Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
B.R.P (Beginners Ready to Play)

5+    4/1/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: Bergman Bomber
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: I absolutely love Baileys Road Park. It is more of a open, "parky" course, but has a good variety of wooded holes. Not a lot of elevation changes and most pins are around 200 feet so it makes for a fun Ace Drive on almost every hole. And with that being said it makes for the perfect place to bring a new disc golfer and introduce them to the sport, without making the experienced player bored. It is a great course to test new throw's and new disc's with many of the fairways being open and not left or right hand dominant. Baileys is also perfect for getting a full game in after work or in the late afternoon, or wrap up a long day of disc golf in the Charlotte area. And when it comes to the non-private courses in the area this is the most well maintained course. It seems like they mow the grass everyday and the wooded fairways are always clear. There are also a couple very unique holes. Hole 9 under the power lines is one of my favorites and 18 the pin between 2 trees. And to top it all off the views you can get from Baileys Road Park in the evening, when the sun is starting to set is absolutely amazing.
Cons: What I think turns a lot of disc golfer way Baileys is how easy it is. It is one of the easier courses in the area but that can make for a great confidence booster when any disc golfer needs that. The course is easy to navigate but be careful around hole 11, its a hard right hand dogs leg that can catch you off guard if its your first time. The roughage here is, well, really rough. I myself have lost a couple disc here just by turning them over into the thick, sharp foliage, so be careful. The actual full 20 holes is 2 holes that are commonly skipped, marked 13 A and B, which I don't know why there are not labeled 14, 15 ect. But when its all set and done its not a Con to have low score right?
Other Thoughts: Overall Baileys is a very fun course. Weather its your first time or you're a 10 year veteran, it's a quick and fun 20 holes. A quick shout out to Russell Schwarz and Mark Huether for the great upkeep of this awesome course on this awesome family-friendly park. If you got a first timer on your hand's be sure to take them to Baileys and spread the love of disc golf.
Date: 11/21/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Pet Pieve - Bailey not Baileys

Thanks for the review. 14 and 15 were not labeled that way because we couldnt have a 20 hole layout for Worlds and we wanted the baskets to be labeled in order. Just wait for 13A,B &C! and 15 A and 15 B! ...once I get this Robbins Park course done.

Great place to learn

5+    11/1/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bailey Road Park is a lot of fun! Its not very challenging for the more advanced player but lots of fun! None of the holes are over 300 feet so its easy to get a good score there. I got my first ACE here and I have only been playing for less than a year! This course is really easy to navigate with the tee boxes being close to each other. Also want to add that BRP is very well maintained course!
Cons: Not many complaints with this course. Only that the tee boxes could be a little bit bigger on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is alot of fun for everybody! Its worth the time to go play!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Course

1    6/9/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: NC-Tuc
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For the first time playing Bailey I had a great time. Met some good DG folks out there. The course is well kept and very fun to play. If your a new player I'd say play here a couple times before going to other courses! For players that have played awhile it is a good practice/warm up course. I'm a Bogey player pretty much but trying to change that by playing more and at different courses to hone my skills. I got my First 2 Birdies at Bailey and shot a nice 59 which in my book is good for me. I will be playing here more often since it's a nice quick course. 3 of us played it in 1-1/2 hrs and that was taking our time and chatting with other DGers.
Cons: Really don't have any cons that I seen other than an errant shot and wished that tree I hit wasn't in the way of my next shot.
Other Thoughts: Just an all around great course that's fun to play and can boost your confidence in your playing. I will be bringing my daughter & son out here to get them into playing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun but short

5+    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: quiggdisc1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very fun. some great shots for people that are starting thier discgolf life. also great for a getting a round in with little time.
Cons: once i really got into the round it was over. but still fun
Other Thoughts: worth the drive.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Course

5+    3/10/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners or for more experienced players working on their short game. There are a variety of holes (wooded/open, uphill/downhill, hyzer/anhyzer). Mark does a great job maintaining the course and keeping signage in place (which is not easy with the recent vandalism).
Cons: Briars cover much of the borders of the fairways. This can result in lost discs or número use scratches if you go off course. However, this is a pro when the blackberries are ripe in summer.

Hole 15 is a bit out of place on the course. It is a fun hole for more experienced players, but will likely frustrate most beginners.
Other Thoughts: The course is where many of us in the north side of the county learned how to play and is largely responsible for the high number of players in the area.

