Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #13A (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13A Approach



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Beginner Course

2-4    8/21/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I put this course on par with Elon Park's Eager Beaver. Course is good for what it was designed for. If you are new to the game; or, have someone with you that is new to the game, this course is almost perfect for you. There are just enough wide open shots to test your distance, along with just enough wooded shots to prepare you for the lumberjack courses the Charlotte area is famous for. You certainly do not want to introduce someone to the game sending them to Renny, Squirrel Lake, Hornet's Nest, etc.
This is a nice, safe environment for established players to work on their short game, for intermediate players to work on whatever they want to, and for beginners to be introduced to the game.
Cons: Pretty muddy/slippery after a rain. Choose your footwear acordingly.
Other Thoughts: 1/11/2013 20-hole layout map added. Holes 13A and 13B used to be on the old course, the 2012 Worlds did not play either. I am certain they will be part of the planned 24-hole design; but in the meantime, there is an 18 or 20 hole layout. Just add the 13A and 13B loop to make the 20 hole layout

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/15/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
I think most of the course is in very good shape. All the play has compacted the soil. Slippery parts to watch out for are the practice basket area. Ditch after hole 7 tee, 8-9 transition, 12-13 transition, 15 fairway, 15-16 transition.

 Nice course

5+    6/25/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Benttreedg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course very clean. Some what of a short course. There are some tough holes but then there are some pretty simple ones as well. Nice concrete tee pads. This is a perfect course to work on midrange shots and some possible aces.
Cons: Short course. Some of the marking from tee to basket are not correct. Could use score cards.
Other Thoughts: Hole one starts right next to the tennis courts. When you get done playing and its between June and August you can reward yourself with some blackberries right behind 18 basket there are tons of them so enjoy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

2-4    6/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Wasn't crowded. Played twice and never had to wait or felt rushed by people behind us.
- Very cool course in my opinion. Fun and technical. Lots of different shots required.
- You can play it twice in relatively short time. This is a pro since you can quickly switch things up and try something different.
- Clean & quiet
- You won't lose a disc on this course (that's a pro in my book).
- Hole variation. This course has you going in and out of woods, up and down terrain, to the left and right, and straight.
- Highly recommended.
Cons: - I love ripping long drives, so that was a bit of a disappointment. Hole 12, 15, 16 offered a little bit in this area.
- More signage would make it better. We missed hole #12 but that's because we misread the arrow. #13 is in the woods to the right of 12's basket.
- #18 is next to the road leading into the parking area. Just make sure the road is clear before letting it rip if you're starting out
Other Thoughts: This is my first review. I was kinda worried about navigation based off of some other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised to find that we navigated it quite easily so I figured I'd take some fear out of any other newbies looking to try this out.

Arrows pointing to next tee's are very helpful, and, because the actual holes are more short and technical, you can pretty much see the basket from the tee's (except for #7 that's around the bend, #11 which is to the right around the tree line, and #12 but you see that one on the way to the tee box after #11).

If you're in the area for a visit, I recommend it as a fun, technical short game course. If you're not that great with your drives, or are starting off, this would be your course of choice to practice!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

For your short game...

5+    9/26/2012   5/27/2011
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 56  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained.
- Trash buckets or cans at nearly every hole.
- You can tell the community cares about this park.
- Glow Disc Golf at night looks like it could be a great time!
- Great course for beginners and honing in your short game.
- Big pads for short holes!
- The park as a whole is in really great shape.
Cons: - This isn't necessarily a con, as long as you know what to expect, but the course is pretty short. It's great for fast rounds where you only want to take out a couple discs. Intermediate players should be able to play the full course with a putter and a mid-range, while some shots still give you an opportunity to toss a driver if you're feeling aggressive.
Other Thoughts: If you are just learning the game or need to work on your approach accuracy, this is the course for it! Although I'm used to longer courses in the Charlotte area, the quality and care that this course exhibits was still a breath of fresh air. I will certainly return for a fun round to play my short game. There's a nice variety to the holes and you can get a round finished in no time. I played almost three discs consistently and still finished 18 in a hour and a half. If you expect to play a shorter course, you'll have a great time.

Update: For a while now, this course has added a couple more holes, which play well and add to the overall experience. Why pass up the two alternate #13s if you have the time?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  impressed but what?

