Disc Golf Center
Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

5+    0/0/0000   6/22/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun, short 18-hole course. The most variety of any short course I've played.
- Great mix of holes. About 1/3 of the holes are true "open" holes, another third are partly open (have some trees), and the last third are wooded holes.
- Great use of elevation. Good mix of up- and downhill holes. Gotta like the turnarounds of #6 to 8 & 11 to 12, where the hole distance are essentially the same length, but because of up vs downhill, you're throwing totally different shots/discs.
- I love how the wooded holes on this course have a more "rugged" feel to them compared to most of Charlotte-area broken-in wooded holes/courses. Think Reedy Creek or Elon short. It means you need to throw a good tee shot for your 2, but it's not unfair.
- Plenty of birdie, or ace, chances on this course. Average hole length is around 200 feet (195 in short layout; 205 in long layout), with no hole longer than 300 feet. You can play this course with only mid-range discs, or do the 2-disc routine instead of carrying a bag around.
- Great course to introduce newbies. They'll like the open/easier holes, and get a taste of some challenge on the wooded/tighter holes.
- Beautiful park with great amenities - tennis/basketball courts, ball field, walking trails, playground. Bathrooms & water fountains aren't on the course, but they're close to the beginning of the course.
Cons: Mostly typical stuff for a new course/new holes that will be worked out over time.
- Only half the holes have tee pads. The original 9 tee pads are in place, new holes are dirt tees.
- Tee signs are needed. Some are hand-written, some are metal (from old course), some are non-existent/missing.
- On a couple holes, the basket you see from tee isn't the one you're throwing to. The makeshift-signs indicate this, but it'd still possibly pose a problem to FTPers.
- A couple holes needed better transitions. Most holes had next T (nex-T) signs, making it easy, but going from #11 to 12, you have a long walk down an old hole's fairway. I also walked right past the dirt/tee area for #4 because of a missing sign; transition from #17 to #18 needs to be better marked. (It won't be a problem once there's a tee pad on #18).
- The short vs long layout wasn't clear. I never saw dual tee pads, nor is it clear if the basket moves from long vs short positions. It'd be nice if there were a true longer layout, to give the course a little more length.
- No benches throughout course, only saw a couple wastebaskets.
- The rough/thorns are really thick in some parts, so be careful going after errant discs in these areas.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It has the most variety/fun-factor of any genuine short course I've played. Still, I'd like to see a few improvements.
- I miss a couple of the old hole layouts, specifically the former, long #3. It'd be nice to see the course add a couple longer holes (at least 300 ft+) and had a true longer layout, a la Elon Shorts dual layouts.
- It'd be nice to see a few more wooded holes. The wooded holes on the course offer some nice layouts and require different shots. They're good enough that you'd rather play more holes like this than a couple of the easier/open holes.
- If you can throw a mid-range disc 200 feet and/or accurate, you'll be in birdie position on almost every single hole.
- Course has enough variety, and interesting hole layouts, that I think everyone will enjoy this course. Add some tougher layouts in a long layout, and the rating will increase. South Charlotte can have Elon, DGers north of the city will be more than pleased with this course.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and Putt

5+    5/25/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Easy to Navigate
- Course is very clean and well maintained
- Good accomodations, clean bathrooms and water fountains
- Great for beginners
- Good mixture of shots
- Great course to get a quick round in and or work on your approach game.
Cons:
- Some will find the course too short
- Still new, so signs and teepads are still being put in for some holes
Other Thoughts: Unlike most short pitch and putt courses Baileys doesnt come across as repetitive. It makes good use of the park and offers a variety of shots and mixture of wooded/open holes. Dont let the short holes cause you to miss out on this very fun course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Sweet, and to the Point

1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a short, easy rec level course. There's no real need to carry more than a mid and a putter. It's in a nice, clean park with lots of other things to do, including softball fields, and tennis and basketball courts.

The holes have a nice variety of left and right turning fairways. Also, the mix of uphill and downhill holes is nice. Excellent use if the available terrain has been made.

Every hole is an ace run. If I played this course every day, I'd expect to have an ace or two by now.

The course is fairly straightforward to navigate, with arrows pointing the way to the next tee near every basket.There are a couple of times where you can see more than one basket, but you're always throwing to the shortest basket.

The tees, even though they are not all concrete, are more than adequate, as they are all level, provide sure footing, and are easy to locate.

New DISCatcher Pros.are in place on every hole.
Cons: My biggest con is the difficulty. Even though I didn't score very well, I could imagine shooting in the high 30's here. It's not that challenging. Every hole feels like a deuce or die kind of hole, but on the other hand, every hole could also be aced, so that kind of works both ways. While it has a nice variety of up/down and left/right, there's little variety in length, and no multi-shot par 4's and 5's.

There are not as many wooded holes as I prefer, and many if not most of the holes feel like they are wide open. This doesn't tempt me to try real go for it risky shots that I may have to pay the price for not making, but on the other hand, this course is designed to be a simple rec-level course. It does that well.

There is thick vegetation relatively close to some of the baskets, particularly hole 9, where discs could be easily lost.

With a course as open as this, lots of sunblock is necessary for me, and I found myself looking for shade on most of the holes.