If you are new to the game or want to play a quick round it is fantastic.

Random doubles glow golf is played on Mondays at dusk. A fun way to play a casual competitive round and meet other players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Road

1    8/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice park. It is very short and super beginner friendly. It has many holes playing in the open. The grass is very lush and mowed. The open holes have brush or large trees protecting the green area. The rest of the holes play in the woods. There is some slight rolling terrain around the course and water comes into play on a few holes. There was water and restrooms located near the parking.

Excellent Innova Discatchers.

Great concrete tee pads.

Good signage.

Navigation was super easy and super fast to play.

Course forced many basic lines.

More skilled players can dump the bag and play this course with a couple of discs. This course measures around 4,300ft. You can go old school and play it with a big lid.
Cons: This course is very very short and won't challenge more skilled players. 16 of the holes range from 155 to 255 in distance. The other 2 are listed at 300ft.

I almost deducted a 1/2 disc for this reason. I felt like this was the most poorly designed course in Charlotte. They built a wooden fence to protect the tee on #5 from being thrown on from #4. They also installed a big arrow pointing to #11. Another basket is in view and they planted some shrubs. Beginners will be bombarding that green with their shots. #16 plays down the walking path.

#18 was a very uneventful finish. Playing away from the parking by #1 then walking back.
Other Thoughts: I saw this course had a weekly glow league. That would be fun to play on this course.

This is by far the easiest course I played in Charlotte. It's a good mix up to make you feel like you can play this game after taking a beating from the harder courses.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/14/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review.

Unfortunatly sometimes a design is limited to what is allowed by a park department. This comment has a number of good "Cons" to discuss.

The "purpose" of this course redesign from 9 to 18 was to host very old and very young competitors for the 2012 worlds. In addition, it is intended to be "Your first course" and attracts hundreds of beginners/families daily. It is one of Charlotte's most played courses and is not in any way targeted towards the more advanced player.

Hole 4's backstop wall is a result of the skill level that plays at Bailey. 1 disc recreational players can over throw this green because of the speed of their 1 disc. 4-5 Green to Tee is about 80' and longer than many transitions in Charlotte. The wall isnt necessary however even the best planned 200' hole doesnt account for someone throwing 400'. Sometimes it just is not feasible with space provided to make a 200' hole with 200' of buffer. The comment of the wall should be in the pro section. I have played MANY courses where tees and greens encroached on each other and most provided no protection. At least here thought to what "could" happen (albiet rarely) was given.

Shots from hole 6 penetrate hole 7's fairway. It is difficult to design around players throwing 320' throws on 180' fairways.

Hole 11 and 13 were part of the original design and have never been a problem. The large arrow is just a courtesy indicator of the actual fairway until the rows of crepe myrtle obscure the basket of 13 from 11. Seeing alternate/incorrect baskets in a meandering park design is common in disc golf, especially in open parks. At least here care has been taken to inform the thrower in multiple ways the correct bend of the fairway. Communication and the arrow sign should be considered a pro.

Hole 16 is bordered by 30' of tall grass and then a walking path to the left. Walking path borders are not uncommon in disc golf and the thrower/walker has a clear view of the entire disc golf hole. The walking path sits about 4' higher in elevation than the fairway, giving the walker an even better view and eliminating a good % of errant shots that cross the path. I actually used a disc golf shot predictor excel document that I found online to predict the % of shots that would cross this path or enter the switching station on #17. I presented this information to the town board when the course was designed.

Original design of the course had #18 finish after the current #18 around the back of the basketball courts. I nixed this for safety of the ball players. I toyed with a design that had 18 reversed with a double mando through the 2 green protective trees throwing back towards hole 1, however, that would have made the basket be surrounded on three sides by road or parking lot with the busy park road being on the Hyzer and prevailing wind side. The safety of this vs 200' extra finishing transition eliminated that hole direction from the final design. Players can finish the hole and safely transition to the border parking lot to get back to their cars. Also, the direction of 18 allows me to continue expanding the course as funding comes available. I have plans for 4 more holes prior to hole 16 and I can add some behind the basketball courts and baseball fields. For a 22-28 hole course that will reduce wear and tear on the current overplayed part.

 Perfect Beginner course

5+    7/11/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 214  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect beginner course

The course is mowed regularly and the open holes fairways look very nice.

