Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner Road

1    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park. It is very short and super beginner friendly. It has many holes playing in the open. The grass is very lush and mowed. The open holes have brush or large trees protecting the green area. The rest of the holes play in the woods. There is some slight rolling terrain around the course and water comes into play on a few holes. There was water and restrooms located near the parking.

Excellent Innova Discatchers.

Great concrete tee pads.

Good signage.

Navigation was super easy and super fast to play.

Course forced many basic lines.

More skilled players can dump the bag and play this course with a couple of discs. This course measures around 4,300ft. You can go old school and play it with a big lid.
Cons: This course is very very short and won't challenge more skilled players. 16 of the holes range from 155 to 255 in distance. The other 2 are listed at 300ft.

I almost deducted a 1/2 disc for this reason. I felt like this was the most poorly designed course in Charlotte. They built a wooden fence to protect the tee on #5 from being thrown on from #4. They also installed a big arrow pointing to #11. Another basket is in view and they planted some shrubs. Beginners will be bombarding that green with their shots. #16 plays down the walking path.

#18 was a very uneventful finish. Playing away from the parking by #1 then walking back.
Other Thoughts: I saw this course had a weekly glow league. That would be fun to play on this course.

This is by far the easiest course I played in Charlotte. It's a good mix up to make you feel like you can play this game after taking a beating from the harder courses.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/14/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review.

Unfortunatly sometimes a design is limited to what is allowed by a park department. This comment has a number of good "Cons" to discuss.

The "purpose" of this course redesign from 9 to 18 was to host very old and very young competitors for the 2012 worlds. In addition, it is intended to be "Your first course" and attracts hundreds of beginners/families daily. It is one of Charlotte's most played courses and is not in any way targeted towards the more advanced player.

Hole 4's backstop wall is a result of the skill level that plays at Bailey. 1 disc recreational players can over throw this green because of the speed of their 1 disc. 4-5 Green to Tee is about 80' and longer than many transitions in Charlotte. The wall isnt necessary however even the best planned 200' hole doesnt account for someone throwing 400'. Sometimes it just is not feasible with space provided to make a 200' hole with 200' of buffer. The comment of the wall should be in the pro section. I have played MANY courses where tees and greens encroached on each other and most provided no protection. At least here thought to what "could" happen (albiet rarely) was given.

Shots from hole 6 penetrate hole 7's fairway. It is difficult to design around players throwing 320' throws on 180' fairways.

Hole 11 and 13 were part of the original design and have never been a problem. The large arrow is just a courtesy indicator of the actual fairway until the rows of crepe myrtle obscure the basket of 13 from 11. Seeing alternate/incorrect baskets in a meandering park design is common in disc golf, especially in open parks. At least here care has been taken to inform the thrower in multiple ways the correct bend of the fairway. Communication and the arrow sign should be considered a pro.

Hole 16 is bordered by 30' of tall grass and then a walking path to the left. Walking path borders are not uncommon in disc golf and the thrower/walker has a clear view of the entire disc golf hole. The walking path sits about 4' higher in elevation than the fairway, giving the walker an even better view and eliminating a good % of errant shots that cross the path. I actually used a disc golf shot predictor excel document that I found online to predict the % of shots that would cross this path or enter the switching station on #17. I presented this information to the town board when the course was designed.

Original design of the course had #18 finish after the current #18 around the back of the basketball courts. I nixed this for safety of the ball players. I toyed with a design that had 18 reversed with a double mando through the 2 green protective trees throwing back towards hole 1, however, that would have made the basket be surrounded on three sides by road or parking lot with the busy park road being on the Hyzer and prevailing wind side. The safety of this vs 200' extra finishing transition eliminated that hole direction from the final design. Players can finish the hole and safely transition to the border parking lot to get back to their cars. Also, the direction of 18 allows me to continue expanding the course as funding comes available. I have plans for 4 more holes prior to hole 16 and I can add some behind the basketball courts and baseball fields. For a 22-28 hole course that will reduce wear and tear on the current overplayed part.