Signage. while I am sure will improve for the new course layout, is sporadic at this point, and could be a little better, although it's not entirely necessary as the course is short enough that you can quickly ascertain hole layout without it.

I didn't notice any benches or trash cans out on the course, but this is a minor con, and I'm sure those are coming in due time.
Other Thoughts: This is a cool little course. It's a great place to sharpen your short game, and great for beginners and more casual players. It's not a destination course, but if you're in the neighborhood, it's well worth playing. Much respect and many thanks go out to Mark Huether and the rest of the Charlotte Disc Golf Club for all the work they've done here and all around the Queen City.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Better than ever!!

2-4    5/9/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was originally 9 holes but was expanded to a full 18 hole course...and is better than ever now! The course plays fairly quickly with a wide variety of shots and scenery. The course now brings you through the beautiful open scenery and through some dense woods! There are wide open drives and some tight wooded fairway shots to enjoy. Allot of work has gone into the expansion of this course and it is appreciated! Its worth a look and still fairly safe of beginners to intermediate players.
Cons: Alright, this course is the bermuda triangle of disc golf! I have lost more discs at this course than any other! You wouldn't think it, but thrower beware! Nevertheless the course is still great fun! The expansion is not complete yet so the course can be a little confusing. I know they are still working on this so I am sure it will be epic when completed.
I did notice some poison ivy in the back wooded holes but not much. This course has a ton of briar patches though so be careful of that. All in all nothing major in the con department as this course is very enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: This course can attract all types of players now and a big thank you goes to the Charlotte DG Club for expanding this course. A great course for beginners and intermediates but the pro players may find the course tedious. This course went from a little beginner course to a full blown DG course. It great fun but just be paitent as the expansion progress finishes. Although all 18 holes are operational. Hope to see you there!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    5/5/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 170  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ** I am rating this course based on its purpose as a beginner family/ youth / recreational player course.

Bailey is a short beginner course layed out in a very pretty park in Cornelius, NC.
Every hole is short and easily accessible for strollers, and children. Every hole is an ace run ranging from 148' to 270'. The ORIGINAL course had multiple 100' straight on throws. The new layout utilizes blind shots on the 2-150' (shortest) holes to add to difficulty. Bailey was designed as a training course. Each hole is designed to practice multiple shots. For example: Hole 1 is a forehand or spike anhyzer (righties). There are lines on almost every hole to practice thumbers, tomahawks, and all variations of back hand and forehand. I play with 1 disc and a putter to practice mid-range and upshots. You can bring an understable mid and throw every hole as an anhyzer back hand or forehand...or just bring a firebird and practice stable back hand, forehand, and thumbers.
Fairways are "fair" there aren't the extra trees that you see on some courses to make short holes harder. Difficulty is added through use of elevation and fairway turns.

Holes in the open are protected/obsured to the left, front, or side by obstacles. Typically these are further than 30' so a poor shot will land you outside the circle. This adds a little difficulty over other small courses where errant or long shots can be knocked down inside the circle.
Even though holes are short, 4's are easy to achieve on a few of the wooded holes.
The course is layed out in a small"ish" piece of property but most of the fairways are apart or separated by dense woods. Greens and Tees are separated so incoming disc danger should be rare. 2 holes where fairway crossing is a potential have blockades set up to protect people teeing off or resting on benches.Shule is not bad. The new design directs discs away from old problem rasberry bush areas. Also, ALOT of brush hogging has been done to make disc finding even easier.

The addition of 5 wooded holes is nice on a sunny, or windy, or rainy day. They are very pretty in mature hardwood forests. This is a great course to get a quick round in after work or on the weekend without taking up hours. This is one of the only NON-private courses for Northern Charlotte Disc Golfers.
The original tee pads are awesome 5' x 12' and probably a little large for the length holes. There are concrete tees at every hole, 5 alternate pin locations, 11 benches and trashcans at 13 holes. There is a 19th hole #11a now to add to the fun. There are metal distance and par signs at every hole.
Cons: The course is short. The average hole is 200'. I would say that the advanced or pro player will not feel challenged and will expect a 2 on every hole if not running an Ace. Discs landing in the prickers are considered "lost" to the average rec player. For now some tees are not level. A few trash cans need to be added and benches. Sometimes the course can have large groups of 1 disc rec players, but it is easy to play through. Signage is lacking for now, however, you can see the baskets on 16 holes so it is not necessary. The last 4 holes have longer transitions and are a little confusing until signs are in place and baskets are properly marked. With the popularity of the course at an all time high, crowding will become an issue.
Other Thoughts: Again, this course was designed to be a training course, beginner course, and a course for the Juniors to play in the 2012 worlds. So my rating reflects how well the course performs to its intended use. It gets a lot of play from beginning players and really has sparked interest in DG, in North charlotte. There are some people that play there after work every single day now that the new layout is open. Attendance used to be about 60 people per day on the old course. Now, an a nice day, you might see 200+ rounds played on a weekend.

The longer holes over 200' tee off from flat ground so if you want the feel of a full run up, you will be able to as the pads will be set into the ground so they can be mowed over.

I have heard that some people don't like losing the >100' hole 1 and 7 and the 427 and 370' holes 3 and 9. You can still play them as Safari golf if play is light. Bailey is going to make a great safari course, and will be great for Glow golf which has been running every Thursday since June 3, 2010.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.