Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 great course for kids in 2012 worlds.

5+    10/6/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: chingaling
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: the course just became a full 18 this year, but you can't tell. Mark Huether, one of the main designers for the new layout did a phenomenal job turning the course into a fun par 54, it is excpected to be involved in the 2012 worlds coming up for a younger field of players, which will be great.

the course has every up shot you need in your bag to make you become deadly in laying up on longer courses, great for a n ego boost or just a quick round after work, Bailey is my favorite course when it comes to time limits or having my 2 year old daughter with me, tee pads are coming in the near future, the pads are already boxed in with 2x4's ready for the upcoming poor.

- length is great.
- risk/reward is even resonable for the short length course.

Cons: Cons, why haven't their been a c tier event at this course yet?

21 holes avalable someday?
Other Thoughts: If any one were to be upset about the course or style of it, please contact Mark Huether and he can schedual you in to volunteer for a few hours and help make the course "more presentable".

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Bailey

5+    10/9/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: smayne
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I just started playing disc golf with my son the past couple months, we play Bailey all the time have played 4 other courses and not one of them compares to Bailey. Mark has done a great job and continues to make this course awesome, keep up good work Mark we appreciate it. And if anyone really wants to have fun come out to glow golf at night !!!!!!!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Mark your hard work has really paid off, thanks for making a great place for my son and me to have some good fun CHEAP entertainment. Course is awesome !!!!!

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.


1    8/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: this beginner friendly course will test the beginner, a great place to learn the game. the park has a nice play ground, and the new and improved layout will make you want to run for aces on every shot.
Cons: none ,this is the most perfect course in the world ....loook no further than bailey road park
Other Thoughts: after playing this course once and shooting 10 down , i cosider it a huge ego boost to play here. the new holes are really cool for the amount of space that was available, good balance of shots. mark did a great job with this course. show this man some respect. and as a final thought.....GET SOME

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/25/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is a nice short easy and fun course I like it a lot it helps those who are not as skilled boost there confadince up and since its a beginers course it makes it fun for everyone to play on weather your a begginer or not
Cons: Its still being worked on
Other Thoughts: I think mark did a great job on this course for a short course I love it easy to play and fun

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Waste of time

1    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Gina.Khamo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: I suppose it's a good course for beginners.
Cons: If this were the first course I had ever gone to, i'm not sure I would ever play again. The holes were all jumbled, the majority of the tees were composed of boxed in dirt, and there were rarely any signs. Also, the average distance was about 150ft.
Other Thoughts: This course gives disc golf a bad name. The creator should be ashamed.

4 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Baileys; rich, smooth, creamy, delicious

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 112  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.3 Years
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is Ace Race personified. Short < 300' holes abound in this mostly open park with a few of the holes being moderately wooded. For the more experience player, there should be more birdies here than an aviary. A great course for working on the putting and approaching, all you really need to score well here is a putter, maybe a mid.

The L-R variety is actually pretty good despite the shortness and it's mixed up pretty well so that the holes don't feel too repetitive. The concrete tees being put in are really nice too, they're fit for a course twice as long. Next tee signs help tremendously since multiple baskets are in view often. Well-maintained park with plenty of other stuff to do, tennis, basketball, etc.

Nice Innova Discatchers and apparently they have some glow rounds on Thursdays I think which would be a lot of fun there.

Cons: Well, it's short but I actually like that, makes it a nice compliment or change of pace from Stumpy Creek up the road. You can see baskets everywhere, and I actually parked #12's thinking it was # 11's (#11 is to the right, #12 has a flag sticking out on top.)

The rough is tall and thick grass that borders the fairways, giving the course the its only semblance of difficulty. I didn't find a problem avoiding it but the many golfers I passed looking for their discs apparently did.

Finding the tee for #16 is not easy, keep to the right side of the road and follow the tree line. #17's tee is apparently just a dirt patch right now. It's really easy to go from #15 to #18 without realizing it.
Other Thoughts: This course appears to be really popular with college kids and Rec types, as it should be b/c it suits their skill level well. These types aren't always the most etiquette savvy but I didn't have a problem with any of them, they seemed nice.

This course is great for quick, fun, metal-seeking rounds. Grab your brosephs from the local frat and bang tha chainz.

Oh, and one more thing: I'm Old Gregg!!!