 Perfect Beginner course

5+    7/11/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 226  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect beginner course

The course is mowed regularly and the open holes fairways look very nice.

It is an extremly easy course to navigate the signage is good and in most cases you can see the next tee from the previous baskets.

The design offers good variety of open and wooded holes and uses elevation change very well for such a short course.

Most of the time man made obstacles on a course are a negative for me but in this case the giant power line tower on hole 9 makes for a very unique hole in my opinion and makes for a fun hole.


The Blackberries on this course are some of the best I've ever had and its great to have a built in snack during the summer months.
Cons: The rough can be extremly rough and water comes into play on 2 holes inso there is a chance for a lost disc. There are also many briars in these areas that can tear you up

Very long transition from 15 to 16

This course has a few jacklegs that play it so there can be broken bottles and spraypaint on the course.
Other Thoughts: Bailey Road Park is a perfect design for its target group of players which are kids and beginner players. It is likely one of the most played courses in the charlotte area because so many players who are new to the sport play here. while experienced players will find it boring or too easy disc golf needs more courses like this so that people who are not as good or experienced can be introduced to the game on a course that can let them have some sucess

This course is very close to bradford and a private course which could make for a fun day of dg. bailey is a perfect course to throw in for a fun/quick round if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you Pat.

The park department has limited the size tree that can be cut at Bailey Road Park. Therefore holes have to be designed to be shorter, wooded holes cannot be made fair if trees cannot be cut. Hole 15-16 transition is less than the old hole 15-16 transition since the creation of new hole 15. Hole 15 is one my favorites and most challenging on the course so I had to include it in for Worlds. Don't be suprised to see an additional 2 holes between 15 and 16 in the near future. I purposly planned 15 to allow for additional holes when the course grows to its full 24 hole size.

 

1    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with no distances exceeding 300 feet. Most holes are open with a few tree obstacles. The course flows fairly well with some elevation used. A pond comes into play on #7 and #9.

Other Pros:
- adequate tee signs (distance, par, hole #)
- some holes have benches/ trash cans
- concrete tee pads
- extra hole after #11
- kiosk has a place to record your ace!
Cons: #11 and #13's baskets are very close to each other. *(see 1978's response)

The park was generally clean but the garbage cans were overflowing.

There are a few tricky spots to navigate, check the map to make a mental note; especially for the last 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: I didn't mind the holes being relatively short, it's a nice change from some of the other courses I've played.

The sign at the kiosk said Glow rounds are on Thursdays, I bet that is a blast here.

**Edit: I'm told glow rounds are on Monday's now, I am not a local so please check before joining in.

Bailey is definitely worth a play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Its actually 11 and 13 that are close together however and only when 13 is in the long basket. When in the short it is much less confusion. They are over 100' apart and separated by a 7 crepe myrtle hedgerow that will be untrimmed and proved future protection once mature.

Glow is now Mondays.

 Great variety

2-4    10/3/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: scottlarson
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety in the shape of each hole - in and out of the trees the entire time. Uphill, downhill, flat, straight, right, left, and every combination. Very well maintained and safe. Good signage. Concrete tees on all but the newest hole. Lots of nice benches. Hole 15 has an alternate pad near the basket for 2 (don't let that confuse you - follow the signage). Anybody who thinks this course is too short will, at least, enjoy letting one rip here.
Cons: The length of each hole is fairly redundant. some of the tee pads are very short, but, then again, it's not like you need a big run-up on most of them. Lack of trashcans and piles of litter in several places (hole 6 is bad). Kind of odd that the last hole goes away from the lot.
Other Thoughts: While most of us will be content with only a couple hole that are 300 ft, if you can throw a driver the length of 2 football fields, this isn't your course. With the addition of the 2 extra holes, It'd be nice to combine #4 & #5 into a 450 grip'n rip hole. The recent improvements for the 2012 worlds will make this a nice warmup course. I like to think of this as an easier Reedy Creek.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    6/25/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Benttreedg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course very clean. Some what of a short course. There are some tough holes but then there are some pretty simple ones as well. Nice concrete tee pads. This is a perfect course to work on midrange shots and some possible aces.
Cons: Short course. Some of the marking from tee to basket are not correct. Could use score cards.
Other Thoughts: Hole one starts right next to the tennis courts. When you get done playing and its between June and August you can reward yourself with some blackberries right behind 18 basket there are tons of them so enjoy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 GET SOME

