Mundelein, IL
Fremont School DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
-- / --   3 / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    9/25/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Discatchers on this course are nice because of the ease in finding the baskets.

2) Portopotty near the 1st hole (on the path to the soccer fields).

3) Fairways seem to be mowed regularly or at least they happened to be mowed shortly before I came to play. Either way I am giving them credit for mowing those lanes to throw down.

4) Prairie areas seemed to be maintained as it was mostly grasses and some wildflowers. The major weeds seemed to be contained and that is a good sign this course will be consistant.

5) Decent layout and flow of this course. It is fairly self explanatory as the tees are no more than 50' or so from the previous basket.

6) Very beginner friendly because of the hole distance as well as the overall distance, and when you factor in the fact there are no trees in play it is as simple as it can be.

7) 9 ace runs and one hole (#8) you really might feel embarrassed if you don't get an ace or at least a birdie.

8) Slight to moderate rolling fairways add to the challenge available here. Nothing extreme and really not many rollaway potentials, but still worthy of mention . . . this course is not what I would call flat.
Cons: 1) Baskets seemed to be uneven heights and also some that didn't seem to be level.

2) Rubber tees generally are better than grass but not in this instance. They were lumpy and a couple of them were unusable due to the fact that you might break your ankle using them. Something had washed underneath the rubber causing them to be lumpy.

3) Bad footing in the fairways although that really should only affect beginners because anyone else should be able to get very close to any of these baskets and have a simple 30-50' putt at most.

4) Shot selection is minimal . . . pick your favorite line and you will do just fine because on any given hole any line is possible.
Other Thoughts: This is what it is . . . a beginner course with simple short holes and minimal obstacles. Will I likely return . . . no, but does that mean it is a bad course . . . no. Whoever designed it well did a great job for the property and they continue to maintain it to keep the challenge at an appropriate level. I will not likely ever play it again unless it is the only one I can get to, but if I was a beginner learning the game I might very well play this course over and over.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First-timers

1    4/2/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small section of the large, sprawling fields next to this elementary school. Possibly some school-related things to contend with, but nothing is situated within the course itself.
- Some mild elevation changes here and there, with some slight uphill and downhill shots. A few baskets have a little rollaway potential as well, but nothing extreme.
- Good baskets and signage. Some teepads are in bad shape, others are in great shape. Navigation is easy, and the layout is well designed.
Cons: - Absolutely no obstacles whatsoever, anywhere. No line-shaping, shot selection, or conscious thought needed.
- Hole lengths are all very short, to put it nicely. A couple are over 200', but many are within 100'-200'.
Other Thoughts: - This course is terrific for introducing new, younger players to the game. Straightforward holes with no hazards, and a range of hole lengths suited to beginners. For everyone else, however, it is a haven to collect cheap aces.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 D = Dave Drops out of Disc golf if this is all there is

1    9/25/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As is expected, a course at a school is for the kids at the school and not me. I have 3 elementary age kids so I REALLY appreciate disc golf being part of the gym class rotation. But, to be consistent in my reviews and to contribute positively to this site, I need to be consistent with how well courses draw me back to themselves.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == D
(Wide open course with only prairie grass to deal with. The only risk is losing a disc or having a hidden disc slow you down when you just want to finish the course and get out of there.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == D+
(A couple of holes are mildly rewarding deuces although more disappointing to miss. The downhill #9 the most fun…..especially when you have families all walking right by it on their way to the soccer field watching you as you hastily let one rip when there are gaps in the groups of people.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == D
(Slight terrain to deal with and a couple of rocks and shrubs on hole 7. But that is it for variety.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == D+
(Very scruffy "new construction" feeling. The course is on a small swath of land between the school parking lot and a soccer field…..with the path to the soccer field cutting right through the course.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

1    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is located on the property of a school between the main campus and some of the athletic fields. It is highly visible from the road and from the school, so it's a great exposure for the sport especially to get kids into the sport. The course is easy to follow and navigate, with visible numbered markers on every tee and good flow from one hole to the next.

The tees are rubber and are securely bolted down so they should stay in place and tight. The baskets are brand new numbered discatchers, which catch great and are very visible. There is a port-a-potty right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The course is wide open with basically no obstacles on any hole. The property used is wide open and flat with scrubby grass, so the only challenge is the wind. All the holes are very short ace runs, without much variety in length. The course is closed during school hours, and during soccer games and practices you'll have a lot of people cutting right through the middle of the course to get from the fields to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely designed for kids who are trying the sport for the first time. I love that the school set up the course and is exposing the students to the sport, I just wish they had found a way to make it a little more interesting. I can't imagine this course being all that fun even for beginners, especially on a windy day with no trees to break the wind.

If you have the need like me to play everything in the area, by all means stop on by here. Otherwise, it's a short boring course in an open field, so don't bother.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Designed for beginners

1    4/30/2010   4/30/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located on the property of Fremont Schools. It was designed for elementary and middle school students. It's an excellent beginner course and will introduce disc golf to hundreds of kids each year.

Rubber Tee Pads.

Brand New Innova Discatchers with hole # on them.

Tee signs are basic but visible with #. Designer plans to add distance to the sign as well.

The course is easy to navigate.

Excellent place to practice upshots and putting.
Cons: Very short beginner course. This course will not offer more skilled players a challenge.

Wide open with absolutely no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Course is closed during school hours.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.