It is an extremly easy course to navigate the signage is good and in most cases you can see the next tee from the previous baskets.

The design offers good variety of open and wooded holes and uses elevation change very well for such a short course.

Most of the time man made obstacles on a course are a negative for me but in this case the giant power line tower on hole 9 makes for a very unique hole in my opinion and makes for a fun hole.


The Blackberries on this course are some of the best I've ever had and its great to have a built in snack during the summer months.
Cons: The rough can be extremly rough and water comes into play on 2 holes inso there is a chance for a lost disc. There are also many briars in these areas that can tear you up

Very long transition from 15 to 16

This course has a few jacklegs that play it so there can be broken bottles and spraypaint on the course.
Other Thoughts: Bailey Road Park is a perfect design for its target group of players which are kids and beginner players. It is likely one of the most played courses in the charlotte area because so many players who are new to the sport play here. while experienced players will find it boring or too easy disc golf needs more courses like this so that people who are not as good or experienced can be introduced to the game on a course that can let them have some sucess

This course is very close to bradford and a private course which could make for a fun day of dg. bailey is a perfect course to throw in for a fun/quick round if you are in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you Pat.

The park department has limited the size tree that can be cut at Bailey Road Park. Therefore holes have to be designed to be shorter, wooded holes cannot be made fair if trees cannot be cut. Hole 15-16 transition is less than the old hole 15-16 transition since the creation of new hole 15. Hole 15 is one my favorites and most challenging on the course so I had to include it in for Worlds. Don't be suprised to see an additional 2 holes between 15 and 16 in the near future. I purposly planned 15 to allow for additional holes when the course grows to its full 24 hole size.

 Building Young Talent

1    5/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated in the town of Cornelius' multi-use 'flagship' park, covering about 70 acres of largely cleared rolling piedmont landscape. Course is well enough sequestered from other park activities. Park features enough area for adjustments and some additions to the course, but seemingly not enough for a major revision (which would be unnecessary as the course has a very specific 'target audience').

Equipment and signage are above average. This park's amenities are superior, and it should be noted that smoking is prohibited here. Several minor drainage issues are present throughout the course, but none affect play greatly, even after an above average rain event. Footing can be treacherous after rains. All targets are mounted at the standard height.

Bailey Road DGC can best be described as a recreational level course, perfect for 'setting the hook' into future generations of disc golfers, especially very young players. Course is also excellent for family play. With an average hole length of about 220', this might be obvious, and for scratch golfers the course would better be described as a 'par 2' or an 'executive' course. For advanced level players (or even higher), Bailey Road DGC is a perfect place to practice 'weak spots' in one's game, such as mid-range consistency, alternate delivery styles, the 'other' spin, or even technical rollers in a low risk environment. Bailey Road DGC would also be an excellent candidate for limited equipment competitions or vintage class competitions, and the course almost has that 'late 70's feel'. As would be the case with a course of this length, rounds are fast, even if one's play is poor.

Course balance regarding shot shapes is even, with no overt advantage given to either spin's stable shot shapes. Fairways are either very open or feature very generous 'cut-outs' through the woods, often with multiple attack routes to the hole. Course signage also promotes these multiple routes were appropriate. Greens are generally quite open and flat, but are frequently well protected from 'slop' (Yes Virginia, you must make a shot). A few greens are moderately sloped. Course features a minor water hazard, which comes into play around 2 greens, but no forced carries, which is in perfect concert for its intended users. There are 3 completely blind holes. Balance regarding terrain change is also quite good; flat, uphill, downhill and cross-hill are all represented proportionately. Roughs at Bailey Road DGC can be severely penal, but only a MAJOR gaff will incur this course's 'wrath'.

If I had young children that I wished to entrain to disc golf, I would take them to Bailey Road DGC. Methinks Charlotte is a burgeoning factory for young talent…

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fun course with no distances exceeding 300 feet. Most holes are open with a few tree obstacles. The course flows fairly well with some elevation used. A pond comes into play on #7 and #9.

Other Pros:
- adequate tee signs (distance, par, hole #)
- some holes have benches/ trash cans
- concrete tee pads
- extra hole after #11
- kiosk has a place to record your ace!
Cons: #11 and #13's baskets are very close to each other. *(see 1978's response)

The park was generally clean but the garbage cans were overflowing.