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: chainbreaker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: it's an awesome course on how short it is compared to other courses! everything was maintained. I liked the left turns throughout the course just for the fact that majority of my distance throws go left then right
I enjoyed the water hazard at the end of #6 and 9.
holes 1-2-3 and 11 all had the hole signs that had the hole number, par & distance. I don't really know if they're doing something with all the signs or what?? but cant really take that from me I just played for the first time yesterday and decided to tinker on here afterwards.
holes 1-4, 9 & 10, 15-18 are out in the open, which for me is great, i'm great at throwing distance and these hole surely tested my skill.
aside from playing Stumpy Creek in Mooresville this course was a piece of cake in the length of the course in general.
Cons:

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A beautifully manicured park containing a large sports complex is home to the Bailey 18-hole disc golf course. Bailey makes the most of a small pond and wooded area, as well as the slight to moderate elevation changes on site. Most holes are easily reachable with a mid-range or putter, even for beginners or recreational players. For more seasoned players, Bailey becomes a great deuce-or-die course full of fun holes and ace runs while still providing reasonable risks and a few challenges. The course starts out relatively open before weaving in and out the woods for the rest of the holes.
- Holes 7, 8 and 9 play around a small pond and are great holes with pin positions that take advantage of the inherent risk of getting plastic wet. #9 is a downhill ace run between a high tension tower with the pond directly behind the pin.
- Good pin positions and greens in general. Where possible, pins are protected with trees, elevation, and/or water.
- The course in general has a nice flow between up, down, left, right and mixes hole styles well throughout.
- Grippy, new concrete tee pads in great shape. Maybe a little on the short side, but longer ones aren't really needed for this course.
- At least some holes have multiple pin positions. It appeared that the more open holes tended to have double pin placements.
- Signs show distance, par, and hole number but do not have a map. Next tee signage as needed.
- Scattered trashcans and benches.
Cons: - The sign distances didn't seem accurate in places, unless the measurement was for another pin position.
- #18 finishes leading away from the parking area and #1. An awkward finish to an otherwise solid course.
Other Thoughts: - While nothing spectacular, Bailey is a fun little course great for beginners or for a quick putter/midrange round. Lots of fun shots throughout that would definitely have me coming back for more if I lived nearby.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a new player!

1    4/6/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-kept course in a very nice park. Good concrete pads at all holes. Navigation is pretty simple, and there are only a couple spots that require any searching or walking. Nice, new baskets, and good fairway maintenance. Looks like the locals care about this course. I would expect this course to get better as some of the trees grow on the holes that are a little more open. Nice mix of wide open and wooded holes. Not a one-trick pony as far as the design goes. It even manages to use what little elevation that is available on a few of the holes.
Cons: A very short course. Several of the holes almost make you feel like working on your jump putts. For an advanced or intermediate player this course won't keep you interested. Only a few holes that really make you hit any sort of line with your shot. Overall, not a real fun course if you are a decent player, or in my case have played a lot of courses.
Other Thoughts: Bailey Road is a decent course for what it is. It will never be confused with its more famous neighbors down in Charlotte, but it should do a good job of introducing new players to the game. I wouldn't recommend this course to most players, but if you need to introduce someone to the game, or just want a relaxing round with your better half, this course could be just right for you.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run!!

5+    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: bsstarnesj
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: For this to be a very easy course it is magnificient! I have been playing DG for around 6 months and my game grew on this course. it is a very fun and somewhat challenging course. beginner friendly! even my 4 yr old brother enjoys this course. there are 6 movable pin locations that vary week to week. You'll find yourself having to throw every shot in your bag on this course....

The GLOW golf on thurs, night is cool too. it is at 7:30 and the led lights are awesome.
come out and support the CDGC....
Cons: When it rains it gets muddy on some holes, bad!
Other Thoughts: Mark has truly dedicated so much time in creating a course for tomorow's pros.......

keep it up!!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Glow Golf Great!!!

5+    10/7/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: Volman1998
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great shot makers course with trees and distance right at the edge of most midrange skill players ability. The course is well marked with the move from one hole to the next made very easy.
Cons: Only the need for the tee areas to be finished.
Other Thoughts: Great job being done by the Glow League!!!


3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 great course for kids in 2012 worlds.

5+    10/6/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: chingaling
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: the course just became a full 18 this year, but you can't tell. Mark Huether, one of the main designers for the new layout did a phenomenal job turning the course into a fun par 54, it is excpected to be involved in the 2012 worlds coming up for a younger field of players, which will be great.

the course has every up shot you need in your bag to make you become deadly in laying up on longer courses, great for a n ego boost or just a quick round after work, Bailey is my favorite course when it comes to time limits or having my 2 year old daughter with me, tee pads are coming in the near future, the pads are already boxed in with 2x4's ready for the upcoming poor.

- length is great.
- risk/reward is even resonable for the short length course.


Cons: Cons, why haven't their been a c tier event at this course yet?

21 holes avalable someday?
Other Thoughts: If any one were to be upset about the course or style of it, please contact Mark Huether and he can schedual you in to volunteer for a few hours and help make the course "more presentable".

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.