Cornelius, NC 
Bailey Road Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket ("A" Position)



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
For your short game...

5+    9/26/2012   5/27/2011
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Well maintained.
- Trash buckets or cans at nearly every hole.
- You can tell the community cares about this park.
- Glow Disc Golf at night looks like it could be a great time!
- Great course for beginners and honing in your short game.
- Big pads for short holes!
- The park as a whole is in really great shape.
Cons: - This isn't necessarily a con, as long as you know what to expect, but the course is pretty short. It's great for fast rounds where you only want to take out a couple discs. Intermediate players should be able to play the full course with a putter and a mid-range, while some shots still give you an opportunity to toss a driver if you're feeling aggressive.
Other Thoughts: If you are just learning the game or need to work on your approach accuracy, this is the course for it! Although I'm used to longer courses in the Charlotte area, the quality and care that this course exhibits was still a breath of fresh air. I will certainly return for a fun round to play my short game. There's a nice variety to the holes and you can get a round finished in no time. I played almost three discs consistently and still finished 18 in a hour and a half. If you expect to play a shorter course, you'll have a great time.

Update: For a while now, this course has added a couple more holes, which play well and add to the overall experience. Why pass up the two alternate #13s if you have the time?

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  impressed but what?

1    4/19/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: chainbreaker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: it's an awesome course on how short it is compared to other courses! everything was maintained. I liked the left turns throughout the course just for the fact that majority of my distance throws go left then right
I enjoyed the water hazard at the end of #6 and 9.
holes 1-2-3 and 11 all had the hole signs that had the hole number, par & distance. I don't really know if they're doing something with all the signs or what?? but cant really take that from me I just played for the first time yesterday and decided to tinker on here afterwards.
holes 1-4, 9 & 10, 15-18 are out in the open, which for me is great, i'm great at throwing distance and these hole surely tested my skill.
aside from playing Stumpy Creek in Mooresville this course was a piece of cake in the length of the course in general.
Cons:

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Fun

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 195  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - A beautifully manicured park containing a large sports complex is home to the Bailey 18-hole disc golf course. Bailey makes the most of a small pond and wooded area, as well as the slight to moderate elevation changes on site. Most holes are easily reachable with a mid-range or putter, even for beginners or recreational players. For more seasoned players, Bailey becomes a great deuce-or-die course full of fun holes and ace runs while still providing reasonable risks and a few challenges. The course starts out relatively open before weaving in and out the woods for the rest of the holes.
- Holes 7, 8 and 9 play around a small pond and are great holes with pin positions that take advantage of the inherent risk of getting plastic wet. #9 is a downhill ace run between a high tension tower with the pond directly behind the pin.
- Good pin positions and greens in general. Where possible, pins are protected with trees, elevation, and/or water.
- The course in general has a nice flow between up, down, left, right and mixes hole styles well throughout.
- Grippy, new concrete tee pads in great shape. Maybe a little on the short side, but longer ones aren't really needed for this course.
- At least some holes have multiple pin positions. It appeared that the more open holes tended to have double pin placements.
- Signs show distance, par, and hole number but do not have a map. Next tee signage as needed.
- Scattered trashcans and benches.
Cons: - The sign distances didn't seem accurate in places, unless the measurement was for another pin position.
- #18 finishes leading away from the parking area and #1. An awkward finish to an otherwise solid course.
Other Thoughts: - While nothing spectacular, Bailey is a fun little course great for beginners or for a quick putter/midrange round. Lots of fun shots throughout that would definitely have me coming back for more if I lived nearby.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a new player!

1    4/6/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well-kept course in a very nice park. Good concrete pads at all holes. Navigation is pretty simple, and there are only a couple spots that require any searching or walking. Nice, new baskets, and good fairway maintenance. Looks like the locals care about this course. I would expect this course to get better as some of the trees grow on the holes that are a little more open. Nice mix of wide open and wooded holes. Not a one-trick pony as far as the design goes. It even manages to use what little elevation that is available on a few of the holes.
Cons: A very short course. Several of the holes almost make you feel like working on your jump putts. For an advanced or intermediate player this course won't keep you interested. Only a few holes that really make you hit any sort of line with your shot. Overall, not a real fun course if you are a decent player, or in my case have played a lot of courses.
Other Thoughts: Bailey Road is a decent course for what it is. It will never be confused with its more famous neighbors down in Charlotte, but it should do a good job of introducing new players to the game. I wouldn't recommend this course to most players, but if you need to introduce someone to the game, or just want a relaxing round with your better half, this course could be just right for you.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run!!

5+    3/31/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: bsstarnesj
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: For this to be a very easy course it is magnificient! I have been playing DG for around 6 months and my game grew on this course. it is a very fun and somewhat challenging course. beginner friendly! even my 4 yr old brother enjoys this course. there are 6 movable pin locations that vary week to week. You'll find yourself having to throw every shot in your bag on this course....

The GLOW golf on thurs, night is cool too. it is at 7:30 and the led lights are awesome.
come out and support the CDGC....
Cons: When it rains it gets muddy on some holes, bad!
Other Thoughts: Mark has truly dedicated so much time in creating a course for tomorow's pros.......

keep it up!!

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Glow Golf Great!!!

5+    10/7/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: Volman1998
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great shot makers course with trees and distance right at the edge of most midrange skill players ability. The course is well marked with the move from one hole to the next made very easy.
Cons: Only the need for the tee areas to be finished.
Other Thoughts: Great job being done by the Glow League!!!


3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 great course for kids in 2012 worlds.

5+    10/6/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: chingaling
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: the course just became a full 18 this year, but you can't tell. Mark Huether, one of the main designers for the new layout did a phenomenal job turning the course into a fun par 54, it is excpected to be involved in the 2012 worlds coming up for a younger field of players, which will be great.

the course has every up shot you need in your bag to make you become deadly in laying up on longer courses, great for a n ego boost or just a quick round after work, Bailey is my favorite course when it comes to time limits or having my 2 year old daughter with me, tee pads are coming in the near future, the pads are already boxed in with 2x4's ready for the upcoming poor.

- length is great.
- risk/reward is even resonable for the short length course.


Cons: Cons, why haven't their been a c tier event at this course yet?

21 holes avalable someday?
Other Thoughts: If any one were to be upset about the course or style of it, please contact Mark Huether and he can schedual you in to volunteer for a few hours and help make the course "more presentable".

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Bailey

5+    10/9/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: smayne
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I just started playing disc golf with my son the past couple months, we play Bailey all the time have played 4 other courses and not one of them compares to Bailey. Mark has done a great job and continues to make this course awesome, keep up good work Mark we appreciate it. And if anyone really wants to have fun come out to glow golf at night !!!!!!!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Mark your hard work has really paid off, thanks for making a great place for my son and me to have some good fun CHEAP entertainment. Course is awesome !!!!!

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 GET SOME

1    8/13/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
2 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: this beginner friendly course will test the beginner, a great place to learn the game. the park has a nice play ground, and the new and improved layout will make you want to run for aces on every shot.
Cons: none ,this is the most perfect course in the world ....loook no further than bailey road park
Other Thoughts: after playing this course once and shooting 10 down , i cosider it a huge ego boost to play here. the new holes are really cool for the amount of space that was available, good balance of shots. mark did a great job with this course. show this man some respect. and as a final thought.....GET SOME

2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: aman13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is a nice short easy and fun course I like it a lot it helps those who are not as skilled boost there confadince up and since its a beginers course it makes it fun for everyone to play on weather your a begginer or not
Cons: Its still being worked on
Other Thoughts: I think mark did a great job on this course for a short course I love it easy to play and fun

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.