Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #7 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Short Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great place to learn

5+    11/1/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bailey Road Park is a lot of fun! Its not very challenging for the more advanced player but lots of fun! None of the holes are over 300 feet so its easy to get a good score there. I got my first ACE here and I have only been playing for less than a year! This course is really easy to navigate with the tee boxes being close to each other. Also want to add that BRP is very well maintained course!
Cons: Not many complaints with this course. Only that the tee boxes could be a little bit bigger on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is alot of fun for everybody! Its worth the time to go play!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun but short

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: quiggdisc1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very fun. some great shots for people that are starting thier discgolf life. also great for a getting a round in with little time.
Cons: once i really got into the round it was over. but still fun
Other Thoughts: worth the drive.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Building Young Talent

1    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 34.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated in the town of Cornelius' multi-use 'flagship' park, covering about 70 acres of largely cleared rolling piedmont landscape. Course is well enough sequestered from other park activities. Park features enough area for adjustments and some additions to the course, but seemingly not enough for a major revision (which would be unnecessary as the course has a very specific 'target audience').

Equipment and signage are above average. This park's amenities are superior, and it should be noted that smoking is prohibited here. Several minor drainage issues are present throughout the course, but none affect play greatly, even after an above average rain event. Footing can be treacherous after rains. All targets are mounted at the standard height.

Bailey Road DGC can best be described as a recreational level course, perfect for 'setting the hook' into future generations of disc golfers, especially very young players. Course is also excellent for family play. With an average hole length of about 220', this might be obvious, and for scratch golfers the course would better be described as a 'par 2' or an 'executive' course. For advanced level players (or even higher), Bailey Road DGC is a perfect place to practice 'weak spots' in one's game, such as mid-range consistency, alternate delivery styles, the 'other' spin, or even technical rollers in a low risk environment. Bailey Road DGC would also be an excellent candidate for limited equipment competitions or vintage class competitions, and the course almost has that 'late 70's feel'. As would be the case with a course of this length, rounds are fast, even if one's play is poor.

Course balance regarding shot shapes is even, with no overt advantage given to either spin's stable shot shapes. Fairways are either very open or feature very generous 'cut-outs' through the woods, often with multiple attack routes to the hole. Course signage also promotes these multiple routes were appropriate. Greens are generally quite open and flat, but are frequently well protected from 'slop' (Yes Virginia, you must make a shot). A few greens are moderately sloped. Course features a minor water hazard, which comes into play around 2 greens, but no forced carries, which is in perfect concert for its intended users. There are 3 completely blind holes. Balance regarding terrain change is also quite good; flat, uphill, downhill and cross-hill are all represented proportionately. Roughs at Bailey Road DGC can be severely penal, but only a MAJOR gaff will incur this course's 'wrath'.

If I had young children that I wished to entrain to disc golf, I would take them to Bailey Road DGC. Methinks Charlotte is a burgeoning factory for young talent…

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Bailey

1    2/15/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, distance. No map of the hole but they are all so short that it really isn't needed here.

2) Ace-board at the kiosk up front which I also think is a great idea. It gives people to brag about their aces and takes the focus off of signing the baskets and signs. I am thinking about creating something like this for my home course actually.

3) This is like my home course Valley View in New Berlin, WI. It is basically a deuce or die course. While short, it can still be a lot of fun . . . it can also be very frustrating if you don't make a bunch of birdies.

4) #4 tee has a wood barrier to protect the people on the tee from errant throws from hole #3. The only goofy thing is the gaps are big enough to allow a flat driver to get through, which would really hurt whoever might be sitting on the bench. There was also a net or a fence in one other spot where I noticed errant discs could get into an adjacent fairway.

5) They used a good variety of terrain here and a nice variety of foliage density. There are all sorts of different trees and obstacles here including a few holes with low ceilings which force you to alter your normal throw.

6) #11 is a pretty unique hole . . . it goes down a slight slope out into a field with the basket tucked hard to the left around a woodline but the slope is down and away from the basket the entire way. It calls for a stall shot that cuts hard left to try and get close and I executed the shot perfectly. Unfortunately I missed the putt, but it was a hole design that I have never played.

7) Very much a beginner friendly course. It is short and the challenge is not too punishing. The beauty of it is that there still is enough challenge to keep moderately able players to have some fun executing shots.

8) Bathrooms and water available on the other side of the parking lot from the first tee.

9) There are some alternate basket locations on some of the holes but I don't believe all of them. It's always nice to be able to see a different layout when you go to a course repeatedly.

10) Ace-runs available on most holes . . . but the risk of running at them might make you shoot a lot of pars.

11) Nice yellow banded Innova Discatchers. These are the most attractive basket on the market in my opinion.

12) Designed appropriately for beginners and it did a good job suiting their abilities. Even though I am not a beginner however I can still enjoy the course, really there aren't many courses I won't enjoy playing again, but this one would bring me back for sure.

13) Water in play on a short downhill hole . . . you want to get it close so you don't leave yourself a 40' putt towards the lake.

