walk the fairways a few different times to see the basket! it became a little annoying having to walk back to the tee box on those long holes! but at the same time, you come to this course for the challenge...so i guess you should expect this if you want to have a long fairway
Other Thoughts: BE PREPARED TO HIKE!!! that or rent a motor cart!

i will always come back to this course!!!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.