There are a few tricky spots to navigate, check the map to make a mental note; especially for the last 3 holes.
Other Thoughts: I didn't mind the holes being relatively short, it's a nice change from some of the other courses I've played.

The sign at the kiosk said Glow rounds are on Thursdays, I bet that is a blast here.

**Edit: I'm told glow rounds are on Monday's now, I am not a local so please check before joining in.

Bailey is definitely worth a play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Its actually 11 and 13 that are close together however and only when 13 is in the long basket. When in the short it is much less confusion. They are over 100' apart and separated by a 7 crepe myrtle hedgerow that will be untrimmed and proved future protection once mature.

Glow is now Mondays.

 Beginner Bailey

1    2/15/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, distance. No map of the hole but they are all so short that it really isn't needed here.

2) Ace-board at the kiosk up front which I also think is a great idea. It gives people to brag about their aces and takes the focus off of signing the baskets and signs. I am thinking about creating something like this for my home course actually.

3) This is like my home course Valley View in New Berlin, WI. It is basically a deuce or die course. While short, it can still be a lot of fun . . . it can also be very frustrating if you don't make a bunch of birdies.

4) #4 tee has a wood barrier to protect the people on the tee from errant throws from hole #3. The only goofy thing is the gaps are big enough to allow a flat driver to get through, which would really hurt whoever might be sitting on the bench. There was also a net or a fence in one other spot where I noticed errant discs could get into an adjacent fairway.

5) They used a good variety of terrain here and a nice variety of foliage density. There are all sorts of different trees and obstacles here including a few holes with low ceilings which force you to alter your normal throw.

6) #11 is a pretty unique hole . . . it goes down a slight slope out into a field with the basket tucked hard to the left around a woodline but the slope is down and away from the basket the entire way. It calls for a stall shot that cuts hard left to try and get close and I executed the shot perfectly. Unfortunately I missed the putt, but it was a hole design that I have never played.

7) Very much a beginner friendly course. It is short and the challenge is not too punishing. The beauty of it is that there still is enough challenge to keep moderately able players to have some fun executing shots.

8) Bathrooms and water available on the other side of the parking lot from the first tee.

9) There are some alternate basket locations on some of the holes but I don't believe all of them. It's always nice to be able to see a different layout when you go to a course repeatedly.

10) Ace-runs available on most holes . . . but the risk of running at them might make you shoot a lot of pars.

11) Nice yellow banded Innova Discatchers. These are the most attractive basket on the market in my opinion.

12) Designed appropriately for beginners and it did a good job suiting their abilities. Even though I am not a beginner however I can still enjoy the course, really there aren't many courses I won't enjoy playing again, but this one would bring me back for sure.

13) Water in play on a short downhill hole . . . you want to get it close so you don't leave yourself a 40' putt towards the lake.

14) Artificial OB was put in place on one hole to help protect the next fairway even though all it does is punish people who go into the creek . . .I would assume most rec players don't even pay attention to this sort of thing.
Cons: 1) The course is pretty short averaging only about 200' per hole . . . that is a negative for some, but I actually enjoy this kind of course all the time.

2) There are plenty of places where you might be searching for discs (for your beginner friends) but anyone with a decent amount of time under their belt will not miss many fairways out here. There just isn't enough from for average players to be so errant they need to be looking for their disc.

3) Distance variation is minimal and is definitely a lacking feature on this course. There are a couple long holes, but not enough to really make it feel like variety, it feels more like they needed to add a long hole to get you moved through the course.
Other Thoughts: There really are not that many negatives to say about this course because I knew what it was all about before I got there. It will be a perfect course for the young kids at the 2012 Worlds, but even a guy like me can still have fun out here. Is it the greatest course in Charlotte, NO, is it the prettiest course, NO, but it suits a need in disc golf and that is exposure to beginners and it helps to bring new people into the sport. I sure hope people can respect that, if not, don't play here and then complain about it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/6/2012 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review I followed up completing Stumpy Creek with Nevin and Nevin with Bailey. I can design beat you up holes :-) I appreciate the realization of the intended target for this course. Beginners.

Con:
3)

Hole distance is similar, but shot shapes vary from hole to hole. There simply was not enough room to create open long shots, and it was unecessary for the intended skill level player to have holes over 300'. The intention was to hook beginners to disc golf with varying hole looks that all have the potential for birdie. A beginner course does not need a 500' hole IMO.


< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.