14) Artificial OB was put in place on one hole to help protect the next fairway even though all it does is punish people who go into the creek . . .I would assume most rec players don't even pay attention to this sort of thing.
Cons: 1) The course is pretty short averaging only about 200' per hole . . . that is a negative for some, but I actually enjoy this kind of course all the time.

2) There are plenty of places where you might be searching for discs (for your beginner friends) but anyone with a decent amount of time under their belt will not miss many fairways out here. There just isn't enough from for average players to be so errant they need to be looking for their disc.

3) Distance variation is minimal and is definitely a lacking feature on this course. There are a couple long holes, but not enough to really make it feel like variety, it feels more like they needed to add a long hole to get you moved through the course.
Other Thoughts: There really are not that many negatives to say about this course because I knew what it was all about before I got there. It will be a perfect course for the young kids at the 2012 Worlds, but even a guy like me can still have fun out here. Is it the greatest course in Charlotte, NO, is it the prettiest course, NO, but it suits a need in disc golf and that is exposure to beginners and it helps to bring new people into the sport. I sure hope people can respect that, if not, don't play here and then complain about it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review I followed up completing Stumpy Creek with Nevin and Nevin with Bailey. I can design beat you up holes :-) I appreciate the realization of the intended target for this course. Beginners.

Con:
3)

Hole distance is similar, but shot shapes vary from hole to hole. There simply was not enough room to create open long shots, and it was unecessary for the intended skill level player to have holes over 300'. The intention was to hook beginners to disc golf with varying hole looks that all have the potential for birdie. A beginner course does not need a 500' hole IMO.


 great course, but easy

5+    11/28/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly
Easy course to follow
Don't need to carry a huge bag if you don't want to.
Shots that will make you think. Not necessarily hard for an advanced player, but you will think "do I throw straight at it or take the hyzer route?"
Lots of ace runs!!!!!
Because of how short the course is, it will make you work on your putting and approach game.
Cons: short, short, short!!!!! Bigger arms don't need to carry anything over a fairway driver (if even that).
The course is easy, way too easy. Intermediate players should be able to shoot under par here.
Other Thoughts: If you have a family, this is a great place to play. I'm an Advanced Am player, but I'm a stay at home dad with a 9 month old. The course is very stroller friendly. We use one of the running strollers with the big bike tires. You can get in a quick 18 in easily under a hour and a half easy

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This is Bailey's...

2-4    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For what it is, Bailey Road Park DGC is a very nice course. Other than hole lengths this course offers some variety. Bailey is definately a beginners course, great for introducing newbies to the game. For levels higher than beginner this is a midrange practice course with some challanging lines on the drives off some of the pads.

Course is equipped with DISCatchers w/ yellow bands and deep trays. Baskets are in very good condition(outside of "normal" ace tags). Seems a few baskets move between two positions, not sure how common it is for them to be moved. Tee pads are concrete, mixed in size. Size of pads should be a no-issue because of most of the hole lengths. Tee signs are very basic, but informative. Signs display hole number, distance and par. No picture of holes on signs, not necessary as most baskets can be seen from the pad and are not far. Baskets that cannot be seen from tee pad are easily spotted by walking a few steps up the fairway. Benches and trash cans located at about half of the holes, very sufficient.

Most holes would fall into the wide open to mildly wooded category. These more open holes use good use of spotty vegetation to create obsticles and force lines. Wooded holes(about 6 of them) have some technicality to them and allow players to play various lines, which is great for practice rounds.

Elevation is a little more than minimal, giving a few short holes a little more distance. There are no tough uphill walks.

Bonus hole located between holes 11 and 12. Appears to be remaining from the old 9-hole layout. No reason to skip it on a day where its not too busy. The layout sends you down that fairway anyways and it takes you right where you need to go.
Cons: Most of my cons are based on difficulty factors on the course. These did not take away from the fun-having, but might deter some from enjoying the experience.

Longest length of hole is 300' when all pins are in the longs. If you can throw over 250' every hole is birdieable.

Most holes have a large margin for error, so shots missing the intended line by a bunch could still turn out to be great shots. Alot of these holes are straight shots with no significant obsticle in the way. It can lul you to sleep very quickly.

Finish of the course is disappointing. Holes 17 and 18 are very uneventful. Still found it quite quirky that hole 18's tee pad was right at the parking lot and the basket has you walking away from the lot to finish.

Outside of cons listed above there are no other problems to this course that would not make you want to at least check it out. Park is clean, community seems great, users take care of the course and vandalism is at a minimum. Its refreshing to see a course in the vacinity of Charlotte that does not have obscene, silly or perverted markings all over benches and other equipment.
Other Thoughts: Course is suited for;
-First timers
-Beginners
-Intermediates looking for a boost of confidence
-Advanced and above looking to play deuce-or-die, skins, or ace race type play.

I consider myself between the Int. and Adv. categories and it was refreshing to play a course where I could shut off my brain and not have to worry about shooting double-digits up. Was able to shoot under par while being completely out of focus.