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: extrovert
Played: 56  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best designed short courses I've played. The park is clean, safe and very nice and the holes are all within birdie range but still require some ability to park your drive or make an ace run. It could easily be played with only a disc or two but I carried a bag full and worked on my game with some new discs. This is the perfect course for newbies and a great play for anyone who enjoys controlling the flight of a disc towards a possible ace.
Cons: My 3.5 rating is based on this being what it is, a short course, so that's not a con for me in this case. I actually tossed a driver a couple of times, there are 4 or 5 holes in the 250+ range, so it's not like it's just a pitch and putt. Once all the concrete tees are in place I'll have no cons to list.
Other Thoughts: Again, fun, fun, fun place to toss. Short, but not silly short, requires some finesse. If this course were closer to me I'd likely play it daily. Want to get someone interested in the sport you love? Bring them here. Did I mention fun?

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Bailey Beginner Course

1    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Mule1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please pardon my rating. I would rate it higher if I were a beginner. I am proud of Mark's design here. Making a short , very short, course fun to play is difficult. He used the terrain and woods well. The idea was to make this accessable for the very young and not frustrating for the true beginner.
Cons: It is a work in progress. Mark will make sure that benches and tee signs show up as he continues to complete the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is targeted specifically at beginners and families. The Charlotte Disc Golf Club has already designed another course just a few miles down the road for those of you who want a beat down! Hopefully work on that course will begin the fall of 2010.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    0/0/0000   6/22/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 209  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, short 18-hole course. The most variety of any short course I've played.
- Great mix of holes. About 1/3 of the holes are true "open" holes, another third are partly open (have some trees), and the last third are wooded holes.
- Great use of elevation. Good mix of up- and downhill holes. Gotta like the turnarounds of #6 to 8 & 11 to 12, where the hole distance are essentially the same length, but because of up vs downhill, you're throwing totally different shots/discs.
- I love how the wooded holes on this course have a more "rugged" feel to them compared to most of Charlotte-area broken-in wooded holes/courses. Think Reedy Creek or Elon short. It means you need to throw a good tee shot for your 2, but it's not unfair.
- Plenty of birdie, or ace, chances on this course. Average hole length is around 200 feet (195 in short layout; 205 in long layout), with no hole longer than 300 feet. You can play this course with only mid-range discs, or do the 2-disc routine instead of carrying a bag around.
- Great course to introduce newbies. They'll like the open/easier holes, and get a taste of some challenge on the wooded/tighter holes.
- Beautiful park with great amenities - tennis/basketball courts, ball field, walking trails, playground. Bathrooms & water fountains aren't on the course, but they're close to the beginning of the course.
Cons: Mostly typical stuff for a new course/new holes that will be worked out over time.
- Only half the holes have tee pads. The original 9 tee pads are in place, new holes are dirt tees.
- Tee signs are needed. Some are hand-written, some are metal (from old course), some are non-existent/missing.
- On a couple holes, the basket you see from tee isn't the one you're throwing to. The makeshift-signs indicate this, but it'd still possibly pose a problem to FTPers.
- A couple holes needed better transitions. Most holes had next T (nex-T) signs, making it easy, but going from #11 to 12, you have a long walk down an old hole's fairway. I also walked right past the dirt/tee area for #4 because of a missing sign; transition from #17 to #18 needs to be better marked. (It won't be a problem once there's a tee pad on #18).
- The short vs long layout wasn't clear. I never saw dual tee pads, nor is it clear if the basket moves from long vs short positions. It'd be nice if there were a true longer layout, to give the course a little more length.
- No benches throughout course, only saw a couple wastebaskets.
- The rough/thorns are really thick in some parts, so be careful going after errant discs in these areas.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It has the most variety/fun-factor of any genuine short course I've played. Still, I'd like to see a few improvements.
- I miss a couple of the old hole layouts, specifically the former, long #3. It'd be nice to see the course add a couple longer holes (at least 300 ft+) and had a true longer layout, a la Elon Shorts dual layouts.
- It'd be nice to see a few more wooded holes. The wooded holes on the course offer some nice layouts and require different shots. They're good enough that you'd rather play more holes like this than a couple of the easier/open holes.
- If you can throw a mid-range disc 200 feet and/or accurate, you'll be in birdie position on almost every single hole.
- Course has enough variety, and interesting hole layouts, that I think everyone will enjoy this course. Add some tougher layouts in a long layout, and the rating will increase. South Charlotte can have Elon, DGers north of the city will be more than pleased with this course.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    5/25/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16.9 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
- Easy to Navigate
- Course is very clean and well maintained
- Good accomodations, clean bathrooms and water fountains
- Great for beginners
- Good mixture of shots
- Great course to get a quick round in and or work on your approach game.
- Some will find the course too short
- Still new, so signs and teepads are still being put in for some holes
Other Thoughts: Unlike most short pitch and putt courses Baileys doesnt come across as repetitive. It makes good use of the park and offers a variety of shots and mixture of wooded/open holes. Dont let the short holes cause you to miss out on this very fun course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.