1    8/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: this beginner friendly course will test the beginner, a great place to learn the game. the park has a nice play ground, and the new and improved layout will make you want to run for aces on every shot.
Cons: none ,this is the most perfect course in the world ....loook no further than bailey road park
Other Thoughts: after playing this course once and shooting 10 down , i cosider it a huge ego boost to play here. the new holes are really cool for the amount of space that was available, good balance of shots. mark did a great job with this course. show this man some respect. and as a final thought.....GET SOME

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Baileys; rich, smooth, creamy, delicious

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is Ace Race personified. Short < 300' holes abound in this mostly open park with a few of the holes being moderately wooded. For the more experience player, there should be more birdies here than an aviary. A great course for working on the putting and approaching, all you really need to score well here is a putter, maybe a mid.

The L-R variety is actually pretty good despite the shortness and it's mixed up pretty well so that the holes don't feel too repetitive. The concrete tees being put in are really nice too, they're fit for a course twice as long. Next tee signs help tremendously since multiple baskets are in view often. Well-maintained park with plenty of other stuff to do, tennis, basketball, etc.

Nice Innova Discatchers and apparently they have some glow rounds on Thursdays I think which would be a lot of fun there.

Cons: Well, it's short but I actually like that, makes it a nice compliment or change of pace from Stumpy Creek up the road. You can see baskets everywhere, and I actually parked #12's thinking it was # 11's (#11 is to the right, #12 has a flag sticking out on top.)

The rough is tall and thick grass that borders the fairways, giving the course the its only semblance of difficulty. I didn't find a problem avoiding it but the many golfers I passed looking for their discs apparently did.

Finding the tee for #16 is not easy, keep to the right side of the road and follow the tree line. #17's tee is apparently just a dirt patch right now. It's really easy to go from #15 to #18 without realizing it.
Other Thoughts: This course appears to be really popular with college kids and Rec types, as it should be b/c it suits their skill level well. These types aren't always the most etiquette savvy but I didn't have a problem with any of them, they seemed nice.

This course is great for quick, fun, metal-seeking rounds. Grab your brosephs from the local frat and bang tha chainz.

Oh, and one more thing: I'm Old Gregg!!!

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey Beginner Course

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Mule1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please pardon my rating. I would rate it higher if I were a beginner. I am proud of Mark's design here. Making a short , very short, course fun to play is difficult. He used the terrain and woods well. The idea was to make this accessable for the very young and not frustrating for the true beginner.
Cons: It is a work in progress. Mark will make sure that benches and tee signs show up as he continues to complete the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is targeted specifically at beginners and families. The Charlotte Disc Golf Club has already designed another course just a few miles down the road for those of you who want a beat down! Hopefully work on that course will begin the fall of 2010.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    5/25/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Easy to Navigate
- Course is very clean and well maintained
- Good accomodations, clean bathrooms and water fountains
- Great for beginners
- Good mixture of shots
- Great course to get a quick round in and or work on your approach game.
Cons:
- Some will find the course too short
- Still new, so signs and teepads are still being put in for some holes
Other Thoughts: Unlike most short pitch and putt courses Baileys doesnt come across as repetitive. It makes good use of the park and offers a variety of shots and mixture of wooded/open holes. Dont let the short holes cause you to miss out on this very fun course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.