I imagine Bailey has gotten quite a bit more interesting since its transition from 9- to 18-holer. I'll be honest, living over 30 minutes away I wouldn't have even ventured to Bailey had it not been 18 holes or more. I feel I would frequent this course more if I lived closer, but probably won't make the venture again until I am playing Bradford also, and have the time to play them both.

Bailey's close location to Bradford Park allows you to play a nice warm-up round at Bailey before tackling the Bradford beast. The areas of North Meck, Cabarrus and Lake Norman are starting to get their share of courses. Pretty soon there are just going to be too many to play over here, so get out here and use them! Enjoy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginner Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I put this course on par with Elon Park's Eager Beaver. Course is good for what it was designed for. If you are new to the game; or, have someone with you that is new to the game, this course is almost perfect for you. There are just enough wide open shots to test your distance, along with just enough wooded shots to prepare you for the lumberjack courses the Charlotte area is famous for. You certainly do not want to introduce someone to the game sending them to Renny, Squirrel Lake, Hornet's Nest, etc.
This is a nice, safe environment for established players to work on their short game, for intermediate players to work on whatever they want to, and for beginners to be introduced to the game.
Cons: Pretty muddy/slippery after a rain. Choose your footwear acordingly.
Other Thoughts: 1/11/2013 20-hole layout map added. Holes 13A and 13B used to be on the old course, the 2012 Worlds did not play either. I am certain they will be part of the planned 24-hole design; but in the meantime, there is an 18 or 20 hole layout. Just add the 13A and 13B loop to make the 20 hole layout

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/15/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
I think most of the course is in very good shape. All the play has compacted the soil. Slippery parts to watch out for are the practice basket area. Ditch after hole 7 tee, 8-9 transition, 12-13 transition, 15 fairway, 15-16 transition.

 Short & Sweet

2-4    6/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Wasn't crowded. Played twice and never had to wait or felt rushed by people behind us.
- Very cool course in my opinion. Fun and technical. Lots of different shots required.
- You can play it twice in relatively short time. This is a pro since you can quickly switch things up and try something different.
- Clean & quiet
- You won't lose a disc on this course (that's a pro in my book).
- Hole variation. This course has you going in and out of woods, up and down terrain, to the left and right, and straight.
- Highly recommended.
Cons: - I love ripping long drives, so that was a bit of a disappointment. Hole 12, 15, 16 offered a little bit in this area.
- More signage would make it better. We missed hole #12 but that's because we misread the arrow. #13 is in the woods to the right of 12's basket.
- #18 is next to the road leading into the parking area. Just make sure the road is clear before letting it rip if you're starting out
Other Thoughts: This is my first review. I was kinda worried about navigation based off of some other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised to find that we navigated it quite easily so I figured I'd take some fear out of any other newbies looking to try this out.

Arrows pointing to next tee's are very helpful, and, because the actual holes are more short and technical, you can pretty much see the basket from the tee's (except for #7 that's around the bend, #11 which is to the right around the tree line, and #12 but you see that one on the way to the tee box after #11).

If you're in the area for a visit, I recommend it as a fun, technical short game course. If you're not that great with your drives, or are starting off, this would be your course of choice to practice!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best designed short courses I've played. The park is clean, safe and very nice and the holes are all within birdie range but still require some ability to park your drive or make an ace run. It could easily be played with only a disc or two but I carried a bag full and worked on my game with some new discs. This is the perfect course for newbies and a great play for anyone who enjoys controlling the flight of a disc towards a possible ace.
Cons: My 3.5 rating is based on this being what it is, a short course, so that's not a con for me in this case. I actually tossed a driver a couple of times, there are 4 or 5 holes in the 250+ range, so it's not like it's just a pitch and putt. Once all the concrete tees are in place I'll have no cons to list.
Other Thoughts: Again, fun, fun, fun place to toss. Short, but not silly short, requires some finesse. If this course were closer to me I'd likely play it daily. Want to get someone interested in the sport you love? Bring them here. Did I mention fun?

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Better than ever!!

2-4    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was originally 9 holes but was expanded to a full 18 hole course...and is better than ever now! The course plays fairly quickly with a wide variety of shots and scenery. The course now brings you through the beautiful open scenery and through some dense woods! There are wide open drives and some tight wooded fairway shots to enjoy. Allot of work has gone into the expansion of this course and it is appreciated! Its worth a look and still fairly safe of beginners to intermediate players.
Cons: Alright, this course is the bermuda triangle of disc golf! I have lost more discs at this course than any other! You wouldn't think it, but thrower beware! Nevertheless the course is still great fun! The expansion is not complete yet so the course can be a little confusing. I know they are still working on this so I am sure it will be epic when completed.
I did notice some poison ivy in the back wooded holes but not much. This course has a ton of briar patches though so be careful of that. All in all nothing major in the con department as this course is very enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: This course can attract all types of players now and a big thank you goes to the Charlotte DG Club for expanding this course. A great course for beginners and intermediates but the pro players may find the course tedious. This course went from a little beginner course to a full blown DG course. It great fun but just be paitent as the expansion progress finishes. Although all 18 holes are operational. Hope to see you there!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.