Disc Golf Store
Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #3 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  impressed but what?

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: chainbreaker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: it's an awesome course on how short it is compared to other courses! everything was maintained. I liked the left turns throughout the course just for the fact that majority of my distance throws go left then right
I enjoyed the water hazard at the end of #6 and 9.
holes 1-2-3 and 11 all had the hole signs that had the hole number, par & distance. I don't really know if they're doing something with all the signs or what?? but cant really take that from me I just played for the first time yesterday and decided to tinker on here afterwards.
holes 1-4, 9 & 10, 15-18 are out in the open, which for me is great, i'm great at throwing distance and these hole surely tested my skill.
aside from playing Stumpy Creek in Mooresville this course was a piece of cake in the length of the course in general.
Cons:

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A beautifully manicured park containing a large sports complex is home to the Bailey 18-hole disc golf course. Bailey makes the most of a small pond and wooded area, as well as the slight to moderate elevation changes on site. Most holes are easily reachable with a mid-range or putter, even for beginners or recreational players. For more seasoned players, Bailey becomes a great deuce-or-die course full of fun holes and ace runs while still providing reasonable risks and a few challenges. The course starts out relatively open before weaving in and out the woods for the rest of the holes.
- Holes 7, 8 and 9 play around a small pond and are great holes with pin positions that take advantage of the inherent risk of getting plastic wet. #9 is a downhill ace run between a high tension tower with the pond directly behind the pin.
- Good pin positions and greens in general. Where possible, pins are protected with trees, elevation, and/or water.
- The course in general has a nice flow between up, down, left, right and mixes hole styles well throughout.
- Grippy, new concrete tee pads in great shape. Maybe a little on the short side, but longer ones aren't really needed for this course.
- At least some holes have multiple pin positions. It appeared that the more open holes tended to have double pin placements.
- Signs show distance, par, and hole number but do not have a map. Next tee signage as needed.
- Scattered trashcans and benches.
Cons: - The sign distances didn't seem accurate in places, unless the measurement was for another pin position.
- #18 finishes leading away from the parking area and #1. An awkward finish to an otherwise solid course.
Other Thoughts: - While nothing spectacular, Bailey is a fun little course great for beginners or for a quick putter/midrange round. Lots of fun shots throughout that would definitely have me coming back for more if I lived nearby.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    0/0/0000   6/22/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, short 18-hole course. The most variety of any short course I've played.
- Great mix of holes. About 1/3 of the holes are true "open" holes, another third are partly open (have some trees), and the last third are wooded holes.
- Great use of elevation. Good mix of up- and downhill holes. Gotta like the turnarounds of #6 to 8 & 11 to 12, where the hole distance are essentially the same length, but because of up vs downhill, you're throwing totally different shots/discs.
- I love how the wooded holes on this course have a more "rugged" feel to them compared to most of Charlotte-area broken-in wooded holes/courses. Think Reedy Creek or Elon short. It means you need to throw a good tee shot for your 2, but it's not unfair.
- Plenty of birdie, or ace, chances on this course. Average hole length is around 200 feet (195 in short layout; 205 in long layout), with no hole longer than 300 feet. You can play this course with only mid-range discs, or do the 2-disc routine instead of carrying a bag around.
- Great course to introduce newbies. They'll like the open/easier holes, and get a taste of some challenge on the wooded/tighter holes.
- Beautiful park with great amenities - tennis/basketball courts, ball field, walking trails, playground. Bathrooms & water fountains aren't on the course, but they're close to the beginning of the course.
Cons: Mostly typical stuff for a new course/new holes that will be worked out over time.
- Only half the holes have tee pads. The original 9 tee pads are in place, new holes are dirt tees.
- Tee signs are needed. Some are hand-written, some are metal (from old course), some are non-existent/missing.
- On a couple holes, the basket you see from tee isn't the one you're throwing to. The makeshift-signs indicate this, but it'd still possibly pose a problem to FTPers.
- A couple holes needed better transitions. Most holes had next T (nex-T) signs, making it easy, but going from #11 to 12, you have a long walk down an old hole's fairway. I also walked right past the dirt/tee area for #4 because of a missing sign; transition from #17 to #18 needs to be better marked. (It won't be a problem once there's a tee pad on #18).
- The short vs long layout wasn't clear. I never saw dual tee pads, nor is it clear if the basket moves from long vs short positions. It'd be nice if there were a true longer layout, to give the course a little more length.
- No benches throughout course, only saw a couple wastebaskets.
- The rough/thorns are really thick in some parts, so be careful going after errant discs in these areas.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It has the most variety/fun-factor of any genuine short course I've played. Still, I'd like to see a few improvements.
- I miss a couple of the old hole layouts, specifically the former, long #3. It'd be nice to see the course add a couple longer holes (at least 300 ft+) and had a true longer layout, a la Elon Shorts dual layouts.
- It'd be nice to see a few more wooded holes. The wooded holes on the course offer some nice layouts and require different shots. They're good enough that you'd rather play more holes like this than a couple of the easier/open holes.
- If you can throw a mid-range disc 200 feet and/or accurate, you'll be in birdie position on almost every single hole.
- Course has enough variety, and interesting hole layouts, that I think everyone will enjoy this course. Add some tougher layouts in a long layout, and the rating will increase. South Charlotte can have Elon, DGers north of the city will be more than pleased with this course.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Sweet, and to the Point

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a short, easy rec level course. There's no real need to carry more than a mid and a putter. It's in a nice, clean park with lots of other things to do, including softball fields, and tennis and basketball courts.

The holes have a nice variety of left and right turning fairways. Also, the mix of uphill and downhill holes is nice. Excellent use if the available terrain has been made.

Every hole is an ace run. If I played this course every day, I'd expect to have an ace or two by now.

The course is fairly straightforward to navigate, with arrows pointing the way to the next tee near every basket.There are a couple of times where you can see more than one basket, but you're always throwing to the shortest basket.

The tees, even though they are not all concrete, are more than adequate, as they are all level, provide sure footing, and are easy to locate.

New DISCatcher Pros.are in place on every hole.
Cons: My biggest con is the difficulty. Even though I didn't score very well, I could imagine shooting in the high 30's here. It's not that challenging. Every hole feels like a deuce or die kind of hole, but on the other hand, every hole could also be aced, so that kind of works both ways. While it has a nice variety of up/down and left/right, there's little variety in length, and no multi-shot par 4's and 5's.

There are not as many wooded holes as I prefer, and many if not most of the holes feel like they are wide open. This doesn't tempt me to try real go for it risky shots that I may have to pay the price for not making, but on the other hand, this course is designed to be a simple rec-level course. It does that well.

There is thick vegetation relatively close to some of the baskets, particularly hole 9, where discs could be easily lost.

With a course as open as this, lots of sunblock is necessary for me, and I found myself looking for shade on most of the holes.

Signage. while I am sure will improve for the new course layout, is sporadic at this point, and could be a little better, although it's not entirely necessary as the course is short enough that you can quickly ascertain hole layout without it.

I didn't notice any benches or trash cans out on the course, but this is a minor con, and I'm sure those are coming in due time.
Other Thoughts: This is a cool little course. It's a great place to sharpen your short game, and great for beginners and more casual players. It's not a destination course, but if you're in the neighborhood, it's well worth playing. Much respect and many thanks go out to Mark Huether and the rest of the Charlotte Disc Golf Club for all the work they've done here and all around the Queen City.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.